The Old Order Passes



At Thanksgiving I received a brief visitation from Our Lord. In the time since then I have been alternately sick and contemplating the meaning of His message. On several occasions I have started to write something here and then pulled back. 

We have now celebrated the last traditional Christmas of the old era. People worry that America is passing away. It is not – it already has. The question is no longer whether or not the patient can be saved, but whether resurrection is possible. 

The period of rumblings is over, the period when events would serve to unmask the ugly realities behind the state’s assault on the throne of God. If you don’t see it for what it is now, you will not see it without the fullness of the storm, so there is no one left to be rescued by delaying the onset.

Next year the world enters its passion, the time when the old order fully passes away. We have three Christmas seasons of deep and desperate strife ahead of us. And then, if the Son of Man finds a few who still have faith on earth, the Christmas after that, in 2017, will be a joyful celebration of resurrection – joy that what seemed the end was actually prelude to a new beginning. Acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around you. If you set your jaw and do this things with faithful resolve, even when you don’t feel it, during the great crisis that now is upon us, your children and grandchildren will call you blessed.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
Aside | This entry was posted in The Storm and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Old Order Passes

  1. Hi Charlie,
    I’m pretty sure I just read your whole blog in one sitting🙂 Most of it at least. I know it must be difficult to share some of these things because so many people have “shut their eyes and closed their ears” but there are also many of us who clearly see the signs of the times around us and are thankful that you and others are speaking about it.

    I have to say – I love your sense of humor and found myself cracking up a number of times while reading your posts despite the serious subject matter.

    I will pray for you. Thank you for writing about the times we are living in.


    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks Mary. Thanks be to God, Our Lord has a nice sense of humor. I would not be able to do this at all if I could not indulge my wry way of seeing things sometimes. Please pray for me. There is much on our platters.


  2. Luis says:

    Hi Charlie,

    Thanks for your blog & posts.

    In any visitation or vision, do you had an insight in the “Warning” or illumination of consciences?

    I keep praying to our Mother to help us perserve till the end or at last giving our life trusting Jesus and His Infinite Divine Mercy.

    Kind regards,


  3. Anne says:

    You say next year we enter time the world enters passion …….2014 or2015…….visitation of thanksgiving was in year before the entry. Confusing for this little one!!


  4. Anne says:

    Thank you Charlie.i pray hearts are opened,aware. …..wake up,


  5. Caroline says:

    Charlie, in a couple other posts you say more specifically that Christmas 2013 was the last traditional Christmas for a few years (I think “traditional” was the word you used.) Can you expound on that at all? I want to share this with my husband but I know he’s going to say, “What does that mean?” And as you mentioned several times, too, there can often be error in the human interpretation of divine revelation. Are you suggesting that Christmas will be outlawed or that there will be so much turmoil that it won’t be celebrated or that we’ll still have Christmas but there will be sorrow in our celebration? If find many of us expect realizations of prophetic words to knock us off our feet when they are usually much more subtle than expected. Thanks! Caroline


    • charliej373 says:

      Sure Caroline. I have expounded on it elsewhere on this site. BUT I have trouble finding some of it – and I wrote it, for crumb’s sakes, so it’s got to be hard for some who are just visiting to find it. And I am coming to think that repeating a few things at certain intervals are helpful.

      I don’t think it will be outlawed (though I could be mistaken). For most of America’s history, Christmas has been a cultural-wide celebration – even despite the efforts of certain activist grinches in the last few decades. But with the convulsions in the world, even if it is celebrated fully in your home – and it will be in many – it will not be a joyful, cultural wide celebration. In the public square, it will be attacked relentlessly – and you will feel like an alien outside your home when trying to live the joy of it. Certainly we have already felt the tremors proceeding the quake…even 20 years ago I consistently and joyfully wished people “Merry Christmas” without any concern for triggering backlash. For the past 10 years, to do that requires a certain grim fortitude rather than the unrestrained joy that was once all that was necessary. Even in homes, divisions and contention rise so that in many, maybe even most, there will be empty chairs at the larger family table because of those divisions.

      Rather, this is sort of a tilting point. For a good decade, maybe two, enemies of Christianity have assaulted the faith – and particularly Christmas. While they have wounded, they have not succeeded in marginalizing it. After last year came the beginning of three years of a sort of Christmas from the catacombs. Encouraged by their victorious battles against traditional Christianity using homosexuality and abortion and health care, the enemies are tremendously emboldened. In many countries, Christians who dare poke their heads up may have them knocked off – literally.

      I appreciate your understanding that prophecy is usually, but not always, more subtle than people want to believe (we little ones do love a show!). My prophecies concerning the ultimate fury and violence of the Storm are usually understated. But most things I say that I have been given will be accomplished without a lot of fireworks. We have three Christmases from the catacombs ahead – but even in the literal catacombs of the early centuries, Christians celebrated Christmas…and so will we. But the cultural-wide celebration is in a period of full eclipse for a few years. Then a few years down the road, the Christmas bells will sound with vigor and glory throughout the world – including in the formerly Muslim countries that did so much to try to kill it.


  6. herewegokids7 says:

    Charlie…new reader, and new convert, here. Does this period of the passion of the Church, as you’ve called it, correspond tobthe era I would have called the Tribulation as a Protestant? And if so, is the 2nd half? Thank you. ~Sarah from Kansas


    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, I think it does, here…I only hesitate because, as I mentioned in another article, I tried out about a dozen different Protestant denominations before I found my Catholic home – and they don’t all agree on what the Tribulation is. I would suggest that, in the search feature near the upper right of the page, you enter the word “storm” and then search. It will pull up all articles related to the Storm, which I think will give you a pretty clear picture of what I mean.


      • Funny I got a comment notification about this article. I’ve been mulling it over for several weeks in my head. Now, I’m a worrier and struggle with fear of the unknown. Charlie, what if this Christmas is indistinguishable from Christmases past? Do I need to dismiss you as “an old coot” or will we just chalk it up as one of those times where you were wrong? Blessings, Caroline


        • charliej373 says:

          Ha ha, Caroline, you can take your pick. But two serious points…

          First, I maintain that if Christmas came tomorrow, we have already entered the catacombs. In the last year, several human rights organizations have listed Christians as the most persecuted group in the world. In America, things that were merely threatened against Christians a year ago have now come to pass. If you own a small business and you will not violate your principles to pay for abortions or celebrate gay marriage, you are fined or put out of business. If you are a high-ranking employee of a public company, you will be forced to resign if you don’t toe the line on celebrating homosexual sodomy. In Canada and Europe, you can now be fined (and in a few European countries) briefly jailed for preaching Biblical teaching from the pulpit on homosexuality. Several European countries have carved out swaths of their territory that are subject to sharia, rather than national, law. We have entered the catacombs. I know, in early 2013, I said that social collapse would begin before the end of the year. Several people were disappointed, thinking me wrong – and I was astonished at it. 2013 was the year that we learned the NSA was spying on everyone – and that all the agencies IRS, FBI, BTF, were targeting people specifically for their religious and political beliefs – and despite a few yells, nothing was done to stop it. The social safeguards that preserved freedom had completely collapsed. This year we have suffered many of the consequences of that collapse – and crash is imminent. But I have learned that when I say something like that, people hear something different – and they won’t believe it is true until the barbarian is at their door ready to cut their throat. Somehow, we have become the entertainment generation, watching the collapse around us as if it is some sort of game show – and that as long as it is not us who is getting thrown off the island, all is well. It rather baffles me, but this, too, is part of the confusion of the age, I think.

          From another standpoint, if the primary reason you read me is to know future events in detail, this really isn’t the place for you. My fundamental message is that civilization is collapsing around us, that that won’t stop until this great crises has played itself completely out, and my main purpose is to help steel you for that battle, to know that Christ can be counted on and that what is important is not the materialism of things or position, but to be a sign of hope to those around you…and that will lead to a genuine cultural resurrection after great tribulation. So it is to exhort you to stay the course, to be that sign of hope with fortitude, that all might ultimately be renewed. If this site helps give you that confidence, then it is accomplishing my purpose.

          Perhaps it would be better to say that, come Christmas of 2017 or 2018 we will once again be able to celebrate Christmas with full cultural confidence, not worrying that we are going to be fined, fired, or jailed for living our full Christian beliefs openly and that throughout the world, Christians will no longer have to worry about being butchered for being Christians. But I said it the way I said it and I am content. Something unsettles me though that people think that as long as they have their cranberries and holly, everything is the same no matter how many more are being oppressed and butchered than just a year before, and no matter how careful they must be. If you are in America and you have health insurance, you are financially supporting abortion and contraception, whether you want to or not. If you don’t, you are in violation of the law. That means something to me. I can no longer both live my faith fully AND abide by the law in America. I have to choose one or the other, in some gradation. If I live my faith fully and rigorously, I must hide in the catacombs to do it. If I follow the law fully, I must deny my faith in part. For most of my life, that was not the case. This year, it fully is.

          I think you were being a little tongue in cheek and I appreciate that. But it does trouble me that people don’t see a real problem unless it is preceded by a phalanx of fireworks. I am very tolerant of the choices people make in these times, encouraging them to make prudent choices for their family and not get overly scrupulous. But in a fundamental way, the court decisions have been made. If you are a faithful Catholic, you cannot fully live both your faith and your citizenship this year. It was hard, but you still could at this time last year, as certain cases were pending. That is fundamental to me.

          Liked by 2 people

          • That’s exactly what I was getting at, the “if Christmas came tomorrow” part. I think the subtleties in the prophetic realm are lost on many if not most. I remember a commenter saying he’d “wait til Christmas” to see if you are a fraud, so I think it’s likely you’ll get some more questions like mine. You made my face hot when you said “this may not be the place for you.” Ouch! I just don’t want you to be lumped in with MDM b/c nothing “major” happened to affect Christmas. I’m sure you personally don’t care if people think you’re a fraud, but I think it’s important to state what you said in this comment to the wider audience. It’s a matter of credibility quite honestly. There are so many false prophets out there, that I think it’s understandable for folks to be a little gun shy and discriminatory. And when people make statements that do involve a timeline (like Christmas), one way readers will determine credibility is if those things unfold in the way you say. You have given me great hope and much to ponder in my heart over these last several months and my faith life has really blossomed during that time. I’m just looking out for you, dear Charlie.

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Oh gosh, I’m sorry, mentor. I didn’t mean to put it in a provocative way like that. You have brought valuable insights here and I hate that a casual, overstated comment like mine did that. I have to think more carefully how to phrase things, especially when I am a bit flustered.

            I am trying to think through some of this. I know people get disappointed at times that it does not come to pass the way they expected it to. I get baffled that people can’t see that it has happened. I take some consolation that, certainly, in New Testament times, people never seem to recognize the fulfillment of prophecy until after it has long passed. That doesn’t help that much when you are in the thick of things, though.

            For several decades I prayed that if God would just show everybody what He was showing me, we would turn from the abyss and none of this would be necessary. For at least the last decade I have understood that I was wrong about that. The consequences of our foolishness are all around us and yet we have largely doubled down on foolishness. But it really is troubling to know how to deal with some of these things. I contemplate saying less and just letting things unfold, concentrating on how to handle whatever comes. But that seems a bit of a cheat, too.

            I find myself drawn to the Gospels now where His disciples and various followers would ask Jesus when certain things would come and He would respond with some vigor that they were already here, or had already passed. I share His astonishment that things come and people still don’t see them. He knew how to deal with that. I struggle mightily with it. And you are right, there are so many false voices out there that it is a struggle for people are trying to do right to sift between them. Without trimming the message in any way, I should work to do a better job of making your process of discernment easier. I think, though, that people should also, when confronted with something that feels true, ask themselves if the voice is not what a prophet should be or if it is their own expectations that are not what they should be.

            As for the sharp part of my answer, forgive me. At best, it was a clumsy response on my part and at worst, a fit of pique. But you are right to be offended at it and I am deeply sorry for having given cause for that offense.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Oh, there’s no need for a deep apology. But I reay appreciate it nonetheless. It’s impossible to manage everyone’s expectations, but wanted to alert you to what others may be thinking as Christmas approaches. God bless you!

            Liked by 1 person

          • SteveBC says:

            You know, Charlie, I have a somewhat similar issue to mommymentorcurlyq’s. Also, a bit further down, you discuss frothy waves and tides on a similar point with Malachi99.

            When I look at my own reaction to your comment about this coming Christmas being different, well, that’s true, it is – for many but not all Christians. Not for a lot of Christians, though, and not for anyone else, most of whom don’t care about the fate of Christians and will have a standard Christmas this year even so.

            But my reaction is, hey, if we all need to go through difficult times, I want something so decisive and so global that the matter is settled. Period. As Alan Shepard (I think) with some asperity told his hesitant ground crew while he was on the Mercury launch pad, “Let’s light this candle.” In other words, let’s get the show on the road.

            We’ve seen things go slowly bad for decades, and that means we’re often surprised because normalcy bias makes it all so subtle that we miss most of it until, suddenly, it hits us all at once. We realize the tide is all the way in.

            I realized just now, and am laughing a bit at my utterly standard human reaction, that I want and need something decisive here. Yet your comments about this Christmas being different don’t appear to satisfy that human desire. Different for whom? Not everybody.

            If we just muddle through the next few years and then things maybe start getting better a bit at a time, I’m not sure I’ll *ever* find that very human itch for certainty actually getting scratched.

            Perhaps it shouldn’t be. That’s quite possible. However, we’re all in this mess because we aren’t really able as a species to see slow change. If all that comes is slow change, we’ll *never* learn enough. It makes me think most of the world will just keep going down, down, down. Frustrating. Although the prospect of the severity of events needed to force global change as quickly as you discuss is a scary one for me, another part of me still wants such events to occur, so that we can truly alter our direction. To think I might not see that necessary severity frustrates me in a strange kind of way.

            Liked by 2 people

  7. NancyA says:

    I read these commentaries and think we have already arrived at that indefinable point. People everywhere are suffering all manner of tribulations, darkness and atrocities. Pockets will spread to regions and what we “watch” from our armchairs will soon be on our doorsteps.
    Then I read some of the more specific pictures given and I’d just as soon not have specifics to ponder. What must come will come…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. malachi99 says:

    Hi Charlie,
    Your comments above to mentor echo a response that a hero of mine Father Malachi Martin once said. In his inimical manner he stated that we are creatures of localised habit. In other words our vision is oft so parochial and myopic. We notice the little and largely inconsequential events and happenings like who won the ball game, our next door neighbour painting their fence or driving a new car.

    Only the attentive few are aware of the ‘great sea changes’ that happen in the world around us. Most are blind to these changes and only late in the day do they become cognizant of them; however what has passed is usually a fait accompli and we can do nothing to halt the process. Things happen just slow enough and in a manner that does not immediately set alarms off therefore we do not recognise them for what they are and soon dismiss them from our optic. Unfortunately these great sea-changes present themselves as accomplished facts and it is a much more difficult task to hold back the tide when your already up to your neck in water.

    In my classes I have stressed for a few years now that the moral edifice of Christianity, and all that it has built up, has effectively been driven out of the marketplace of ideas and from the public square. It no longer has any purchase value in the world. unless of course your in the business of collecting heads in a basket🙂 Two utterly opposed moral worldviews cannot occupy the same space. And as we know, nature abhors a vacuum. We have, as individuals and as a community of nations, chosen a godless morality that delights in death and the corruption and mockery of all that is wholesome and good. It is the harvest of this moral and spiritual chaos that we will soon reap in all its monstrous ferocity.

    God bless,



    • charliej373 says:

      That is a shrewd way to look at it, Malachi. Certainly, it is much harder to see the movement of the tide than of the waves, though the tide is much more elementally consequential. I watch closely the movement of the cultural tide and often don’t notice the frothier waves. I should be less startled when people expect a frothy wave to accompany a major, but subtle, rising of the tide.

      All the frothing of the waves doesn’t mean much BUT people are right that the combination of a dramatically rising tide with terribly agitated waves mean we will be hit, ultimately, with a tidal wave. I think, though, when I speak of how much the tide has rised, people sometimes expect that means the tidal wave must hit now. I am spending some time thinking how I can explain things so it is easier to see what I mean. The thing is, things that set off bells and whistles in the heavens are often not noticed at all here, though they herald dramatic things to come here. Meantime, things that get people worked up here often evince a “Meh…big deal,” in the heavens. I complain about straddling both at times and how hard it is to convey…but that is my J-O-B, so I really ought to complain less and work harder to get it right.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Nancy says:

    Hey Charlie,
    I sent you an e-mail a few days ago, but NOT sure if you received it! It was concerning the ‘RESCUE,’ and wanted to know more of your thoughts on it. I realize that you have probably written extensively concerning the ‘RESCUE,’ but your writings are very new to me. If you could give me some detail, I would be VERY GRATEFUL!!!! For example, is the ‘RESCUE’ to come in the ‘FALL’ or in the ‘WINTER’? Will the ‘RESCUE’ come after the ‘ILLUMINATION OF CONSCIENCE’ or before? These are just a few of the questions I have. I understand that you’re a VERY BUSY man, but if you could be so kind as to answer, I truly would APPRECIATE IT!🙂


    • charliej373 says:

      I understand, Nancy, but you really will have to use the search feature near the top right of the page on this website. I get about 12,000 visitors per day these days, many calls – and if you have been watching comments this last week, almost 400 a day to clear. Meantime, even in my supposed down time, I am doing meetings. I had five on Monday, three yesterday – only two today. If I started going through individual requests to repeat what I have already written publicly about, I would just have to shut down entirely. I know it will take you a little time to read the articles already written on it after using the search feature, but that is as good as I can do. One of the things you will find is that I am very clear about staying away from things that are mere curiosity. I don’t know whether the Rescue will come in the Fall or the Winter. How would knowing help you to do what you are called to do? That is the key – acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around you. People worry too much about details that will not make a difference in what they are called to and not enough on how to build up the community of souls around them. Focus on the latter and you will get all you NEED from the former without all you WANT. But the more you focus on what you should do, you will find the less you will care about details you merely want to know about.


      • Hey Charlie, I would like to humbly make a suggestion here for the future, when you get these over arching questions about what you’ve said and what your message is, why don’t you put the questions to your faithful readers? You know we love to talk about this stuff, and we want to tell other people about it, imagine our delight when someone actually *wants* to know about it all. 😆 If I was you, I would reply with something like unfortunately, I don’t have the time to answer this right now, but I’m sure some of my readers would like to chime in… Give it a shot! I’m sure you would get some wonderful responses! –Caroline

        Liked by 3 people

        • charliej373 says:

          Ooo…nice, Caroline. Excellent training for young sherpas, too!

          Liked by 2 people

          • Joe says:

            I like the idea as well, but the downside i see is additional putting words in Charlie’s mouth which he never said. Just my initial thought. I would suggest an FAQ more detailed than the one that is currently there. More of a Q&A type format of the top 15-20 questions usually asked. On the flip side, the link to the website from the “Summary for Newcomers” above, was VERY helpful to me…

            Liked by 1 person

  10. Judy Dobson says:

    Hi Charlie: No accident that someone referred me to your posts. Problem is that I got into the middle of things, like the storm and rescue, but missed the beginning and coming attractions!
    My question is this: Did the onset of abortion begin the process or did it start earlier. I am convinced that the evil of destroying God’s Creation is exactly the evil one’s purpose, since he and they opposed the Incarnation in the first place. Today i noticed the items at the top of your page (sorry, the ADHD in action) and I will begin at the beginning, but I just had this burning question. Thank you for the suffering that always comes with revelations.


  11. Charlie I was directed to your web site by NO ACCIDENT!!! It has helped to know that in this world of lose of our god given rights there is still hope and you are helping in a great way. Thank you and keep up doing what the Lord Jesus Christ has asked of you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

