A Harbinger?


Since I am a St. John Paul the Great Catholic, I thought of writing about him today, the day of his canonization. Of course, everyone else in the world is writing about him today, too, so I wrestled with maybe waiting a week or so. Then last night I suffered an injury. It is an acute, but not serious, lower back injury. It is identical (actually a mirror image) of an injury I suffered 16 years ago. It will hobble me for a few days, maybe a week, and then I will be fine (well, not really fine, but back to normal anyway). But there is a striking peculiarity about it that persuades me I should write about that today, so the decision is made for me.

It was Dec. 7, 1995, when I was shown the most complete vision of what was upon us – and told that very soon I would have to decide whether to fully accept the work God had prepared me for all my life. It took me almost two years to give my definitive yes, which I gave in the very late summer of 1997. There were two things that became decisive in my affirmative decision. You should know that I had been assured that my salvation was in no way dependent on accepting the work. Near the end of the vision I had asked what would happen if I said no. I was immediately surrounded by a great abyss, with agonized people swirling around and being swallowed by it, all cursing me as they fell in because I had known and done nothing. It was a moment that haunted me throughout the period of indecision – and still occasionally causes me to shudder
The second thing was an incredibly extravagant promise of a great privelege. I was told that if I accepted and kept faith until the end, not one person I loved would be allowed to perish. All would join me in heaven, through often extraordinary graces. After I did accept, thinking I was a clever fellow, I decided to meet as many people as I could and love them all – even if I didn’t much like them. I thought that was pretty clever until the Lord visited me and told me that was what He had expected me to do – and I would not have been the right guy if I had done otherwise. I felt a little guilty that it was not pure love of God that had tilted me over the edge – until He chuckled and told me genuine love of neighbor is the purest form of love for God we are capable of in this life. He instructed me that those who ignore their neighbor thinking their love is reserved for God alone deceive themselves and are easy prey for the devil.

With such powerful incentives to go forward, you might wonder what took me so long. Well, I was also assured that upon my acceptance, I would almost immediately enter into a prolonged period of several years of intense suffering. This was to prepare me for the vicissitudes of the Storm later, when it would be vital that I not faint – and to burn away most of my vanity. I was not given details, but I was shown accurately how intense it would be. I do not like to discuss it much, but for five years I was in torment constantly. My priests, my son and one very close friend are the only ones who have any idea of how bad everything was during that time. I carefully hid as much of it as I could, for I knew well that we should live in a manner so we do not impose our cross on others. Besides, what value does suffering have if you complain of it all the time? But my priests several times commented on how I was living the life of Job. My friend who saw much of it has told me many times that my grace in handling and hiding most of that inspired a profound deepening of his faith. My son is a noble man, one who walked through the suffering with me, helped me bear it, and now lives in a way that helps carry others burdens while never lading them down with his own. I have seen the fruit of suffering lived well – and so have all the more trust and confidence in the Lord. Ironically, except for the suffering, I look back on those days with great fondness. My relation with my son – and with a few friends – was forged in a purifying fire. There was real joy in the midst of all the sorrow. In a very real way, while I would never want to repeat them, I look back at them as a sort of glory days.

I learned much through that time. What if you were called to do what was right, even if it looked wrong – when you were also presented with the option to do what was wrong, but it would look right and relieve you of much of your burdens? What if you were called to suffer temporal defeats in order to secure spiritual victories, knowing ahead of time what you must deal with? I don’t have to guess about these questions – and more like them. Unless I cling to the Lord I would surely go apostate in the future – but I know that in the past I have said yes to agony I knew was to come in order to keep genuine faith. That engenders a certain holy confidence. It also wipes away a lot of the transient vanity that assails us. Above all, it creates a great trust in God – and He graciously lets you see a little bit from how He sees; the tenderness towards His people. When you see how weak you are yourself and how much in need of mercy, it creates a very deep sense of mercy and tenderness towards those around you. After all, how could you be such an ingrate as to be miserly with others with what you, yourself, have been given in such abundance from above?

How, you may ask, does this relate to my injury? Sometimes God speaks directly and plainly. Sometimes He speaks ambiguously. Other times, He just leaves a marker and lets you figure it out. Sixteen years ago I slipped on the ice on a stair and badly bruised the right side of my lower back. It was so intense I could barely walk for several days. That incident was the gateway into my years of intense sorrows. They followed almost immediately upon that injury. Last night I fell and badly bruised the left side of my lower back. I can barely move without agonizing pain today, much less walk. It is identical to the old injury, just on the other side. It may mean nothing, or it may be a marker to pay attention to. If it is the latter, I have already been through that wringer. I think it may be everyone else’s turn. If so, I have been there and I tell you, be not afraid: God calls all men to salvation.

And whether it is a marker or not, I think today about how much I like the sound of the words, St. John Paul the Great.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in The Storm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Harbinger?

  1. bev says:

    I loved him because I am polish…and know how humorous and dedicated the polish folks are
    My grandfather came to Michigan from Poland and had 17 kids.;;he was a farmer..


  2. Steve says:

    You story was moving and a familiar one as well. On October 14, 1987, I damaged my spine in a parachute jump in the Army. I’ve been in constant pain ever since. I have a wife and four children who needed me to provide for them and my pride was steadily worn away as I did whatever was necessary to care for them regardless of how much it hurt or how exhausted I became. Times were tough for many years, and last year we went through a crucifixion by corrupt authorities. This evil resulted from our attempts to protect children, which succeeded in the end.
    During this time, I had arthritis in my hips that became so bad I wanted to die. However, on October 13, 2013, we were at mass where a relic image of Our Lady of Teypeyac was on display. We were asked to carry the bread and wine to the alter, and it was also the day Pope Francis was consecrating the world to Mary. Just as mass ended a gentle female voice asked, “Do you want me to heal your hips?” I said, “Yes, but leave me something (pain) to offer The Lord.” Next, I felt a slight warmth in the hip joints and the pain departed and has not returned. I still have moderately intense pain from other injuries but I can deal with it and offer it up.
    Pain has taught me much, helped conform my will to God’s Will, and gave me a way to honour God. After 26+ years of suffering chronic pain! I can empathise with you. Hang in there, we still have a ways to go, and we need your insights.
    I have my own insights which are similar to yours, but it helps to know others have a similar mission to help others make through what I call, “the hard times.” I am glad you finally started writing after first learning of you from the Spirit Daily articles from 2007. I would greatly value any details you can share about you interaction with Gabriel, the Blessed Mother, or Jesus. It will help in knowing how the care for others during the hard times.


    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks Steve, I share what I can as I go…things that are necessary, along with responding to common concerns voiced here. I think you and I traded a few emails some years ago. I sympathize with the difficulties you have – and am grateful you have offered them up in a way that is fruitful. We always seek the consolation of Christ, but when we suffer well, it is the one chance we get to console and live solidarity with the Suffering Christ.


  3. Mary Bozman says:

    Thanks Charlie for reminding me that my sufferings have some meaning. Offer them to God as I do, it is hard still to understand “why” they had to happen. It is hard to see or understand what good could possible come from it. I can only trust that God uses our painful offerings for good.


  4. Kim Susnik says:

    Blessings and prayers Charlie. I remember how amazed I was when I read and saw in the movie about the life of our Holy Father John Paul II. Oh how he suffered too. It made him the awesome priest and pope we’d been blessed with for so long. Is that not good company to be with in our pain and sufferings? Today is the feast day of St. Monica. She knew pain and suffering of another kind. The kind many wives and mothers are going through. Yup, I am one of them. Thank you for reminding us that God had purpose for our sufferings, if we give them back to Him with love and trust. Thank you for being an advocate on earth to all you meet and love in Christ Jesus.


  5. Liz Barrett says:

    your blog teaches me a lot, keep writing


Leave a Reply

