The Time to Prepare is Now

my cabin

I spent most of last week pondering how to address this subject. I am very cautious sometimes, lest people over-react to what I say. So sometimes I under-react. Bear with me. What I have today may be important.

For most of my life, from the early ’60s until July of 2012, my heavenly visitors told me things and almost always said they would happen “soon.” Beginning in 2012, they started telling me these things were happening “now.” As you might guess, this has been a frustration, for if they understand what they mean by ‘soon’ and ‘now,’ I am just a little fellow. Coming from them, it clearly does not mean quite what it commonly means to all us little ones here. Nonetheless, it has been useful for me as it has forced me to think with a little less impatience and see a little more as they see in heaven.

Time and space are the walls of an artificial terrarium in which our mortal lives are lived. Most think of eternity as endless time, but it is not. It is the absence of time. Where time is absent, everything is present NOW. To God, each of us is being born right now, each of us in our death throes right now. Time is sort of a mystic river in which we make our pilgrim journey. Upstream from us are our parents, grandparents and generations beyond reckoning. Downstream are our children, their children and those children’s children. We only see the little bend of the river we occupy, but the entire river is ever present to God. Sorry for such a poor analogy, but called to describe the indescribable, I make do as best I can. When we enter eternity, we leave this little terrarium behind and enter into reality – though the terrarium is still present to us as a curiosity we might gaze upon. As a side note, that means that once you enter eternity, the children your grandparents once were will be present to you, though you will have to view them in the little terrarium you have left behind.

When your whole life is lived in a particular confine, everything you know, everything you see, everything you believe uses that terrarium as its reference point. It is necessary for coherence, but it severely limits your horizon. But it is about all our mortal minds can handle.

Like all of you, my points of reference all come back to the little terrarium we jointly occupy. I do not know the fulness of reality. But I have been taken just outside our confines enough to know them for the confines they are. I do not delude myself that I know reality. If you are a small creature held in a terrarium in a house in the mountains and you escaped briefly, after your wonder that your world is so small and there is so vastly much more, you might delude yourself that all reality is mountains. But some are rivers, oceans, deserts. So I am fully aware that all I really know is the very close environs of our terrarium and do not deceive myself that that encompasses reality.
I do not think of time in the same terms as the heavenly host does. My mind is far too feeble for that. But I do not think of it in the same terms as my peers do, either, mainly because of what I am shown. I know that the date and hour is not quite as important or decisive as people like to think it is.

So much for the preliminaries. The time has come for you to make certain preparations so that you may stand with your family. When I speak of my family, I speak both of my biological family and all those I am close to and rely upon, regardless of any genetic commonality. If you have not done so yet, you are well-advised to establish an area as a rallying point with those you love. Do not take a mere address or overly specific location. You do not know if it will be there or what dangers may lurk there. Establish an area – or areas where you may find each other. I have done so. Almost everyone who knows me knows that if things get terribly hinky, if communications are disrupted for a time, I will be somewhere around Mt. Meeker, so it is not as if I am giving away any state secrets. Family that wants to find and rally with me may take months to get there. And I won’t be waiting with baited breath for people to show up. I will get about my business once I know what it is – and will rejoice when anyone I love shows up. But mainly I will just get on with it. If you have not envisioned such a thing, it is time to do so.

As I said last week, I have largely despaired of describing how things will be to people. Most interpret what I say as largely like now but with a bunch of problems, kind of like the Depression lumped in with World War II with a heavy dose of the Civil War thrown in for seasoning. Some imagine almost complete destruction. It is very hard to imagine radically different without imagining vast destruction, I suppose. But that is not so important anyway…even were I capable of describing it successfully, it would not be that much of an asset to know. Rather, it is a state of mind that is useful. Trust in God. Fortitude, giving oneself as an offering for those you love. These are useful things. Family is the bedrock of your strength. However you envision things, one thing is certain; faith, family and love are most useful to you. Act now to preserve and defend what is useful and you will be prepared for whatever comes.

People often ask me to tell them a precipitating event. But precipitating events are an illusion we use to soothe ourselves that we are in control. Generations of schoolkids learned that the assassination of the Archduke Ferdinand caused World War I. It did not. WWI came because most European heads of state were looking for reasons to go to war. It was a consequence of that condition, not a cause. Later generations learned that Hitler’s invasion of Poland started World War II. True, but it did not cause it. It was merely a consequence of conditions we chose. It is as facile as believing that if you could find the first rock to fall in a slide, you could have stopped it, or that if you could have rescued the first victim, you could have stopped a rabid wolf from rampaging through a village. Rockslides come when the ground is flooded or loose, the winds howl and tectonic plates shift. The first rock to fall does not cause the slide, but is a consequence of the conditions.

Now the ground is soft, the winds are reaching gale force, plates are shifting and wolves are baying. Soon an event will happen which later generations will mistake for the cause of the conflagration rising around us. But they will be wrong. It will only be a consequence of the conditions we have allowed.

Trust God. Take the next, right step. Be a sign of hope to those around you. That is your shelter, your sword and your shield.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Ordinary Preparation, Spiritual Preparation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Time to Prepare is Now

  1. Janice says:

    Charlie, I so appreciate your posting this information. I take comfort from reading your words. Thank you.


  2. Hi Charlie, I was referred here via Mark Mallett. What a blessing to find you….I will go back and read all of your posts.

    You say, “It is very hard to imagine radically different without imagining vast destruction, I suppose.” It sounds, from what I have heard from you and others, that we may be experiencing an EMP or large solar disturbance which will remove a lot of the technology that we currently rely on. One thing I am certain of is that having trustworthy friends and family to rely on will be of utmost importance, next to trust in God, of course.


  3. Jennifer says:

    Oh my. Please do be careful with the group you mentioned. I am conservative and orthodox and have witnessed evil. You would know better than I, but please discern carefully beneathe the solid doctrinal/political surface. These are confusing and treacherous times.


  4. Hi Charlie! I was just going back and reading about making preparations. Is it wise to choose a place to meet with family in more remote places ? I live 45 min. From LA in a nice size town. We have a place to meet in case of an earthquake and our area is devastated. Our meet up place is an open field near our house. I realize the scale of what may come soon may be much more than I can imagine… with having said that….should we choose a place outside big cities like mountains or very small towns? Thank Charlie and as always God Bless.


    • charliej373 says:

      I like that plan, Charlie. Having the field is a good plan, but in case of a larger crisis, a more remote area makes sense. I know people will find me on the mountain if it is necessary…and they will come in dribs and drabs over the course of months, I would expect.


  5. CrewDog says:

    Time for the 25th Amendment? This could be one way for Charlie’s prognostication to come true?
    Two articles today that broach the subject! I’m sure there are plenty of Democrats who would like to ease BO out of the Oval Office ’cause of all the damage he has done to their “Label” that no Democrat dare speak of …… but they are too afraid of losing the Black Vote just as they, apparently, are afraid of losing the Muslim Vote if they take National Security seriously. The GOP doesn’t have the Guts to do it ….. but Wildcard Trump might “Stir de Pot” for Air-Time if he sees it as a plus!??

    “Is it now time to invoke Section 4 of the 25th Amendment?”

    “Is Our Stoner President Mentally Impaired?”



    • Beckita says:

      Oh My Goodness, Crew Dog! Thanks for these links. The environment is becoming very interesting in this country. About the time I read your post yesterday my state’s government was encouraging everyone to begin carrying a concealed weapon. When I read the article, I caught a link to the growing number of states doing just that. You all probably saw Liberty University’s president advising students at that college to be armed. Very interesting indeed.


Leave a Reply

