Responding to Comments

The volume of comments and questions I am receiving, both here and from other sources, is growing robustly. It is to the point that I have to find my way in managing it all effectively. It is not nearly as big yet as it was in the big campaigns I ran, but I had a staff there to use as filters. Only a fraction of what come in got through to me, and I was the last filter for things directed to the candidate. I do not intend to use any filters here.

I spent a solid day and a half this last week just responding to things. I put off several pieces I intended to put up in order to handle it. That does NOT mean I want you to stop. I see the joy, the fear, the occasional anger, the aching reaching out to Christ in these comments. It is not just that I want to, but that I believe it to be an integral part of what I am called to answer everyone. By trying to answer most as close to real time as possible, I found I was completely disrupting the flow of putting articles together. Henceforth, when I get questions, I may answer something as soon as I see it, but for the most part, I will take one or two days a week primarily devoted to responding to people. So if you contact me and it is several days – even a week – before you hear from me, don’t worry…you will hear from me. That said, though I have already put a stacking system in place, I know that I could miss things here and there. So if you have not heard back after a week, please drop me another note. Do not think you are burdening me; rather, to remind me in such a case is an act of charity to me. One of my prime duties is to “hearten the faithful.” – and that I will be held accountable. Knowing that I flub things sometimes, I may occasionally need your help to remind me of something.

Today will be spent responding to people here and elsewhere – and setting up a dedicated email account to attach to this site.

Meantime, though I know most of you already have, still, if you haven’t, here is the latest solid piece of wisdom from the ever-marvelous Mark Mallett.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Responding to Comments

  1. Jim M. says:

    May God Bless you for your patience and devotion! If I can help in any way, I am at your service.


    Quisnam Est Amo Ut Deus!


  2. SteveBC says:

    Charlie, this sounds like a good way to answer to everyone’s needs, including yours. It is a generous use of your time which I much appreciate, especially because your comments are often at least as useful and interesting as your posts.

    You allow people to sign up via email to follow your blog, but others (like me) prefer to sign up via RSS. For those who might like to use that method, the URL to use for the blog posts is
    and the URL for the comments is

    If these don’t pass through the wordpress filter, I’ll repost with descriptions of the URLs. You can post these URLs in your sidebar for people to use to sign up. Just write them in as text or as links in your link list. Or not, if you don’t want to. 🙂



    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you for the practical tips, Steve. It is good to have people who know these things following – they can help others with technical matters I don’t have a clue about.

      I used to tell people in some political speeches that, “one of the amazing qualities of God is that He only counts to one – and you’re the one.” I did it in the context of driving home how intimate and tender God is. We are never just part of a group…each an unrepeatable miracle created by Him. I get misty thinking of the magnitude of it.

      What a joy it is to be able to reach out. My prayer is that I help ignite a thousand fires of hope in the hearts of people who need a little hope. And in the process, my hope soars.


      • SteveBC says:

        Well, you’ve certainly brought both trepidation and hope to my mother and me. Overall, the “feeling” of your posts reminds me often of a quote from Mahatma Gandhi. “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”

        To go from where we are today into a collapse bottom where we each get the “learning experience” of losing all hope, to a healing world where we each feel known and loved, well, that feels to me somewhat similar to the quote above. It’s that latter state that we hold to in order to get through the worst. Things get bad, things get worse, things get simply *awful*, then totally unexpectedly, with God’s aid we win.

        When you let us not simply understand but “get” this process in our gut, I think your readers get real benefit in terms of stronger hope from your work overall. At least, I certainly do. We’ll still lose our hope, as you tell us will be so, but then we can cling to the memory of that hope and be helpful to others and bull our way through even at the worst of times.

        “Losing hope” does not mean forgetting that there is such a thing and that it will return if we survive. As you have said, this lets us act as if we have hope, and like a lifeboat, that takes us through the flood of awfulness.

        So thank you. Even though you’ve succeeded in scaring the heck out of my mother and me, :-0 you’ve also given us an immense gift in the form of that boat, which will now be there when we need it most.

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          I love the Gandhi quote. I try to write in a casual, sometimes meandering way so as to help people feel what I mean as well as understand it. You can understand something intellectually, but until you understand it emotionally, too – feel it in your gut – it’s not fully real to you.

          If you can live the discipline to keep the lifeboat afloat at the darkest times, I guarantee you will help carry some people to safety in it beside yourself – and that is a great gift.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Julie Clark says:

    I join the others in appreciation for honoring your commitment to God in being an active voice in sharing your wisdom & truth. Thank you Charlie


  4. Anne says:

    Likewise…. in connection to all others above…..thank you Charlie!
    Simply cannot resist adding…..I smile and chuckle to myself often when reading you…..such homespun truth in a style that reminds me of “true blue,fair dinkum,real digger,fair go,Aussie ocker,down under” style. let Let it rip mate and put another swagger on the barbie.
    Could not resist some Aussie humour despite the very seriousness of the business……God loves us all for who we are,He made us ….and we need to remember this now and especially in days to come…..Especially!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha, Anne…many years ago a woman I dated was furious at me for something and just blistered me. I started to respond – and before I could get a word out, she barked, “And don’t you ‘Aw, shucks, ma’am'” me either. Couldn’t help it…I laughed in spite of myself when she said that. Fortunately, so did she.


  5. Anne says:

    Just checked to see if you would let the funny …….ha,ha, you added to it!!!
    So glad because I think a bit humour is good…..I must add that it is myself that I find I have to laugh most often. Poor little messer that I really am! …..but God loves me…..He has huge sense of humour.
    Years ag I heard in an interview that the Poles got through tough times with strong faith and a sense of humour.


  6. kbipp says:

    Hi Charlie, me again:

    First of all, thank you for doing this. I really do appreciate you taking the time to respond to comments. I know you’re super busy, so no pressure to respond to this next question soon:

    Do you have any insight into how accessible the Sacraments will be during the worst of the Storm? One fear I have is that, if things happen as you say they will, if I commit a mortal sin then I may not have access to Confession during those times, or I’d have to search long and hard for an opportunity. I know I need to be vigilant against temptation wherever possible (including now, I suppose, since I’m at work…), but sometimes I just fall hard. God bless, and again thank you.


  7. charliej373 says:

    Never doubt God’s mercy and love, kbipp. Ever. I am sure you know the short theological definition of what a Sacrament is: a visible sign of God’s invisible grace. Even were the visible signs taken, the grace would only abound all the more. There are many cases where great saints have been deprived of the Sacraments for lengthy periods. But they were not deprived of grace. This is not because they were saints: they were saints because they trusted the grace even when the Sacraments were taken from them. God will not trip you up on a technicality. If you can go to confession, do so. But if you are really deprived of a priest to confess to for an extended period, your sincere desire to confess IS confession. If the Eucharist is taken, your sincere desire for it will be a spiritual communion in which you fully receive. God will never deprive you on a technicality – so long as you don’t deceive yourself. If you need confession and a priest is unavailable today but is tomorrow, that is not being deprived of the Sacrament and you may not skip confession telling yourself you already have the grace. But if all the priests in the world were held in prison, grace is never held captive from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alise says:

    I have a question about preparing home refuges and two prophetic dreams I had a few months ago during the same night and the partial interpretation that was given to me during prayer. May I contact you for help with discernment? What is the best method?


  9. Cecilia says:

    Charlie, I can’t thank you enough for the hope you have given me. Knowing that there is an end to the tunnel if we can just hang on is a great boon to my spirit. If it would not be intruding on your privacy, would it be possible to share with us what physical preparations you have made personally? I know it must be different depending on God’s call to each of us, but somehow I thought that might be helpful. Thank you again, and God bless you for your words of hope!


  10. charliej373 says:

    Cecilia, I encourage all I speak with to make prudent preparations without getting obsessive. But I have made no physical preparations – for the same reason I made none before embarking on my pilgrimage. My understanding is that God has a unique work for me that involves helping to uphold and give all His people heart for the duration of the Storm. So I throw myself on a radical dependency on Him. There are many people I care for who have set aside a place for me when things get darkest. I am profoundly grateful, but am uncommital to all. I will go wherever the Lord leads me and do my best to hearten the faithful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

