Musings: A Time of Division, Mexico

df

Many people have contacted me privately asking about an unusually large amount of bickering – and even ugly disputes – among families and friends, wondering if this is part of the darkening of the times. Yes, it is. I have expected it and cautioned those close to me for some time about it. But it is subtle and insistent. I fell prey to it today in an area I had not guarded against, launching an intemperate tirade on a matter I had no need to speak of at all. The devil’s purpose now is to sow division and to isolate all he can before the beginning of his eviction proceedings. That is a large part of what the Storm is – satan has received his eviction notice..

Be patient. Be deliberate. If you feel a flare of anger, of grief, or any other strong emotion, hold your peace until the emotion passes. If what you had to say is important, it will still be important when your judgment is more sober. You can say it then. Do not speak just to venture an opinion. We all have opinions. The watchword is to say those things that will help. Sometimes that can be something hard – but if it is you should have a clear notion of how it will help and not deceive yourself just to vent your spleen. As St. Paul says, “…avoid stupid controversies, genealogies, dissensions, and quarrels over the law, for they are unprofitable and futile.” (Titus 3:9).family feud

If you must stay clear of someone you care for in order to avoid falling into useless disputes, even if it is for a long while, do so until you find you can speak charitably and affectionately again. To do that may pain you, particularly if it involves a family member, but trust the good God to heal rifts that you can’t in His own time. In fact, you can offer your restraint during a rift on behalf of all concerned, and your obedience will be a powerful offering, indeed. Better you should suffer the sorrow of separation for a time than widen the rift, perhaps even to a permanent break, by continuing to clash. Christ uses your restraint to rebuke the devil and re-knit the peace.

If one you trust rebukes you, do not rise to argue with him. Accept the correction with gratitude. He probably does it because he cares for you – and Christ uses him to calm troubled waters. I was deeply grateful that one I respected checked my intemperate tirade today. It takes courage for a man to correct a friend. It only takes humility to accept the correction.

Do not be surprised at an unusual number of disputes and clamors in these times. These, too, must come. Do not be surprised that you sometimes get caught up in them. None of us are as strong or steady as we like to imagine. Do not despair over an offense. Repent and continue in the work God calls you to, with a renewed determination not to cause needless grief. Remember, just because you fail does not excuse you from your work.

Finally, trust the good God. He will knit us all back together into a joyful community if we do not allow ourselves to tear each other apart first. As St. John Paul the Great was fond of saying, “Be not afraid.” Trust and obey.

                                                                        ***

I have discovered that some of the comments intended for here end up in a ‘spam’ folder which I don’t always see. The ‘spam’ folder is very good, for I am surprised at how many stupid things get sent from ‘bots – Russian brides, discount prescription come-ons, various and sundry scams. I have enough to deal with without going through these one by one. But I am concerned that some of you may have sent a comment that I did not receive. So you know, it is very important to me to acknowledge everyone who is kind enough to visit here. I do that by: A) approving your first comment or B) sending you a brief private note on why I did not clear a comment. Once you have had a comment published, none of your later pending comments go into the ‘spam’ box. The site recognizes your email address as a valid participant. If you are a repeat commenter and your comment was not cleared on a thread that I have noted I would limit comments on, I may not respond – you already know I value your input, just didn’t use it for that time. But if you sent your first comment and it was neither cleared nor did you get an email from me, I probably never saw the comment because it went to the ‘spam’ box. Keep after me in that case.

                                                                        ***

our lady of tepeyac

I have heard from a few readers in Mexico and Latin America about how their countries are usually ignored on spiritual matters. I have not heard from anyone from Argentina – they have a rather impressive voice being heard from Rome each day.

Mexico and Latin America have a very big role to play in the times that are upon us, I think. First and foremost, there is Our Lady of Tepeyac (Guadalupe). She is the Mother of Conversion – and she accompanies us throughout the Storm. She first appeared to St. Juan Diego on Tepeyac Hill near Mexico City almost 500 years ago, in December, 1531. She did what the European missionaries had tried, but failed to do: converted the Indians en masse over a period of 10 years and utterly crushed the bloody, murderous death cult of Qxlcoatl.

It was in the mid-90s that Our Lady of Tepeyac appeared to me. She told me many things. Among them was that Our Lady of Tepeyac is her proper title and what she wants to be called. She said that as bad as things are in the New World, the faith is under even greater assault in the Old World, that during the Storm, she would once again accomplish abundant miraculous conversion where men have failed, and that the Old World would be re-evangelized from the New World during those times. When Francis was elected Pope, I regarded it as the beginning of the fulfillment of that particular prophecy.

As people in the U.S. and Canada have gotten too “sophisticated” to hold fast to the tenets of the faith, many in Mexico have lived it simply, even as they have suffered from abundant corruption and violence. God has noticed where fidelity lies. Before all is said and done, much grace will flow from Mexico and her southern neighbors.

Of course, it is the image of Our Lady of Tepeyac that appears on the prayer card for the Prayer of Miraculous Trust. Without imposing the matter on anyone, I have steadily let people know that Tepeyac is the proper title by which she wishes to be called. I am gratified to see in different articles the ever more frequent use of the construction, “Our Lady of Guadalupe (Tepeyac).” It tells me the message is starting to take hold.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Musings: A Time of Division, Mexico

  1. Thank you so much for your comments regarding the increase in bickering and disputes among family members and friends. I am grateful for the warning, and as I think about it, I realize that I have lately found myself becoming easily upset about certain circumstances (and the people involved in those circumstances). You have made me aware of my impulsive, usually angry or critical, responses and I am accepting your correction right now. May the Holy Spirit set a guard over my mouth so that from this moment on I will not say what I’m thinking without really examining my motives, my attitude and my heart.

    Like

  2. David says:

    Good job , brother. The evil one is after us and uses any means he can. Please pray for my parish priests. The pastor asked me for prayers. I did not ask him why. But we know how many evil spirits are after our priests. The last several priest here fell in a very bad way. God bless and keep you under His protection.

    Like

  3. Chris says:

    Ugly disputes and separations have plagued my family on my mother’s side for 5 generations.Our present dispute is ongoing now for 7 months….my mother and daughter not speaking to me and my sister.My priest did a 2 hour generational healing with me and asked me to pray a healing prayer for families every day.He says it may take a while to break this spirit of control. Can you offer any advice or comments?We are all suffering….especially the grandchildren who are caught in the middle?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      With your permission, Chris, I would like to forward your question and email address to a woman I know who has done some very effective work on intergenerational healing in families. If you drop me a note back at my email address (use the “Contact” button at the top of this page) I will forward it directly to her and ask her if she has some advice for you.

      A few quick things I might say…first, maintain your dignity and joy while also maintaining your Catholic identity. I had a family member tell me years ago that she had long wanted to be like me. I had not expected that at all – and asked what she meant. Well, at the time, I was Catholic and my entire extended family were Protestant fundamentalists – yet we had a pretty good relationship and enjoyed each other. She explained that she loved the way that I was what I was and did not care what anyone thought about it – but I also did not get into disputes with anyone or push them into anything – while not tolerating any efforts to insult my faith. I laughed and said, “You mean you just want to be comfortable in your own skin.” That’s pretty much it. If someone wanted to get ugly, I separated myself from them. If they wanted to re-unite, I was willing – provided it was not just a means of re-opening hostilities. Everyone’s situation is different…but a certain serene indifference to what anyone thinks, combined with a refusal to proselytize anyone, along with an equal refusal to allow anyone to proselytize me has served me very well.

      But again, if you send me an email, I would really like to send this to a woman who has had a record of success in helping others in your situation.

      Like

  4. Nancy says:

    Thank you for this post. I have noticed that the level of confrontation has increased even in places it shouldn’t. I work in a hospital and the stress levels are increasing along with sickness–among the staff, not the patients. I confess that I respond to the way I am spoken to with the same tone of voice and it just escalates. People assume that since you don’t have a “smile in your voice” you must be angry (answering a phone). Truth is that we are so busy that we are multi tasking. (I am not a nurse with direct patient care but I can be “working” on several patients at one time.) I can only assume that this is happening everywhere and it is very contagious. Now I understand better. It probably starts with an “emotional” comment by a person higher up in the chain of care and just trickles down to those on the lower end. No one stops it. Now I can see that it should be my job to see that it doesn’t “bounce” back up the chain, which could affect patient care.
    I used to be able to pray at work (mental. of course) but that is impossible now. I would pray for the patients I was working on and now the only thought I can get out is “Hail Mary”–I hope that is enough. 🙂

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      You are on the right track, Nancy. I know when I went off yesterday, I was cranky because of a whole bunch of different things – none of which had anything to do with what I went off about. My old work in politics required that I keep a steady demeanor under pressure – in fact, my ability to do so was one of my most useful assets to my clients. But often, when we are maintaining discipline where we should, we are in danger of going off when the pressure lifts, we are relaxed and not paying attention to the need to calm troubled waters. In these times, I think it is all troubled waters, so now we really must act as watchmen – ever vigilant and ever ready to give a kind encouraging word so as to spread peace. And what we must watch first is ourselves. Now, I think, is a time when it is not enough to just be satisfied with not starting a problem, but to actively work to defuse problems that surround us like land mines.

      Like

      • Nancy says:

        Charlie, what is going to happen to all the sick during this storm? I know that it seems as though I want to know the future, but I need to know. They are among the weakest and most vulnerable. I remember the stories of what happened in one of the hospitals in Katrina (I think) and I couldn’t stand for that. I wish that a great miracle would happen. I smile when I think of it–a perfect answer to eliminating my job. That would fill me with joy.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Nancy, I have given a lot of thought on how to respond to this. God is not going to just miraculously clean up our mess and cure everyone. If He did that, we would learn nothing and quickly make a new mess even worse than the one we are in. We have made this mess – and the Storm would be the end if God were not intervening to ameliorate some of its consequences and – after a season – send Our Lady the Immaculate Conception to rescue us. You probably are not among those who have gleefully participated in dismantling America’s health system, her monetary system, her moral obligations to her neighbors in the world, executing infants as a moral ‘right’ and on and on…but when the barbarians came under the guise of progressive enlightenment to do those things, we did not manage to rouse ourselves to enough effectiveness to defend and maintain the values of faith. So now the Storm comes.

          It is a global civil war that will be marked by several intense waves. Many among the weakest and most vulnerable will suffer and die. Many among the strongest and least vulnerable will suffer and die. People you know will suffer and die. No one will be left untouched. The barbarians have evicted God and hope and faith from the public square and the faithful, however much we have complained, have permitted it. Okay, God allows us to reap a little of the bitter harvest we have sown, in order that we may remember what we reap when we delude ourselves that we are sufficient to ourselves. What comes is merely what we have brought on ourselves.

          But God does not leave us bereft. A new age of miracles is upon us, as well – but that age will not unfold to anyone who sits in their den hoping to see it happen on TV. The Virgin Mary, hearing her older cousin Elizabeth was pregnant, did not merely pray that God take care of her. Mary got up and made the arduous journey to be there for her, knowing that usually we are the instruments through which God accomplishes His Holy Will. It is why I am working so urgently to get the first group of a new renewal movement started and then distribute a rule for it to spread everywhere.

          I strongly direct you to the Prayer of Miraculous Trust. Live that spirit and get to work. God will not eliminate your work. Rather, you must redouble your efforts – and God will bless that work with supernatural fruitfulness and abundance. But I must tell you candidly that the rain does fall on the just and the unjust. You be a sign of hope; you trust in God for results; you do the concrete work right in front of you with extraordinary love, fidelity, and faith – and in the midst of the violent raging of the Storm, grace will seep in – at first almost imperceptibly – and then will begin to overpower it. Jesus told the man with the withered hand to “…stretch out your hand” and then healed him. It is through your fidelity to your work that the miracles will begin. Stretching out our hand will heal no one, but if we do not determinedly stretch out our hand – both to Christ and to our neighbors – there will be no healing, no miracle.

          There is terror, tribulation and suffering ahead of us. I cannot tell you otherwise. But joy, transformation, healing – and God – are within our reach. Be a sign of hope and God will accomplish miracles through you.

          Like

          • Nancy says:

            Thank you, Charlie. I needed to hear that. Father told me in confession that God was enlightening me so I could be His tool. I didn’t know how to be anything more than probably the dullest tool in the toolbox, but I want to be more. You give me hope. I so appreciate your response.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Thank you for your sweet spirit in which you accept it and gird your loins, Nancy. The panic, the fear you feel, is nothing I have not already lived. God just showed me these things early so I could “beat the rush” on the panic – and when they came, give hope and resolve rather than add to the panic. How lovely that you recognize God is just doing the same for you now. His lessons are never easy ones but, oh, they are good ones!

            Like

    • Anne Archer says:

      Considering how uptight the world is presently – Syria, Irag, Ferguson, etc, etc., I wonder if we all don’t stay a little apprehensive so that we are less aware of others. I know that although I have never been a fearful person with this current situation and attacks all over the place I am far more cautious when I am out then I ever used to be. I never thought I might be attacked or a bomb might explode somewhere close – this is America land of the FREE and home of the brave. That free for me was a certain sense of personal security that was challenged with 9/11 and has escalated ever since. The consequence of that for me is that I don’t always look outside of my little world and consider others or how I am relating to them or being patient and saying a prayer for them. A wonderful prayer given to me not long ago that works well for me is: Lord, have mercy on me and bless ______________. Now when I have a negative feeling or reaction to someone I try to remember to say that sincerely and it does seem to help reduce my negativity.

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Another thing we can all do, Anne, and should do more – particularly in these terrible times – is to silently acknowledge both our guardian angel and those of the people around us to help guide and direct and keep us steady. In one situation where I sniffed a sudden crisis coming before anyone else around me, I had the presence of mind to do this. I think it probably saved a few lives or at least serious injury – and gave me the presence of mind to stay steady in a dangerous situation and help defuse it, thus being a sign of hope, rather than panicking or being stunned into paralysis. Our guardian angels are very powerful intercessors – and particularly like to be asked to collaborate with the guardians of others around us.

        Like

        • Anne Archer says:

          Thank you. I will definitely try to remember that in everyday life because it is so true – I needed that reminder.

          Like

        • Janet says:

          One of the things I realized some time ago that I could change about myself was the practise of what I came to call “script writing”. That is when you imagine future scenarios or fictional conversations with other people which serve to escalate your negative mood. What I finally realized about this practise is that the “scripts” are always negative! Who’s footprint is that? Let us resolve to stay firmly rooted in the present reality. We don’t know what others are carrying. Our imaginings can be hazardous to our relationships and our well-being. Let us take every thought captive to Christ, and maintain our inner peace through prayer and good wishes, especially for those who hurt us!

          Like

  5. Cathrine Adamczyk says:

    Thank you so much, Charlie for your wise council concerning dissentions arising! It could not have come at a better time for me! I will try to heed what you have said, by the grace of God! Please, pray for me! And I will for you! You are a blessing!

    Like

  6. Agnes says:

    Dear Charlie, I am a new reader of your excellent musings. I am from south east Asia and a Catholic all my life, but only in the last 15 years have I taken my faith seriously. You wrote of our Lady, “She first appeared to St. Juan Diego on Tepeyac Hill near Mexico City almost 500 years ago, in December, 1531. She did what the European missionaries had tried, but failed to do: converted the Indians en masse over a period of 10 years and utterly crushed the bloody, murderous death cult of Qxlcoatl.” If you look at her picture, she is shown standing on a crescent moon, which is also the symbol of Islam. May I venture a thought here, something I have silently pondered over for many months. Do you think our good Lady, our beloved Mother, will also do what many current day politicians /diplomats /missionaries will probably try to do and fail, that is, win over, subdue, overwhelm with love, convert… the IS members (and others) en masse over a period of … years and “utterly crushed” the current equally “bloody, murderous death cult” of the IS. I so long for that day!
    I would appreciate your not publishing my comment, but if you care, please send me a short note instead. Many thanks.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Agnes, how very shrewd of you! This is a subject I am going to cover in depth at some point – but not right away. But yes, that is exactly what will happen – though there are a lot of bumps and turns along the way and it will not come as many imagine it. I am very impressed with your smooth ability to look right below the surface and see the deeper reality there. I hope you will visit here regularly. I love it when people get it!

      Like

      • George Brubaker says:

        Thank for your reply to Agnes. Her comments reminded me that Our Lady of Fatima appeared in a village named for Mohammed’s daughter, Fatima. With the Koran’s respect for Mary, I’ve always thought there was something yet to come regarding this connection.

        Like

      • Nancy says:

        Interesting that in chapter 17 of The World’s First Love by Fulton Sheen, “Mary and the Moslems”, Sheen said, “Missionaries in the future will, more and more, see that their apostolate among the Moslems will be successful in the measure that they preach Our Lady of Fatima.” He continued, “Mary is the advent of Christ, bringing Christ to the people before Christ Himself is born…Our Blessed Lady will carry the Moslems the rest of the way to her Divine Son.” I think he was being prophetic. I hadn’t thought of it until Agnes brought her insight to the discussion. That book is one of my favorites

        Like

  7. Anne Archer says:

    I certainly appreciated today’s comments regarding differences. I distribute the blood of Christ at Mass on a regular basis and consider it a wonderful privilege although truthfully don’t think lay people ought to be doing this however on to the subject. There is one lady who sits close to the front of church and receives but occasionally takes it all – down to the last drop. This leaves the rest of the line out of the opportunity. This was mentioned to the person who is charge of EM’s and she told me that others had complained and she had commented to the person but with no results. We were in a meeting together recently and I thought I would take her aside and suggest to her that it wasn’t charitable to those behind but before I could say much she started lecturing me as to what my role was. I was to be the “giver” not the “blood police” and it wasn’t my place to be judging people, etc., etc. Prior to mentioning this to the lady I had vacillated between whether or not I ought to say something but since we are in some of the same groups thought that coming from a little closer person might effect the situation. Well, no it didn’t. The next day before Mass she came up to me and told me that I should let the devil keep me from being an EM – I wasn’t quite sure how to interpret that but….. Afterwards I had an occasion to mention it to the person in charge of EM’s so she would know what was being mentioned should it be mentioned.

    I guess my point in this is that I probably should have kept my mouth shut. Of the few times that I have gotten up my nerve to offer correction – it never works. I need to leave correction to someone else.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I can’t help but think you should talk to a priest or deacon, Anne. This person is engaging in a serious abuse – I suspect it borders on desecration. That lady should be corrected. You may not be the person to do it, but you should push authorities until it is done.

      I tend to be direct on serious matters – and this is not for everyone. I know many close to me who could not do it – and shouldn’t try. But I am also an EM. I would flatly refuse to give her the cup until it is addressed – and if I was removed from the ministry for that, so be it. To continue, knowing what she is going to do, is to participate in a near-desecration. The lady, if she is just ignorant and not malicious, can receive from someone else. If she targets you, there is something much more malign going on and you should push formal authorities until it is addressed. If no one will correct it, I really would resign from that particular ministry – and clearly but discretely let the officials know why I was resigning.

      On this matter, I particularly would welcome anyone else’s informed advice to Anne. Come on little virtual community, let’s help her out.

      Like

      • jeanO says:

        I was deeply moved to respond to this. Charlie, your appeal to support this member of our little virtual community was so sincere. I have not read further into the thread to see what support will be offered, and I am no expert but Charlie is seeing this rightly. Please, bring this to the pastor and pray for him and for this woman. He is the shepherd. We, the laity are his assistants, we are not to bear it ourselves. And, also if you are doubting the ministry you are participating in, be aware that there is an excellent program available from the saint catherine of siena institute the “called and gifted” discernment process. Me and my husband participated in this at the conclusion of a retreat program our parish offers called Christ Renews his Parish. There are solid, practical helps out there. The information just needs to be set out there. What a good opportunity to share. Thanks for this community, Charlie. Knock and you shall be answered.

        Like

  8. Anne Archer says:

    I meant I shouldn’t, not should, let the devil keep me from being an EM.

    Like

  9. Shirley Bachmeier says:

    I have been drawn to your musings and teachings for about two months now. I have been an ardent supporter of Mark Mallett since we invited him to a conference in 2006. He has been indispensable in my journey through these days; God has definitely put us on the same journey of understanding and confirmation. Your today’s musing helped me confirm a decision to treat with unconditional love, my identical twin sister who has been swept off the track in her decision to follow Jesus [If you love Me you will keep My commandments.] I have boldly told her that her decision to enter into a disordered affair will eventually rob her of her peace and mercy of God. Your words of wisdom of now leaving it be in God’s unconditionally love and timing came just at the right time…a lightening bolt to my critical, hurting heart. Thank you for your care in speaking so simply but powerfully so all can understand. God bless your mission and your loving heart. Shirley Bachmeier gmabach@aol.com

    Like

  10. Barbara Dore says:

    I heard about a very old story about Lourdes, The Muslim army marched to this place ( Lourdes) from southern Spain. They must have travelled on the Pyrenees mountains. They camped this area, ( there was no village around this time). The Christian soldiers met them on this area. The Captain of this muslim army was converted to Catholicism. ( I still have no idea how?) His name was something like “Lourdas “.. I still do not know more than this story.

    I was staying in Gibraltar for a few days and I managed to visit Our Lady of Europe Shrine. I saw Africa from standing on the Europa point. I visited the antique shop which sells the war stuff and many old pictures. I read the brief history and it had dawned on me that it was a muslim ‘s biggest dream to invade Europe. They did try a few times, but failed so far. It had an impact on me…With the modern technology, it may be possible for them. It is really scary…

    We have to pray to Our Lady of Europe…Our Lady of Americas as well to protect us and defend them with our rosaries.

    Like

  11. Mary-Louise says:

    I have been thinking about your earlier writing, Charlie, where you said that last year was the “last Christmas” for us, that things will be different. I have a feeling that another 9/11 is coming this year, next month. I’ve been planning to go to a healing service in a town nearly two hours away, to see a person who I know to be very gifted, but lately feel as if these plans will be disrupted.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Your plans may or may not be disrupted, Mary-Louise. Few people would argue any more that soon enough a crash will disrupt everything for each of us – not just Middle Eastern Christians, European Ghettoes, people near the American border, or Ferguson, Missouri. The cancer grows for all to see. But your proper work is to go about your proper business. Someone, I think it was Janet, made the very appropriate observation that the Lord does not reveal the day or the hour to us, but He does reveal the season. We are in the season. I do not change my plans in worry over these things. When crash comes to me, it will catch me in the middle of my daily work, just as it does everyone else. Meantime, what I do is crank away at this website, developing the first of a new type of renewal groups and the booklet of order so others may do the same, and punch away at getting a guide and directory for spiritual direction and mentorship. May the Lord find me hard at work on being a sign of hope when my daily plans are disrupted. May it be the same for you. And then we will adapt and continue to take the next right step and be a sign of hope to those around us.

      Like

      • I must tell you that your writings have had a deep impact on my perspective and resultant attitude about the times we are in. I am so calmed and encouraged (and yes, hopeful) about the days ahead. I want to be that sign of hope for everyone around me, to be fearless in my wholehearted living of the Gospel, to be an instrument of the love of Jesus for each and every soul. I have been watching the EWTN Family Gathering this weekend, and the call to the New Evangelization is crystal clear. Nothing less than the proliferation of the Good News of Jesus Christ come in the flesh will make the difference in the choosing between life or death in this culture of death we are living in. Keep reminding us to be that beacon of hope, and to love the other more than we love ourselves for Jesus’ sake, and for the expansion of the Kingdom of the Divine Will on earth as it is in Heaven. In that way, we will begin to fulfill the purpose for which we have been created, and God will renew the face of the earth. May His Name be always loved and honored.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Oh Nancy, your words are like stepping under a refreshing waterfall on a hot afternoon. For most of my life, not only did I doubt these things – but I didn’t want to talk about them because why would I want to scare the bejabbers out of people. Now, I am grateful that there is a 20-year documented record – and since the times themselves are scary, what I have to say can give real hope. And when someone who had been beset by fear feels the great serenity – the knowledge that God has use of us to help bring calm amid strife, to help bring peace, to help build hope…well, there are moments reading these comments when I well up – and I am profoundly grateful I accepted the difficult training in order to enjoy and savor the sweet blessing of seeing hope – and resolve – light in people’s eyes. You thank me…I thank all of you.

          Like

        • This message was beautifully written describing what sits in our hearts. I am begging God for His efficacious grace to fill me with His wisdom, strength and fortitude to trust and obey what He is asking me to be and do.

          Like

  12. Fr. Bill Bowling says:

    Dear Charlie,

    Our Lady of Tepeyac has become very dear to me since I began ministry with Hispanic immigrants. The Feast of our Lady of Guadalupe has always been a joyful celebration in December and makes each Advent even more special. I was delighted to read the insight from Agnes about the crescent moon in the image of our Lady and the possible connection to the current struggle in the Middle East. It is also not lost on me (and perhaps on most folks) of the connection of this current struggle with the apparitions at Fatima. Location, location, location! The name of the town – Fatima (daughter of Mohammad) is such an interesting detail that connects with the message of Fatima (and I hope I am not wandering into those “fever swamps” mentioned earlier).

    In this Sunday’s gospel it was no accident that Jesus chose that large rock hill upon which sat Caesarea Philippi to reveal his plan for the Church by establishing Simon Peter as Cephas – The Rock – upon which he would build his church. So much is revealed in the details when we have our eyes open to what the Lord is showing us and telling us. It is so important to pay attention to all of the details of the language of the Holy Spirit. Watch and Pray.

    That being said, I ran across an article this morning on Facebook that caught my attention, just as the above comment caught my attention just now. This article, entitled “Jesus instead of Jihad,” is about the evangelization that is even now occurring in the Muslim world. I read this and was very much encouraged by the message, even while our brothers and sisters in the Middle East are suffering a horrific persecution. I am consoled that their suffering and death is not in vain, that God uses it for even greater works of mercy.

    Here is the link.
    http://eponymousflower.blogspot.com/2013/03/jesus-instead-of-jihad-every-year-six.html

    Pax et bonum,
    Fr. Bill

    Like

    • George Brubaker says:

      I visited Caesarea Philippi several years ago and saw that “large rock hill” Fr. Bill mentioned. It’s really a cliff face and the rock is red. There’s a huge cavern in the cliff with a stream flowing out of it, one of the sources for the Jordan River. The place was called Panias long before it became Caesarea Philippi. It was one of the Greeks’ “gates of hell” and a pagan worship site for the cult of Pan. Matthew doesn’t make the connection with Jesus’ words to Peter, probably because most people at the time of writing might have known the place well. Since my visit this Gospel has always brought me back to the location. I see Jesus making the promise to Peter right in front of the “gates of hell” at Caesarea Philippi, a good reminder that the “gates of hell” are right here in this world and usually not far from where we live.

      Like

  13. johnmcfarm says:

    Thank you so much Charlie…I have noticed and been plagued by the recent emotional issues in my family…it relieves me to understand the cause. You do so much good, I hope you understand the value of your leadership and wisdom. We are really blessed to have you in our lives!

    Like

  14. Matthew says:

    Holy Guardian Angel, please speak with the Guardian Angels of all those whom I will meet this day that our encounters may be fruitful in time and in eternity for their salvation and for mine. Amen

    I composed that prayer a few years ago and say it every morning.
    Matthew

    Like

  15. anne says:

    Matthew…..thank you. Simple, wonderful prayer.

    Like

  16. jaykay says:

    Thank you so much for this post, which couldn’t have come at a more appropriate time for me as I had a run-in with my brother-in-law just last Monday and, despite going to confession, still kept obsessing on it in a very bitter way. Anyway, we were due to meet last night with some other friends and, before going in, I prayed briefly begging for charity and humility. Everything went splendidly and I have learned a lesson. Matthew: that’s a wonderful prayer, thank you. I’ll remember it.

    Like

  17. Becky-TN says:

    Hi Charlie,

    Ran into Adoration briefly this am to pour my heart out to Our Lord. There has always been a statue of the Blessed Mother to the right of the altar in a spot in the corner. While I have seen it before, it had new meaning to me today as it is a statue of Our Lady of Tepeyac.

    Been pondering a lot lately with all of your writings. So blessed by them, Charlie.

    Have a wonderful rest of the weekend.

    Becky-TN

    Like

  18. El ingeniero de Tepeyac says:

    “As people in the U.S. and Canada have gotten too “sophisticated” to hold fast to the tenets of the faith, many in Mexico have lived it simply, even as they have suffered from abundant corruption and violence. God has noticed where fidelity lies. Before all is said and done, much grace will flow from Mexico and her southern neighbors.”

    Charlie, has Nuestra Señora de Tepeyac mentioned anything about the cult of Santa Muerte or the cult of Santo Jésus Malverde? Both of those cults are strong in the northern border regions of México especially in the areas of narco traficking and spreading. I know the Catholic church has condemned both cults. The representation of santa muerte makes a mockery of the image of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

