The Borongan Miracle


A reader kindly sent me this magnificent story by Bernie V. Lopez of the Philippine Daily Inquirer – and now I see that Michael Brown’s Spirit Daily has made it his lead article today, too. It is well worth the read.

As some have shrewdly intuited, Our Lady IS the refuge during these times. Everything else is detail. Take refuge under her mantle and you can be a sign of hope to all the others in need of refuge. I was told long ago that Our Lord is offended by many things in these terrible times, but that nothing so offends Him as the general contempt and indifference with which so many who call themselves Christians treat His mother. He is making it clear now in the still early stages of the Great Storm that she is our refuge. You can come safely to refuge beneath her mantle or get caught in the violence of the Storm.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Preparation, The Storm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Borongan Miracle

  1. Hopenjoy says:

    Thank you for the continued encouragement to come under Our Lady’s mantle…I was a long time coming around to accepting Mary’s role, even with Mark Mallett’s writings and yours. However earlier this summer an email friend was given a word of knowledge for me…from Mary. It was beautiful, stunning and revelatory. Ever since I have been feeling her presence, seeing little visions of her alongside me in various situations, and even had several words from her! I recently went through an annual work-related activity which is normally very stressful and spiritually exhausting…I asked her to take over for me this week, and it was amazing. Calmness, peacefulness, gentleness surrounded me…she and the Holy Spirit gave me encouraging, positive words to speak to every person I worked with, and the usual spiritual warfare and conflict was gone. She truly is our refuge, she truly is a velvet-lined shield for us as we place ourselves into her hands to be cleaned up and presented to her Son Jesus! If this past week is any example of Mary as the ark, I am 100% on board and committed, I’ve seen her in action. Now when I have a little vision with Jesus, I always see her alongside me…either holding my hand or with her hand on my shoulder. Amazing, comforting, and wonderful…folks…behold your mother! Welcome her into your home, into your heart, and I promise she will protect you, bring her spouse the Holy Spirit more strongly into your life, and make Jesus even more present to you every day. (Now…if I was only gutsy enough to start talking like this with my Protestant friends…)


    • charliej373 says:

      Pray hard to be able to speak about it with your Protestant friends in a way that helps, rather than pushes further away. It is a profound act of kindness to introduce someone to Mary. In these times, I don’t care if someone I trust is Catholic or Protestant…but I sure do want them to know Our Lady if I can make the introduction without driving people away. I have done so successfully with several Protestants – who have joyfully taken her hand and refuge beneath her mantle. My good friend, John McConnell – who is author of The Peppy Prepper site at right – is a good Missionary Baptist man who has become a joyful enthusiast for Our Lady. She is our refuge.


  2. ann says:

    Father Gobbi said many years ago (1983) at a gathering I was privileged to be at that the Blessed Mother had told him the time was coming when there would be no safety anywhere but in Her Immaculate Heart–that every institution would fail, everything we depended on. She told him that in Her Immaculate Heart we would shelter as in an enclosed garden. It’s so important to make a consecration to Her Immaculate Heart, and to get your family consecrated. To quote an old Bette Davis film: “fasten your seat belts–it’s going to be a bumpy ride.”


  3. am doing an ongoing yearly reconsecration for third time, can my family be consecrated thru my consecration if this is the intent of my heart?


    • charliej373 says:

      Of course you can. This does not mean they will suddenly convert, but how pleased the Lord is when we get outside ourselves to offer our sorrows, sufferings, joys and consecrations for those we love – and it will rain grace upon them and remove obstacles.


  4. ellenchris says:

    It may come as a surprise to some that there are a great many Anglicans who really love Our Lady, too. The Shrine at Walsingham in England is a double shrine with Roman and Anglican churches. There are also many services that are done together there. Our Lady stands as the Sign of Hope for unity and brings people together there under Her mantle. More Anglicans than you might imagine will readily pull their rosaries out of their pockets if asked.


    • charliej373 says:

      I did know that about Anglicans, Ellen. there is kind of a rule that, the more a denomination respects the Sacraments, the more likely they are to be friendly to Our Lady. A lot of traditional Methodists are also close to Our Lady. Interestingly, when the divisions first came in Christianity, Luther always remained reverent to Our Lady. Even Calvin, the father of Puritanism and fundamentalism, was originally reverent to Our Lady. He got into a dispute with the Lutherans over her role – and as disputes often go – it went downhill from there and he became disrespectful of her, which began the tradition in some Protestant lines of disdaining Mary. Kind of ironic that that particular strain did NOT arise because of a dispute with Catholics, but almost solely from a dispute between different Protestant lines.


  5. ellenchris says:

    If anyone has an interest in the Walsingham double shrine, your can see it at:


  6. ellenchris says:

    Thanks, Charlie — I did not know that about Methodists. Seems like there are in indeed good convergences going on (in contradistinction to those on the other side) among Christians, led by the Holy Spirit. Pope Francis is contributing to this in no small measure. May Jesus’ prayer for unity be fulfilled.


  7. anne says:

    Yes, Our Lady IS the refuge. As a mother i have done what i can in raising children.Now i pray and hand them to HER, our Spiritual Mother. We are in a storm, allow Her to take care as the Storm is Spiritual breaking out into the physical, mental, emotional. Essentially, though a spiritual storm.
    { an aside…. a new movie is starting…..Into the Storm. How appropriate!}


  8. Becky-TN says:


    She truly is such a loving mother to us all! I’ll never forget the first time I asked her to wrap her mantle around my oldest and then hog-tie him with her rosary beads. I meant no disrespect, but boy, what a time I was having with him in our relationship and I said it in desperation. I pray she wasn’t offended. Truthfully, I think (and hope) she got a chuckle out of it.

    I’m grateful to read your response above about being able to make an Act of Concecration to Jesus through Mary for our family. I made my first Act of Consecration for me and my husband and children 2 years ago. Renewed it again this year. Plan, God willing, to renew it every year. With hopes that my husband and children make an Act on their own one day. But if I can’t, I pray that first one is truly enough along with my usual frequent asking her to take each one of us into her Immaculate Heart and then asking her to take us and place us into the wounded side of her son and deadbolt us into His most Sacred Heart never allowing us to leave.

    Many thanks and blessings,



  9. jrpayne827 says:

    Dear Charlie,

    I am new to your blog, and have been trying to catch up with some of the earlier postings, so that I can get up to speed. You mention “The Shrine”, and I’m wondering if you wrote something about that earlier. Under your archives, the postings only go back to January of this year. Is there a way to go back to earlier posts? It just feels like I’m reading a book, starting in the middle instead of at Chapter 1.

    I am very cautious about any and all private revelation, even Mark Mallett (as good of a writer as he is), but I am enjoying reading your posts. There is just so much out there to discern. I do not have any gifts of prophecy or visions, but I do feel very strongly that we are on the verge of something major (like many people). I agree with you that we should not be seeking more specifics and more information regarding how this will all play out.

    Having said that, I feel woefully inadequate for what’s coming – whatever it is. I know Jesus chose for me to be alive during this time, and hopefully He knows what He’s doing! 🙂


    • charliej373 says:

      Hi J.R., I will be putting up a piece on the Shrine later today. But to get some earlier things, you can go to my Facebook Page, “Abraham’s Journey.” I began that just a few months before I began my year and a half pilgrimage walking across the country – so it goes back to late 2010. The first couple of years were just little bits (but some wonderful ones!) from what I experienced and wonderful people I met along my way. In November of 2012, I began writing about the things I write about here. And you continue to be cautious about private revelation. The Church is our ship to safety. Anything here that helps give you peace and ready you to be a sign of hope in troubled times, use it. If anything robs you of your peace, ignore it. Stick with the Church.


  10. Mack says:

    A similar thing happened on Long Island, NY, after Hurricane Sandy. In Breezy Point, a statue of Mary was preserved although 100 homes in the area had burned down. It was reported in the New York Times:


Leave a Reply

