Today’s Liturgy of the Hours, Prophecy for Our Time


In light of the things happening around the world right now, this reading from today’s Liturgy of the Hours is spot on. It may be significant that this reading also appeared in the breviary on a Tuesday 13 years ago, on 911. The God of Little Whispers speaks if we listen. (A hat tip to my dear friend, Fr. Mark, for sending this along to me).

From the beginning of the book of the prophet Habakkuk

A prayer in time of desolation

The oracle which Habakkuk the prophet received in vision.

How long, O Lord? I cry for help
   but you do not listen!
I cry out to you, “Violence!”
   but you do not intervene.

Why do you let me see ruin;
   why must I look at misery?
Destruction and violence are before me;
   there is strife, and clamorous discord.
This is why the law is benumbed,
   and judgment is never rendered:
Because the wicked circumvent the just;
   this is why judgment comes forth perverted.

Look over the nations and see,
   and be utterly amazed!
For a work is being done in your days
   that you would not have believed, were it told.
For see, I am raising up Chaldea,
   that bitter and unruly people,
That marches the breadth of the land
   to take dwellings not his own.

Terrible and dreadful is he,
   from himself derive his law and his majesty.
Swifter than leopards are his horses,
   and keener than wolves at evening.
His horses prance,
   his horsemen come from afar:
They fly like the eagle hastening to devour;
   each comes for the rapine,
Their combined onset is that of a stormwind
   that heaps up captives like sand.

He scoffs at kings,
   and princes are his laughingstock;
He laughs at any fortress,
   heaps up a ramp, and conquers it.
Then he veers like the wind and is gone–
   this culprit who makes his own strength his god!
Are you not from eternity, O Lord,
   my holy God, immortal?
O Lord you have marked him for judgment,
   O Rock, you have readied him for punishment!

Too pure are your eyes to look upon evil,
   and the sight of misery you cannot endure.
Why, then, do you gaze on the faithless in silence
   while the wicked man devours
   one more just than himself?
You have made man like the fish of the sea,
   like creeping things without a ruler.

He brings them all up with his hook,
   he hauls them away with his net,
He gathers them in his seine;
   and so he rejoices and exults.
Therefore he sacrifices to his net,
   and burns incense to his seine;
For thanks to them his portion is generous,
   and his repast sumptuous.
Shall he, then, keep on brandishing his sword
   to slay peoples without mercy?

I will stand at my guard post,
   and station myself upon the rampart,
And keep watch to see what he will say to me,
   and what answer he will give to my complaint.

Then the Lord answered me and said:
   Write down the vision
Clearly upon the tablets,
   so that one can read it readily.
For the vision still has its time,
   presses on to fulfillment, and will not disappoint;

If it delays, wait for it,
   it will surely come, it will not be late.
The rash man has no integrity;
   but the just man, because of his faith, shall live.

Hebrews 10:37-38, 39

A little while longer, a very little while
and the promised one will come.
He will not delay.
– My just one will live by faith.

We are not people who shrink back and are lost;
we live by faith that we might be saved.
– My just one will live by faith.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Culture, Prophecy, The Storm and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Liturgy of the Hours, Prophecy for Our Time

  1. ann says:

    Wow! From the pages of scripture as if newly minted for these days we are in–both readings. Just “Wow!”


  2. Diane Mello says:

    i read that at 7:00 this morning – and as i was reading it I was thinking – this is now- this is so appropriate for now – and God does not miss a beat – if there are any mis-steps they are ours. Powerful things are happening if we keep our eyes on Him.


  3. Jim says:

    A timely message. And when we think of how much restraint it must take from one who loves each of His children beyond any measure we can comprehend, to withhold his hand until the fullness of time while seeing the anguish, suffering and persecution of His children, we begin to understand the power of God.

    I believe the wait is over. .


  4. Kati says:

    I read this on the day you posted it and thought how GOOD our God is. The Liturgy of the Hours is such a treasure! It all seems so anointed these days…particularly the Psalms and works of praise of HIM. This morning, I was struck by the second reading…the sermon by St. John Chrysostom. Here is an excerpt:
    “The waters have risen and severe storms are upon us, but we do not fear drowning, for we stand firmly upon a rock. Let the sea rage, it cannot break the rock. Let the waves rise, they cannot sink the boat of Jesus. What are we to fear? Death? Life to me means Christ, and death is gain. Exile? ‘The earth and its fullness belong to the Lord. The confiscation of goods? We brought nothing into this world, and we shall surely take nothing from it. I have only contempt for the world’s threats, I find its blessings laughable. I have no fear of poverty, no desire for wealth. I am not afraid of death nor do I long to live, except for your good. I concentrate therefore on the present situation, and I urge you, my friends, to have confidence.
    Do you not hear the Lord saying: Where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I in their midst? Will he be absent, then, when so many people united in love are gathered together? I have his promise; I am surely not going to rely on my own strength! I have what he has written; that is my staff, my security, my peaceful harbour. Let the world be in upheaval. I hold to his promise and read his message; that is my protecting wall and garrison. What message? Know that I am with you always, until the end of the world!”

    St. John Chrysostom, please pray for us….and thank you for doing it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

