A Quiet Day

The 15-year-old me with my brother, Steve, and sister, Kim - numbers four and five of the siblings. One of my favorite pictures. I was probably telling them some silly story. Three generations of kids now can tell my goofy stories and silly songs.

The 15-year-old me with my brother, Steve, and sister, Kim – numbers four and five of the siblings. One of my favorite pictures. I was probably telling them some silly story. Three generations of kids now can tell my goofy stories and silly songs.

I am tired today. I always get tired for a few weeks when summer gives way to fall and when winter gives way to spring anyway, but I have been going pretty solid. Managing this website has become nearly a full-time job in itself, but I am so happy about it because it seem to be sparking a lot of healthy joy and hope to quite a few people – which is what I always hoped for. Many of you have become profound signs of hope for me. But today I am just kicking back, reading – and later going to visit with one of my priests. He has to do a retreat here in Colorado and we do look forward to getting together for a few hours whenever his duties bring him through here. As Thomas Wolfe said, you can’t go home again. But it’s nice when a little home comes to you every now and again.

I put the picture above up because I like it – it is one of my favorites. A big chunk of my life has been spent taking care of kids, both in my own family and others. I love it…giggling lively kids always make me feel more alive, closer to God. They don’t have to work at joy – they just have it. Once, I was having some conversation with my grandson when he was about three….saying all sorts of nonsense to him, then asking nonsensical questions to his stuff. My daughter was listening and finally burst out laughing – and said, “That’s what you used to always do with us, isn’t it. It seemed so magical then – and actually still seems magical in its way.” Then doing her best Robert DeNiro impersonation she said, “You gotta gift!”

I will be back at it tomorrow afternoon. I’m doing some work on the new prayer groups we are starting – and busy working to get a director for the direction directory project on board until then.

Meantime, Michael Brown, publisher of Spirit Daily, always writes good stuff, but he seems to have a rhythm where he catches fire for a time and writes breathtakingly good stuff. I think he has entered one of his “on fire” periods. The last three pieces he wrote himself have been marvelous. Today, he has an intriguing piece linking the unusual Northern Lights that came after 911 with the unusual set that came after the visitation at Fatima. I know many of you check out Spirit Daily, which is linked at right. But for those who don’t, you might really enjoy some of what Brown writes and the selections from others he collates.

Until tomorrow afternoon! (And for my French readers, A votre sante!)

I put the picture above up because it is one of my fa

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Quiet Day

  1. Audie says:

    Love the picture of you and your siblings. Enjoy your day “off”.


  2. Mary says:

    Thanks for all your warm and generous efforts, Charlie. Rest — and enjoy it — as needed


  3. johnmcfarm says:

    Of all the people I know, I think you are most deserving of some R and R. God bless you for all you do!


  4. donna269 says:

    Relax and enjoy today. Enjoy your priest! You feed us everyday and there is a season for rest….God Bless Charlie


  5. aj says:

    I didn’t realise they had colour photos in your younger days Charlie!!!!! Hahahahahaha

    Just musing….rest is necessary, especially from a “responsive” bunch of bloggers like us. Haha

    We’ll catch up when you’re done resting…

    YESHUA I Trust in You! Help my lack of Trust…please🙂


  6. Irish7 says:

    Happy rest! Thank you for the reminder to laugh and be silly with our kids. I have loved the inspired parenting advice from you and others here.


  7. MM Bev says:

    Good Grief, Charlie ! Don’t you know that the reason that we are here is because you are a profound sign of hope for us? ? That’s like too funny !


  8. maryrose49 says:

    I care for my 8 grandkids 2 days a week. Exausting but so good. Im having some R & R myself this weekend as Im off to a hermitage where silence will be the norm until Sunday afternoon. Hope you have a nice rest and its important to get a top up of peace ever so often.


  9. Charlie, you have been a sign of hope and inner peace in the short time I have become acquainted with you. I can only imagine how tired you must be, not only from managing this blog but all the things you are responsible for! I’m just a little old lady living in a senior apartment with few responsibilities, but I somehow don’t find enough hours in the day to do all that the Lord invites me to do! Have a good rest, thanks for giving us a glimpse of your childhood and then moving right on up to your grandparenthood.🙂 Grandkids are simply joy, are they not? Rest well, my friend.


Leave a Reply

