A Winnowing Fan and a Funnel

Working the winnowing fan.

Working the winnowing fan.

I have put up a new page for Prayer Requests at the top of the site. Hat tip to reader, Fran, for prodding me to get it done. Readers here have been wonderful at supporting each other – and this just gives another way to do that.

I will be a little light today and tomorrow. We have the first meeting of a new prayer group tomorrow, a very simple and straightforward one. I have spoken before about writing a little booklet once we get these started so others can go forward, as well. I have not put information on our inaugural effort here because it is also a sort of focus group, an initial effort at which we can look practically at what gives hope and what needs work. Next week, I will put up a video of some of it here – and the basic principles from which we begin.

Our emphasis is to receive joy by going forth and giving in simple ways. I will do the first presentation, entitled, “Family Life as a Participation in Trinitarian Life.” We have some wonderful people who came together to get this started – and I think that it can encircle the globe in a flame of love because of its simplicity and straightforwardness.

Meanwhile, a couple of things that might interest you. There is a whole lot of shaking going on. The Lord’s winnowing fan is already tossing off the chaff of those who are certain of their own self-will rather than trusting in Christ. But meantime, the wheat that is truly steadfastly set on Christ seems to be coming through a sort of funnel to unity. Already we can see a much greater unity between people of various faith traditions as the division seems to be between those who believe God is God, a God of Mercy and that His Word is decisive and among those who either do not believe or treat God as a useful fairy tale.

First, Mark Mallett repeated a marvelous piece from a few years ago on the foundation of authority in hierarchical Christianity. One of the earliest things that got me sniffing around the Catholic Church was my realization that Christ did not give His disciples a New Testament and tell them to go found a church. Rather, He founded a Church – and that Church formed the Bible that all Christians agree is binding.

Next, there is Rick Joyner, a prophetic Protestant voice that has been offering some striking commentary on what is happening in the world. A hat tip to French theologian, Peter B., for sending this on to me. Peter has a deep interest in modern day prophecy and private revelation – and has noted the striking convergence that has been developing among the best of these. Those who believe God is God are being funneled into the same territory, often from very different beginnings.

The administrator of the Mother of God Forum, Ireland’s Padraig Caughey, sent me this striking compilation of Church-approved Marian apparitions along with how they all seem to be reaching the time of fulfillment.

And finally, for cradle Catholics wanting to get a better look into the very deep, abiding faith of many of our Protestant brethren, I link to this site with just about all material from the Rev. Billy Graham. You may recall that the late Pope St. John Paul and the Rev. Billy Graham became close friends and often discussed the faith with each other. Graham is an amazing fellow, having lived public witness to his faith for nearly seven decades now. Never has there been a hint of scandal attached to him – and he has been steadfast in proclaiming the Word in season and out of season.

There truly is a great drawing together now. I think it is dawning on many that we really are all in the same boat.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Discernment, General, Solidarity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Winnowing Fan and a Funnel

  1. Maria says:

    A woman who has a mission from Jesus in the area of unity among the three Christian groups, Catholic, Protestant, Orthodox, is Vassula Rydén, a Greek Othodox. You can find out about her and the Messages from God at her website, http://www.tlig.org. She has been attacked by all sides, but if you read the messages, you will be surprised by the truth.

    Like

    • Mary-Louise says:

      From Wikipedia (not the best source, but with footnotes). The Vatican has not changed its mind on Vassula Ryden:

      “In 1995, the Catholic Church’s Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith (CDF) published a Notification (a message from the Holy See) on the writings of Rydén, saying her communications should not be considered supernatural, and calling all Catholic bishops to prevent Rydén’s ideas from being spread in their dioceses.[4] In 2007, Cardinal William Levada confirmed that the 1995 Notification was still in effect; he recommended that Catholics should not join prayer groups organized by Rydén. In 2011, the Greek Orthodox Church officially disapproved of Rydén’s teachings, instructing their faithful to disassociate from Rydén. In 2012, the Church of Cyprus said that Rydén’s teachings were heretical.”

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        As you may know, Mary-Louise, in the comments sections particularly, I let people put up things a lot more loosely than I would in the articles themselves. I thank you for noting this. I read through the findings at various points. I know the Catholic Church has said they do not believe Ryden’s communications are of supernatural origin, but they have not declared her writings to be heretical. If you know differently, please direct me to the proper sources. That, of course is a different thing from any of the Orthodox Churches making such a judgment.

        I have read some of Ryden’s work. Some seemed very comforting, some rather off, I thought. I did not find anything particularly harmful – but again, I read a portion of some before letting it go as mainly reasonable, but ordinary commentary. The thing that has most troubled me is that her organization has gone to such lengths to try to portray that she is approved by the Catholic Church – a position that is, ultimately, deceptive. That bothers me a lot. There is no shame in anyone who has current visitations not receiving the approval of the Church. Almost NONE do. The important thing is whether or not they have been condemned as not being worthy of consideration. If that is the case, I stay away – but almost all authentic experiences were NOT approved during the visionaries’ lifetime, so why anyone would go to such lengths to pretend there is an endorsement that is not there rather baffles me.

        Like

        • Marti says:

          As a matter of fact, Fr. Joseph Iannuzzi who is the foremost authority on the writings of Servant of God Luisa Picarretta is having a conference in St. Louis in November which I hope to attend.
          ” Fr. Joseph recounts his first encounter with Vassula and how he was instrumental in setting up the meeting for her and Pope John Paul II at the Vatican in November 1993.”

          Author of “Antichrist and the End Times” to be Featured Presenter and Confessor at USA retreat .

          “See how My predictions come true? And now I am telling you
          that the Heavens soon shall deluge with My Coming upon you;
          My Fire shall be hurled on this earth to burn up her crimes; I
          will not restrain My Hand; My Holy Name is daily profaned and
          My observances are scorned; this is to fulfill the words said in
          Scripture.”
          ~ True Life In God messages, August 30, 1991

          We all see examples of Godlessness throughout the world. We are all seeing seen an intensification of evil on the world stage.

          As Father Joseph Iannuzzi points out in his book, ‘Antichrist and the End Times’, “the evil nations that attempt to remove God from society discover their leadership in the Antichrist whom several Church Doctors identify as a diabolic, male individual.” In addition, Fr. Iannuzzi, an Oblates of St Joseph’s priest, with a PhD in Sacred Theology, has been quoted as saying, “Time is Short.”

          Fr. Iannuzzi is calling the faithful to arm themselves with prayer, penance and frequent reception of the sacraments. He cautions that serious changes are about to take place in the world. This warning does not come as a surprise to TLIG supporters as we are witnesses to the truth that the world has turned its back on God.

          This warning of a coming chastisement is well established in Fr. Iannuzzi’s aforementioned publication. With depth in both research and thorough documentation, Fr. Iannuzzi takes up the issue of the Antichrist, citing as his sources: Scripture, Church Doctors, prominent theologians, writings of the Saints and private revelations that have been granted a bishop’s imprimatur.

          Fr. Joseph recounts his first encounter with Vassula and how he was instrumental in setting up the meeting for her and Pope John Paul II at the Vatican in November 1993.

          Fr. Iannuzzi said, ” I reviewed a few of the messages from Jesus to Vassula in 1987 where he tells her He wants her to “put into the hands of his Johannes”, Pope John Paul II, his messages. and again in 1987 that Jesus would make his Johannes recognize her when she went to give him her messages. In 1993 this was accomplished in the “Sala delle Benedizioni” where I arranged a meeting of Vassula via phone. What inspired me to do this were her messages that had I been reading daily for a few years.

          I arranged the meeting with Pope John Paul II and Vassula in 1993 in the “Sala delle Benedizioni’ (The Blessings Hall of the Pope). Vassula arrived at my doorstep with Fr. O’Carroll and her writings in 3 languages the day before the arranged meeting. The following morning I accompanied them to the Vatican, past the Swiss Guards and to the front of the line where the Pope would meet her. Toward the end of the procession in The Blessings Hall, the Pope stopped in front of Vassula, recognized her, and spoke to her in French. He blessed her mission and her, and she submitted directly in to his hands her messages. At this moment Jesus’ mission was accomplished and he never again asked her to submit her writings to the pope.

          Vassula who brought her writings in English, Polish and French and placed them in the Pope’s hands thereby fulfilling Jesus’ request that he wants his ‘Peter’ to receive these messages.

          It is really quite extraordinary that TLIG supporter, Father Joseph Iannuzzi, author of a number of thoroughly researched and well-documented publications will be participating in the upcoming 2014 TLIG North American Retreat being held in St. Louis, Missouri from November 7th through the 9th.

          For this reason alone, it is necessary for our own spiritual enrichment, that we come together as believers to not only be blessed by Fr. Iannuzzi during the North American Retreat, but also to experience first hand, this humble priest’s extensive knowledge regarding the great chastisement. I do hope that you will seriously consider the incredible opportunity that is being offered to you at this upcoming retreat. It is an occasion that will deepen our spiritual life and our ability to confront with faith and inner peace events on our horizon.
          He is defending the writings of Vassula there and talking about his Thesis on the Divine Will. I have read all of Vassula’s writings and have seen all her videos. My spiritual father, the late Bishop Roman Danylak who was a Ukrainian Byzantine told me long ago that Vassula’s messages would change the way we looked at unity. He was spot on! Lets not throw the baby out with the bath water! I have the documents from the Vatican and the questions that Cardinal Ratzinger asked Vassula. He did indeed say she answered them all perfectly. Cardinal Levada has stepped in and again, a wrench has been put in. One cannot ignore the lukewarmness that originally came with her messages in the beginning, and now Orthodox are clamoring for her to come to them.

          She spent 45 minutes in the then Cardinal Borgoglio’s office in Argentina talking to him of Jesus’ desire to unify the dates of Easter. He agreed wholeheartedly with her! Now we know that as Pope he has come out publicly and stated the same. Peter B. can much more eloquently explain the details of the Vatican’s stance. One cannot take Wikipedia’s version of it. Its to complicated and it is one visionary that I would watch and bet on…

          Like

          • Mary-Louise says:

            Charlie: The Vatican asked the bishops to prevent Ryden’s ideas being spread in their diocese. To spread the messages is disobedient. It doesn’t matter if some priest in the 1990s supported a seer. What matters is the judgment of the Church, as expressed in the clearly written words of the Vatican decree. And yes, Ryden’s followers work very hard to deny the plain meaning of the words of the Vatican ban.

            Like

  2. vvtaranto@aol.com says:

    This is good…..a separating and a uniting is taking place…..

    Like

  3. johnmcfarm says:

    Good job Charlie…let me suggest other great Christian minds… C. S. Lewis, John Hagee, Mark Biltz, and A W Tozer

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      C.S. Lewis deserves his very own spot. I think I am going to take some time to get more of serious Christian thinkers for people to consider as we go along here. But anyone who has not read C.S. Lewis is definitely missing a lot.

      Like

  4. BB says:

    I’ve seen a couple of broadcasts on TV about Billy Graham, and as a cradle Catholic, and from the present perspective of these times, I see he is a powerful witness to Christ. I believe it is because he preaches the Cross. I believe this preaching of the Cross is the one thing that separates the authentic preacher from the dissipation.

    Like

  5. Tom says:

    Charlie, were you shown anything similar to what Rick described that he was shown in his dream?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hey Tom. Peter B. sent this to me because it matched up with many things I have said. Rick sees the coming chaos very well. I appreciate him asking all to pray for current leaders – but leadership is lost right now. Things are going to get terribly, terribly frightening, but God has a plan in all this; one that will recall His people to Him – and millions upon millions who don’t know Him to safety. Our government will fall, but our nation will not. We live in unprecedented times. It is why I continue to say trust-do-love. Mark Mallett has a great piece today, one of his finest ever, that I am going to feature tomorrow. Many of you have probably already read it, but if you haven’t you really need to take it to heart.

      Like

      • Tom says:

        Understood. Doubling up on the rosaries and just received the Flame Of Love book a week ago and will do my best to spread the Flame. .

        Also more fully understand what you meant earlier this year and am ready to literally defend those who need defending

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Thanks be to God. Something we all need to think more seriously about. I have been reticent publicly about it (though not with my priests even decades ago) for I knew that events themselves would focus people’s minds. I was made to know long ago that there are many things that, if I spoke to boldly about, would simply get me mired in arguments. Instead, I quietly plan and let the events speak for themselves. But for all the ugly things that are coming, God has some truly glorious things, as well, and His plan will bring us all back to a great time of peace. Much of it will be miraculous on its face, so why argue about things that will be revealed in God’s time anyway? God bless you, Tom.

          Like

      • Mick says:

        Charlie, I’ve seen you say a couple of times now, “Our government will fall,but our nation will not.” I’ve been pondering that statement, but I can’t seem to wrap my mind around it. I’m not doubting you; I just don’t get how the nation can keep from falling if the government falls. Could you please help me understand? Thanks.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Mick, the great majority of the time if a government falls the nation does NOT fall. Usually when it falls because of internal stresses, a new system reconstitutes itself. Egypt’s government, for example, has fallen twice in the last four years, but the nation remains. What happens here will be striking and chaotic for a time, but it will settle in.

          Like

          • Marti says:

            Having listened to Rick Joyner last night and his dream he had regarding the border, I’m curious about what your take on his dream is. Plausible??

            I know my priest friend has seen Asians (China) going door to door shooting people. I’m not sure how to reconcile the two prophetic utterances, except maybe that one opens the door to the other.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Again, Marti, though I write some speculative things, I read very little on such matters. It is not only that I do not want to mix what I see with others, though that is a significant part of it. Rather, it is far too easy to get caught up in speculative matters to where you end up playing a fantasy game, or get obsessed with knowing what is going to happen when and how…and you get caught up in useless detail. I truly believe that the only thing that really counts is how we respond to whatever troubles from – and I not only remain mostly uninterested in details except to the extent I need to know to live my duty – but I specifically have asked God several times not to tell me anything more than I absolutely need to know.

            Truly, terrible things will happen, unprecedentedly terrible. My question to myself is…does it make an iota of difference to what I need to do by knowing whether it is Asians going door-to-door or Muslims planting bombs? And will the speculating on it draw me away from concentrating on what I actually can do. That is a test I apply to all these things in my own discernment.

            I am open to people posting about such things here, because we all are curious and try to get a handle on what is happening. But even in the links I let pass on such matters – if they are from a source I have come to trust, more often than not I do not look at them myself. And reconciling prophetic utterances to get a precisely detailed agenda will never work. You are dealing in the speculative in the first place. Plus, some you regard as true are probably not. And even those that are will sometimes be mistaken – our personalities do get involved in interpretations, after all. I think the best way to approach it if you follow is the same way a country analyzes its intelligence reports. There are going to be conflicting analyses, including outlying reports from some trusted sources. You probably have a few moles feeding you disinformation. So you need to watch for striking areas of concensus, but also watch credible outlying reports to keep from falling into a group think mentality. And you need to know that whatever the final outcome, it almost always differs in some significant particulars from what was expected. But God is really not at all interested in giving us a detailed agenda. Working from that start, you can develop an approach that is informed, but not rigid. That is the way I have lived and the way I will continue forward. It requires a lot of discipline – both skepticism and openness; an awareness that I AM going to misinterpret at least some of the time without knowing ahead of time what those times will be; and a desire to recognize those times quickly so as to adjust more quickly rather than holding on to some errant notion just because it was once mine.

            Like

          • Marti says:

            Your wisdom is showing Charlie! 😉

            I do however need to understand the gifts of knowledge, understanding and prophesy better. If you run out of topics these are sorely needed. Bless you for being so darn clear!

            Like

  6. specklebean9 says:

    I listened to Billy Graham when my grandmother would watch him and I was struck by the presence of the Holy Spirit which made me stay quiet and still and I was 5 years old-that’s a miracle for a 5 year old. The problem these days is that God’s words have been poured out of unclean vessels and have compromised so many souls. It is the equivalent of using a bucket for manure and then carrying fresh mountain water in the same bucket. Likewise I see females on social media with almost no clothes on and in inappropriate poses then talking about Jesus. The temple prostitutes reconfigured perhaps??

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hey Speckle, the cultural degeneracy has spattered us all to some extent. But Christ makes clean what was filth. Don’t be surprised when you see some of those temple prostitutes become champions of faith – and gratefully so, just like Mary Magdalene. But some will remain defiant. Pray that we all may be washed clean.

      Like

  7. ann says:

    I just got done listening to Rick Joyner. I was struck by his reference to Fr. Mark of Europe, Catholic priest and exorcist and how much wisdom was gleaned from him. Another example of the Body of Christ coming together. This is very scary stuff that Rick Joyner communicates. But these warnings are needed, yours and his and Mark Mallett and everyone else who is sounding the alarm. I have a friend who is a classicist and she said the USA reminds her of the Land of the Lotus Eaters in the Odyssey, just dreaming away the time, ho hum, going to the next pleasurable distraction. It makes me think of those powerful words of Our Lord–“it will be as it was in the days of Noah, people eating and drinking and taking in marriage and then the flood came and swept them all away…”
    A clarion call to prayer, fasting, sacrifice for all of us.
    Anyway, thanks for providing ongoing information, encouragement and balance.

    Like

  8. Fran says:

    I have watched two of Rick Joyner’s videos, and I believe that he is very much in love with the Lord, and sincere. In the second video I watched, he talks about the Body of Christ coming together, that we (all believers ) must stand together now and pray together, and defend the helpless. He is right. There is no them and us, and perhaps this trial is what will bring us together as one Body. This prayer that Jesus taught to Elizabeth Kindellman perhaps gives insight into this unity we are to have not just with Jesus, but with one another IN the Body of Christ.

    May our feet journey together,

    May our hands gather in unity,

    May our hearts beat to the same rhythm,

    May our souls be in harmony,

    May our thoughts be in unison,

    May our ears listen to the silence together,

    May our glances melt in one another,

    And may our lips beg Our Heavenly Father,
    together, to obtain Mercy.

    Amen. *

    (May 4, 1962)

    By the way, I smiled when I saw that Rick Joyner’s (who is a protestant) TV ministry is named after………yes, Our Blessed Mother…….one of her titles is
    Morning Star. 😉

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Interesting. The Latin word for “morning star” is “lucifer.” That particular word is used in some Latin hymns to refer to Christ – and is always used in a hymn to Him just before the lighting of the Paschal Candle at the Easter Vigil. A video of it this last year had some perpetually alarmed Catholics always in search of a reason to rebel claiming that Pope Francis had sang to Satan and dedicated a chapel to him. Yeesh. The stupid rumor is rising again so I am doing a column on it tomorrow. Man, there is enough trouble rising without people creating it where it doesn’t exist.

      Like

  9. Charlie, I saw Rick’s video. In the past, you have mentioned that the first order of business from our new government after the collapse will be the confrontation with Islam (in which we will ultimately prevail). You have also mentioned that Russia would join us in the battle against Islam. I have always assumed that you meant a war with Islam being fought overseas. However, Rick is talking about a war with Islam being fought here in America. Which battle with Islam have you been shown: overseas or here in America or both?

    Thanks!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Emmanuel, I have not said Russia would ally with the U.S. in confronting Islam. It might or might not. I have said that in the end it will ally with the U.S. in the later confrontation with China. I do not speak at all on where the battles will be fought – only that it is global. I do not get into detail about such things even when I know them…for such detail is not important – and will likely persuade people to rely on their own brilliant plans instead of relying on God, taking the next right step and being a sign of hope to those around them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

