Musings – All Shook Up

This is a picture of a waterfall at Fern Springs at Yosemite. I took it and applied some effects. I love the way it came out. So what does it have to do with anything here? Nothing. But I took it, I like it and it's my website - so now I can publish it.

This is a picture of a waterfall at Fern Springs at Yosemite. I took it and applied some effects. I love the way it came out. So what does it have to do with anything here? Nothing. But I took it, I like it and it’s my website – so now I can publish it.

The World seems to be coming more and more unglued by the minute. Interesting that it is coming unglued in a way that reveals to those who treat government as their god what a feckless deity they have adopted. Whatever the solemn pronouncement coming from a podium in Washington, you can just about guarantee these days that things will turn out almost precisely the opposite. I find myself wondering if God (the real one, I mean…not the god of the modern-day pharaohs) is having Himself a good laugh at the pompous certainty with which obvious incompetents in Washington insist they have everything under control.

Meantime, many of the faithful are, indeed, shaken by the unimpeded rise of Ebola, the rise of Islamic Jihad, the collapse of national borders, the collapse of confidence even in the now-politicized Centers for Disease Control (CDC). Of course, everything is politicized these days so nothing much works any more. I have explained before that when my angel gave me The Prayer of Miraculous Trust at the turn of the millennium, that a time would come when ordinary means would fail and we must turn to complete trust in God, and this prayer would help us learn to trust. The time is now. I know some have put great stock in a late 19th Century prophecy by Marie Julie-Jahenny saying that tea made from Hawthorn Leaves would be the only cure for a dread new epidemic that comes on the world. Of course, it is always faith and trust that takes us into the healing presence of God, but it couldn’t hurt to have some hawthorn leaves put up. These things must come, but God is not abandoning us. We have brought them on ourselves. When we humble our haughty tongues and minds, we will be rescued.

Now a report has come of the midway point of this first session of the Extraordinary Synod on the Family and it has much of the secular media in a tizzy.  As usual with the secular press, it does not understand what it is talking about. Elizabeth Scalia gives a useful summary of the midway point here. There is NO change recommended on homosexuals or homosexual unions. The position on homosexuals is and has been that it is not sinful to have such inclinations, but it is sinful to act on them. Period. The Church teaches that it is a heavy cross to bear, for anyone caught up in it cannot sanctify any relationship arising from it. But if it is one’s Cross, one must bear it with fidelity. Keep in mind that this synod is not even what the press makes it out to be. It is putting together an agenda of things to discuss for next year’s meeting. After the meeting a year from now, formal recommendations WILL be adopted and sent to the Pope for disposition.

I really have gotten to where I rarely bother to even read the secular reports on such things, for they are just incoherent. You know, if Billy Graham said publicly that homosexuals can receive forgiveness and brought back to grace, the idiot media would have in headlines that he supports gay marriage. It engages in wishful thinking. If religious leaders react to it by never speaking the truth of how grace can be restored in order not to have the idiot media misinterpret them, I fear those leaders would fail their duty to sinners almost as much as if they actually started condoning sin.

There is serious discussion going on about how to regularize irregular HETEROSEXUAL unions after several generations of a downward spiral. But while I was worried at some things that might be floated at the beginning of this meeting, I am fortified that they are focused on how to bring people back to the fullness of faith rather than how to water it down – despite some loud efforts to the contrary.

Mark Mallett’s post on the Trumpets of Warning today is very timely. I hope you take a look at it.

You can feel the sense of things speeding up dramatically, like the last bit of water swirling the drain. The stock market has gone into arrhythmia over the last week. It could not be otherwise…it is all smoke and mirrors, paper and paste. I will put up a brief column tonight on what a monetary system is that some may better understand why it cannot be otherwise.

Tomorrow, I will put up a piece on the broad outlines of the world during the height of the Storm. I think it might be a help.

So always the question of which will strike first; viral pandemic, economic crash, or terrorist invasion. Could be all at the same time or some other catastrophe that is not even on our radar screens yet. But come it all must. The times are evil but God is good. He is your refuge. Turn to Him, take no more than the next right step, be a sign of hope to those around you – and you will be one of the heroes who helps everyone endure the Storm. What a great opportunity! To cooperate with God in the renewal of the world.

I think this Saturday, if the weather is nice, I am going to drive to Big Springs, Nebraska and make a mini-pilgrimage, following the route I walked into Colorado and stopping at some of the woods I slept in and places I visited. I think it might be a nice offering and a nostalgic remembrance.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Church Governance, Culture, Family, General, Ordinary Preparation, Spiritual Preparation, The Storm and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Musings – All Shook Up

  1. johnmcfarm says:

    Thank you Charlie, there is hope, there is love, and there is our eternal soul to think about. That is truly what matters most. Ebola, violence, economic crash…are distractions and like the intention of the brutal cruelty of Islamist Jihadi’s it is a tool of satan to subvert faithful Christians. Our souls MUST survive the tests and suffering…that is what matters.

    Your wisdom, compassion and guidance indeed brings hope and I believe ripples out from your words to our words and so on…so many are affected by these words of hope.

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    Charlie, I DO like the waterfall picture! Thank you for mentioning the hawthorn leaves; I had read this on Michael Brown’s Spirit Daily a while ago and remembered it. I am almost ashamed to admit that after reading the latest news, I did order a pound of hawthorn leaves and flowers today. I would not say that I am putting great stock in the remedy, but I do put great stock in God and His goodness, and I know that He prefers to work His healing through the material world. I also will scatter blessed salt around the perimeter of our home and pray for protection from evils. I do believe in the power of sacramentals, when used with faith and great trust in God. And, as such, I will keep the prayer of miraculous trust. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

  3. BB says:

    Funny, I recently heard about the Hawthorne leaves as well, and I began to try to look around my neighborhood and areas in parks for a Hawthorne tree or bushes! I am trying to recognize the tree and leaf, but so far, not much luck. There was a set of bushes about a block away from me I thought might be Hawthorne, but I have no idea if it really is. I would really like to be able to identify this in my environment should it be something I need, and recognize it when I see it to help others get it too.
    If anyone knows how to recognize it, I’d appreciate the help!

    Like

    • Mick says:

      BB, I know what the hawthorns look like where I live (in Michigan). The difficulty is that there are many different species (subspecies?) of Hawthorn, and their leaves can look very different. Perhaps you could try doing a Google search for “Hawthorn leaves,” and then clicking on the “Images” link. That will show you the many shapes that Hawthorn leaves can have, and maybe you’ll see one that looks like a tree that grows in your area. The one thing though, that all the hawthorns have in common is very pronounced thorns

      Like

      • BB says:

        Thanks Mick. Actually, I took a look in a park near my home today and saw there were several small trees that had pronounced red berries on them, and when I got closer I spotted the very long (2 1/2 inch) thorns on the stems. I know these must be Hawthorne. Since winter is coming, I picked some leaves and berries (not too much) to take home and dry and store, but now I know where they are growing.
        I did look on the internet first, and saw what you describe: many different species that look different. In the park, two of the small trees I saw with berries and long thorns on them had very different looking leaves. So it seems best when looking for these in nature to look for some kind of small tree or shrub, and get up close, and look for the long thorns. Then you know it’s a Hawthorne.
        On my walks in the neighborhood with my dog I’m going to continue to try to spot these i so I’ll know where I might be able to get leaves and help others get them if need be.

        Like

  4. Matthew says:

    Charlie:
    Two points: First, would stocking up on hawthorn leaves constitute “making a plan” as you have cautioned against earlier? (Yes this is a tweak. LOL)
    Second, more seriously, I think there is more to this sexual orientation thing than you give credit. The document mentions “valuing their sexual orientation”. I am not sure that ‘sexual orientation’ exists, but certainly an attraction to a behavior that is objectively sinful can never be valued in itself.
    Every person has a sexual appetite like we have an appetite for food. We can consume food that is good for us or we can eat in a way that is unhealthy. In a like fashion the sexual appetite can be disordered to partake in activities that are not healthy, physically or psychologically. If I meet someone who is anorexic or bulimic I try to help them re-order their relationship to food – I don’t “value” their different orientation to food.
    PS: Obviously any temptation, if it causes us to more deeply depend on the merciful love of God is being put to good use and if that is all that is meant here than I would support it.
    Matthew

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, we will see, Matthew. Frankly, since this is only a preparatory session – and this is a time of great shaking – I honestly half expected some terrible proposals to come up. I am pleased that there is nothing anywhere near as bad, so far, as what I was bracing myself for. And I am kind of glad that they are covering the board…going into some different territory. I know, in times of great difficulty in campaigns, I would sometimes have private meetings of top advisors and encourage us to go into some odd, even weird, directions, to break up the mental ruts we might have been in. You know, a brain-storming session. Those were very productive and often gave a breakthrough – but I sure wouldn’t have wanted the press to be there for them. Unfortunately, the Vatican can’t get the Cardinals together at the Cigar Bar and ban the press.

      Heh heh…on the stocking up on hawthorn leaves. I thought maybe I have given people the impression I was hostile to it. I am largely indifferent…but I know the Lord often gives us something we can touch and feel to fortify our faith. I had been thinking when I ended my youngest brother’s nightmares by making him “green milk” and telling him a great story about why it would end it. It was love and trust that ended the nightmares – but he needed the instrument of the green milk to convey it fully. I think hawthorn leaves may very well be a little “green Milk” God is giving all of us – and with great affection and love.

      Like

      • Adoremus says:

        Re the hawthorn leaves and our need for tangible signs, I’m reminded of when Jesus used dirt from the ground, mixed with his saliva, to put on the blind man’s eyes in order to heal him. I’m pretty sure Jesus didn’t need that dirt paste in order to bring about the healing, but the point is the blind man needed it – that tangible thing that helps us to open up to God’s healing grace.

        Like

  5. Frodo says:

    Charlie, I believe your reference of Marie Julie-Jahenny is timely. I’m not sure if you are aware of this, but she is said to have mentioned a pope who:

    …at the last moment, will reverse his policies and make a solemn appeal to the Clergy.
    But he will not be obeyed; on the contrary, an Assembly of bishops will demand even greater freedom, declaring that they will no longer obey the Pope. Marie-Julie then goes on to say that the Red Revolution will then break out. She speaks of a “horrible religion” which is to replace the Catholic Faith, and she sees “many, many bishops” embracing this “sacrilegious, infamous religion.”

    It seems to me that this may be playing out in front of our eyes right now (even down to the Red Revolution which we can see becoming a reality through the Ukraine crisis and was made referenced to in Fatima). As the events of the synod go on – and the stories of the liberal media are spun – this particular prophecy gives me much hope that the Vicar of the Church of Christ will stand firm despite the attacks of the evil one.

    I know Christ wins in the end. Hopefully one day I’ll finally get my thick head to stop worrying as much and just start trusting more in Him. It will only be by His grace that I’ll get there.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I did not know that, Frodo. I know that the turmoil will be great inside the Church as well as outside of it…and I also know that things will often NOT be what they seem. It will be so tumultuous it will be near impossible to tell who is who. So I go to first things…those things that I can know objectively. The canonically elected Pope will not ultimately lead us into error. He is protected and prevented from that by Christ’s promise. BUT he, too, could be badly confused for a time. I worry more about people substituting their judgment for Christ’s promise more than anything else. It will only fan apostasy and lead people away from safety. Acknowledge God, take the next right step, be a sign of hope. Trust-Do-Love. It is the only safe way.

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Frodo, given how much you already know about Marie-Julie Jahenny, I guessing you’ve heard of the three sacramentals that she was allegedly given by Our Lord and Our Lady for the times in which we now find ourselves. These sacramentals are the Scapular of Benediction and Protection, the Cross of Forgiveness, and the medal of Our Lady of Good Guard. They can be purchased from the Roman Catholic Sacramentals Foundation (http://www.sacramentals.org/marie-julie.htm), which imports them from France . They also carry two books about Marie-Julie. The one written by the French priest is very good, even if the translation is a bit stilted. The book by the Marquis de la Franquerie, however, is not that good, in my opinion. My main beef with it is that the author takes many of Marie-Julie’s alleged prophesies and then superimposes his own interpretations, which run toward the LeFebvrist side of things. This is not to say that the people at the Roman Catholic Sacramentals Foundation are SSPX (I’ve talked to the owner several times; he’s a very nice man, and his family attends a parish run by the Priestly Fraternity of St. Peter).

      Like

  6. Barbara Dore says:

    Please note that Our Lady in Belguim or some places as believed appeared above the hawthorn bush. I personally think Our Lady tried to point to these hawthorn bushes. It may be believed that She may have appeared above hawthorn in several places. It needs to be researched.

    Like

  7. BJ says:

    cool Charlie….a relaxing even headed take on what’s going on outside the boat… and the pic
    kind of compliments it

    Like

  8. Mona Hoegh says:

    Is there another site where I can buy hawthorn? It was not possible to pay from Denmark on the recomentet site.

    Like

    • marie says:

      Hello Mona, glad you asked. I also live in Denmark and have been wondering exactly the same thing. Can anyone help? A European site would be great, as the shipping from North America tends to be very expensive. Thanks ☺

      Like

      • BB says:

        Can you try to find Hawthorn growing nearby you? You look for a small tree or tree-like shrub, and look for long, long thorns (the one’s I’ve seen are at least 2 inches (5 cm) long) on the branches. Often they are used for hedges and are sometimes used for landscaping (because the tree/shrub is slow growing and doesn’t grow very large). The trees tend to look kind of “spindly” and the bark rough and twisty. Perhaps if you have a public park nearby, you may find a Hawthorn there.

        Like

    • Mick says:

      Mona and Marie, I don’t know if this will help, but I placed a couple of calls to some herb sellers in North America, to see if anyone will ship internationally. It turns out that Monteagle Herbs in Ontario, Canada, will ship internationally. They carry the hawthorn leaf and flower, not just the leaves. But their herbs are high quality. I asked the manager at Monteagle what it would cost to ship a pound of herb to Denmark. He’s going to get back to me with a quote perhaps tomorrow.

      Regarding the site that Agnes recommended, perhaps you could e-mail the family that runs the site and ask them whether they would let you mail them your payment. Perhaps they’d be willing to ship you the herbs once they had received your payment.

      Like

    • Barbara Dore says:

      Try to go to your garden centre to see if they sell the hawthorn bushes, if yes, great, buy it and plant it in your garden. I am still looking for it here and i will definitely plant it when found. We can make many tea (s) out of those dried leaves for our loved ones and friends etc.

      Like

    • marie says:

      Dear BB, Mick, Donna269 and Padraig, thanks and God bless all of you. I will need to make some enquiries to try to find some growing locally as, in my ignorance, I don’t even think I would recognise a hawthorn bush if I stumbled over one. Mona, could you please tell me what ‘hawthorn’ is in Danish. Many apologies, Charlie, and I promise this will be my last post about hawthorn – and can I please have the recipe for ‘green stuff’ 😉

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        I will work up the recipe for Green Stuff again and put it in one of the Musings pieces. Mom will be smiling from heaven over it!

        Like

        • Mona says:

          Marie – hawthorn is havtorn in danish. It grows near the coast and we do in Denmark have a lot of coast. You find pictures and locations on the internet.

          Like

          • marie says:

            tusind tak☺and thanks also to Barbara

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            If anyone wonders what ‘tusind tak’ means, I don’t know. But now that this website has become a spiritual United Nations, get used to seeing a few non-English phrases. (And I was smart about setting up this spiritual United Nations: I kept the commies and the tyrants out).

            Like

        • marie says:

          sorry – ‘tusind tak’ means ‘a thousand thanks’ ☺

          Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Oh, I don’t mind, Marie. I am charmed that so many people from different lands check in here. Besides, if you just write the phrase without the translation, it gives people an incentive to learn how to use their search engines more effectively. Good all around!

            Like

          • Audie says:

            Thanks, Marie. I like that phrase and will remember it. Tusind tak. Charlie, thank you for barring the tyrants and commies from this spiritual United Nations! That made me chuckle.

            Like

        • naisy says:

          Ha! I have more faith in your Green Milk than Hawthorn, but at the same time I’m willing to indulge what seems to be an inspired inclination toward gardening, in general. Being a black thumb, it’s hard to imagine how that might be helpful, but all things are possible with God!

          Like

  9. Mark says:

    Seems our Lady of Akita prophecies are manifesting themselves on the public stage as we speak (Cardinals vs. Cardinals, Bishops against Bishops and Priest against Priests). Now we know that Pope Francis cannot teach heresy, but he is not gaurded against schism from bad pastoral decisions or private leanings towards false tolerance. Mercy without truth is not possible. Jesus did not tell Mary Magdelene, ‘I forgive you’ and let her go. He said, ‘I forgive you, go and sin no more’. That is what is missing in our Holy Fathers delivery of mercy. The acknowledgement that adultry and the homosexual act are intrincically evil. Mercy, yes! But Mercy must be rooted in truth. Sin must be unmasked throughout the age…..especially today…..and then let the sinner know that Mercy is there for the repentant sinner. Can anyone really imagine our Lord during the Warning or Illumination of Conscience explaining to the sinner the synod of Fathers teaching on graduality? Or to soft pedal around the issues of adultry and divorce and remarriage or sodomy that are being propogated at the synod? Mercy yes, but the sin remains until it is repented from.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      The only thing I would dispute here, Mark, is that Pope Francis has said next to nothing of substance yet. He has drawn others out, encouraging them to speak their mind candidly, but he, himself, has not weighed in except to say nice things about some of the Cardinals involved. In fact, Cardinal Burke said yesterday, with no little frustration, that it was time for Pope Francis to weigh in. People think they know his mind…I think many are going to be surprised when he finally speaks his mind on the substance rather than just the personalities.

      Like

      • vicardwm says:

        Charlie, I am half-way wondering if Pope Francis is allowing himself to be portrayed as the Pope that the dissenting crowd has always been hoping for in order to get people to come out of the woodwork and show their cards. He’s finding out who is willing to stand up for truth, who is mushy, and who is an outright revolutionary. Then, when he weighs in, he’ll lower the boom.

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          The thought has occurred to me, too. I was speaking with a priest I am close with about several things yesterday and he spontaneously brought this up. I had to confess that it is a gambit I have used before…and it particularly seems apropos regarding Cardinal Kasper. The Pope has said marvelous things about the person and the intelligence of Kasper, but when you parse it, not much about the actual substance of what Kasper teaches. Then when Kasper started running about claiming that he “speaks” for the Pope, I thought, man, I have done that to people I thought were going rogue to draw them out…and all this is prelude to getting some heads knocked together. I know the identification of Pope Francis as a serious progressive just does not pan out when you dig down into what is going on.

          Like

        • Fran says:

          This is exactly what I have been wondering too! I have really been trying to see Pope Francis with different eyes, not how he seems to be portrayed. I am not presuming to know what the Lord is doing, but I do really think, (and Charlie you have said this in different ways) that we need to look more with the eyes of faith, and not at what things appear. We don’t know what the Lord is doing, or His strategy, just that He has a plan, and we play a part in it…all of us. So I think we must just be trusting, and pliable, and directed with just a whisper from our Master!

          Like

    • Barbara Dore says:

      Remember two destroyed cities in Israel. Sodom and Gomorrah…God does not approve homosexuality practice . Abraham begged God to spare this city where his nephew lived. God sent two angels to check if any one is good , negative, God had to destroy these cites. Two angels had to forcibly drag Lot and his family out of this evil city. They were completely destroyed. We need to be reminded of Sodom and Gomorrah all the time when we deal this issue in relation to homosexuality.

      Sodom and Gomorrah – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sodom_and_Gomorrah
      ˈmɔr.ə/) were cities mentioned in the Book of Genesis and throughout the … have been used as metaphors for vice and homosexuality viewed as a deviation. …. to Abraham that he would destroy Sodom and Gomorrah, because their cry was …

      Like

  10. Mark says:

    Charlie, I hope and pray that you are right. Silence is often the unspoken consent of dissent. If he does not clarify the clear teachings of both scripture and Church doctrine on these contested doctrinal issues, he will by his silence display advocacy to error, which will be a victory for the liberal media, gay lifestyle, divorced and remarried and lukewarm Catholics. Pope Francis has been silent, thus far during the synod, however he has been very clear in his sentiments in earlier statements he made, such as “who am I to judge” when referring to active homosexuals who love each other, while professing their love of God. We must contine our rosary and penance for the Pope and synod in these last few days.

    Like

    • vparisi says:

      As a convert I have to confess that Monday shook me up a bit. I am a former Methodist and let’s just say I have seen this movie before. But I became Catholic for a reason and that is that it is the truth no matter what the media or blogosphere has to say. I really did let this disturb my peace and we all know who is behind that sort of thing and it is not Jesus who is not the author of confusion. I am striving to keep my eyes fixed on Him and believe that He called me to the Church for a reason. We know from Galatians that even St.Peter needs correction from the St. Pauls out there- us lay workers in the vineyard need to keep praying and making sacrifices and hold on to the Gospel which will never change.

      Blessings,

      Val

      Like

  11. Stephen says:

    Buckthorn trees also have red berries and long thorns. They are an invasive species in the midwestern United States and are found in abundance.
    As a landscape designer and small greenhouse nursery owner of twenty years I will try to describe how I would differentiate the hawthorne tree from other simular looking trees.
    The buckthorn tree has a minor amount of exfoliating bark simular to the birch bark but not near as much exfoliation (peeling). I believe their glossy bark also has small grey spots spaced out in lines similar to a sour cherry tree. Buckthorns tend to grow in fence and tree lines but are not limited to and most often grow with multiple trunks but don’t have to.
    The size and stature of the hawthorne tree is more simular to an ornamental crab tree. Their berries are more firm than the soft watery berries of the buckthorn but not as firm as the fruit of the crab tree. Hawthorne berries seem to grow in smaller groupings (not clusters ) rather than individual berries uniformly spaced throughout the tree as both buckthorn and crab apples.
    Lack of thorns could rule out the ornamental crab apple tree. Even in cases when examining a hybrid thornless variety of hawthorne I recall seeing an occasional thorn.
    I have found identifying plant species with pictures difficult , on more than one occasion goggle gave me a picture of a completely different plant. I’d be more confident in knowing what I was looking for if I had first hand expierience such as going to a local nursery or arboretum and asking to see their hawthorne trees and carefully examining them before consuming one in nature.
    Sorry if I confused the issue , I’m better at digging holes than putting my thoughts to the screen. BTW hawthorne tea makes medical sense for ebola the virus that causes one to bleed out because among herbalists it’s known as a veinule constrictor.

    Like

    • Kati says:

      We have two Hawthorn trees planted on our property. Both are young (one being much younger than the other), but growing very well and have long sharp thorns. I have to watch them for some insects, like aphids, as they are part of the ROSE family, They are also susceptible to rust…as we have lots of wild cedar trees around here. I remembered that it was part of the ROSE family after reading those posts regarding the fact that the Holy Virgin Mary has appeared above a Hawthorn. I think that very appropriate. 😉

      Information about the Hawthorn: http://www.gardenguides.com/462-hawthorne-tree.html

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Actually, Kati, that is one of the reasons I thought if God is going to give a little palliative, this one probably makes sense as much as any I could conceive. I knew it was part of the rose family – so it seemed subtle, ordinary, and strikingly appropriate in a way that people would only fully discover later…all of which are consummate with my experience of how God usually acts.

        Like

    • Audie says:

      Hello Stephen! After reading your post, I realized my husband has been clearing, or trying to clear, buckthorn off our property here in MN, as it’s considered an unwanted and invasive plant. Now, I’ve done a little research, but can you tell me if buckthorn can be used in the same way as the hawthorne for medicinal purposes? Since we have so much, it would be nice! But, I believe the time of harvesting leaves or berries is over anyway. Thank you.

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Ha, Audie, I was at a place some years back where I would spend several hours every week trying to keep the buckthorn from trying to take over. It is kind of like the bunny rabbit of the plant world – it multiplies before your very eyes.

        Like

        • Audie says:

          Ha, Charlie!! My husband just had sinus surgery yesterday and he is already outdoors glaring at the buckthorn, thinking it has grown and spread over the last couple days! It’s a tough job.

          Like

      • Stephen says:

        Hi Audie, buckthorn can not be used in the same medical capacity as Hawthorne. That being said it probably has been used in some medical fashion ,I don’t know what it would be without digging into it a bit. The birds love it and are the main culprits in sowing their seeds. Birds liking it gives it some value, but I would check a couple of sources before consuming it.

        Like

    • BB says:

      Wow, Stephen, thank you SO much! Since I’m the one thinking of going around gathering leaves from the Hawthorne myself, and encouraging others to do so, I really value knowing the buckthorn also exists and could confuse. Without your comments, seeing a buckthorn tree or bush, I would have probably assumed it was a Hawthorne!
      Also by your comments, I am more confident the trees I did gather leaves from are a Hawthorn, because they do look like ornamental crab apple trees planted by landscapers in the local public park. The berries are striking right now, very prolific, and the trees have long thorns on the branches.
      You are right about how hard it is to identify trees by photos online. I may indeed take a trip to a nursery or arboretum to see what a true hawthorn looks like, and if I can, take a sample of a stem from the trees near me to see if someone there can identify it for certain for me.
      Thank you so much for your post!

      Like

  12. Kelly says:

    I too went and got a pound of Hawthorne Leaves and flowers from Mountian Rose. I was sitting on it debating if it was too much planning. Was there an issue with getting the leaves and flowers? I noticed some mentioned looking only for the leaves. I did find a US company that would ship a live plant. But we are having some water issues here in CA so I thought the dried leaves would be best.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hee hee…this reminds me of an old radio show that left me bemused. Nearing the holiday season, I put a call to my Mom out on-air to go over some of our old Thanksgiving and Christmas traditions. It was just kind of a light 20-minute segment, which I thought was a nice little change of pace from my usual serious stuff. In the course of the interview, we discussed the whole family’s favorite Christmas dessert, a concoction Mom just called “Green Stuff.” Now just as with Smuckers, with a name like ‘Green Stuff,’ you know it has to be good. To my astonishment – and the station’s, requests for the recipe for ‘Green Stuff’ started pouring in. We got a printed card made out and sent out over 400 before it finally petered out. For the record, Green Stuff did not involve the use of Hawthorn leaves.

      Like

      • Kelly says:

        It is funny! Its so true that we latch on to silly things. I never cease to be amazed with what people think is interesting. Your radio story gave me a good chuckle!

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          And yet, there is such a homely charm to it, isn’t there? It just tickled my late Mother that so many people wanted her ‘Green Stuff’ recipe that we had to print up cards. God’s grace is all around…and often takes us by surprise.

          Like

  13. Kelly says:

    Including myself!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks, AJ. It is why I am so fond of Cardinal Dolan. He works very hard at being both solid and charitable – and if you do that consistently, you are going to set off more than a few landmines along your way that you wish you hadn’t. I thank God he has the courage to keep going – and with good cheer, no less.

      Like

  14. Fr. John Trigilio has a wonderfully balanced take on the synod here: http://www.renewamerica.com/columns/abbott/141015 . In the article three priests are quoted. He is the third one down. Very balanced. I’ll be sending it around.

    Like

  15. ann says:

    I am asking here, in humility, what we are to make of this whole affair of the Synod. I have just read Father Z’s blog, a translation of an Italian journalist who calls it “The Counterfeit Synod” and the comments of this Vatican analyst reporter are truly disturbing. I know we all must try to put the best face on all this, but here is what disturbs me. I have read much about the hijacking of Vatican II and the carnage that followed, and we’ve seen the sad consequences of that over these last decades. A similar kind of “fait accompli” used there to implement the “spirit” of Vatican II seems to be at work here. The silence of the Pope is very very disturbing. His moving of very progressive bishops into key positions is very disturbing. Words are one thing, but actions are another. Where does this go? Fr. Farfaglia and Cardinal Burke and many other church men who feel a cold wind blowing seem like watchmen on the wall, to me. If the Church as the Mystical Body of Christ must go through His Passion then are we at the time of Judas? The “time of shadows” as Jesus called it. I hope with all my heart and soul that I’m wrong. Blessed Anne Catherine Emerich saw in her visions of the latter days a Church being dismantled brick by brick by the forces of darkness inside the Church. She saw something demanded that some priests (the very old and the very young) could not accept and they were weeping in horror and grief. It’s just all very troubling, people. In England under Henry VIII only two Bishops stayed faithful and were martyred. The rest folded and accepted the counterfeit Catholic Church.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Ann, I am about an hour away from putting up a new post that touches on this. As you discern these matters, the Pope has, indeed, elevated some notably progressive Bishops into positions of authority – but he has also elevated some notably orthodox Bishops, as well. Whatever is going on, it is not just fealty to some ideological faction in the Church. As for the counterfeit church in England, it revealed itself as apostate by substituting a man who was never canonically elected – Henry VIII – and denouncing the sitting Pope as an antichrist. Keep that in mind when the various “super” apostles (as St. Paul contemptuously called them) try to sell you on the notion that you must abandon the Mother Church and form your own catholic church.

      Like

      • ann says:

        Thanks, Charlie. I appreciate your comments. Perhaps the Henry VIII reference wasn’t a good example. When I get done worrying and sorting everything out, my bottom line is this: Where Peter is, there is the Church. (one of the early Church fathers said this but I don’t remember who) By God’s grace, I will stay on the Barque of Peter come what may. “Lord to whom would we go? You have the words of eternal life.”

        Like

  16. Jose says:

    “Behold, this child is destined for the fall and rise of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be contradicted (and you yourself a sword will pierce) SO THAT THE THOUGHTS OF MANY HEARTS MAY BE REVEALED.” Luke 2: 34, 35
    I wonder if the Vicar of Christ is not again fulfilling this prophecy by Simeon, this time for the Body of Christ, His Church?
    Cathechism 675: “Before Christ’s second coming the Church must pass through a final trial that will shake the faith of many believers. The persecution that accompanies her pilgrimage on earth will unveil the “mystery of iniquity” in the form of a religious deception offering men an apparent solution to their problems at the price of apostasy from the truth”.
    Jose

    Like

  17. MM Bev says:

    Well, having stayed off line for a few days, trying to stack wood into rows that won’t avalanche and yelling at the maple tree to drop it’s darn leaves so I can get the raking done, I’ve missed an awful lot of information and, it would seem, some grief at reading stuff that might upset me. I’m just as happy in my own world, stuck with the ……. brace on my neck.
    I must say, the Hawthorne stuff is new to me, and I appreciate the Montreal information. (Yes, I’m going to sucker in too.) I also like your “picture” Charlie, but the very best thing on this blog is your comment.
    I will treasure your words. I have so often wanted to say something similar myself!

    “…I took it, I like it, It’s MY WEBSITE, and I can publish it.

    And if I had a blog about the synod, I’d say ……..”I wrote it, I like it, it’s MY BLOG and I can publish it.”
    The synod reminds me of the song, “I don’t want to play in your yard, I don’t like you any more. You’ll be sorry when you see me, sliding down the cellar dooooorrrrrrr. OHhhhhhhhh, I don’t want to play in your yard, I don’t like you any more.”
    Now I will have to go up and click on some links and find out!

    Like

  18. Mick says:

    For anyone who is interested in buying hawthorn leaves (without the flowers), I have just found a website that has just the leaves–and they ship internationally. The hawthorn leaves are organic, and a 4-ounce (112 g) bag costs $6.99. Here’s the link:

    http://www.floridaherbhouse.com/hawthorn-leaf-bulk-organic-p-2244.html

    I’ve never purchased from this seller before (never heard of them until today). But I checked them out on both Amazon and E-bay, and they have gotten lots of excellent reviews on both of those sites. The link above is to their own website, not to their Amazon or e-bay stores.

    Like

    • Mona says:

      Mick – I thank you wery much for your efforts in helping me, Marie and others. I have tried again and again to succeed bying 10 portions of the hawthorntea from this firm, but I can not succeed. They will not accept my adress or card etc. I have tried whith two different cards several times ande they are usually both ok.
      But thank you for your care, effort and help. I am greatful and I will pray for you.
      Love Mona

      Like

      • Mick says:

        Mona, thank you for your prayers and kind words. However, I need to issue a mea culpa. The company I mentioned (Florida Herb House) states that they carry “Hawthorn LEAF.” But when I was preparing to order some, they admitted to me that their product does in fact contain flowers also. Sorry about that, to you and to everybody else that’s looking for just the leaf.

        Like

  19. Mona says:

    I changede my I-pad with my computer when ordering the Hawthornherbs. Suddently It worked – luccily. May be you cant order things in USA from an I-pad?

    I want to be able to help my family including my 6 grandchildren age 2 month – 12 years. Whith Hawthorn I feel more secure in this Ebola times. In the spring I will harves my own leaves. We also have Hawthorn in Denmark. Our wery famous chefs use the berrys in their menu. They have Michelin stars.

    I am so lucky I found you all on internet. I think it is not an coincidence, and I am so impressed of your knowlege and intellect. I would like to discuss whith you, but my knowlege is so new and I feel I am handicapped, because english is not my birthlanguage. My spellingcontrol is also danish, so it does not help much. But I read your replys whith great interest and I my be not able to stay out of comment. If I do I want you to be tolerant by me.
    Love to all of you.
    Mona

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Mona, not only will we be tolerant…we are glad to have you here! I particularly enjoy our Danish visitors…this site now normally gets about 100 visits a day from Denmark. sometimes it spike and it outpaces a few of the English-speaking countries. It tickles me to get so many visitors regularly from a country where English is not the primary language.

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Mona, I love reading your posts; and I’m pretty sure that your English is better than mine!

      True story: My brother’s wife is from Germany. She speaks better English than everyone in our whole family–except my dad, who was an English teacher.

      Like

    • Fran says:

      I like you already, Mona.

      Like

Leave a Reply

