Musings – New Links, Synod, Ebola and the Mark of the Beast

This little Chapel of St. Catharine Sienna located at the foot of Mt. Meeker is built on rock. It survived the catastrophic flood and rockslides that raged all around it last year. The Church will do the same, for it is founded on even more solid rock.

This little Chapel of St. Catharine Sienna located at the foot of Mt. Meeker is built on rock. It survived the catastrophic flood and rockslides that raged all around it last year. The Church will do the same, for it is founded on even more solid rock.

From time to time people ask me where they can send donations. I don’t have a donation button here and I don’t solicit them. I am fortunate to have a few people who act as sponsors and patrons to help me do my work. A gentleman in Golden opened up the downstairs of his home for me to stay at and work from. A couple who work with the prayer groups provide me with an old truck to use (I love that truck – it is a 1978 in very good condition. It and I were young together…from the same era. We were both once lively, young and handsome, but now show signs of our age…but keep pressing on. We suit each other). I am an older, single man, so fortunately my needs are few. There are many wonderful ministries that DO depend on donations, and the workman is certainly worthy of his hire. Mark Mallett, the Mother of God Forum, Spirit Daily, and some others do marvelous work and depend on donations to keep going. But it is not the way I am supposed to go.

However, I did think it a good thing to watch out for some good, effective ministries that are really getting out there in the cultural trenches and helping people. That is why today, I have added a new category of links at right called, “Go Forth…” These will be constituted of truly committed Christians who are doing noble work, I will only add places that I have personally interacted with and am satisfied that any money they collect goes to further the work of reaching out. The first group I added here is the Missioners of Christ. This is a group of primarily young missionaries that reaches out and works with the poorest of the poor. They work extensively in Latin America. One of the missionaries, a young fellow named Andrew, follows this website and made a comment on his personal blog a week or so ago. He has a lovely wife and a beautiful little daughter who has spina bifida. Yet he and his wife, Cristina, slog on in their ministry. (For a touch of their story and their faith, go here). I was touched by their simple fortitude and determination to go forward and be a sign of hope. So I asked him about the Missionary Group he is part of – and now add it here. I ask you, if you find yourself moved to make a donation, do it for one of these groups that are working in the trenches. I will put a few more up as I go along. It just struck me, so many have asked where they can donate – and I feel a little strange sometimes about telling people I don’t need it to carry on my little work. So I thought why not take the time to match up the generosity of readers here with groups that are going forth and spreading the word – and could use the help. Again, I will only put up groups there that I have personal experience of and confidence in. They “Go Forth” in truth.

*********

I have been in some correspondence with a fellow, Dan Lynch, who runs a wonderful apostolate devoted to Our Lady of Guadalupe and St. John Paul II, while advocating for Jesus King of All Nations and Our Lady of America. He did a wonderful special on Our Lady of Guadalupe for EWTN. He has run the apostolate since 1991, coincidentally the year I was received into the Church. I have added a link to  his site under the “Devotions” category.

*********

It became clear this last week that this site has grown enough that I need to get some help to run it effectively. I am adding a few people to help me moderate and respond to comments. My sister, Kim, will be helping by the end  of next week – and I have one or two others in mind. They will respond as themselves, not as me. I will continue to do the bulk of it, but sometimes I need a day to take care of other things or the time to write some of the more difficult pieces. I will continue to handle all the email myself. I try – and am mostly successful – at keeping it below 20 needing response each day. Those I bring on to help in this are people who intimately know my mind and work to live the simple message I propound.

Do NOT think you are overwhelming me and pull back. I always knew this would ultimately be the case – and one of the most important things about it all is that we go forward together. This is not just Charlie preaching to the poor schlubs: I am a poor schlub – and together we are the society of poor schlubs. I need you. So I am not leaving the dialogue, just adding a few more voices to it. This will ALWAYS be a site where we talk with each other and I respond to all who come with goodwill. That is part of my ancient promise. Besides, it would be a pretty poor Sherpa who left his charges to go wandering off on his own. But it is a very good Sherpa who takes on a few assistants when the expeditionary force grows large enough. The way we have been growing together in faith, trust and joy here has been one of the great blessings of my life. Thank you – and I will do my duty to see that we grow smoothly together.

*********

mark-of-the-beast

I have long believed the Mark of the Beast to be an ideology. I am glad to see someone has finally watched the signs of the times close enough to see what I see. Bryan Fischer of Charisma News has a shrewd piece on the matter here.

On the ebola watch, I was very struck by Peggy Noonan’s column on the government’s hamfisted approach to it in the Wall Street Journal.

CNS News just published an insightful article on recent thoughts by perhaps the most steadfast and consistent American Christian witness of the last century, the Rev. Billy Graham. His faith and wisdom endures.

Billy-Graham

As the preliminary session of the Synod on the Family wraps up, Mark Mallett has a deeply thoughtful piece on the matter. But for all those who think Pope Francis is  an ideologue, one of the great rising stars in the hierarchy, elevated by Pope Francis, is Cardinal George Pell, one of the most notably orthodox Bishops in the world. I will close with some comments he made. Pay particular attention to the last paragraph.

Cardinal George Pell

Cardinal George Pell

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Anti-Christ, Church Governance, Discernment, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Musings – New Links, Synod, Ebola and the Mark of the Beast

  1. Linda says:

    Unfortunately, the Peggy Noonan column can’t be read without buying a subscription. I was especially interested today in Bryan Fischer’s piece on the Mark of the Rainbow Beast. I would say, “Shades of Totalitarianism” — but I’m afraid we’re already there, no shades about it.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well I will be darned, Linda. I don’t have a subscription to the Journal, but I logged in three times to that story yesterday and this morning and got the whole thing. After your comment I tried – and now it is blocking me, too. Ah well, I’ll leave the link up anyway. It’s a good piece – and maybe the WSJ will drop the guard again sometime.

      Like

    • ann says:

      Linda
      Go to Real Clear Politics. You can read it for free,.

      Like

  2. TC says:

    Charlie,

    This four minute video in which Cardinal Pell makes his comments is well worth watching:

    TC

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you so much, TC. I am just more and more impressed by Cardinal Pell. He is not only solidly orthodox, but he is steady, not given to panic attacks, and has quite a bit of diplomatic skill. I see why Pope Francis is so high on him.

      And I encourage people to watch this and pay attention to Cardinal Pell. I was talking to a friend last night about the concern that roils through the Church these days. I understand being a bit unsettled occasionally by Pope Francis – but again, one needs to consider a man’s history and the preponderance of evidence. The Pope has made some progressive appointments that I would not have. But to leap to the conclusion that this is some ideological purge is not supported by the evidence. He has also made some profoundly orthodox appointments. Whatever nice things the Pope said about Cardinal Kasper, he put Cardinal Pell in a position of major influence – and Cardinal Pell may actually be more orthodox than Cardinal Burke. So this is not an ideological purge. Then there are the fearmongers who believe the Pope is persecuting orthodoxy generally. There, one must know that Pope Francis was persecuted by his own order because of HIS orthodoxy, consigned to teach obscurely in a high school in order to keep him away from influencing the faith. He was plucked from that obscurity by Pope St. John Paul the Great and elevated to Bishop – much to the surprise and discomfort of his tormenters. It is just incoherent to believe that he would now inflict unjust punishment on others that he endured with fortitude himself. And for the same reasons.

      I don’t know what all is going on, but what seems most logical to me is that Francis is putting things on a war-time footing, knowing the challenges ahead. There are some men who are very good in peaceful times who are not well suited for warring times. I know I look at Pell and think, okay, if we had incoming fire and were in a foxhole, this is a guy I would trust to have my back and stay steady. There are some I have admired whose behavior of late have persuaded me I would not want them covering me in a foxhole. It seems to me Francis is not just settling for a seasoned crew – he is determined to get a crew that is seasoned and will stay steady when the mortars are flying. I may be wrong, but at least it fits the evidence and history of this astounding Pope.

      Like

  3. Audie says:

    I am not technical, so you’ll have to copy and paste. 🙂 Hope this helps.

    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/2014/10/17/who_do_they_think_we_are_343628.html

    Like

  4. Audie says:

    Okay, you don’t have to copy and paste…just tried it. sigh………..

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I just did it and it worked fine for me, Audie. Took me to Real Clear Politics, then I had to click on the headline there, but that took me to the full article. So I have replaced the old link in the article.

      Like

  5. Just a correction Charlie. I (Pelianito) do not solicit donations. One reason is that I have this high-paying glam day job as parish secretary. 🙂 But the better reason is that our Lord once told me to “give freely what has been freely given.” (That direction applies to me and my gift only. )

    Like

  6. Observer says:

    Now then….who REALLY thought otherwise:

    Bishops Scrap Welcome to Gays in Sign of Split

    Catholic bishops scrapped their landmark welcome to gays Saturday, showing deep divisions at the end of a two-week meeting sought by Pope Francis to chart a more merciful approach to ministering to Catholic families.

    The bishops failed to approve even a watered-down section on ministering to homosexuals that stripped away the welcoming tone of acceptance contained in a draft document earlier in the week.

    Rather than considering gays as individuals who had gifts to offer the church, the revised paragraph referred to homosexuality as one of the problems Catholic families have to confront. It said “people with homosexual tendencies must be welcomed with respect and delicacy,” but repeated church teaching that marriage is only between man and woman. The paragraph failed to reach the two-thirds majority needed to pass.

    Two other paragraphs concerning the other hot-button issue at the synod of bishops, whether divorced and civilly remarried Catholics can receive Communion, also failed to pass.

    The outcome showed a deeply divided church on some of the most pressing issues facing Catholic families.

    It appeared that the 118-62 vote on the gay section might have been a protest vote by progressive bishops who refused to back the watered-down wording. The original draft had said gays had gifts to offer the church and that their partnerships, while morally problematic, provided gay couples with “precious” support.

    ……

    Francis insisted in the name of transparency that the full document, including the paragraphs that failed to pass, be published along with the voting tally. The document will serve as the basis for future debate leading up to another meeting of bishops next October that will produce a final report to be sent to Francis.

    “Personally I would have been very worried and saddened if there hadn’t been these … animated discussions … or if everyone had been in agreement or silent in a false and acquiescent peace,” Francis told the synod hall after the vote.

    Conservatives had harshly criticized the draft and proposed extensive revisions to restate church doctrine, which holds that gay sex is “intrinsically disordered,” but that gays themselves are to be respected, and that marriage is only between a man and woman.

    “We could see that there were different viewpoints,” said Cardinal Oswald Gracis of India, when asked about the most contentious sections of the report on homosexuals and divorced and remarried Catholics.

    German Cardinal Walter Kasper, the leader of the progressive camp, said he was “realistic” about the outcome.

    In an unexpected gesture after the voting, Francis approached a group of journalists waiting outside the synod hall to thank them for their work covering the synod.

    “Thanks to you and your colleagues for the work you have done,” he said. “Grazie tante.” Conservative bishops had harshly criticized journalists for reporting on the dramatic shift in tone in the draft, even though the media reports merely reflected the document’s content.

    Francis’ gesture, and his words inside the synod hall chastising bishops who were overly wed to doctrine and were guided by “hostile rigidity,” as well as those bishops who showed a “destructive goody-goodiness,” indicated that he was well aware of the divisions the debate had sparked. His speech received a four-minute standing ovation, participants said.

    Read entire piece here:
    http://www.newsmax.com/Newsfront/bishops-Francis-synod-Italian/2014/10/18/id/601554/

    Like

  7. TC says:

    Charlie,

    If I may…

    Evaluating the appointments and actions of a Pope cannot be done through a political lens. It is like humans trying to decipher the meaning of heavenly things. We cannot see the greater realities. The bottom line is that Pope Francis is a deep man of faith and a self-described son of the Church. No different in this regard than Benedict or John Paul II. And if some have trouble accepting even that, no reasonable Catholic can refute that Francis is the duly and canonically elected Successor of Peter and Vicar of Christ.

    Jesus made a promise: Tu es Petrus et super hanc petram, aedificabo ecclesiam meam, et portae inferi non praevalebunt adversus eam (You are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my Church and the gates of hell will not prevail against it – Mt 16:18). These beautiful Latin words are inscribed above the high altar around the inside of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome. Unknown to some, well underneath that high altar lies the grave and the bones of the man we would later call our first Pope. Also under the high altar and throughout the basilica are the tombs and resting places of many of our popes from throughout the centuries. These popes and these tombs, including the tomb of St. John Paul II, are historical testimony to Christ’s promise. It is a living promise – and Jesus always keeps his promises.

    Pope Francis is today’s Peter, and we must follow him and we must trust him to lead the Church according to God’s will for our times. Francis is the captain of our ship. Who he appoints and to what positions is not for us to judge. The College of Cardinals and the body of Bishops is not a team where only the best get to play. Don’t forget that Judas was one of the twelve; one of Jesus’ closest collaborators. Jesus knew Judas would betray him-and he kept him very close because of that. Not so his nefarious actions could be monitored, but so that he might be saved.

    A Pope must be like Christ. It makes no sense to the world, but it makes Godsense. In the Father’s fields, the tares and the wheat must grow together – lest in rooting out the weeds, some of the wheat gets pulled up, too. A Good Shepherd leaves the ninety-nine to search for the one lost sheep, and all heaven rejoices at the return of one lost sinner. When Pope Benedict goes in search of those on the right, and Pope Francis goes in search of those on the left, they are only doing what good shepherds do. Why are we so quick to fault them and to evaluate their every move as if lying in wait to catch them doing something wrong or unorthodox. It is ridiculous, and we should be reprimanded. God’s ways are not our ways and his thoughts are not our thoughts. We are wasting precious time when there are souls to be saved!

    The Pope, above all else, and in his very person symbolizes the unity of the Church. Should he neglect some and care only for others? Everything to strengthen unity. We are to be searching for the lost – not seeking the found. We are looking for the lost – betrayers, deniers, drug abusers, human traffickers, child sex abusers, wife-beaters, white trash, illegal aliens, murderers, gossipers, con-artists, active homosexuals, homophobes, racists, bigots, criminals, deviants – and, lest we get too comfortable, let’s add hypocrites, holier-than-thous, lukewarms, right-wing radicals, left-wing liberals and smug Christians.

    Let’s strive for unity and leave every division aside. Let’s begin by standing with our Pope and praying for him and encouraging him and defending him and giving him the benefit of the doubt. Let’s try to see his actions with new eyes and new hearts that are not quick to judge and prone to condemn. Let’s trust in God and not in our own judgments which are so haughty and feeble-minded.

    Let us accept one another as sinners all and leave the judging of minds and hearts to the One Who is appointed to judge us all.

    In the peace and unity of Christ,

    TC

    Like

  8. Catharine Innerst says:

    Hi, Charlie,
    I noticed in the caption of this photo in this article that you have spelled the name of the little chapel on the rock with an “e.” I thought that you might like to know that on the cornor stone the saint’s name is spelled with an “a,” Catharine. That is my name, and I have never been able to find Catharine spelled that way before. Needless to say, I was thrilled when we first discovered St. Catharine’s, and I guess I feel a special attachment to that little chapel. We also very much miss our retreats at St. Malo’s.
    Thanks for all of your articles and insights.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I’ll be dogged Catharine! I have looked at that stone many times – and never noticed it. But in your honor – and the blessed error carved in stone by the architect there – I will change it in the photo caption.

      Like

    • Observer says:

      Catharine,
      I had the Dominican sisters teach me through grade school. Their motherhouse was “St. Catharine’s” after St. Catharine of Siena (though many spell her name with the e). They were the original Dominican Sisters in the U.S. Their address is St. Catharine, KY and have their own post office. Here is a link to their history:
      http://www.oppeace.org/kentucky

      Due to their numbers falling they are now under a larger umbrella of the “Sisters of Peace” which combines other communities of OPs. Quite a change from the old memories!

      Like

    • Mike says:

      Hi Catharine,

      My tiny little parish where I grew up in suburban NY state was St. Catharine of Alexandria. Funny thing is when you google , it comes up with an “e” and not the “a”.

      Like

  9. Observer says:

    You know, when you read the “synod summation” articles you finally realize that there were actually around 200 Bishops attending. It seemed that just a couple of those attending were causing the unnecessary “hysteria” and deep concerns by the faithful who had only these personal points of view and the media’s use of them to imagine what could be going on. There were demands made upon the Pope himself by one as to what he MUST say and do. This rush to become “media hogs” and excite the faithful can now be seen as a claim on personal attention (votes) from their individual “constituents”. Another reason to stay away from the personality cult. Such persons knew what was going on in reality through the open discussions during the week and hearing from ALL those attending. The very numbers of the voting demonstrate that all the hype and worry was truly unnecessary. It’s not like these experienced Cardinals did not know what the media would do with their remarks. At least wait and don’t pre-empt or even try to effect the outcome. That shows respect for all of their brothers attending. The Pope, OTOH, desired the open discussion of all points of view in charity and respect for all….not stifling them by the powerful.

    This is why I liked your analogy, Charlie, of the fox hole and who you want covering you in grave times.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Now there is some real and deep wisdom, Observer. Now, I am very enthused about the outcome of this preliminary session – and I think I will do a short piece in the morning why, for it illustrates how I look for very different things than most do in the midst of current events – and an illustration of how God uses things to accomplish a good outcome those involved had not imagined or intended. But something very critical happened here that gave me great joy concerning something that sometimes frets me. And I just wrote of it in passing in my immediately previous article.

      Like

      • Mike says:

        Charlie, the main lesson for me out this Synod is one of preparation to trust that God is in charge despite what I might be sensing in my humanness. Believe me, as I heard and read some of what was coming out of Rome, I initially was disturbed but at same time there was this internal voice saying stay calm and trust. Who knows maybe this is the prep for when the Storm starts raging more fiercely?

        Like

  10. Audie says:

    I have so much respect for the Rev. Billy Graham. He has stayed true to his calling all his life and brought many, many people to Jesus.

    Like

  11. johnmcfarm says:

    Regarding the Mark of the Beast being ideology…a Dr Arnold Murray a minister of The Shepherd’s Chapel has a tv series bible study. He is a great character and also preaches that the Mark of the Beast is ideological not a physical mark on the forehead or arm…I really like watching his show…he died last February and his son does them now but most of the shows are re-runs anyway…good stuff.

    Like

  12. anne says:

    and for goodness sake Charlie, admit it!!!! Pell is Australian…..yes, Australian. A true blue from down under……what a relief at last! not an American, Canadian, European. At last ….yes, we do exist in the great South Land of the Holy Spirit. Look up your history everyone. This title was given centuries ago by an explorer
    could not resist this comment as there are only 22 million of us and so very ignored by the “big,loud guys”.
    In 1606,Pedro Fernandez do Quiros gave us the name”Australia del Espiritu Santo”.
    So this is our character and shows our DESTINY.
    We are fresh, new and many are attracted here. The Holy Spirit always does something fresh and new.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      My stars, Anne, did you think I was trying to hide it? Australia has much vigor…it may likely play a stronger role than Europe in things to come. I would love to form a North American-South Pacific partnership encompassing the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand. But I have made it clear here for some time that I have much more confidence in Australia as a reliable outpost of western civilization than I do Europe right now.

      Like

  13. anne says:

    Sorry,Pedro Fernandez de Quiros. note…de not do.
    Yes, i am fired up because Australia is wonderful and so ignored and drowned out by others!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha ha, well then you go, girl! Australia is worth getting fired up about!

      Like

    • jaymkay60 says:

      Hey hey hey, Anne, I can tell you that for those of us in Ireland Oz is certainly not ignored.Particularly when it comes to rugby! And Cardinal Pell is a former rugby player. That’s a game that teaches you how to take the bruises… and giv them.

      Like

  14. Kelly says:

    Regarding the mark of the beast. I was sent this link and felt it seemed to go well with our times and how prevalent tattoos are now a days: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwjDfykKUJc

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I put this up with the proviso, Kelly, that I completely reject it as the mark of the beast. It is objectionable for other reasons. But I have nearly always rejected the notion that the mark can be a thing the could ensnare the genuinely unwary. That is not how God works. You cannot slip on a banana peel and accidentally fall into hell. You must make an act of the will. Now satan is clever and can fool you into thinking you are actually doing good – but you must affirmatively embrace it. That is why I insist it is an ideology. And with all the Christians being fined and having their businesses shut down – and in some western nations being threatened with imprisonment, I do not really understand why people insist on some thing being the mark.

      Like

      • Jennifer says:

        For many years, my impression of the mark of the beast has been that due to our global economy and interconnectedness and the culture of death which permeates all of our systems, it is already impossible to buy or sell without the mark of the beast, ie, without being complicit in some way. Through our employment, our taxes, our banking, our health insurance, etc. etc., we are all guilty to some extent, whether we realize it or not, and whether we agree or not. I don’t mean that we are personally, morally responsible, yet still, sin is sin and it is destructive, so we all suffer the consequences. I am vaguely remembering Pope St. John Paul writing about systemic sin which permeates our economies, corporations, infrastructures, etc., though I can’t remember where (or if that’s true). At any rate, this has been my take on “not being able to buy or sell without the mark of the beast,” that this “spirit of the antichrist” was already present in the world in this way, certainly. God bless, Jennifer

        Like

  15. Kelly says:

    Thank you Charlie. That helps. I’ve been reading the links about it being an ideology. Its a new concept for me and I’m still pondering it. I was hoping you’d comment. I think I do tend to take the bible to literally sometimes. So reading your experiences on how stupid we all are from the eyes of eternity is helping me I think to open up a little more. I’m really grateful for what you are doing.

    Like

  16. aj says:

    With all the anxiety about ebola, synod, mark of the beast, wars etc, I find this interaction between St. Faustina and our Lord JESUS quite instructive. It sort of sums up Charlie’s call to us as well. Here it is:

    St. Faustina: As I was writing the above words, I saw the Lord Jesus leaning over me, and He asked, My daughter, what are you writing? I answered, “I am writing about You, Jesus, … about Your inconceivable love and mercy for people.” And Jesus said, Secretary of My most profound mystery, know that yours is an exclusive intimacy with Me. Your task is to write down everything that I make known to you about My mercy, for the benefit of those who by reading these things will be comforted in their souls and will have the courage to approach Me. I therefore want you to devote all your free moments to writing. “But, O Lord, shall I always have a moment, at least a brief one, in which to write?” And Jesus answered, It is not for you to think about that. Only do as much as you can, and I will always arrange things so that you will easily be able to do what I ask of you … (Diary, 1693).

    The Lord is simply telling our sister Saint to do what she can (take the next right step) and He will do everything else. We really have to become smaller in ourselves…we decrease and He increase and that’s a process needing much Grace from Mummy MARY.

    Like

  17. aj says:

    Twice during the synod I attempted to post my positions on this blog on what was taking place and couldn’t. The first time after writing a thesis 🙂 on graduality and the dangers it poses the whole thing got erased before I could press “post comment”. The second time something similarly happend while copying and pasting a quote at the end of my blog post…erased again.

    I wondered what was my Lord and Teacher saying to me…well it was to wait and see…don’t get caught up with the media clips on the synod or the minority agendas of some Bishops…wait and see. This is why for the most part I have been silent recently. And here, today our “servant of the servants of GOD” has given a beautiful exhortation and summary of the synod that pleases me very much!

    Hopefully I have learnt a lesson, not a new one but one the same “Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” (Psalm 27:14)

    Here is our Papa Francisco’s closing speech on the synod…I do suspect Charlie the schlub would be beaming today after reading this…because this schlub is! 🙂

    Pope Francis: http://en.radiovaticana.va/news/2014/10/18/pope_francis_speech_at_the_conclusion_of_the_synod/1108944

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, AJ, I will have something to say later about this – but I have been beaming ever since I read Pope Francis’ comments. What a wonderful captain we have as we enter these terribly troubled waters! God doe not leave us bereft. And I am also beaming because you managed to integrate my favorite line from my favorite Psalm into your comment – and used my favorite translation of it.

      Like

    • Mary A. says:

      I agree, with a little add-on. If you follow along during a process, you can pray. And sometimes engage in push-back if you are a player of any kind. We shouldn’t be passivists (not the same as pacifist!). Sandro Magister has an excellent summary of the whole process in his latest (as of yesterday) column for l’espresso/ chiesa. Just google Magister and chiesa and it will come up. It was toe to toe for a good while, and the outcome wasn’t automatic.

      Like

  18. Observer says:

    Just to mention Mark Mallett’s latest…..shows that we should always wait, I guess, and go to the source to get the true idea of things:

    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/steady-as-she-goes/

    Yes, to agree with Mark, I think we have a good one, a steady hand, at the helm….and a good “papa”.

    Like

  19. We seem to have a lull on the Ebola front. I can’t help but think this is one of those times where things *appear* to be calming down…

    Like

  20. jaymkay60 says:

    Thanks for this post, Charlie, and bringing the Missioners of Christ to my attention in particular because as it happens I, for once, have a bit to spare thank God and am very impressed. I would also encourage all to buy Mark Mallet’s book “The Final Confrontation” because, as well as helping Mark’s ministry, it is very solid on the various Millenarian errors that are out there in profusion. As well as lots of other great information, e.g. the symbolism of Our Lady’s cloak in the Tepeyac image. And lots more. Michael Brown’s “The Final Secret” is also very good. J.

    Like

    • jaymkay60 says:

      Doh… Michael Brown’s book is “The Last Secret”, not “Final”. But it’s very complimentary to Mark M’s. And it has a beautiful image of Our Lady of Sorrows on the front, from Quito. Same city as the more famous apparition to Mother Mariana in the 17th century, which had many revelations about our present time. It’s a book well worth reading. J.

      Like

Leave a Reply

