Weekend Update

I am working on a significant new post that I want to be precise about. I hope to have it up tonight.

Meantime, as things have gotten more and more overwhelming, I am adding my sister, Kim Johnston Hocutt, as a comment editor this weekend. She will clear comments and weigh in with some of her own comments. Obviously, anything that requires a direct answer from me or gets into certain dense thickets will be flagged for me. I will still read everything. But several times in the last few weeks, between comments, emails and phone calls, I have looked up to find it three in the morning. I love our little community. But if I don’t get some help with it, I will be doing everyone a disservice.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Tom says:

    Hi, Kim! What’s your favorite childhood memory of Charlie?


    • charliej373 says:

      Hey, Tom…I just authorized Kim…and I have a call into her to let her know that the authorization is complete. She WILL respond to your question when she gets back home later today.


    • kmjohnston37 says:

      Wow Tom,that is a hard one! He is 12 years older than me and he was always a lot of fun, he would take the three younger of us,(my brother Steve,11 months older than me,and my brother Ronnie 5 years younger than me,and of course myself), to all kinds of places,and just let us have fun. But I have to say my favorite memory would be when I couldn’t sleep at night, or I had a bad dream, when he would get in from work he would check on us younger kids, and if I (or any of us) were awake, or scared he would tell us goofy stories that he would just make up, and make us laugh,and calm our fears. My youngest brother was a little harder to console, so he made him a magic drink called ‘green milk’. (milk,sugar,green food coloring),and would tell him a story while he drank it and it worked!! So as long as I have known him he has been the kind of person to encourage, and reassure. I can still call him now in hysterics about something and he will take the time to calm me down!


  2. Leonard J. LeBlanc says:

    A few years ago I decided to travel through our beautiful country of Canada. My plan was to accomplish this by car and trailer. One day I forgot I had a utility trailer and backed up causing
    several thousand dollars to car and trailer. I took this as a sign that I wasn’t fit to be on the roads with a trailer; it would be safer for all concern. So I really appreciate reading about your journey across your beautiful country. Thank you. Should you be travelling through the eastern part of Canada please drop-in. We will try and find you a comfortable bed and good acadian food here in the land of Our Lady of Assumption.


    • charliej373 says:

      Hey Leonard, I did do some extensive travel through eastern Canada back in 1975, when I was 19 years old. It was glorious. The province of Nova Scotia looked more like postcard views of Maine than Maine does. Spent a wonderful week with a family in Montreal…but one of my favorite memories was from the wilds of western Ontario….

      It had been raining wherever we were for two weeks. We were in a wilderness park in western Ontario, a good 75 miles from the nearest town. It just kept drizzling. We were kids and not so thoughtful about stocking up on food – and we did not really realize how remote parts of western Ontario could be. We had Cheeze Whiz on Ritz Crackers for dinner, then jury-rigged a tarp as a cover to keep us dry through the night. (We had a tent, but it was a two-man and there were three of us). I woke once during the night because the slow drizzle was filling up puddles in the tarp, one of which had sunk down to touch me. I turned over and went back to sleep. The tarp collapsed during the night and we were soaked. But we were so tired we just slept through it.

      The next morning, I awoke with a start, for something very fuzzy was tickling my face. I was so startled it roused my buddies, who peered up in time to see the raccoon that had slept on my pillow beside me trundle off. As I was adjusting to that, I felt something moving at the foot of my bag. I started to pull out of it in surprise…when the two squirrels who had crawled in and gone to sleep at my feet came running out to start their day. For quite some time after that, my buddies called me Dr. Doolittle.

      Thanks for the invite!


  3. Crystal says:

    We welcome you, Kim, and are grateful for both you and Charlie. Reading this blog has challenged me but at the same time has given me hope and peace! We all need to take care of each other. Looking forward to hearing from you in the weeks ahead🙂


  4. Acker Family says:

    Thank you so very much for being such a trusted servant
    and for all that you do!
    Peace +


  5. MM Bev says:

    I, too, can only add my thanks, to both Charlie (who I decided long ago didn’t even get any sleep) and to you, Kim, because I’m sure you have tons going on in your own life. As you can clearly see this blog has become virtually indispensable to a whole hoard of people from all over the world. (So much for Charlie not advertising!) If I don’t make it through this comment without errors, it is because I am never on the computer without a cat wiggling, shifting, licking it’s fur (or me), attempting to get the screen, and seldomly sleeping on my lap. It is my own fault. I vociferously complained loudly to God that I wanted love, affection and someone with me. He has fulfilled my desire in spades. I have an abundance of love, tons of affection and and THE MOUSE with me at all, ALL, times. He has made up for years and years of longing. But it is hard to write comments. I’ll deal with it rather than go without. Welcome, and blessings.
    You do realize, of course, that Charlie has total trust and faith in you. It’s not because you were the only person willing to do it for him.


    • kmjohnston37 says:

      Hi Bev, thank you. I appreciate you very much. I have prayed for you and I will be sending you an e-mail soon, God is good and is revealing things to me that you need to know, I am so happy He sent you to me!


      • MM Bev says:

        Kim, to me the fact that God can plant love in a heart for someone you have only met on line is a real miracle-yet that is a fact for me. I really appreciate you and your help, now and will always. It’s kind of like having a sister. You do realize that you have a certain amount of power in your hands, don’t you. :”Charlie stories” could circulate all over the internet.


  6. Carol Gericke says:

    Wonderfully wise decision. Reminds me of Moses.


  7. ellenchris says:

    Welcome, Kim. Charlie — guy — get enough sleep, please. “It is vain for you to rise early, you that put off your hard earned rest, for He gives to his beloved in sleep.” Sometimes I see the time stamp on some of your postings, and pray for you to get enough sleep. Many blessings on this and all your endeavors.


  8. Alise says:

    Kim – It’s good to finally see your photo. I’m looking forward to more of your insights.


  9. aj says:

    Hey Charlie, I see the Mercy of GOD is alive in your household…Kim resembles her mother!🙂🙂🙂

    Welcome to the family Kim…I don’t think dad having you help out has anything to do with him being so busy at all…he just wanted guys like me to take it easy on him. All he had to do was to ask me to temper my disagreements with him. Good move Charles…Check…as in chess. hahaha

    Just playing Kim…great to have you join us!


    • NancyA says:

      Kim is Charlie’s younger sister, aj.

      Charlie, Kim, yours is a blessed family; it’s apparent. Perhaps tempered through fire.

      I, also, look forward to your input, Kim. I had wondered at poor Charlie’s consumed time on this blog! Grateful, though, for all the direction and encouragement, especially as I realize this form of communication may be short lived.

      I am of the mindset to just pray and trust, but, as I don’t pray ENOUGH, I worry that is more lazy cop out than prudent. We don’t have enough financially to prepare with durable goods or consumables, though. I have to just trust that we’ll be right with God and ready to face Him, or we’ll somehow make do until we do. We do have an inestimable gift here. ( big part of why we’ve been in THIS house for 25+ years.) That is that a church of St. Mary is just across the corner! If Locutions to the World is valid, She has just said she will begin pouring graces out in those places which hold her name. I’m not sure if it was the power of suggestion, but I felt it beginning this weekend.

      I’m a late comer to this blog about a week ago, but catching up, cramming, and being reminded how to be ready to take the next right step. I’m in a painful marriage. I struggle with what I know is necessary. Prayers always appreciated!


    • aj says:

      oh shoot…welcome to the family all the same. lol.


  10. SteveBC says:

    It’s so good to see you here, Kim. Charlie’s site has become a bustling community because he has been so willing to engage with the rest of us here, but it has to have become a sizable time commitment, so sizable that it appeared that his other work was starting to suffer. Thank you for agreeing to help him out. We will all benefit. 🙂


  11. You woke up at three hope you did your Chaplet.


Leave a Reply

