A Brief Note

A few folks have asked me if everything is okay since I haven’t posted in a few days. I am fine. I am working on a significant article and I want to be precise. The Great Apostasy has begun. It matches up perfectly with what I was told (and reported to my priests) almost two decades ago – but as is often the case, is not exactly what I expected. I hope to have it up tomorrow. When certain matters of some gravity arise, I don’t have much to say until I have worked it through.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Brief Note

  1. radiclaudio says:

    Hi Charlie, glad to hear you are well. Much love and affection. Rich

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex ireton says:

    Glad to hear your ok. Looking forward to your next blog. Alex

    Like

  3. MM Bev says:

    Here I was hoping you were getting some well earned rest! Take care of yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ellenchris says:

    Been keeping you in prayer. Glad to hear you are well. May our good Lord keep providing you with guidance in fulfilling His calling.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. donna269 says:

    thanks Charlie….I thought perhaps your neurological condition was doing a round with you….glad to hear you are well….God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ignacio says:

    Hi Charlie. A quick note to say hi and offer a prayer for you and the family 🙂 2nd time to post. Often feel like reading your posts is like having a conversation a good chinwag. Don’t always agree with you but flip me by the time I’ve finished with comments questions are answered. Just wanted to promote reading the comments – there are not a few who are indeed taking the next right step and being a sign 🙂 at times when the temptation to Prepare as in shop for non perishables hits we get a new bill! A little smile from God I think. Blessings from Brisbane.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh, are you right, Ignacio. Reading the comments is critical to getting full value here.

      Like

    • Connie says:

      I know what u mean about getting zapped with a new bill! Seems like when I start thinking maybe I should buy a dehydrator, etc. incoming bill knocks that thought right out of commission. I did watch Saundra Abrahams u-tube talks(all 10 of them) and realized, hey I should be making a list of relatives I haven’t said Masses for and use any extra cash for that. I am glad I watched her- I have listened to her before and she always stresses prayiong for souls and having Masses said for them. It is also November and almost over, so I am going to try to find the best place online for Masses for the dead. I have to wait a while at my parish for a slot to open for a Mass to be said for souls. Anybody know of a good place for Masses for the dead, let me know.

      Like

  7. NancyA says:

    Charlie, when you say the it “matches up perfectly” but “is not exactly as ( you) expected”, do you receive confirmation that this is what you believe it to be, or might it become even more of what you expected as time marches on? It seems, as you’ve mentioned before, that it is already all about us, but we don’t notice it’s true import as we’re watching for more dramatic occurrences… we’ve become too desensitized to evil and horror.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Nancy, I have written before that I was long trained to rid myself of restless expectations, that these things are not given so we will know the precise course of future events – but rather as sorts of road signs, so that we will recognize the much larger spiritual reality behind certain temporal events. That said, I am human, too, and much as I discipline myself against it, I develop certain assumptions based on what I am told. It is why I am so adamant, even in talking with my priests, in differentiating between what I am told and how I interpret it. It is almost always greater or somewhat different than what even my limited expectations anticipate. It will be clear what I am talking about in this instance in the article…but I am never convinced, even when I have a fairly great understanding of something, that I understand it fully. Even something very brief – such as when my angel told me in angry rebuke that, “You must tell them true, and they must choose or perish.” I have an idea about it…I know darn well I better tell as true as I can, but I don’t fully understand all the implications of that – and doubt I will until the next life. I understand enough about it to know I need to whine little and be rigorous in speaking as I have been directed, in submission to the Church, but without being influenced by criticism or praise.

      Like

      • ellenchris says:

        Charlie, when you said, “differentiating between what I am told and how I interpret it” you hit the nail right on the head. This is the very definition of discernment. There is *always* some admixture of our own interpretation in everything we receive. St. Teresa of Jesus and later writers (such as Fr. Benedict) were adamant on this point — that rather than saying, “This IS. . . ” or “God SAID. . .” we should always say something like, “I believe I saw or heard.” This is why I trust you and this blog, as well as Mark and Janet. Without humility and perspective, we are sunk. Wish I could get me some of that humility stuff; sure could use some. . . .

        Like

      • Observer says:

        Charlie,
        Would you ever chance giving only what your angel told you, literally, and leave out any interpretation or just relate the context in which it was given?? Thanks.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          I have given rare snippets of that. But for the most part, except to the priests, no, I wouldn’t. Because that is not what I am directed to do. I was given a lifetime of instruction to prepare me to be able to bear and feebly understand some of these things so that I could defend the faith, hearten the faithful, and defend the faithful while assuring them that God calls all men to salvation. To give primarily the raw material would merely stoke the fires of apostasy among the many who have itching ears but have not borne the discipline to discern well what they see and hear.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie, how do new subscribers log on? I keep forwarding these to certain friends and they need to get online themselves! You bless my day! Thanks.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Here is the link, written out: https://charliej373.wordpress.com/

      Copy and paste, then send that to your friends, and they will be able to log on. I don’t know the algorithms of the various search engines, but I know in some if you put my name or next right step up, this site pops right up, while on others, it doesn’t pop up for several pages. But if you send that link written out that way, they will always be able to get on.

      Like

  9. Maureen says:

    Thank you, Charlie, for your efforts and sacrifices. I really appreciate your balance and reminders to trust in God. I need to work on trust to overcome my fear and discouragement. Thanks for reminding all of us over and over to trust in God. God bless you!

    Like

  10. donna269 says:

    I feel like it’s Christmas eve and tomorrow is Christmas…..can’t wait to read this article….the anticipation is just killing me…..

    Like

  11. Matthew says:

    And here I thought the Great Apostasy had already been in full swing for the past 40 years!
    It is a comforting promise to know that these times will be shorten lest even the elect fall away.
    PS: Not laying claim to being one of the elect, merely quoting Scripture.
    You remain daily in my prayers and I ask for yours as I continue my discernment.
    PAX!
    Matthew

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      That’s smart Matthew – far wiser for us to pray to be counted among the elect than to confidently assume we are.

      And certainly a great apostasy has been going on for some time – but now the Great Apostasy of the Storm has begun.

      Like

  12. Cecilia says:

    So glad you are well, Charlie. I, too, thought perhaps that you had fallen ill. Good news indeed that your are busy writing and weighing words about how you say what must be said. God bless you. It is true that the comments are such an addition to this site, but I confess sometimes there are just too many, and sometimes I just haven’t been able to keep up 🙂

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Not to worry Cecilia. I probably wouldn’t keep up if I didn’t have to clear them all. Ha…Padraig Caughey, who runs the marvelous Mother of God Forum told me a week ago that he loves reading here but sometimes misses a few columns. I laughed and told him I wouldn’t read everything I wrote, either, if I didn’t have to actually write it.

      Like

  13. Mona says:

    I was celebrateing christmas in USA in 2007. Our daughter was studuing at Yale University and we visited her. In New York people would all the times wish us happy holliday. Only a homless and sick mand on a corner said Merry Christmas to us. I have since then often thougt about that and that it was “forbidden” to say Marry Christmas in USA.
    Mona from Denmark

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I’m curious, Mona…do people still commonly say, “Merry Christmas” in Denmark?

      Like

      • Mona says:

        Yes we do.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Glad to hear it, Mona…one of the areas where Denmark has remained more Christian than the Americas.

          Like

          • marie says:

            Erm, sorry to step in here, but Danes commonly greet each other around Christmas time with the words ‘God Jul’. ‘God’ means ‘good’ and ‘Jul’ is the word which came into English as ‘Yule’. The etymology of the Word ‘Jul’ or ‘Yule’ has no direct connection with the birth of Christ. Likewise, there is NO public acknowledgement in this country that what we are actually celebrating is Christmas: no public nativity displays, no nativity pageants in any of the schools, heck, I can’t even find a single card in the shops with even a remotely religious theme. Sorry, Mona 😦

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Well rats, that would be depressing. At Christmas I want my Nativity Scenes, lights, smells, carols. Shoot, sometimes it even gives me a subversive tingle when I say ‘Merry Christmas’ to someone in a store and they wink back and whisper the same. (For all of you trying this at home, you have to truly say it joyously, not defiantly, for people to surreptitiously greet you back from an official spot).

            Like

      • Barb says:

        Not being able to find a religious Christmas card would really be depressing!
        We always put up a Nativity scene in our yard for Christmas and we’re noticing that there are fewer and fewer ones elsewhere every year. =(

        Like

  14. LJD says:

    This article is so full of wisdom that i would swear I wrote it myself! Just kidding. It is reassuring to read you write what i am sometimes thinking…and question whether I am unorthodox for not following the “holy herd” more. That is one of the reasons I love P. Francis in particular. He is loyal to the teachings of the church on the unbreakable trunk, but he realizes the need to go out and reach the people. His phone calls to those hurt or who feel marginalized (sex abuse victim, or remarried people come to mind). I love the image of the church as a field hospital! A bruised reed he shall not break. The church has been so weakened by the rebellion since V2, that the truths she upholds need to be reaffirmed, but the people cant reach them with a snap of a finger. Marriage comes to mind very strongly to me in this. It is indeed indissoluble when a sacrament, but I look around and dont see many sacramental marriages. They are entered into by people with no understanding of what the mystery of the sacrament is and NO FAITH! The marriages break down, and even many that dont break down do not seem to have the supernatural life of Christ. It is sad, but I see Francis trying to find that bridge to heal the brokenness of our present state and to nurture to reach the true calling as intended by Christ.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I have long believed, LJD, that the heart of evangelism is not devising clever new truths to propound, but simply to find the truth which is in Christ and express it in a way people feel that they cannot quite express themselves. They know it to be true because, though they could not quite find the words, they have felt it all along. So evangelization is working to clear away the gunk and let Christ through – for His sheep know His voice and will respond to it if it is His that one propounds.

      Like

  15. johnmcfarm says:

    God bless and keep you sound.

    Like

  16. Chase says:

    Charlie, Case in Point…The Most Holy Family Monastery. Very, very convincing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

