A Meditation on The Lord’s Prayer


Guest Column

By Pelianito

(A reminder that through this weekend, I will have the slows as far as administering this site and responding to emails. My son and granddaughter are here for a visit – and I’m enjoying it. Today, our own Janet Klasson, better known as Pelianito, offered to let me use this marvelous meditation on the Lord’s Prayer as a guest column. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.)

Our Father who art in heaven…

“Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.” (Luke 23:46)

“Child, I am your loving Abba. Can you not trust me with everything? Give me your very life and you will see what I can do.

Hallowed be thy name…

So the chief priests of the Jews said to Pilate, “Do not write ‘The King of the Jews,’ but that he said, ‘I am the King of the Jews.’” (John 19:21)

“My child, so many deny the kingship of Christ. Pray always that the eyes and hearts of all will be opened to the truth—that Jesus Christ, crucified, died, and risen is Lord of all.”

Thy kingdom come…

Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” He replied to him, “Amen, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.” (Luke 23:42-43)

“Oh my child! Pray for the coming of the kingdom. How it pleases me to hear children calling for my kingdom to come. Do this sincerely and often, and you give me great joy.”

Thy will be done…

After withdrawing about a stone’s throw from them and kneeling, he prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup away from me; still, not my will but yours be done.” (Luke 22:41-42)

“Imitate your Savior in this if nothing else! For in this is found everything else. Enter into the will of God and you will never be in want, for you will have everything. Ponder this my child.”

On earth as it is in heaven…

It was now about noon and darkness came over the whole land until three in the afternoon because of an eclipse of the sun. Then the veil of the temple was torn down the middle. (Luke 23: 44-45)

“My child, if you knew how intricately I have linked heaven and earth you would be amazed. What happens on earth resounds in heaven and what happens in heaven resounds on earth. Do you see this? Look around at the world. Heaven is weeping at what sin has done and will do. Pray my child and do not stop!”

Give us this day our daily bread…

Then he took the bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which will be given for you; do this in memory of me.” (Luke 22:19)

“Can I say often enough how crucial the Bread of Life is to the life of the soul? My child, even in those who do not receive the Eucharistic bread, it is the Eucharistic Bread that sustains them in their faith. One day, they will come to realize this and they will lament at the time spent away from the Sacrifice. Pray that many will come back to me and will know the joy of union with me.”

And forgive us our trespasses…

Then Peter remembered the word that Jesus had spoken: “Before the cock crows you will deny me three times.” He went out and began to weep bitterly. (Matthew 26:75)

“My beloved, how often must I forgive my wayward children? The ocean of my mercy is infinite. Do not despair, but like Peter weep bitter tears at your transgressions and trust in my mercy. Trust completely, for my mercy will never fail those who place their trust in me.”

As we forgive those who trespass against us…

Then Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.” (Luke 23:34)

“Then, child, because of the great mercy shown you, go then and do the same. Let there be no excuse, for your Lord does not find excuses to hold you accountable for your many transgressions. No, your loving Father kills the fatted calf and throws a great celebration. Be reconciled my people. It is the commandment of love.”

And lead us not into temptation…

Then all the disciples left him and fled. (Matthew 26:56)

“Beloved, a trial is coming to my children unlike any before. Pray not to be put to the test. Pray for supernatural faith and it will be granted. I have given you a simple prayer for times of temptation: ‘Jesus I trust in you.’ Use it often and you will defeat temptation before it strikes. Can I make it more simple? Use this prayer my child. This prayer is mercy itself.”

But deliver us from evil…

When Jesus had taken the wine, he said, “It is finished.” And bowing his head, he handed over the spirit. (John 19:30)

“The moment of salvation—ponder this often my child. It was at this moment that evil was defeated, that hope was restored to fallen humanity. Enter into the passion and death of your Savior and you too will conquer evil. This is a great mystery and must be pondered. Child I have saved you. Rejoice and be glad!”

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Guest Columns, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Meditation on The Lord’s Prayer

  1. malachi99 says:

    Alongside Pope Benedict’s exegesis of this prayer this is a sublime spiritual companion.

    God bless,


    Liked by 2 people

  2. marie says:

    Beautiful. Thank you, Pelianito.

    Charlie, I hope you have a wonderful few days with your son and granddaughter.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Alex ireton says:


    Liked by 3 people

  4. kathy kalina says:

    Thank you, Janet!
    Over the last year, I’ve been called to immerse myself in the writings of Luisa Piccarreta and practice living in the Divine Will. It has been the most profound enlightenment and has taken me farther in my spiritual walk than anything else I’ve encountered in the 25 years since my conversion.

    Jesus told Luisa that the Lord’s prayer was intentionally the only one He taught, because the coming of the kingdom of the Divine Will on earth as it is in heaven was His greatest desire and purpose. He said since He prayed it, the Father will grant it. We can bring it to earth by sincerely praying for it, desiring it, and living in it. He also told her that giving us only this one prayer from Him has ensured that this prayer, so dear to His heart, has been on the lips of all of the Church, from the youngest to the oldest, all these years. Everything is contained in it!

    (I’ve been especially helped in understanding how to live in the Divine Will by listening to the teachings of Father Robert Young on radio Maria. (http://www.divinewilltallahassee.com/radio-archives)

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Bob says:

    Enjoy your family time Charlie while God allows us the grace of some calm to do so. My prayers are with you for these good times as well.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. narnialion54 says:

    Dear Peli and Charlie,
    Just used this meditation for an hour before the Lord. It is exactly what I needed. Thank you. I have had this burning desire to just live within the Our FAther prayer. Praise be to God!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I believe! Gold from Heaven; I hope it’s alright to share this, as I feel it deserves to be read and absorbed, far and wide. Thank you, Pelianito, and Charlie.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Thanks to all for your kind words.🙂 Certainly it may be shared! Please also include a link to Charlie’s blog and mine so that others may be heartened by the many words of encouragement our Lord is showering on his beloved little ones. I am constantly amazed and delighted by what he can do through a sinner who says yes! All glory and praise to God! Come Holy Spirit!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. donna269 says:

    Janet….thank you so much…this is so beautiful…..

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Judy says:

    May the Lord Jesus Christ deliver my dear friend Linda Le Blanc from evil. For the sake of His sorrow passion, may He have mercy on her. The problems have been endless, difficult, and have come virtually every direction for several years . The crosses have been so harsh and so relentless that I have even thought there might be a curse. I ask all the wonderful people on this board to pray for her. She has been having migraines since the summer, recently thought she had a toothache, but today the dentist is telling her to see a neurologist because he no longer believes there is an infection. I think he believes that there is a tumor. She has no medical insurance because she lost her job due to illness. I have been praying mightily and helping in every way possible, but this one is beyond my help, except for prayers. Please join me in praying for Linda. She feels alone because family has stood at a distance, and this is her worst pain. You and I know that together our prayers are powerful. Thank you in advance for putting her on your local prayer lines. God bless you all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Judy I will pray the prayer to Our Lady of Tepeyac for your friend. Some people have too much to bear. May Our Lady wrap her in the Flame of Love.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Judy says:

        Thank you, thank you, thank you so very much. Our Blessed Mother under every title is so very loving and is our best and most powerful advocate. Right now Linda is feeling very weak mentally, spiritually and physically. Our prayers will be joined. May God bless you for the love you show!

        Liked by 2 people

        • God bless you for the love YOU show this dear friend. May she gather strength and hope from your friendship and the prayers you have gathered for her. God is good. . He is very, very good.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Judy says:

            Yes, I know God is very, very good and that the rosary and the mass are powerful weapons against the Darkness. The Blessed Mother and the Holy Spirit have worked powerfully in my life so I have no doubt in the least. My friend of 40 years, Linda, has received 3 messages for me from the Blessed Mother at times when I was in great despair and surrounded by extreme, multiple troubles. (Linda could not have known of my prayers because she was far away working in another state during one of these events.) So Linda knows that God and the Blessed Mother are there, and her faith has been strong. I have admired her courage and strength during her own trials, as well as trust in God, However, lately she has been saying that she cannot take much more and she has been crying inconsolably. She says the pain is so bad that she thinks she needs morphine. Linda is very educated, has always been self-sufficient and generous to those in need and , yes. to her family. She desperately has been searching for a job over the last year but has found age discrimination (she is over 60, but not yet of the age when she can get Medicare). Incredibly, she has been offered 2 jobs in the last few weeks due to her unique set of high level skills, but has not been able to accept because of many reasons, but most especially because of extreme pain and lack of steadiness on her feet. This is why I sometimes think that a curse has been leveled against her because every time there is an opening to assist her in her needs, she is blocked from that avenue. I have been astounded by this. In August I was going to mass daily and praying for her. Afterwards I stayed for the rosary. But work began for me in September and I could no longer do this, although she seemed to be a bit better in August. I have even contacted the local diocese exorcist for prayers for her. He is out of town, but has given prayers over the phone. This is why I have turned to you dear people to ask for your prayers. I know there are many people out there with great troubles, but I have a special bond of friendship with Linda. I know her to be a wonderful person and strong in her Catholic beliefs. With prayers directed toward her, maybe God will give us a Christmas miracle. Thanks again for your love, faith, kindness and prayers. May your Christmas season be full of God’s blessings and may He also meet your needs, or the needs of the ones you love. God can multiply the blessings, just as he multiplied the fish and the loaves of bread. All is possible through the intercession of our Blessed Mother, and the blessings of God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. As Charlie has said, God is never late.

            Liked by 1 person

      • Connie says:

        I join my prayers with Peli and I also pray that if Linda has not cried out to the Lord that she do so and He lift her up to Himself quickly

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I will use this lovely meditation again, I’m sure. So many good things to ponder. Thank you for sharing it with us.
    For several days now, this song has been going ’round in my head, and I think it will help me to keep the right focus as we continue to move through the Storm. Maybe it will help all of us to do that:
    The Servant Song
    Will you let me be your servant, let me be as Christ to you; Pray that I may have the grace to let you be my servant too.
    We are pilgrims on a journey, we are travelers on the road; We are here to help each other walk the mile and bear the load.
    I will hold the Christ-light for you, in the night-time of your fear; I will hold my hand out to you, speak the peace you long to hear.
    I will weep when you are weeping; when you laugh I’ll laugh with you. I will share your joy and sorrow, ’til we’ve seen this journey through.
    When we sing to God in heaven, we shall find such harmony, born of all we’ve known together of Christ’s love and agony.

    Together we’ll make it. Together we will be that sign of hope, that light of Christ, encouraging each other and those around us to keep on keeping on no matter what. Together we will celebrate the victory of the One who will not fail in His promises. Praised be Jesus and Mary!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Bev says:

    Like many here, I too. will be praying for Linda. I pray too for her family whom I hope will give her the support that she needs. And with all my heart, I pray that the cause of her symptoms is not a tumor–that regardless of what the cause is, that Jesus will fill her with His strength and courage, with all the fortitude she needs to accept and overcome in Him.

    I pray for you, too, Judy, as you support her especially in this demanding time of the year. Even though Christmas is a joyous celebration, it is the women who carry the brunt of the demand for it’s preparations. May God bless you both.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. elizmeehan says:

    Judy I will also pray for your friend, Linda. I also have a friend who unbelievably is suffering the same way, i.e.,distant family, being passed from doctor to doctor, and no diagnosis since I’ve known her for the past 3 years or so. I also humbly ask for prayers for my friend, LeeAnn. Thank you everyone and Merry Christmas! I am learning so much from Charlie and from everyone on this site.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Judy says:

      Thank you all very much for prayers for my friend, Linda. ( I will also pray for LeeAnn. ) Yes, Linda has been to reconciliation and to mass / adoration whenever she can. She has been getting worse and is weak. She really needs to see a neurologist at this point and, most of all , she needs some graces from heaven to help her through.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Barbara Dore says:

        please pray for Linda and LeeAnn. Our Lady of Sorrows, please have a pity on these ladies and please pray for them. amen

        Liked by 1 person

      • Judy says:

        Great news today! I see Our Lady clearly working in the life of my friend, Linda.
        Today Linda met with a counselor whose name was Rose. After hearing Linda’s story, Rose told Linda that she must be a woman of faith because otherwise Linda could not have survived such upheaval in every part of her life and so very many deep losses. It was then that Rose (the counselor) told Linda, that she was Catholic, too. In fact, Rose’s grandmother was very devoted to the rosary. When Rose’s mother became pregnant with her, the grandmother asked that the baby girl be named Rose in honor of the rosary. THANK YOU FOR YOUR PRAYERS. THEY ARE WORKING!

        Liked by 2 people

  14. Bob says:

    At Mass this morning I prayed that God would put a stop to the demonic hatred which led to the deaths of those policemen and that God would give the grace of repentance to those who have continually fed the hatred. We see again the sad and evil consequences of unforgiveness and of hatred, which has been continually built up, especially recently, played out. And we know why Jesus specifically emphasized the consequences of failing to forgive, after he gave the Our Father, that being that we will not be forgiven unless we learn to do so ourselves. And in the healing and deliverance ministry I have seen how a choice not to work toward forgiveness can so easily block God’s healing and deliverance in people’s lives.


    • You are so right, Bob. Unforgiveness is rampant throughout the world today, sending the poison of hatred and inviting the spirits of violence and revenge into the hearts of all those who indulge this sin. There is a blindness that has come upon sinful humanity which prevents the ability to see beyond the self. Then there is another blindness that prevents the ability to see the self as it truly is.
      That is why, as one of our recent popes said, the greatest sin of this generation is the lack of the sense of sin. We cannot see the other truly, and we cannot see ourselves as we really are. God alone can remedy this awful defect. And He will. I hope it is soon – – very, very soon. Without His intervention we would be doomed, but because of His mercy we are saved. Thanks be to our merciful God.


Leave a Reply

