Joe Cronin, a Life in the Balance: Urgent Prayer and Action Need

(The Sacrifice of Isaac - by Giovanni Battista Tiepolo)

(The Sacrifice of Isaac – by Giovanni Battista Tiepolo)

By Charlie Johnston

Today’s post is an urgent appeal, both for prayer and for action. A 12-year-old boy’s life is at stake. He is young Joe Cronin. (update) The story is now fully vetted. On Wednesday morning, Corpus Christ Bishop Emeritus Rene Gracida sent a priest over to the hospital who prayed with the family, anointed the boy, and confirmed the facts that follow.

On Jan. 14th, Joe had a severe asthma attack, which left him in a coma. He is at Driscoll Children’s Hospital in Corpus Christi, Texas. Last Friday, doctors tried to declare him brain dead so they could take him off life support. But he passed the Brain Death test…he is not brain dead. Medical staff at Driscoll’s are not impressed. They are determined to take

Young Joe Cronin

Young Joe Cronin

this boy off life support. They have informed the family that they will test again on Friday, and continue until they get a reading which will support their preference. The parents’ only hope at this point is to find a facility that will take Joe and give him a chance to live. And they need to get it done by Friday.

This is not unprecedented. You may recall from last June the 13-year-old Oakland, California girl, Jahi McMath, who was at a secular children’s hospital that insisted she was functionally dead, that moving her would not make any difference; that her organs would soon shut down and her heart stop regardless of what was done with her. Thanks be to God, St. Peter’s University Hospital in New Jersey agreed to care for her and give her a chance to live instead of justifying why they must let her die. Young Jahi is still there, her heart and organs still plugging along despite the confident assurance of the California doctors that it was not possible.

I am going to ask you to do two things: First, give Driscoll Children’s Hospital a call at (361) 694-5000 and ask them to reconsider. Second, check with any religious based hospitals in your area that might be willing to give this boy a chance to live. Please send me any positive information you can to my email box with the title, “Joe Cronin.” Those will immediately go to the top of the list. I have access to the parents and a friend of theirs. If you are with a news organization, send me a note and I will put you into direct contact with the family.

This is the only thing I am going to put up today. Let us take action NOW to rescue this child.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Solidarity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

111 Responses to Joe Cronin, a Life in the Balance: Urgent Prayer and Action Need

  1. Jeff johnson says:

    The phone person smelled trouble when I called this hospital, as I asked to be connected to the charge nurse. I claimed I was related in Christ, and was deflected to the “patient relations” department which was just an answering service. This sounds just awful, but we have been killing our children since 1973. Jeff

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Yeah, we have, Jeff. It horrifies me that so many hospitals have become complicit. Maranatha!

      Like

      • Judy says:

        I just called. The said I have to speak to the public relations office and they are closed for the day. I expect that the office may be busy or closed tomorrow.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Please keep up the pressure. I am contacting everyone I know remotely connected with the media business, hoping that one of those will spark and light a fire under these people.

          Like

          • jobrower says:

            When I reached the operator I reminded him that since our conversation was being recorded to please add my request to leave him on life support and assured him I would call again tomorrow during business hours.

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            God bless you, Jo. I have been pounding away. I think I have gotten everything done I can for tonight. I will pound away again in the morning.

            Like

    • You do realize the hospital is prohibited by law from telling you anything, right? Related in Christ or not, ever heard of HIPPA, and the fact that you aren’t related to this boy?

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Well, Stephanie, I am well aware of HIPPA. That is why I have been enormously helped by independent parties on the ground in Corpus Christ who have been able to confirm details for me, including Bishop Emeritus Gracida. It is why I also talk with people of substantial legal experience to guide me through this. It is why I rely on a doctor who has expertise and is involved in the matter – and am in frequent contact with the father. The calls of people here have almost certainly bought this boy some time. I don’t have to guess at that. So whether they are elegant or clumsy calls, I encourage people to keep calling.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Maybe you should trust that doctor’s expertise? Just saying…

          Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Have you read the latest follow-ups, Stephanie?! That young Joey is now exhibiting signs of independent life? One of the great evils of modern times is that we always bow to “credentials” on fundamental questions. Look where it has gotten us. Had we taken your advice and just been docile to “credentials,” young Joey would likely be dead now instead of showing signs of life.

            Maybe you should take seriously your duty to make responsible judgment on fundamental matters rather than just turning your will over to whoever has the most credentials in the room. We are all called to make judgment on fundamental issues – and will be held to account for the prudence with which those judgments are made.

            Like

  2. Patricia says:

    How sad
    that it is Texas which stood for life in its elections this fall and in Corpus Christi. I have asked for prayers state wide.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. charliej373 says:

    Well, I took the advice of some of you and kept the Twitter account that was set up – so as to control it and keep anyone from spoofing me. I just did my first “Tweet” ever, trying to use all avenues to save this little boy. I don’t really know if I did it right, so if any of you know how it works would take a look and tell me, I sure would appreciate it.

    Like

    • SteveBC says:

      Charlie, it took me a little while to find you. I tried searching for Charlie Johnston and variants, but then I realized it might be CharlieJ373. Bingo. There it was. The tweet looks right. I clicked on the link to your TNRS post on Joe, and it worked properly. I’m not sure the hashtag is working, but that could be simply that nobody has used it yet except you.

      Anyway, it all seems in order. 🙂

      I pray that your tweet and article help Joe. I had asthma as a child but nothing like this. It’s scary not to be able to breathe, something so fundamental and immediate. I pray he comes through this and thrives for the rest of a long and fruitful life.

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Well, as long as I don’t have to respond to anything there, I will try extending the reach of these posts through the use of Twitter. Thank you, Steve.

        Like

        • SteveBC says:

          The guy who hacked this account for you may have been a bad guy doing bad stuff, but God appears to have turned it all to good purpose and even gotten you doing some of your own marketing – finally! 🙂

          Like

    • Daze says:

      We Prayed for this little boy; googled the hospital’s web page, which allows typed messages. Sent the following message. Also, did the parents apply for a court order?
      (Don’t put me on twitter; do not share email address)

      “Your website does not warn potential patients that children in a coma, like Joe Cronin, may (according to my understanding) be taken off life support within two weeks, even though the child is not brain dead, as apparently is the case with 12 year old Joe Cronin, per information I have received by email. Isn’t the usual next protocol to put the patient on a trache, rather than pull the plug? Have I misunderstood something? If I have understood correctly, I urge you to reconsider removing this Child (not brain dead) from life support, as he only went into the coma January 14, as I understand it.”

      Like

  4. Jeff johnson says:

    We can pound them on their facebook page Charlie too.
    https://www.facebook.com/driscollchildrenshospital

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Frances says:

    Go see http://www.terrisfight.org (from Terri Schindler Schiavo case)….the people there know who can help!!! Lord have mercy!!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

    The Next Right Step wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com charliej373 posted: ” By Charlie Johnston Today’s post is an urgent appeal, both for prayer and for action. A 12-year-old boy’s life is at stake. He is young Joe Cronin. I have not vetted all the information here, but I print it anyway because the need is urgent and time is”

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      You can contact the Terri’s Fight site at 855-300-4673 or email them at info@lifeandhope.com. Please, let us storm the barricades for this little boy. If you are in Texas, particularly near Corpus Christi, please contact your local TV and radio stations and ask them to find out what is going on.

      I have, of course, said the Prayer of Miraculous Trust, both to heal this boy, mind and body, spirit and soul – and to change the hearts of the officials at this hospital, to heal this boy as sign of hope to all and as a rebuke to the Culture of Death. I have asked the Lord to send St. Joseph, who protected both Him and Mary during the slaughter of the innocents, to stand watch over little Joe, to guide this family to safety. Please join me in invoking St. Joseph as the Patron of this horrible situation. But the way, I did not have the wit to choose St. Joseph on my own…it was his turn on the list when I went to pray for this intention. God is telling us something here, I hope.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Kati says:

        I have also prayed the prayer of Miraculous Trust. May God be greatly glorified in the outcome for this little boy!

        Like

      • waitingNwondering says:

        And don’t forget the Right to Life organizations. If everyone emailed his or her state RTF and asked them to talk to pro life hospitals on this family’s behalf, it could result in one of them offering to take him. In that event, it would be a publicity win/win for the family and RTL. Maybe even a P.R. win for the hospital.

        Like

        • Mick says:

          I also have prayed the Prayer of Miraculous Trust for this poor boy and his family. I have also contacted Right to Life of Michigan–their lobbyist (who lobbies reps and senators at the state legislature) is a friend. He suggested contacting Priests for Life. Charlie, I haven’t read all the comments below yet, so I don’t know if anybody has yet made this suggestion. But have you contacted them? My friend at RTL of MI said that Fr. Pavone has, on at least a couple of occasions, facilitated transfers like the one needed here. I know that Priests for Life has had its issues in various dioceses, but perhaps you could suggest Priests for Life to Joseph’s family?

          Also, Charlie, I have a first-class relic of St. John Vianney that I would be glad to Fed-Ex to the family if they think it might help.67rwazz

          Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Yes Mick, the father of the boy is contacting Priest for Life. I very much appreciate your offer of the first-class relic. but the poor family is in a whirlwind now and trying to focus on what they can do.

            Like

      • jobrower says:

        The name I chose for my Carmelite name is Jo Lynn of St. Joseph and the Child Jesus. I ask my namesake for intercession and the Child Jesus for His healing touch for little Joe!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary N says:

        I sent an e-mail to Terri’s Fight and asked them if they could help in any way or give us an idea of what else we can do in this situation. I’ll let you know if they e-mail me back.

        Like

      • ` says:

        I have tried to fwd to Lifesite News in the hopes that they may have some ideas.
        can’t get into my Yahoo box, where their address is. Petitions said too long no matter how much I took off. Just went to bottom of page, pressed reply, patched article and said read comments too. Said email you if any ideas.

        Adding my prayer and petition and fasting too. Very close to my heart.

        Like

  6. E. Allison says:

    I have posted this out to my FB friends. You should ask Michael Brown to put it up on Spirit Daily too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary Ann says:

    Charlie, unfortunately what the hospital is doing is according to the law in Texas, a law that the Texas bishops (through the Texas Catholic Conference) and the mainstream right to life organization endorsed. These two organizations also demeaned Catholic clergy and organizations that did not support the law. I think Bishop Gracida has the details.

    Like

  8. luvmercy5775 says:

    Why don’t those of us who are able, pray and fast on bread and water tomorrow in the hope that this young man will wake up before Friday. While I don’t believe doctors involved have evil intentions, harvesting organs from young people is a very real reality in this day and age.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Mary N says:

    The hospital has a website as well – we could send e-mails. Praying for this young boy! And we can link to this post on Facebook and spread the word. I will send out some e-mails right now.

    Like

  10. nancy davidson says:

    Just a quick thought before I even call – what about St. Jude’s Hospital? They are all about LIFE and the care is free!

    Date: Wed, 28 Jan 2015 00:04:00 +0000 To: nanannda2@hotmail.com

    Like

  11. CrewDog says:

    The Hospital’s e-mail contact page for Website Comments but why not “Flood-It” with comments too!:
    http://www.driscollchildrens.org/about_us/index.php?action=displaysection&sectionid=139

    Like

  12. We will pray for Joe. Please also pray for the soul of my young cousin Toby who hanged himself yesterday-only 22 and left a little baby boy fatherless. My family and I are devastated.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Brother Gilbert, I asked Our Lord to send St. Teresa of Avila to comfort your family in this terrible time and to see to the repose of Toby’s soul.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Mark says:

      You, Your family and Toby are in my prayers, as is Joe Cronin and his family.

      Liked by 2 people

    • CathyG says:

      Brother Gilbert I am so sorry for your devastating loss. I will keep Toby and your family in my prayers.

      Like

    • Janet says:

      Praying for Toby and all of you.

      Like

    • barb129 says:

      How tragic….I’m praying for his soul and for your family.

      Like

    • Brother Gilbert I will certainly pray for all of them, and that Toby will be immersed in the ocean of God’s unending mercy.

      Like

    • ` says:

      Brother Gilbert: Please go back to Notes on Armageddon. I made a comment regarding my own experience with desire to send my life. I am hoping you will go back and read it if you do not remember it. I hope and pray that it may bring some consolation to you and to Sammy. I think it’s about half way down comments. When a person’s mind is shattered and broken, suicide is not what they are thinking. (Sammy wants to join them–is that in any way rational thinking? Absolutely not. No free will is present when a mind is injured any more than any other part of our body.)

      God gave me a great blessing. Following my surgery, I wished I were dead for twelve years, with only about two days a year break. Immediately on Feb. 28th just after the lightening struck the Vatican dome it stopped. There was NO OTHER VARIABLE so it was God’s hand. My priest brother (also a monk and now deceased) had warned me ahead of time that I would have an extremely long and hard recovery despite the doctor’s assurance I would be in hospital five to seven days, (was three months) and then seven months to back to work. I went home with a wheelchair and a walker, knowing that I would have to take care of my alcoholic husband, in the early stages of dementia. My brother gave me a passage from God, the Annunciation, and said the more important sentence was “Nothing is impossible with God”, and I was to cling to it for the rest of my life. I offered that part of my suffering for those whose minds break, and in that shattering of mind cast their lives into their Father’s Arms. It was, I think, the hardest trial in my recovery, but I hope valuable as a gift given to Him through Our Mother’s hands.

      Like

      • Thank you for sharing your story and thanks to everybody for their kind words and prayer.

        Like

        • Carmel says:

          Brother Gilbert, I am so very sorry for your tragic loss.; be assured that you and your family are in my prayers. What a devastating effect an untimely death can have, especially on the young. And when someone takes their own life, the guilt felt by family and friends, added to the pain of loss, can be overwhelming. Our hope is in The Lord who makes all things new.

          Like

    • Mick says:

      Brother Gilbert, I am so sorry for your loss. I will pray for Toby and for your entire family when I pray the rosary this evening.

      Like

  13. Irish7 says:

    I wish I could be more helpful. The one thought I had is if a transfer becomes necessary and difficult in TX maybe they could target hospitals that have NFP/Creighton Obgyn practices associated with them. To my knowledge there are only 3 in the US. The two I have had personal experience with (and received medical miracles in those contexts) are Holy Spirit Hospital in Camp Hill, PA and St. Anthony!s Medical Center in St. Louis. Hospitals that support Creighton/Naprotechnology are fiercely pro-life. My only contacts are via the OB surgeons, but the sisters that run Holy Spirit are hard core. I am storming heaven.

    Liked by 2 people

    • E. Allison says:

      Have the parents call Holy Spirit Hospital in Camp Hill PA….. from their website, contact info:
      If you have a request that requires immediate attention, please call our main number, 717-763-2100.

      Like

      • Irish7 says:

        Holy Spirit Hospital is out. They don’t take pediatric patients. But I was encouraged by how much time and care they took in answering my inquiry and trying to think of other Faith based hospitals. I think the idea of having local RTL groups contact hospitals is fantastic.

        Like

  14. waitingNwondering says:

    I think the Public Relations/marketing department at the hospital is the correct department to call. They will know how this could turn into a real hairball if they don’t do the right thing. Hospital administrators and board members don’t always think that way. Here’s the phone number: Tel: (361) 694-5662

    Like

  15. N. Wright says:

    I’m passing this information about young Joe onto the prayer warriors here in Moncton Canada. We will be storming Heaven for Joe through St. Joe. I’ll send a request to Medjugorje too.

    Like

  16. Peter says:

    Hi Charlie,

    LifeSite News always profiles cases like these ones. They are a great conduit and can rally the troops. If somebody contacts them they will most likely present this case and raise awareness to this particular cause. My rosary will be dedicated to this boy and to the Brother’s cousin who passed away.
    In Christ Service,

    Peter

    Like

  17. pineconejill says:

    I sent an e-mail to Lifenews.com and Deacon Nolte at the diocese of Corpus Christi.
    Now for PRAYER AND FASTING.
    pcj

    Like

  18. narnialion54 says:

    Sent emails to prayer warriors here in Pittsburgh. Also to Pa right to life. Will send more in am.
    Now to say rosary with my son through the intercession of St. Joseph for Joe and Toby. And prayer of Miraculous Trust.
    Then pray and fast tomorrow. Storming heaven!!

    Like

  19. CathyG says:

    Just called and left message with answering service and promised to call public relations tomorrow. Also left post on the hospital’s Facebook page and shared Charlie’s post. Now I will say my rosary for Joe and Brother Gilbert’s cousin, Toby. Satan is working overtime…

    Like

  20. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    I contacted Akron Children’s Hospital and am waiting for a reply to see if they can assist.

    Prayers offered and sent.

    Like

  21. audiemarie2014 says:

    I sent Jay Sekulow a facebook message. He’s pro-life and fights for Christian causes.

    Like

  22. Bob says:

    Cardinal Glennon’s Children’s hospital in St Louis has a good rep and we have Archbishop Carlson here. This is worth checking out
    http://www.cardinalglennon.com/Pages/ContactUs.aspx

    Like

  23. Martha Buller says:

    I think I sent an e-mail to Charlie and told him to contact Bishop Rene Gracida.

    ________________________________

    Like

  24. Diane Schoneveld says:

    my prayers are with this boy and their family. Thank you Charlie for giving us the gift of prayer in Jesus name amen.

    Like

  25. Elizabeth K. says:

    Hi Charlie, I posted a link to this on Wesley Smith’s page at NRO; just today I read something of his that made me aware of the other case you referenced. There’s yet no news coverage of this that I can see. Praying for this boy and his family.

    Like

  26. Diane Grose says:

    So sorry! Being an RN Nurse for 45 yrs., I’m amazed how nursing/hospital care have changed & not for the better in many respects…move ’em & move ’em out…it’s pathetic. My daughter that is also an RN said to me “Mom when you worked it was logical…it’s not anymore!” Protocol used to be 3 flat brain wave tests (EEG), before they could even suggest to the family about removing life support! Hospitals have Hospitalist Dr’s now, so you don’t even have your own Dr. They can not remove life support w/o the parents consent! Sadly the only religious Hospital here have all been sold…from Utah! My prayers!

    Like

  27. marie says:

    Just saw this. Early morning over here in Europe. Dear God, this is terrible. I’ve just said the PMT for Joe. Will join those of you fasting. Also praying for Toby and Sammy. Hope … Charlie’s Army is on the move..

    Like

  28. michael feehily says:

    Will remember him in my prayers today

    Like

  29. Amy says:

    Praying for little Joe. One of my 6 month old twins is named Joseph. A name dear to me.

    Like

  30. diane says:

    sent an email and praying for little Joe.
    My second son’s middle name is Joseph – He has always been an powerful saint to lean on.
    God bless you all.

    Like

  31. Robin Cooke says:

    Hi Charlie, I just got off the phone with Fr Frank Pavones office And spoke with Anthony Vento. He said they are aware of Joe Cronin but can do nothing to help except Prayers unless the father contacts and asks for help directly! Here is the number: 718-980-4400!! God Bless you Charlie. I have followed MArk Mallett for years and learned of you from him, and love and look forward to your posts! Thank you for your ministry! Robin cooke Indianapolis, IN

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      God bless you, Robin. I just got off the phone with Joe’s father – and gave him the number for Priests for Life as one of the resources. Thank you for preparing the way for his call.

      Like

  32. Donette says:

    Eternal Father, My Fiat has always been yours. I ask You though my linkage to Luisa Piccarreta
    Little Daughter of the Divine Will, that little Joe Cronin be cured, saved and recovered, that his parents receive Your Grace and Blessings and that You shed your light upon those who would commit a terrible deed. Please accept my prayer as if every man, woman, and child who ever lived in the past, in the present and in the future had made this request of you. May Your glorious Roganist Priest, St. Annibale Di Francia be the means to keep this young child of yours within your Divine Will.
    Fiat! Fiat! Fiat!

    Like

  33. Joey Nilan says:

    Dear Charlie,
    I called the hospital and was transferred several times and finally left a message, indicating I was a nurse calling from Minnesota, pleading for this life–or transferring him to a hospital that cares. As a nurse, I am continually appalled at what I see happening in hospitals across the US. Will be praying for Joe.

    Like

  34. Christiana says:

    Sent a FB message and an email on the hospital’s page. Will keep praying for Joe Cronin. Thank you for sending out this call for help. God bless you.

    Like

  35. Renee Szablewski says:

    Flooding Heaven with Prayers for Joe

    Like

  36. narnialion54 says:

    Just spoke with Matt in the PR dept.of Driscoll Childrens Hospital. It was easy (even though I was shaking!) I told him many people are watching and praying for Joe from Pittsburgh. I said please don’t pull the plug on young Joe Cronin. or Give him time to be transferred. He said they are taking note of all the calls. So keep calling!!!
    Tel: (361) 694-5662 Thanks waitingNwatching for the phone #.

    Like

  37. malachi99 says:

    Hi Charlie,

    Just messaged Steve Jalsevac (editor lifesitenews) on facebook alerting him to the situation. I’m sure if these guys here of this story they will give it great international coverage. Will keep Joe and Kim in prayers tonight and tomorrow at Mass

    Like

  38. Sarah says:

    I was transferred to Vice President Tammy Weaver and gave her the message asking them to reconsider. She just said she’d make a note of my call and request.

    Like

  39. Peggy Dawson Bayliss says:

    You are all probably aware of this case, but I thought I might point it out in case. . .Transfer to the United States[edit]
    Various pro-life organizations such as Priests for Life, the Terri Schiavo Life & Hope Network, and the American Center for Law and Justice, among others, began helping the family and began negotiating in March 2011 with hospitals around the United States to have Joseph transferred. Priests for Life announced it had secured a jet which was standing by to immediately fly the family to any American hospital willing to care for Joseph.[18]
    On March 14, 2011, Priests for Life announced it had secured a transfer to SSM Cardinal Glennon Children’s Medical Center, a non-profit Catholic hospital in St. Louis, Missouri, declaring victory in the “battle against the medical bureaucracy in Canada.”[19] Priests for Life also announced it would pay for Joseph’s medical care at Cardinal Glennon.
    Once Joseph was in Cardinal Glennon, Priests for Life said hospital officials were happy that Joseph was breathing mostly on his own, but the St. Louis Post-Dispatch reported that “Cardinal Glennon officials said they were ‘puzzled’ by those claims and said Joseph remained on a ventilator.”[20]
    On March 21, 2011, doctors performed a tracheotomy on Joseph. He was expected to remain in the hospital for seven to ten days, then be transferred to a St. Louis pediatric specialty hospital, then be sent home with his family.[21] Joseph was baptized the week of the tracheotomy.[22] Maraachli and Nader are an interfaith couple, being Muslim and Catholic, respectively; Maraachli said he wanted his son to be “raised in the religion of his mother.”[23]”

    Wikipedia

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      In this case, I make an exception to accept a citation from Wikipedia. Wikipedia is a GREAT place to begin research, but only to begin. It can lead you to some useful resources, but it is often very unreliable on important facts. I often use it to begin research, but I never cite it and never treat its information as accurate. It is just too dicey. But there is nothing ugly in this piece – and right now I just don’t have enough time to check all the details like I normally do.

      Like

  40. Neil says:

    I am truly sorry for this family and what they are facing. I have faced a similar situation where two of my children were on life support and have passed away.

    However, this article is highly dishonest and a propaganda piece trying to portray doctors as maliciously wanting (truly wanting beyond anything else) to kill this child. That is a horrible, misguiding piece of information that highly offends me!

    If anyone really feels there is an ethical issue here, you can call this hotline number which is readily available on the hospitals website. It’s for an outside organization that takes calls regarding ethical complaints against the hospital in order to ensure parties are properly represented and that issues are addressed.

    Integrity Help Line: (888) 874-0713

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I put this up so we can hear the sort of bureaucratic claptrap the family is getting. People have been calling the hospital…getting courteous responses…and then getting told that it doesn’t matter that other hospitals are willing to take him: they will begin procedures to pull the plug anyway. These doctors may mean well, but their arrogance have led them to believe they are the masters of life and death, rather than technicians in the service of God, who actually IS the master of life and death.

      And if any other person wants to refute any of the facts in this series of articles, cite them specifically – not just a general insult – or I won’t clear it. If you can’t cite a specific fact that is in error, then you are engaging in dishonest propaganda. Pathetic that when a child’s life is at stake, you want to make sure I don’t talk rough about the personnel involved in trying to pull the plug on him rather than speaking on the child’s behalf.

      Like

  41. pineconejill says:

    Hi Charlie,
    I dont know why Spirit Daily hasn’t posted this story yet so I sent them a link–hopefully they will run something in the am.
    also, I was praying for intercession from Donough O’Cronin, an Irish Catholic “red” martyr during Elizabeth 1’s reign and an electric shock literally ran through my body. Heaven is watching.
    Dont give up brothers and sisters in Christ!
    pcj

    Like

  42. mdavmd says:

    Get a cease and desist order Then they cannot pull the plug. Put in the cease and desist order that he needs nutritional support, proper electrolyte and mineral support, endocrine therapy if needed etc- not just a nominal IV drip. And add on the part about NO APNEA TEST.
    The parents have the RIGHT to a different physician and hospital.

    Like

Leave a Reply

