Critical Update on Joe Cronin – Keep Praying

By Charlie Johnston

Okay, I have now established with Driscoll’s Childrens Hospital that there is, in fact, a child patient named Joe Cronin there. They will not give me any more information than that as to his status.

I also confirmed that the trusted reader who first alerted me to this has been in contact via phone and email for over 2 and a half years, building a genuine, if long-distance friendship.

I spoke to the father, George, this morning and he confirms that his son is, indeed, struggling for life and needs to be transferred. It looks like this is an incredibly bizarre coincidence.

We will speak of what devilish mischief the devil tried to mount with this later. Right now, there is a boy whose life apparently depends upon your fortitude. I am going to delete the piece detailing the death of the English boy, Joe Cronin, a few years ago lest it confuse anyone while I have now verified that there is a boy who needs our help and prayers. I do not know how that will affect any comments you have left there.

(Update – Corpus Christi Bishop Emeritus Rene Gracida had a priest who has a charism for working with the seriously to meet with the parents and pray over – and anoint – Joe at the hospital this morning. Afterwards, the priest came back and told the Bishop that the boy is, indeed, in a deep coma. Press on, my friends in Christ…this is real and the need is critical).

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Critical Update on Joe Cronin – Keep Praying

  1. lynn says:

    Charlie I did NOT delete anything. Figured I’d wait for your confirmation so the requests remain. Praying for young Joe that he can be transferred somewhere where his life has value…


    • charliej373 says:

      Good for you, Lynn. I did not delete it either – just put it in Ethernet limbo. The comments on that thread were sublime – and after we have helped this boy and his family, I will put it back up with a note that it was true…so that all of you can see how wise and mature in the Lord’s service you have become. I would put it back up now but I do not want to take any chance that someone might think it a hoax, when it is not.


  2. shjihmhs says:

    Dear Charlie – I am sending out an e-mail “blast” to all our members of the Guard of Honor of the Sacred Heart of Jesus to pray for Joe Cronin and his family! God bless you and the Gates of Heaven is being stormed with our prayers.


  3. Mary Unrein says:

    We never stopped praying!k


  4. radiclaudio says:

    I’m glad you were able to sort it out so quickly.

    I like your style on this Charlie. As you know, in triage we have to make snap decisions without complete information. We adjust as info becomes available. Sometimes, in these urgent critical situations, we may get it wrong. If that paralyzes us, or causes us to second guess ourselves real-time to the point of ineffectiveness we lose our way. (Honest self assessment and look back is healthy, but indecision in the heat of battle tends not to work so well). When we find ourselves in this situation we have to accept our mistakes honestly and with humility, fix what we can, learn and move on. But we have to keep our faith and wits about us or we end up being of no use to anyone, yet along God.

    You appear to be doing this quite well. You’re a good leader, Charlie – thank you.

    PS – I did use the link you provided to email the Terry Shivo organization last night to add my voice to the others here for them to urgently look into helping Joe. Yours, in Christ, Rich


    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you, Radio. I used to snap at subordinates who boasted they were making no mistakes that that only meant they weren’t doing enough. Get busy. I appreciate some readers’ concern that I might be embarrassed – but I don’t care about that. I had in mind the practical consequences of the satan trying to undermine credibility, which could cause problems in future situations…and the dire necessity to stay steady because this boy needed help until demonstrated otherwise. I have dealt with ongoing crisis situations before. My attitude is get the job done…make decisions…there will be time enough for recriminations later.

      Liked by 4 people

  5. jeanO says:

    Charlie, I realized the other little boy by this name may also be desperately in need of our prayers, as well as his family.


  6. Jane Griffin says:

    Charlie, I am a reader and live near Corpus Christi in the winter. I was very confused by this last post. Is there a boy named Joe Cronin here in C.C. at Driscoll? Is he in danger of being taken off life support? I want to call the hospital, but want to get the facts right.Has he received anointing of the sick? Is he old enough to receive it? I am praying for this boy.Please let me know what is going on.

    Many thanks.

    Jane Griffin

    P.S. I had the pleasure of meeting you back in 2003 when you came to St Joseph Catholic Church in Clayton, MO. and visited our Divine Mercy prayer group. I took notes from your talk and have referred to them very often. Glad to see this blog. Just became aware of it a few weeks ago.


    • charliej373 says:

      Ah yes, Jane, I remember that. That actually is the first time I ever spoke publicly to a group about these things. It was quite an anomaly, because I was not speaking publicly about it at all then.

      Yes, the hospital confirms that young Joe Cronin is, in fact, there. They will give me no other information. I have spoken to the boy’s father, this morning, and he says the facts I gave in the original story are accurate. So keep at it.


  7. Mary N says:

    What a strange coincidence, Charlie. I’m glad you were able to verify the story – I hate to think of the loss of prayer support and help that might have resulted if you had not checked it out.


  8. Will do. Joe Cronin is quite a common Irish name.


  9. Elizabeth K. says:

    Still praying. I think it’s a pretty common name–there’s even an old baseball player with the same name, apparently! But that is a strange coincidence nonetheless.


  10. Cecilia says:

    I too have prayed the Miraculous prayer of Trust for Joe, and will continue to fast this day. Holy Mother of God, pray for us, and keep Joe and his family under the mantle of your protection.


  11. charliej373 says:

    Please read the update I added to the bottom of the article here.

    Corpus Christi Bishop Emeritus Rene Gracida had a priest who has a charism for working with the seriously to meet with the parents and pray over – and anoint – Joe at the hospital this morning. Afterwards, the priest came back and told the Bishop that the boy is, indeed, in a deep coma. Press on, my friends in Christ…this is real and the need is critical).


  12. Bonnie C says:

    St. Joseph, Foster Father of all Humanity, Protector and Defender of Truth, Terror of Demons, come to our aid! Amen


  13. ellenchris says:

    I just saw these postings this morning. I put the info on my FaceBook page and asked for prayer. Will be praying for God’s good will to be accomplished and fulfilled in this child’s life. Hope for Full healing!

    Did I read in the previous posting that the Roman Catholic bishops of Texas supported and encouraged the law that would allow this child to be terminated??!! WHAT is that all about — why would they do that? Seems to me that a whole lot of well-meaning people do not really understand what a very steep and slippery slope any kind of acceptance of any kind of euthanasia really is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, it was from a reliable commenter who lives in Texas who said that, but I don’t know of personal knowledge. She also noted that Bishop Gracida had fought it. Bishop Gracida had a priest out there with the family at the hospital praying over the boy and anointing him at six this morning. He is a champion, at 91 years old, working with vigor and resolve to help save this boy’s life.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ellenchris says:

        Glad to hear about Bp Gracida — may our good Lord bless his efforts with success. Anointing of the sick can be a very powerful tool for healing. Asking God that Joey will wake up — in His Will, of course.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Dan Lynch says:

    Modern medicine with its lack of caring, and many killings, seems to be degenerating to the level of the Aztec witch doctors. Our Lady of Guadalupe transformed the Aztec Culture of Death to a Culture of Life and she can do the same for us.

    St. John Paul II called Our Lady of Guadalupe, Mother of Hope. Her intercession and our caring and not killing, will bring us hope for life!

    Caring people lifted the full size 4’x6′ Missionary Image of Our Lady of Guadalupe over the body of a teenage boy in a coma in a hospital bed. His mother testified, “He reached up from his coma two different times and touched the Image. I remember having cold chills run down my spine just thinking, Maybe Our Lady’s going to help him. And soon he came out of his coma and regained his ability to walk and talk.”

    On another occasion, caring people brought the Missionary Image to the hospital room of a young mother in a coma. A witness testified, “The hospital staff watched in astonishment as we knelt down holding the Image over the young woman and prayed. That evening, she woke up!”

    Read more about hope and healings through Our Lady of Guadalupe here:

    Please click here to read about many other cases of patients who have awakened and/or improved following a diagnosis of so-called “persistent vegetative state,” irreversible coma or death:

    Let us pray through the intercession of Our Lady of Guadalupe, Mother of Hope, for the total healing of young Joe Cronin.

    “In the shadow of your wings I take refuge
    till the storms of destruction pass by.” (Psalm 57).
    Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to
    Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations,
    Our Lady of America and Saint John Paul II
    Visit our website at
    E-Mail Us at
    May Our Lady of Guadalupe keep you under the mantle of her protection and
    may the Reign of Jesus King of All Nations be recognized in your heart!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Patti Pizzuto says:

    Praying for God’s will in this matter. May His loving embrace hold Joe and those who love him.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Charlie, praying for Joey here.
    I was baffled by the coincidence with the report of an English boy of the same name dying somewhere near Oxford. I say this because sometimes I see a heavenly sign of sorts in things like these.
    Please see regarding coincidences on the Giglio Island tragedy of 2013. On the 26th of January we had a strange coincidence here in Argentina.
    Recently Pope Francis beatified Fr Brochero, an Argentine priest. Bl Fr Brochero used to preach around the town of Mina Clavero. Well, there on Monday a young boy 13 years old was hit by lighting while on horseback. He survived but his horse died instantly. It happened on the day when the Church here remembers Bl Fr Brochero. I wonder if that is not a sign from Heaven indicating that our long suffering country will survive the death of its political class (symbolized by the horse?) The age of the boy (13) suggests Our Blessed Mother’s intervention. On the mathematical coincidence side the date (26) is twice 13. Far from my intentions to play with numbers here but the Bible many times uses numbers to point at supernatural realities. For instance take the case of the woman with a hemorrhage of 12 years who is cured while Jesus is on the way to resurrect a 12 year old girl. The woman was sick for the entire length of the young girl’s life. Jesus resurrected the youngster and cured the woman of her ailment. I always wondered why that coincidence was left there.
    I don’t claim to understand the signs from Heaven, I cannot even be sure if they are signs from Heaven but I share this with you all. Someone may receive the grace of understanding just like the young prophet Daniel did.


  17. Andrea says:

    Sent the email to a nurse I know and will send to another one – just thought of it – my niece. Will Pray


  18. mjcjocds says:

    With God there is no time. I pray He will allow our prayers to have assisted the other Joe Cronin and his family too.


  19. Mack says:

    Praying for this boy and for your sister Kim too.


  20. anne says:

    Dear Jesus, we all call on You now. Enter into this situation and surprise us all with great joy.
    We also ask You to pour out graces on Kim, astounding graces of healing and protection.
    Also graces of protection and love over all who are attached to this site.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. PollyA says:

    No prayer is ever wasted Our lord and Our
    Lady know where it is needed Thankyou
    Charlie.Lord keep us in your presence


  22. narnialion54 says:

    Praying for Joe and Kim.


  23. LittleLight says:

    Charlie, just sent you an email. I just got off the phone with Driscoll Hospital, they were very gracious and polite. I spoke with the Vice President (sorry can’t remember her name, someone mentioned it previously) She was very, very gracious. I identified myself as a registered nurse in the St. of CT, and told her I was calling to advocate for Joe Cronin, the young patient on life support. I asked that if her facility could not provide what the parents were asking, that they at least work with the parents to facilitate a transfer. She then cited privacy laws. The next question I asked made her very uncomfortable. I told her that, yes as an RN, I did understand patient privacy laws, but—-generally, would her facility consider taking a more pro-life, pro-patient philosophy instead of rushing to terminate life support and harvest organs?

    I did thank her. I’m bad at these things, eh, I guess that cut right to the heart of it and she definitely was flustered. I hope I did not make things worse.

    I also sent you an email. I contacted the catholic hosp that I received my training at.

    God Bless you and everyone, I prayed the Miraculous Trust prayer, and my heart is with you all.


    • charliej373 says:

      You did great, Light! The medical people and doctors I have spoken with or close to have also told me that harvesting fresh organs is what drives hospitals in these terrible times to rush with unseemly eagerness to get a declaration of death.


  24. Nancy Witt says:

    I just got off the phone with Anthony/Priests for Life, he received my message last night. He’s been in contact w/the former Terry Schavio’s brother who leads the Life & Hope Network dealing with such end of life difficult issues. They are now in contact w/the father of the boy helping as much as they can to help resolve this crisis situation. There was a discussion at the hospital regarding an apnea test the doctors wanted the child to take but the parents refused because they felt the child was too weak to withstand the test. The hospital took it as the parents “not cooperating” which is not true. (I redacted a line here that, while not unreasonable, could be inflammatory at this critical moment – CJ) The child passed the first test. Let’s keep the praying coming for this family! Let us have hope!!


Leave a Reply

