EXTREMELY URGENT UPDATE – Joe Cronin; Good News, Horrific News

By Charlie Johnston

(Urgent – any media that gets this forwarded, please contact me at chrljhnstn@gmail.com and I will get you direct contact info for the family. I will monitor this email account regularly through the night)

I just got off the phone with George Cronin, father of 12-year-old Joe Cronin who is currently held at Driscoll Children’s Hospital in Corpus Christi, Texas. He confirmed to me that Healthbridge Children’s Hospital of Houston has accepted, in principle, the admission of Joe. It has begun the process of dealing with the insurance and other technical hurdles to make the transfer. This is not final, but they are willing and actively working to arrange it. The bulk of the credit for this breakthrough goes to Texas Right to Life, which has been working with the family since Monday.

But at Driscoll, they seem determined to snatch death from the jaws of life. Late this afternoon, after George had left the hospital and his wife was there alone, an official of the hospital came in to inform her that, regardless of what the status of a potential transfer is, they intend to do a type of test tomorrow morning at 8 a.m. that Dr. Paul Byrne says has a high degree of inaccuracy and is often used to justify a call of brain death in ambiguous circumstances.

So, the family through the efforts of a lot of the faithful has found a hospital willing to accept the boy and treat him for life, but Driscoll’s is determined to pull the plug. There may be more options over the weekend – if Driscoll can be persuaded not to unilaterally declare Joe dead. Father George says he remains open to other options because, as relieved as he is that HealthBridge is stepping up, he would feel safer if he could get Joe completely away from Texas, which has the most draconian end of life laws in the country.

Now, there are several things I need you to do. Again, bombard Driscoll with calls, emails and messages. The numbers are 361-694-5000 and Public Affairs at 361-694-5662. Obviously, their courtesy to callers today masked a furious determination to pull the plug on that little boy before a hospital which will actually care for him can get him. I am trying to be as measured as I can, but I am furious right now. This is pure, malicious spite on the part of whoever at the hospital made this decision.

Contact every publication you can. Particularly if you are in Texas, call you local radio and television stations. Bombard Fox News at newsmanager@foxnews.com asking them to cover this. This boy could be legally executed tomorrow if we can’t prevail. Contact every Fox News personality on Facebook. Attach this story. Please, I will put any bona fide newsperson who contacts me into direct contact with the family.

Pro-Life organizations, please start hollering. We need a media storm and we need it now. I honestly did not think the hospital would want to go forward with this once another facility was genuinely in the works. Apparently, they do not like to be told they are not the final word on life and death. Pray, pray, pray…but first pray by calling and mobilizing every contact you have, particularly in the media. And if you don’t have any media contacts, find some online.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Satan, Solidarity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

110 Responses to EXTREMELY URGENT UPDATE – Joe Cronin; Good News, Horrific News

  1. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    Emailed Gov. Abbott for his intervention.

    Also posted Joe’s plight on a very large Texas blog, asking for Texans’ prayers, calls, and helps.

    We are all pulling for you, Joe!


  2. Bob says:

    More info needed. On Terry Schiavo it was a clear murder in that she could breath and could live apart from feeding herself and she had some reactions so her story caught and the clear evil of it was seen. What is Joe’s situation? Does he have any independent function? Is he totally on life support or is he able to breath on his own? If he is on life support he he may die or he may come out of his coma, and it is a dispute between the hospital and the parents who are his guardians who want him to have more time to be on life support so he has a chance to live. If he is able to breath on his own it is a much clearer thing. If he is totally on life support there is honest disagreement on how long he should be given to respond but the guardians, his parents, should have some say, especially if another hospital is wiling to take him. I do believe for this story to have legs as we say, more info is needed, press releases should be prepared with the details, etc.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Julie says:

    I just called & spoke with Tammy Weaver…she said she could not talk due to the confidentiality of the patient but that they give the utmost care for people, especially kids..my response was why is he having to fight to save his life, miracles can happen, all life is precious. She has obviously been instructed to say very little & hang up..how tragic.


  4. belovedrock says:

    I just called the PR department at the hospital, only getting voicemail at the moment. Left a message appealing to the urgency of the situation this morning. I will continue to pray today & tonight that this family will be spared another tragedy and God’s Will prevails in keeping this child alive.


  5. Mick says:

    Charlie, I just e-mailed the News Editors at the Guardian-UK, the Guardian-Australia, and the Guardian-US. I referred them to this blog for more information. I also (yesterday) e-mailed FoxNews and a couple of Catholic websites, one of which is linking back this site. I talked to a mommy-blogger friend of mine who has put up a post which links back to this site, and I called one of our local 40 Days For Life organizers who has agreed to spread the word. I’m about to head off to Mass, which starts at 9:00 Eastern Time, which is the time that the hospital has stated that they’re going to start their test. I will offer my assistance at Mass and my Holy Communion for a positive resolution to this horrendous situation, and I will ask my husband to do the same.


  6. Fran says:

    Well, I probably won’t be able to keep up with what is happening with Joe today, but I will still be praying! Going to go help my daughter and son-in-law, all four of their little ones are sick with a stomach virus, no fun…. I know it’s not a crisis like others are going through , but if you would say a little prayer for them too, friends.


  7. Ceri says:

    Charlie, a friend of mine who works for EWTN is trying to get this story out. I gave her your Gmail address from your contact section on your site. She still has not heard back. I have scoured the comments section trying to find the best way to reach you but am missing it. Please, once again post the best way to contact you directly.


  8. Mary-Louise says:

    I just got an email from Michael Brown of Spirit Daily. He posted a prayer request for Joe Cronin on the website. It’s on the lower left hand side, not an article. It also calls the boy “Baby Cronin.” Not exactly what I asked, but it is something! I will thank Michael. I ask other readers to email Michael Brown and thank him as well.
    As soon as the TV stations air something, we should send the links and perhaps Spirit Daily will then cover this as a story.


  9. Ceri says:

    Please disregard. I did find it at the header of the article. I pray that enough has been done.


  10. Daze says:

    We are all praying, and we have e-mailed the hospital. However, I have one question. Have these people not contacted a lawyer? While papers are signed upon admission authorizing “treatment,” etc., I would assume an attorney can advise them as to how they can withdraw consent to certain procedures, such as the brain death test, etc. What are Texas laws on informed consent? How about emergency restraining orders?
    God bless you for prayers and all you are doing for this little boy. May God have mercy on little Joseph.


  11. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Regina Magazine, a beautiful online magazine I read articles from on Facebook, graciously posted on their Facebook a summary of the story and linked to Charlie’s update after being contacted. If you are on Facebook, just search for “Regina Magazine” and you will find it. They publish out of Europe and have over 10,000 likes on Facebook. It was kind of them to spread the word. I feel it is as important to give credit to those who help as it is of course necessary to point out the stumbling blocks, if that is ok with Charlie.


    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you, Monica…please DO recognize those who are helping. I have felt a bit remiss as I have not been able to do so, but things have gotten to a frantic pace right now. Also, those who are looking for more technical info, I appreciate your concern and you will eventually get it, but this situation is extremely fluid and changing by the minute. You don’t leave the wheel in a vast storm that threatens to capsize you for even serious, but ancillary issues.


  12. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Oh, I should have mentioned Regina is a free, online magazine! And, I have no association with it except reading it online.


  13. Lin says:

    I’d like to encourage everyone to send this story to Ben Swann at benswann.com. He’s a Christian investigative reporter.


  14. M says:

    Went to FB and sent copied
    messages to EWTN, Lifesite, ABC, NBC, FOX, DRUDGE, Houston Chronicle, Corpus Christi Metro News, Houston Press, Spirit Daily, Catholic Lane and Alex Jones.


  15. Julia says:

    It is just after 4pm in the UK now. I went to Holy Mass this morning and remembered Joe, and the young man who had taken his life.

    I had posted under the previous update, last evening here in the UK, suggesting the Memorarae and the use of Miraculous medal.

    Also suggested prayers of intercession through Saint Padre Pio (famous for getting people out of coma).

    I had done these petitions yesterday; but it will be too late for others to join now as I believe it is past 8am in USA. Hope and trust the miracle has been achieved.

    Jesus, I surrender myself to You, take care of everything.

    Merciful Jesus, I trust in Thee.


  16. Hereford says:

    My husband suggested getting a hold of Gabby Gifford the senator who was shot in the head a few years ago. Maybe she would go to bat for him as she could’ve been easily declared brain dead in her situation.


  17. Allie says:

    Wait, did they already pull the plug? If they haven’t, then I’ll be contacting Life Site News!


  18. wstyrsky says:

    I am praying for this situation but as a Texan I do think you are misguided in thinking we have “draconian laws”. I have a DM do deal in these situations professionally and personally and this is an exception that could possible happen anywhere.


  19. Misty G says:

    I just called, emailed and FB shared with anyone and any organization that would listen. News papers and TV stations as well. God bless you for sending this around and God bless the Cronin family. The fact that Driscoll would allow this is DISGUSTING and EVIL.


Leave a Reply

