KIII – Channel 3 in Corpus Christi on Joey Cronin

I had to share with you the story Channel 3 in Corpus Christi did this evening on the Joey Cronin situation. Many thanks to Brian Burns who went out to get the story and bring it to their viewers.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Solidarity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to KIII – Channel 3 in Corpus Christi on Joey Cronin

  1. Charity says:

    Praise God! He is good!
    You got a shout out to you and your site too, Charlie!


  2. narnialion54 says:

    Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Fran says:

    You better brace yourself for a new wave of followers, Charlie!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gary says:

    Of all the things one may have done this by far was the best, for :
    Jesus Blesses the Children
    15And they were bringing even their babies to Him so that He would touch them, but when the disciples saw it, they began rebuking them. 16But Jesus called for them, saying, “Permit the children to come to Me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 17″Truly I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it at all.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. anne says:

    praise You Lord, You are certainly working. May little Joe continue to gain strength and health.
    So …….now more people will know of the site Charlie. May God lead more here through this great suffering of the family. One of my favourite songs on Mark Mallett’s Vulnerable CD…….just call His Name, Jesus. Jesus, Come to Joe and all little ones who need you Now!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pam says:

    Beautiful, thank you Charlie and all here for your prayers and perseverance. God is good!


  7. MMBev says:

    As basically only a prayer partner in this, it has been a great privilege to witness “our captain Sherpa” lead the contingent God has given him, in such a faithful and steadfast manner. No wonder He chose you Charlie! And the speed of response of those who lead the charge was nothing short of fantastic! Thank You God, for allowing this witness of the culture of death being overcome by the Culture of Life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      It’s Friday night. I first got wind of this late Tuesday afternoon. Man, you guys sprang into action. Yeah, fair enough, I quarterbacked it, but boy, I had some great blockers, receivers and running backs out there. We manned our posts faithfully and made a difference for life. I think God is smiling at us all right now….thinking “hot dog, some of these troops are a little ragged around the edges, but they got spunk!”

      Liked by 7 people

      • Becky-TN says:

        Morning Charlie,

        Woke up this morning to my Flocknote “Gospel in a Year” and this was it – quite appropriate, I think:

        Today’s Reading: Matthew 10:26-33

        26 “So have no fear of them; for nothing is covered that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. 27 What I tell you in the dark, utter in the light; and what you hear whispered, proclaim upon the housetops. 28 And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather fear
        him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

        29 Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground without your Father’s will. 30 But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows. 32 So every one who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven; 33 but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.

        Much to ponder now. I’d have to agree, you may quite a few more “viewers” here soon. Wondering if that was part of His plan??? He could have used any “event”, but did the Father choose the ultimate battle event – the Culture of Life vs. the Culture of Death. And thus through a few working for Life, many will now Live here and in Eternity. Just a thought.

        I think the evil one tried to get to me in regard to this event: I found myself hesitating thinking “others are calling, I’ll pray”. Then thinking, “I don’t know what to say, maybe I should wait”. But then, “what if it was my child fighting for Life”. I picked up the phone, nervous, but called and spoke out. Then contacted other news media. Wasn’t scared after that. The Evil One trying to make me think I can’t make a difference, I won’t know what to say, etc….There’s a difference in BEING a child of God and ACTING like a child of God.

        Lots more to ponder……

        Thanks for being our Sherpa, Charlie!

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          It is always the first step that is the hardest step…but one you gather the courage and resolve to take it, taking the next step gets much easier.

          Normally, I like to take each thing for itself…just sticking to the work right in front of us. Imbuing everything that happens with portentious meaning wearies me, distracts from what is needful, and drains the impact out of what is genuinely portentious. But I think this is one of those times that is genuinely portentious. It began in Corpus Christi – literally the Body of Christ. That is the home diocese of the one Bishop in the country who has openly spoke well of my work…and he had people right on the spot to comfirm things and comfort the family going through all of this – and anoint little Joey. It was after the temporary restraining order was already in place that Joey started showing important signs of independent life.

          There are a host of things here – and several that are still behind the scenes – that are markers for God demonstrating something, getting our attention, showing Himself. The important thing for us was to stand our post….and glory be to God, you did. Much to ponder here (And our friend, good old Steve BC, is undoubtedly already ponderously pondering it…I look forward to hear what he has to say after having some time to reflect.) Already, though, I think God has chosen to publicly reveal Himself boldly as the Master of Life – and He began this episode in Corpus Christi. The many faithful who compose the visible Body of Christ on earth rose. I can’t help but think that this provides at least an interim answer to the question, “When the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on earth?” The folks here answered with a mighty “Yes!”

          Liked by 2 people

          • marie says:

            There is so much contained in this comment, Charlie, that I will print it off and contemplate it for days. I am aware you have many commenters on this site who have huge intellectual capacity and whose wisdom and profound insight help us all, but, as one of the little ones, I thank you that you alert us to what is most important and explain such complex issues with such clarity and love. Thank you for your patience and your steadfastness. May God bless you. Joe, Kim and yourself are in my prayers.

            Liked by 1 person

          • christiaria says:

            I was just thinking how beautiful it was to see the Body of Christ in action, not realizing that this was in Corpus Christi! My daughter and I offered Masses and Holy Hours for Little Joey and all involved. I’m so glad we could do our little part. Together, we can make a difference! God bless you, dear Sherpa.

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Thank you Chritiaria…I was Sherping just as fast as I could! And God bless, you were all climbing that hill right beside me!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Hey, Charlie, is Sherping anything like schlepping?🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Yeah, only more dignified😉

            Liked by 3 people

          • SteveBC says:

            I am sincerely touched that in the midst of this you would want to hear from me on what I have been ponderously pondering. Unsurprisingly, I have been spending a lot of time not just praying for Joe or thinking about playing in the snow with him as I shoveled tons and tons of the stuff but also about this entire event.

            My initial reaction was that this was a distraction from Charlie’s mission. I say “initial” and have been patient with myself, not rushing to judgment on the idea. Why think that? I have had a personal experience where someone was thinking deeply on something he needed to consider. When I did something entirely unconnected to that, he reacted against me. Regardless of whether he should or should not have reacted toward me, I believe the reaction toward me took him away from what he really needed to do.

            Charlie’s mission is to help the faithful and defend the faithful, and to guide us through the Storm. Anything he does, or that he gets all of us involved with, will be off-track if it does not fall within his mission. Was saving Joe Cronin within his mission? I didn’t know. It wasn’t obvious to me that it was.

            It is also true that Charlie went to the lodge for rest and to write an article he dreaded and did not want to write but which seems to me to be very much part of his mission. That is the article on the satan that he has promised us. I have considered that the satan used the noble project of saving Joe as an extremely subtle and very effective way to distract Charlie.

            Please don’t get me wrong here. Saving Joe truly was a noble thing to do, but was it *Charlie’s* thing to do, *our* thing to do?

            Consider it this way. Would Charlie’s mission be enhanced or diminished if he works himself to exhaustion on Joe, then on Child 2, then on Adult 3, and so on and so forth? I think not, but I could have been wrong.

            Patience is a virtue, and instead of jumping in and stating all this in the heat of the moment (even as I myself was praying for Joe and everyone involved, both good and unhelpful), I watched. My lesson in life has been to learn to wait until someone asks me for an observation or for advice. If I jump in before that, I can do damage. I guess I’ve learned my lesson better than I thought, because I decided to wait and perhaps never to comment. After all, I do have some faith that Charlie knows what he’s doing. I don’t need to save him from himself. Now here Charlie is actually asking me for a comment, and I find myself with something to say.

            Today I see comments giving information like Corpus Christi and the special help from local bishops etc. This tends to support the idea that this project was in fact sourced from God and *not* a distraction from the satan. That’s good.

            However, why is it good? What’s the point, the Big Lesson? I think several people just today have pinpointed it. It may be an initial salvo in the Culture of Death versus Culture of Life battle, and *that* is *emphatically* within Charlie’s mission. Emphatically within it.

            Now I would caution everyone that having one such project within Charlie’s ambit does *not* mean that more such projects would be within it. They *might* be, but I think at this point that continuing to do such projects would actually be less and less within the mission the more projects like this he might do.

            There is a difference between *initiating* something and having it become your raison d’être, your life commitment. This Joe project has initiated something, but what should Charlie do with what we now have in front of us as the dust settles?

            My very tentative reaction today is to say that Charlie (with or without the help of others) should summarize what he has learned, the contacts he’s made, the helpful people he has made connections with or learned about, and the several organizations and individuals whose life work this sort of project has become. Then he should create a mechanism, or an article in the right-hand side of his blog, or some other way to enable such projects to be shifted to those organizations and individuals, and to help people at this site to make direct connections to such organizations or people if some of us here want to make this kind of project a personal commitment outside of this site.

            Note that this process needs to work. There has to be confidence that a new Joe-type project will be taken on quickly and carried forward competently. There were a number of organizations and people found which/who do consider this type of project their raison d’être. How can Charlie make sure they will work together? Who will lead? Can all of us provide the kind of Watchman network needed to identify the next Joe? That’s critical, and I think Charlie has to figure this out somehow or wear himself out being the indispensable point man (which I think he should avoid becoming).

            Charlie is at the forefront of the Cultural battles, and we are with him and support him in this. He will find other projects, not like this one with Joe but new and unexpected projects, that he will have the urge to pursue as he did this battle for Joe. I believe Charlie needs to treat each such new project as an *initiatory* effort that gets fleshed out through his decision to go at it and enlist our support in helping him do so. Each such initiatory project could then be summarized and rapidly or slowly turned over to those who feel the deep personal commitment one needs in order to make the effort a serious and ongoing part of one’s life.

            I *like* the idea of being part of a network of people who scout the terrain and focus on new (and better) ways to take the fight to the adversary. I admit that it is *not* my interest to spend months or years saving Joe and Child 2 and Adult 3 and so on. I know such efforts are vital and necessary, but I personally don’t have the ongoing commitment to make that my life. Others do, however, and once we as scouts discover a new way to move against the adversary, we will find those who are willing and able to make that particular kind of battle their life commitment. Consider such organizations and individuals to be the infantry that takes and holds ground. They need scouts to point them in the right direction, and that seems to be more like what Charlie and we do here at this site.

            Someone must scout. Others must slog through the long-term day-to-day battles. I think Charlie should see this effort as a scouting, not a continuous slogging. I think we have other discoveries to make, other projects to initiate, other people to motivate to take up what we discover and make it their life effort, while we go on to seek out another discovery and another and another.

            I see us here as scouts, with Charlie as our guide and point man. I don’t see us as infantry, but we need to find those who can take and hold each exploratory advance we serendipitously (or through higher guidance) discover.

            Charlie’s main mission is to to guide us through the Storm, and most of his effort (and ours) should be focused on this overall theme. In this regard we have learned much already yet surely have much more to learn. We cannot just do projects.

            However, personally, I find it adds excitement and purpose to our efforts here at this site if we prepare ourselves to help Charlie scout new ground and periodically take up a specific, urgent, new type of project, provided that each time we also spend real effort to identify and motivate the infantry we need to come in after us and hold that new ground.

            We will have other work to do and should avoid getting stuck trying to hold ground ourselves.

            Finally, I want to say that I found what everyone did here to have been amazing. It’s as if God saw that everyone had learned just enough of the Storm-related lessons Charlie has been teaching us to start something new, this scouting thing. I think everyone here did rather well and learned quite a lot of valuable lessons, most particularly on healing efforts after the battle has been won.

            If in our efforts to win, we are violent instead of firm, nasty instead of just, and adopt scorched-earth tactics lacking generosity in victory, we are only making more enemies.

            We want to make allies for the next scouting discovery, so that we and all our allies eventually sweep to a general and generous victory – together.


          • charliej373 says:

            Well, Steve, I have a substantially different take – or at least a different emphasis – and I will write on it later. I have said that, as I have seen it, my role is not primarily as mystic or seer – though those elements play a big supporting role in what the heart of my work is. I have noted that from what I have been shown, God is doing something new with the work He has laid out for me…and that most of my work will be performed in the temporal sphere, fully informed by God’s presence – always calling on and relying on Him, without failing to exercise vigorously the prayer of action (the most underated from of prayer today.)

            This was not a distraction from my work: it foreshadowed and revealed the nature of it. Look back at my purpose at the top button – to carry the prophetic message that God calls all men to salvation. I did not even know – hadn’t thought to ask – until Friday that the Cronins are Catholic. It didn’t matter in what we needed to do.

            Then I have three prime duties: 1) Defend the Faith – from when this began Tuesday night I worked to promote the Culture of Life against the growing encroachments of the Culture of Death.

            2) Hearten the Faithful: The method was to get all the faithful here to do what little they could, to rally whatever resources they had – great or small – on behalf of this boy and his family. It was utterly amazing how quickly everyone here jumped into action, not worrying about how big or small their offering was…but just make whatever offering they could. Folks were utterly amazing here.

            3) Defend the Faithful. Young Joey laid there unable to defend himself. His parents could have been overwhelmed by bureaucratic inertia on this. We defended Joey, we defended his family, we defended the principle that life is worth defending.

            Everyone here saw a profound beginning of what faith in action looks like – in how the meagre resources that each of us has at our disposal can be combined to bring God back into the culture decisively and effectively. God gave us a great foreshadowing – that He does not leave us bereft, but that we must first gird our loins and act like Christians. Everyone here did what they did out of love – regardless of whether they would prevail or not – but because it was a worthy thing to do. You have just seen the foreshadowing in miniature of what I will be doing throughout the Storm and what we all will be doing, as well. We will endure if we act with the same love and fortitude as we did in this. And look how quickly it all came together. More later in the week…but this was an unveiling.


          • SteveBC says:

            Charlie, I think you missed something in my write-up. I was concerned it was a distraction *at first* but after watching for a few days, I decided it was not a distraction. In fact, I concluded it was directly in line with your mission.

            It did give me a new idea, which I think is consistent with your reply to my long comment. I think many of us here think you are helping us get safely through the storm, as if we are tourists you are leading through the mountain passes. This effort for Joe has led me to think that actually what you are doing is running a Sherpa school to train Sherpas.

            This effort for Joe was the moment when so many people here began helping others outside our community. You are the lead Sherpa for a band of Sherpas in training.

            My main point is that we need to find others outside our community of Sherpas or scouts to hold what we win through ongoing pursuit of your mission. Others need to come in and build the base camp for the path you and we have blazed in this particular area, to bring in support and those who have their life effort here, which frees us to scout out or blaze a different trail, as you say, in action.

            There are many Joes out there. There are also thousands of kids and adults being killed or driven out of their homes by Boko Haram in Nigeria, hundreds of thousands of Africans sickened and dying from dirty water and lack of proper sanitation, young women being mutilated or honor-killed, the list of the effects of the Culture of Death is a very long one.

            There is a very great deal to do, and your personal ability to do it all is quite limited. However, if you are developing a team of Sherpas, your ability to do more is greatly multiplied. The Joe effort is the first of many such efforts, I believe and am in full agreement with you. However, I was cautioning you and others here not to climb the same face of the mountain all the time.

            If you are a Sherpa and we your Sherpas in training, we need to remember that there are many faces to this mountain, and we need to be willing and able to blaze a trail up every single one of those faces, until we have allies building base camps on every face and rising up with us on every face to overrun the mountain from every side.

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Now you’re talking, Steve! When I was doing politics, often Regional Coordinators I had appointed would ask me what to do on some purely local matter – and would be astonished when I would tell them that was their decision…and we would give them what they needed in support. As they got used to the idea that this was not set up so they would just take orders from some disembodied voice from Chicago, but were expected to bring their full creative and leadership capacity to bear, following my leadership on the larger matters, but taking the initiative on the local needs, it led to an explosion of creative initiative. That is exactly what we need going forward…for we are all Joey, looking ahead, we are all his parents – and we are all Sherpas. That is a BIG part of God’s plan of renewal.

            And it suits me just fine to be “capo di tutti capi” – or if it pleases you, “sherpo di tutti sherpi” (That’s a little shout-out to my Italian readers and “Godfather” fans).

            Liked by 2 people

          • SteveBC says:

            “sherpo di tutti sherpi” – You got it, dude! Just keep in mind that there will be many, many non-sherpas who you will find and motivate to help while you and this site’s sherpi are blazing a new trail. If you can corral those non-sherpi to build permanently on the taken ground, your efforts, and your sherpi’s efforts, will get stabilized and held for good, while you and the sherpi go on to do your work somewhere new.

            That’s why, early on in the Joe effort, I entered a comment suggesting that you take a little time afterward to summarize *how* to save someone like Joe if/when such is needed later on, and spend a little effort now to make sure all the organizations and individuals you and the sherpi have identified for this kind of effort know who each other is (are?) so that they can learn better how to work with each other when you and your sherpi are not around to keep them moving.

            Blaze the trail, then organize the action protocol and support structure to hold the taken ground, and then wait for guidance for the next trail to blaze. Rinse, repeat.

            That will conquer *every* face of the mountain *and* hold it.

            By the way, given your background and skill set, it is now very clear that you are perfectly purpose-built to do this type of thing in this way. You just need to figure out how to rely/lean on others so you don’t wear yourself down. Remember: the higher in an organization you are, the *less* you should be doing yourself and the more you should be helping everyone else do their tasks better.

            Your goal is to work yourself right out of this job by early 2018, right? That means all must be built up to hold by then without you having to be around to hold it together.


        • Mary N says:

          I can relate, Becky! I had no problem sending out e-mails but had to plead with the Lord for the grace to make phone calls🙂 He came through though!

          Charlie, this segment from Channel 3 brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for spearheading the effort to save this young boy’s life. You truly live the words “trust-do-love” and “take the next right step”. I think you have shown your readers an amazing thing these past few days about the power of love, unity, and stepping out in faith. I’m still standing here dumbfounded at how much was accomplished in such a short time. Blessings to you (O Great Tired One?)🙂

          Liked by 1 person

      • Mick says:

        I love the football analogy, Charlie. Oh… and go Seahawks!


        • charliej373 says:

          Well, I’m not a Seahawks fan…but with the serial cheating that has marked the Belichick era in New England (and that used to be one of my favorite teams) my attitude is go anybody but Patriots. So, go Seahawks!


          • E. Allison says:

            Sounds a lot like my feelings on baseball. I have 3 favorite teams…. the Phillies, and whoever is playing against the Braves and Mets.


  8. Ceri says:

    My heart and eyes are over flowing. What a day! Grateful to be a part of this awesome group.


  9. anne says:

    i am thinking that individual hearts in hospitals, schools etc are in the right place. The shadow of protocol is strong, getting stronger. Lord we need You. Woman Clothed with the Sun cover us all with the Sun.


  10. Diane Grose says:

    Thank & praise you God!! Thank you Charlie for bringing this to our attention & getting the ” ball rolling” so to speak! Prayers are so powerful & I’m giddy to read that Joe is showing signs of improvement! Hopefully this will create an atmosphere @ that hospital that will instill in these Dr’s humility & think several times before they make a decision such as they made for Joe! My prayers!


  11. marie says:

    Just woke up to this wonderful news. Praise God and thank you, Charlie, for leading the troops.


  12. donna269 says:

    Praise Jesus in His Infinite Mercy! Thank you Charlie, for showing us all how to Take the Next Right Step in REAL time…..xoxoxoxo to EVERYONE here.


  13. carmelite says:

    I can only ditto Ceri and MMBev.
    Our God is a mighty God!


  14. m&m says:

    Dear Lord, hhelp us all. I’m not even sure how I found this.
    Is this for real? Brain-Dead Teen, Only Capable Of Rolling Eyes And Texting.


    • charliej373 says:

      m&m, it is NOT real. I removed the link. That is from the Onion, which is a satire site. It pokes fun at the headlines. In this case, the intended joke was that teenagers, even in a vegetative state, would still roll their eyes at everything and text.


  15. Barbara Dore says:

    In the news

    Russian nuclear bomber planes fly off west coast of Ireland as British Typhoon fighters scrambled

    Irish Independent‎ – 1 day ago
    RUSSIAN bomber planes capable of carrying nuclear weapons flew past the west coast of Ireland on Wednesday – forcing Britain to … how best to seek to resolve this through the International Civil Aviation …


  16. Joseph says:

    Praise, honor, glory to God in His infinite mercy and love! Thank you Charlie for leading the charge to victory!


  17. Judy says:

    It would not surprise me if Jesus gave this boy a message during this fight for his life. After all he did say that He was seeing God when he when into unconsciousness. …… I did 3 mysteries of the rosary starting at 4 am on Friday in the hopes that Our Blessed Mother would intercede through the boundless graces of Jesus and Our Father. It was my little contribution, along with some difficult days this week (and I included prayers for your dear sister as well) .


  18. siobhanolp says:

    Thanks be to God! Praise to you Lord Jesus Christ, King of endless Glory!


  19. waitingNwondering says:

    Color me a bit dense, but although I KNEW this was a battle that needed to be fought, I didn’t fully realize–until reading the TV news story–that a declaration of death might have PREVENTED a transfer to a different hospital.

    That gives me chills, as does the wonderful resolution to this story. Well done, Charlie and all!



    • charliej373 says:

      Sorry, I probably should have made that clear…heat of battle and all, you know. Thanks for bringing that up waiting, for I knew it but did not emphasize it early on, so you did not know all the stakes involved. I will remember that it is important to let people know early on that that is part of the stakes in such battles.


  20. CathyG says:

    Thank you for sharing this, Charlie, and for everything you do. I will continue to pray for Joe’s full recovery and for you, Kim and everyone else who has requested prayers here. My faith has been honed through your website and reading your blogs and the comments from my fellow NRSers has been a first-class education. I feel privileged to be a small part of your army…God bless you!


  21. Charlie, I want to recommend that we as a community begin a nine day novena for Joe and that God will heal him and have him walk out of the next hospital as a testament to Life and the fact that God is involved at every moment with His children…..perhaps to Our Lady Undoer of Knots. Joe’s cry of: “I see You God; I see You!” could be the prayer we add at the end each day, since it is the means (through the Church, the Sacraments and our Faith/Prayer life) and the purpose of our existence here below… see God face to face. May God use this solely for His Glory!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Dan Lynch says:

    Providentially, I was at a conference with my friends on the Lifesitenews leadership team. We met late on Thursday night and on Friday morning to get on the Young Joe Cronin story.

    They jumped on it and Kirsten Andersen wrote this story:

    Charlie, please acknowledge Lifesitenews. Here is their website:

    “In the shadow of your wings I take refuge
    till the storms of destruction pass by.” (Psalm 57).

    Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to
    Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations,
    Our Lady of America and Saint John Paul II
    Visit our website at
    E-Mail Us at
    May Our Lady of Guadalupe keep you under the mantle of her protection and
    may the Reign of Jesus King of All Nations be recognized in your heart!


    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you, Dan. I sent Kirsten a note thanking her for this last night. I will next week, after I have gathered myself and reorganized the mountain of notes around me, do a piece thanking all who publicly helped on this. Lord knows, I will probably miss a few – so many got engaged – but I want all of you to know how very many really stepped up to the plate and I want to acknowledge those many organizations who made such a big difference – by simply doing the little they could with faith and fidelity.


  23. Julia says:

    Charlie, we need to thank Almighty God for granting the grace of Joe showing signs of life. This must mean he is not in such deep coma. Praise You Lord, bless You Lord Glory be to You Lord and thank You Lord for your wonderful help in this little boys situation.

    I remind you again, make a petition to Saint Padre Pio for continued improvement in Joe. Padre Pio is famous for bringing people out of coma. I made a request for his assistance, and shared with you in older posts. You can just use your own words along with 3 Our Fathers, 3 Hail Mary’s and 3 Glory be to the Fathers.
    Dear Saint Prio, continue to intercede for Joe Cronin’s complete recovery. God bless you Saint Pio.

    Well done Charlie and all you amazing ground troops in this fight for a little boys life.


  24. Phillip Frank says:

    This event reminds me of Mark Mallets post called “The Testing” which includes a depiction of Gideon sifting his men for humility to do Gods work in battle in a most confounding way. But because of Gideons ( Charlie) faithfulness and the chosen soldiers ( Us) humility in light of Gods strange directions the enemy was set in rout and the battle won!
    Lead on Dear Lord…
    We rag -tag troops await your orders General Charlie…


    • charliej373 says:

      Ha, Phillip…you rag-tag troops got a pretty rag-tag general in the deal! It must amuse God to do such wonders with such rag-tag folks, for that is usually the way He sets things in motion when He actively intervenes in human affairs.

      I can’t help but think of a time about a decade ago when I was in misery, asking God why He wanted such a goof like me to do such important work. The Lord showed up and gave me a vision of a fluffy little off-white puppy with a fat belly. He threw a stick and the puppy went chasing after it – comically clumsy, tripping over his own feet, once bonking his head against a tree…but with eager enthusiasm. He eventually got that stick and brought it back to the Lord, who patted its head, looked at me with a smile, and said, “You’re a game little fella.” Thank God we have proved to be an army of game little fellas this week.

      Liked by 2 people

  25. Irish7 says:

    What a great team! Glad to call you all friends. I had intended to write up a press release and blitz the Governor’s Office, but my children had other plans for me. I wasn’t able to even place a meager call until around 10 am. I was feeling a bit useless and frustrated by my limitations, but when I did get around to it, their office assured me that they were already well aware of the situation because they had been receiving calls all morning. What a joy. I love my team.

    Also it has occurred to me that there may be an opportunity to embrace the personnel at Driscoll. Charlie touched on this a bit. There is a place in this situation for righteous anger, but now that Joe is safe can we exercise mercy? I don’t think rubbing noses in humiliation changes hearts. Perhaps they will witness a miracle and we could sweep them up in it with us. If they are working toward healing now, even in some small way, we are on the same team. It could be their miracle too. Maybe their walls will come down if they can save a little face and be swept up as cooperators in love and care. Just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you, Irish. When you gloat you rob victory of its grace…and spoil the chance to bring on new recruits. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if Driscoll should end up leading the way in helping to bring about a real Culture of Life approach to such situations? They, too, have just gone through the forge. Let us pray for them – and hope it soon leads to praying with them.


      • Bob says:

        And I wasn’t perfect either by any means. During the heat of battle I sent an email to the hospital asking them if they wanted to prevent Joe from leaving so they could harvest his organs or if the docs were just being evil? I should have a been a bit milder but I was feeling angry at the time, when the hospital seemed to be continuing to resist a transfer.
        So let’s hope the hospital too will convert.


    • pineconejill says:

      We should do quite the opposite to “rubbing their noses in it”, we should flood them with thank you cards! I’m all for positive reinforcement.

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Pawel says:

    Thank God for people like Charlie. It was also touching to hear the story from Joey’s mom – especially that part where Joey said “God I see you” right before going in a coma. Also, the whole situation revealed in how wicked world we live – that evil my be covered by courtesy and a smile, that the system of caring may be rooted in a philosophy of murdering.


    • charliej373 says:

      Ah, Pawel, you touched on a central issue: it is the system that has degenerated. The hospital is just a part of the system we have erected. May it take the lead in pulling out the rotting boards of that system and replacing them with fresh, clean, seasoned timber.


  27. pineconejill says:

    Hey good news, Spirit Daily picked the story up too!


  28. Lily says:

    Dear Charlie,

    I am sorry to say that I didn’t call or fast, but I did pray. I am so glad to see how quickly a team can get to work, and you can be sure that this is all noted in my mental archives as an example of how I ought to proceed in the future. Even more, I am glad for Joe’s safety and beginning recovery. He and his family are still in my prayers.

    Your posts and commenters have been a huge encouragement to me since around the end of November. Thank you all for sharing your lives and wisdom. You have no idea the great benefit to people you don’t even know.


  29. vparisi says:

    As as nurse life care planner and case manager I am so proud of all that rallied around this child and the hopeful signs Joey is showing are no surprise to me- this is why we should never give up! God bless all that pulled together and I will keep Joey in my prayers.


  30. stop the madness says:

    Wow, I can’t believe what lies you are all spreading. You may think that you are fooling people, but GOD knows. How can you sleep at night?


    • charliej373 says:

      Well, Stop, we will all sleep pretty good tonight knowing that we participated in helping to give a young boy a chance at life.

      I put this up not because it deserves it – generalized absurd accusation completely contrary to the facts. Pure malice. I put it up because I want all of you to know that throughout all of this, I only deleted two comments. That way, given all the comments, you know how broad and strong the outpouring was – and how little the trolls interfered here.

      As for you, stop, I let this one through to make a point. Don’t bother with any more such malicious nonsense. They won’t get through.


Leave a Reply

