Quick Update on Joe Cronin

By Charlie Johnston

Things are very fluid right now…there is a lot going on today. Joey is hanging in there and things are at stalemate. Some on the scene think this is going to be worked out, some are not so sure. I am keeping my post steadily and will advise you of any crucial developments.

In the meantime, I thought you might be interested in this very brief piece by Wesley Smith of National Review. So much of what we call palliative care right now is a fig leaf over something far worse. When the dust settles, we need to talk about the life and death consequences of modern utilitarianism.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Solidarity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Quick Update on Joe Cronin

  1. Charlie, were you able to reach Steve Woerner? I did email him and I copied you. Mother of God, spread the effect of Grace of thy Flame of Love over Joe and all those who can help him live!


    • charliej373 says:

      Anthony, I did not. Texas Right to Life had done great work helping to facilitate it, everything was on track as well as it could be there, so I did not jump in. I would have if things would have made it likely that they were falling off-track, but HealthBridge was not the problem. And I have been profoundly preoccupied today with areas that could be a problem. As you can see from my latest update, things truly look realistically optimistic for the first time since I was notified of this on Tuesday.


  2. Kati says:

    I haven’t posted for a few days, but have been praying for little Joe. (My second son is named Joe). I left a news tip at Drudge, contacted my local right to Life group for prayer, have been praying, saying the rosary, went to Adoration and Mass this morning. At Mass I sent my angel to Joe’s angel and asked for Padre Pio to join all the intercession. My main prayer is for little Joey and that ALL of the staff at the hospital will LEARN and be converted by all that occurs.


  3. caren otis says:

    if joe cronins family is open to it, transdermal magnesium may be helpful also the website functionalformularies.com has excellent info on feeding tube supplements. I know that this sounds not particularly immediate but the stronger joe is the better his recovery. God bless you and sustain you and nkeep you all in His peace. caren otis


  4. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    Thanks, Charlie. A lot of us have been working behind the scenes, Praise be to God from whom all good things come!

    My group in Texas is calling Driscoll Hospital; I’ve called Texas Gov. Gregg Abbott and have left word with Texas’ Department of Family Cervices to assist young Joe Cronin.

    Yes–“utilitarianism.” Let’s cut all the niceties in today’s current definitions and boil it down to: ” can this THING be useful to us.” Pitiful–human being reduced to “things.”

    And when confronted with the same twisted thinking and philosophy, one our founding fathers had a reply. An aging Benjamin Franklin watched an early balloon ascent in Paris. The man next to him said, “What good is it? This will never be useful.”

    Franklin replied, “What good is a newborn baby!”

    “Utilitarianism is a civilization of production and of use, a civilization of things and not of persons, a civilization in which persons are used in the same way as things are used and abused.” St. John Paul The Great.


    • charliej373 says:

      I have long considered treating people as things to be one of the greatest – and most subtle – of sins. And one of the most corrosive.


      • SteveBC says:

        Treating people as things is one of the primary characteristics of psychopathy and its fellow traveler, narcissism. If people are objects, you can do whatever you please to them. They’re just tools to be used to get what you want, something that either has use or is trash. I think you’re right to think as you do, Charlie.

        The larger implication, of course, is that our society, now so much based on utilitarianism, has become a psychopathic culture at its darkening heart. Isn’t that why we have a Storm roaring through our world, so that we will be delivered from that culture, that particularly evil and insidious fault/sin?

        Congratulations on your work for Joe Cronin and for your marshaling of the efforts of so many others to help. It’s been an amazing story. Let’s pray Joe continues to be well taken care of and continues to improve. Let’s also pray in gratitude for all those who helped.

        You’ve nurtured quite a community, Charlie.


        • charliej373 says:

          It IS why we have a Storm roaring through the world. I think this little community has struck the first big blow in returning the world to sanity. A little thing, a beginning…but as I have said, the culture will be renewed when a lot of people choose to just humbly take the next right step. You did…and many have heard the roar. May the culture of death tremble over it.


  5. Julia says:

    Charlie, I would like to comment on the article about the so called Liverpool Pathway nonsense.

    I think there is a later version to this and I can’t remember what they call it. Same old Same old.

    I have read that article in the Telegraph and the check list to see if old or dying patients merit medical assistance or resuscitation. Especially once they reach 65!

    Once the family are talked into agreeing to trust the hospital with end of life care. The patient is basically starved to death. This is a fact. Only if relatives come and give a drink will they get fluids.
    I speak of a relative who died in UK last year, and have heard of others too. Death by starvation.

    I believe originally, terminally ill patients were doped out of their minds to the point they were not able to ask for food or drink. And you would be cautioned not to feed patients in this state or they would choke. That is because they were doped out of their minds. This in my opinion cost money to provide the drugs, and so it has progressed to just letting them die of starvation.

    This has been going on for years. We all trust the medical staff. And all a patient needs is basic food and drink until God is ready to call them. Not the cruelty of death by starvation.


  6. Mick says:

    Thank you for keeping to your post so faithfully, dear general. We, your little foot soldiers, are encouraged by your example and are trying to follow suit. God willing, we will not tire; we will not falter; and we will not not let Joey down.

    I called Public Relations at the hospital again this morning. I spoke to Matt, who was again wearing the polite veneer that he wore yesterday when I spoke to him. I told him the following things: (1) I want to support Joey’s parents as they fight for his life. (2) I’ve seen support for Joey and opposition to the hospital’s intentions on several blogs. (3) This is what I’ve seen on the various blogs: (a) TV stations in Texas are starting to show interest in this story. (b) National news organizations such as the Associated Press and FoxNews have been contacted. (c) Large websites such as Breitbart and Drudge Report have gotten several notifications and requests to investigate this story. (d) On one blog, which I know is read by people in more than 30 countries, commenters were very concerned, disappointed, and outraged by the hospital’s plan to turn off Joey’s life support over his parents’ objections. One commenter mentioned having contacted the Guardian-UK, the Guardian-Australia, the Guardian-US, and the Observer, which I think is a newspaper in the UK. (4) This appears to be getting international attentuon. (5) If the hospital would like to preserve its good name, then perhaps somebody in Public Relations or HR or someplace could encourage the doctors to hold off on the test and let Joey be transferred to the other hospital.

    Charlie, I tell you all of this simply to let you know that we have your back, and we have Joey’s. And we won’t quit until you do… which means never.


  7. Niki L says:

    ?Last night NBC had a wonderful story about a boy from South Africa who at the age of 12 got sick and slipped into a semi-conscious(?) state for what they thought was about 10 years. He mostly recovered, and wrote a book about it. It’s called “Ghost Boy, the Story of a Young Man Trapped in His Body.” If you didn’t see it, it’s worth looking it up on the internet. NBC has a write up of the story from last night. He recovered enough to talk using a computer, get around using a wheel chair, complete college, drive a handicap-modified car, and get married. A truly amazing story, which shows why these decisions to end care are (for so many reasons) wrong.

    It almost seems to me that we need a group of people – maybe retired from the medical field? – who could form a group that could voluntarily care for cases such as these, without recourse to insurance and government oversight – who could quickly step in and arrange for transportation from the deadly situation to a place that could at least give palliative care, where the family could stay with and help care for their family member. My guess is it would receive a lot of donations. I don’t know anything about the medical field, so this is just wishful thinking on my part, but it would be something I could support if anyone knew enough about how to do it.

    I happen to be reading a daily version of the Bible right now, and the part I’m on now is Exodus – where Moses says the Lord says to let my people go. And Pharaoh’s heart is hardened, and he won’t let them go. And the Lord says He will use this to show His power. I get the feeling the Cronin family is in a similar situation – they just want those in power to let them go. Hopefully everyone’s prayers and efforts will have the same happy result – they will be free to go and seek life-affirming care for their son.

    God Bless.



  8. Kay says:

    How ironic that this manifestation of evil’s hatred of the Father’s little ones takes place in a town named for the body of His Son ….. Corpus Christi.
    Lord have mercy! Praying and offering in Union with all here.


  9. Hopenjoy says:

    Re: “fig leaf over something worse”. My elderly neighbor’s wife died last spring, she had been diagnosed with some type of cancer and went downhill quickly. He and I were picking apples in his yard this fall, he was talking about her passing. Her doctor had said they could do nothing more, to call Hospice, and to keep her comfortable at home. My neighbor mentioned that he had personally been giving his wife her pain medicine, in a plastic dropper/syringe into her mouth. She was in a lot of pain and when he called the doctor to report, the doctor basically told him to up the dose/give her more. So my neighbor told me he did just that, that his wife fell asleep soon after, and then just didn’t wake up. I was so shocked I didn’t know what to say, driving home I thought “This is Hospice?”, giving caregivers the information to euthanize their suffering family members? I don’t know if this was an isolated case, or an odd situation, or if my neighbor misunderstood the doctor…but I just can’t shake it from my mind, and I feel an odd, spooky feeling now when I think about visiting my neighbor in his big, empty house.


    • Fran says:

      Hopenjoy, having had a sister who was a Hospice nurse, and also a father who had Hospice in his dying days, I can tell you that when a patient is in a great deal of pain and dying, as time goes on, “upping the dose” of pain medicine is often done, enough to relieve the pain, that is the goal and intention, not to do away with the patient. Increased doses are needed because the pain increases, and also because the patient’s body becomes intolerant at the current dose and it no longer does the job. I am thinking that the extra pain medicine, likely a narcotic, did relieve her of pain, and put her to sleep as narcotics do, but that she was already at the end stages which can come on very quickly, especially with the elderly. I think it is right to assume that the doctor was just taking care of the patient’s pain in this instance. I hope that your neighbor doesn’t feel that he is responsible for his wife’s death by giving her more pain medicine to relieve her, and that this makes you feel a little better.


Leave a Reply

