Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day One

The Grotto at Massabielle in Lourdes - 1858

The Grotto at Massabielle in Lourdes – 1858

“The child is not dead, but only sleeps”-Mark 5:39

From today’s Gospel

Oh dear Immaculate Conception, Lady of Lourdes, you brought forth a spring of living water with miraculous healing power in the midst of a garbage dump when you appeared at Lourdes. We pray you, come into the midst of the dump we have made of our culture and let Your Son’s healing power gush forth among us. We ask you to heal young Joey Cronin mind and body, spirit and soul, who lies in a coma in Corpus Christi, Texas. Let that healing, rising from Corpus Christi – literally the Body of Christ – be a sign of your Son’s mastery over life and become the beginning of a renewal of the culture of life throughout the world.

Amen.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day One

  1. anthonymullendivineantidote says:

    Anointed Scripture…may the Holy Spirit come down upon all of us in a powerful way so we may be a praise of His Glory through what he does for Joe Cronin!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. audiemarie2014 says:

    Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ellenchris says:

    Lovely — thanks for sharing with us, Charlie. May and October are generally thought of as Marian “seasons,” but yesterday began a time of some of the greatest of Marian feasts. I just found this by doing a little “bing-ing.” This is the Marian Hymn for use with the Daily Office (Roman Rite) beginning on Candlemas — the Feast of the Presentation of Jesus in the Temple through until Wednesday of Holy Week. Perhaps something that could be included in such a novena:

    Hail, O Queen of Heaven enthroned.
    Hail, by angels mistress owned.
    Root of Jesse, Gate of Morn
    Whence the world’s true light was born:

    Glorious Virgin, Joy to thee,
    Loveliest whom in heaven they see;
    Fairest thou, where all are fair,
    Plead with Christ our souls to spare.

    V. Vouchsafe that I may praise thee, O sacred Virgin.
    R. Give me strength against thine enemies.

    Let us pray: We beseech thee, O Lord, mercifully to assist our infirmity: that like as we do now commemorate Blessed Mary Ever-Virgin, Mother of God; so by the help of her intercession we may die to our former sins and rise again to newness of life. Through the same Christ our Lord. Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. jnursester says:

    Am I the only one who doesn’t think it is a coincidence that Joey Cronin’s initials are JC (like Jesus’ initials) and he is from Corpus Christo( Body of Christ)?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Melanie says:

    Amen! Beautiful! God Bless Joey and may the healing power of our Lord flow through and over him. The Great Physician!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mary N says:

    Joining in. This prayer is very beautiful, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sue says:

    This whole situation is turning for the better-I have to admit a sort of smugness about it. So, to deflate my big head, I also have to confess my ignorance as to how one donates via paypal to an e-mail address. (I read on Spirit Daily that the family is requesting donations by paypal, to be sent to savejosephcronin@yahoo.com.) Do what now? I don’t get it. Can anyone enlighten me on how you link the paypal donation? Otherwise, I will have to sit here staring at the computer with my mouth hanging open, 😀 Thanks! Sue

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Sue, I have tried to link it myself and it just takes me to an email address. I am going to see about getting with some of the family to set up something through Facebook or some other means that will do it.

      Like

      • Sue says:

        I hope it is “some other means”, as I am not on FB…

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          The main thing I’m looking for Sue is ease of accessibility.

          Like

          • Petra says:

            You probably want to use a “crowdfunding” site like indiegogo or gofundme. I’ve not used either of these, and don’t know the rules or costs, and I think it needs to be set up by the family for them to access the funds.

            Like

          • Bob says:

            I’ve seen Gofundme work well. Several years ago I was following a Scientology blog and when a former cult member had been pressured to have several abortions, sued and lost in court, the defendant was ordered to pay court fees and Gofundme was able to raise the $40000 in costs over 2 days and the rest was given to others trying to leave the cult and to reestablish their lives. So I have seen it work.

            Like

    • Ann says:

      Sue, you have to log in to your own PayPal account, then you can send funds from your account to another person as long as you have the email address attached to their account.

      Like

    • CrewDog says:

      You have to have a PayPal Account set up for yourself first and then you can send $$ via a Credit Card or direct x-fer from your bank account…………… this how E-Bay and others are set-up to pay for purchases or donations.
      GOD BLESS ALL HERE! 🙂

      Like

    • SteveBC says:

      Sue, actually this is very easy. I’ve never done it before but did it in about 3 steps. It does require that you have a PayPal account with a balance greater than your planned donation or a link to your bank account so that PayPal can withdraw the amount from that account. There is no fee.

      Just go to PayPal.com website, log in to your PayPal account, and then click on the “Send & Request” tab at the top of your account page. This will give you a new page, and you can select “Send money to friends and family.”

      This will put you on a new page where you can enter the email provided for joey and set the amount that you want to give. Then click “Next”.

      Then you should get a page where you can review your transaction and add a note of up to 1,000 characters to your donation, and then click to make the donation official.

      PayPal will email you a receipt.

      For people without a PayPal account, this won’t work, and so finding other means to donate would be a good idea. Someone needs to create a webpage with links to the various methods that can be used. 🙂

      Like

  8. Frances says:

    AMEN! That is a potent prayer!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mack says:

    Prayed for Joey and also for my brother Paul who has been very ill the past two years.

    Like

  10. Chris says:

    Amen. Joining in on day 1.

    Like

  11. John Bailey says:

    Amen. Very beautiful, Charlie.

    Like

  12. Diane S says:

    Amen and amen. Ty Charlie for starting the novena, & Ty Ellen also. Prayers for all. As far as coincidences…no, they are Godincidences, Praise God!

    Like

  13. Phillip Frank says:

    To pay with PayPal go to the ” send money” link on the page.
    This will take you to a page where you will place savejosephcronin@yahoo.com in the email address spot, which is just his PayPal address.
    This is how PayPal registers you to use their service, with an email address.
    Next, put the amount you are donating in the amount box and hit the drop down box for the type of currency you are paying with.
    There is a note section to write whatever you want to say.
    When finished hit the ” Pay” button.
    If you send it as a ” family/ friend payment it will not charge them the 3% fee.
    Good luck!
    Phil

    Like

  14. the phoenix says:

    Praying …

    Like

  15. donna269 says:

    Amen….

    Like

  16. Mary-Louise says:

    I have a young family member who is spiritually “dead”… I am saying this once for Joey, and once for another youngster.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mary W. says:

      I was thinking the same Mary Louise. I call it spiritual coma. We are all in need of healing, of what ever sort.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MMBev says:

        This is a most beautiful description. It covers those no longer among us from many different reasons. …. and some who are still attending Mass on Sundays but who do not have a full understanding of the faith or perhaps a prayer connection with God. I truly think many are still in some way “just not thinking, or just not fully aware”, and spiritual coma is the perfect phrase to use when talking about them to God. I am so grateful to have an addition to my “language” and intend to make others I know aware of it too.

        Like

  17. Paul says:

    Hi Charlie…if we’re making a novena of this, can you post this prayer for 9 days, then when we click on the site daily it will remind us to say the prayer…you’ve got a lot of prayer warriors out here

    Like

    • Mick says:

      Great idea. Charlie, what say you? I’m afraid I’ll forget to pray otherwise (my mind does things like that).

      Praying for Joey, and for the intentions of everybody here.

      Like

  18. Fran says:

    + Amen +

    Like

  19. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    I agree with Frances; this is a potent prayer. I liked it so much, in fact, that I had already taken the liberty of adding some long-standing prayer requests of my own to this novena, so thanks for the “permission” to do so that you gave to Mack.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fran says:

      I am adding some requests to this novena also, Frances, as Charlie has said Our Lady is a lady of abundance! She is so good. I love her so!

      Liked by 1 person

      • MMBev says:

        What is so fantastic about this group is that Charlie often “starts” and the abundant flow of ideas pours out to everyones benefit. I’m in for Joey and adding quite afew others just like the rest of you. Just think of all the prayers reaching Our Lady Mother because of what you wrote, Charlie!
        And prayers that will remain with us far beyond February 11 th.

        Liked by 1 person

  20. Jean says:

    Charlie,

    I am relatively new to this site and have been reading some of your earliest archives thinking I would get an idea about what this is all about. I’m afraid I’m more than a little confused. I understand that you have had visions of some sort all of your life and that you want to use this website to help people prepare for the storm that you say is coming and already here. I do believe this without hesitation. However, I’ve only been able to pick up a crumb here or there about what it is precisely you are warning about. Is there a place where you summarize the messages you are able to convey to the world or where you elaborate on the storm that is to come? I just don’t seem to be able to put the pieces together from what I have read. From my perspective as a new reader, it is incredibly difficult to simply accept ‘a storm is coming’ and not wonder when or how or how bad or what to do when it does come. Those few words are simply not enough. Moreover, I think anyone who is not in a coma should already know a storm is coming. But what precisely and specifically is God telling you we should know about it?

    Jean

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Jean, I would suggest you go to the top bar and read both “God’s Plan” and “My Purpose” – and the links associated with them. That will help get you a start. Also, to make it quicker, use the “search” feature – and put up “storm” or other categories and it will pull up all related articles. I have two big projects I must finish before I can start on getting some sort of basic booklet pulled from these pieces to make available on Amazon – and frankly, I don’t know if there is time.

      But the bottom line, it is not as much as you might think. As regular readers here know, what you NEED to know is to acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around you. That IS the key to it all as we enter uncharted territory.

      Like

      • Jean says:

        Charlie I look forward to reading your booklet. But I have to ask you what you mean by it is not as much as you might think. Are you referring to the reading material or the storm?

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          What I am saying, Jean, is too many people want some massive blueprint and detailed agenda. They want this so they can make precise human plans to blunt the impact of the Storm. I tell you God will give you no precise, detailed blueprint or agenda…for that just seduces you into thinking you can rely on your own cleverness to manage your way through it. That is a way leading to destruction.

          We are tossed on a sea we do not know…and will be surprised by many things. Make little plans…for the only sure way is to accept what comes, acknowledge God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to those around you. God really insists that you trust and depend on Him in this. So what I mean is you will not find any massive detailed program in what I write. The very existence of one would defeat the purpose of what God intends us to learn through this trial. Trust-Do-Love…that is the heart of it…if you contemplated that in sufficient depth, there would be no need for anything else to be said.

          Like

    • Mick says:

      Jean, some time ago, one of the regular readers of this blog (sorry, I can’t remember which one; maybe it was MMBev?), encapsulated Charlie’s main message (to acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around you) in three words: Trust-Do-Love. I know that this short formula helps me to remember Charlie’s longer one.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Jean says:

        Thank you Mick. I appreciate that we have this short formula for coping and acting during the storm. But naturally, I am wondering in what form this storm will take. Are we talking about complete social, political, financial collapse, martial law, nuclear war, takeover of Communism or Islamization, or simply a slow downward spiral of conditions within the same power and economic structures we have today. I think some perspective on the framework of this storm would be helpful.

        Like

        • MMBev says:

          Also try just as Charlie said, Jean. Start with the two he mentioned. You will locate them in the Black Banner under the very top picture. Also The Prayer of Miraculous Trust. Then print “Storm” in to the search, on the right side just a bit down from the top. Once you have read those entries, you can click on all of Charlie’s entries. I just whizzed up to the top, and there isn’t a link when the comments are showing. I imagine, then, that it shows up when you go back to just the blog entry itself at the bottom near click for comments. If not put it into the search. Once you get all the entries, you will quickly determine from the titles ones that seem to apply more than others. (Skip “musings” at first, read later.) If a blog comes up and you quickly realize it doesn’t apply to the subject immediately, get back to the whole listing and try another. A couple of titles would be “The Coming Collapse, The Collapse, and make sure that you click on the comments. Many of them are just as we have here and aren’t necessary to read beyond two or three words to determine what they are. But the odd comment applies to a question directed at Charlie to explain in more depth, just as you did here tonight. His comments are always backed by a pale blue. If the entry is about the storm, make certain that you read those. I so understand what you are feeling. Charlie gives a good, but un-detailed idea of events in general. We don’t need more than that, but that gives us the impetus to follow his directions which are vital for both our spiritual and physical needs during this storm (which hopefully will have mainly reached past to its lingering end by the end of 2017.) “God and Mammon” is another good entry after you have done the ones I have listed. I’m just remembering off the top (bottom) of my head, and there’s lots of other information on many others. Eventually, you will cover them all and understand what Charlie’s life basically was, the task God set before him, the trials he had to undergo to prepare, and all he has told us. And all of it comes down to what he said. We need to acknowledge God first in our lives and TRUST HIM even when what seems ahead looks impossible (And we must be spiritually prepared as well, which includes confession, prayer and talking with Him every day, etc etc,). Then we must DO the next right step. Once we contact God, and listen, we usually can tell what we have to do: housework, dishes, job, shop, etc. If we make a mistake, God will turn us around as long as we are trusting Him. When we do our best to do His will, He makes sure we get there. The next thing is to LOVE each and every person who comes into our lives each and every moment. Sometimes it’s someone easy, or someone hard to love, or a complete stranger we just smile at. Or speak to in a grocery store lineup. Whatever. Love is almost completely lacking today. We all have a tendency with our own that we want back in the Church” to tackle that problem. What Charlie has said has changed my offensive position completely. Now I just love my son; find out how he’s doing, make him stew and freeze it for his freezer, invite them for a dinner–no direct mention of God, Church, Prayer or all the things I would like to be saying. Now he knows how much I love him, as do some of my neighbours whom I had no interaction with before. When the thought strikes them, (God’s initiative) then they will ask me. That’s the right moment, because God has started it, not me. Hope this helps.

          TRUST – DO – LOVE

          Liked by 5 people

        • MMBev says:

          Found it; found it. See all Charlie’s entries is directly above!. Just before the comments start there is a little blurb about Charlie. Just below in beautiful purple (may I say, same color as I am), it says you can click to see all Charlie’s comments. See you next week, or the week after, haa, haa.

          Like

        • Barbara Dore says:

          Jean, that is right. these mentioned issues are the parts of that storm. World is now getting mad, madder… than before! the storm is coming.

          Our Lady is the lighthouse guiding us in choppy sea of our lives. Her Holy rosary is our lifebuoy and she said to us, the rosary is yours. the rosary is given to you forever. It depends on you to take advantage of it. The Rosary will be our strength. I often feel overwhelmed with so many bad news every day but I feel strengthened after saying the rosary daily. I sometimes get anxious if I will be strong or not during this storm. I have to depend on my rosary to get a recharge like a mobile phone when I feel so flat due to my daily struggles or hearing so many bad news around the world

          Liked by 1 person

          • MMBev says:

            Barbara you are so right on! And so well put. Thanks for adding this comment here. I try to never be without a rosary somewhere on me, in the house or out. You just never know when you’ll get time to say a decade or two.

            Like

    • donna269 says:

      hi Jean:
      If you even stick around for a few weeks, you will note a common theme amongst the readers and Charlie….prayerful individuals who trust in God, believe in His Mercy and display that to everyone around them despite the falling apart of society around us. Model yourself after saints who have come before you. Protect the church, the Pope….pray for God’s Mercy and direction in all things.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Beth says:

    Good morning, I would also like to ask for prayers for a family member. My cousin’s young wife was in labor with their first baby yesterday and started having a stroke at 9 1/2cm. They did an emergency C-section, but the baby now has brain bleeding, a possible skull fracture and is having seizures. They are at separate hospitals at this point. The baby’s name is Mason, mother is Molly. Thank you!!

    Like

  22. Julia says:

    Charlie, just sharing this for Jean’s benefit. As a late joiner, I went back as best I could and read your articles. It is quite doable. While you advise us to read all comments, I found it best for me in the first instance to just take on board what you write. Sure the comments are very good and expand on what you are writing; but on catch up with the amount of information, I found to start with it was easier to go back and revisit the comments later, when I felt there was more time to contemplate so to speak on the information.

    I think your way of keeping us informed is designed to avoid sensationalism or unwarranted fear. I find this helpful.

    Jean, the Pope has already said ‘we are in the third world war.’ I believe that is to do with terrorism at the moment. I could be wrong and no doubt Charlie will correct me if needed.

    Charlie speaks of Global economic problems or may I say economic crash. Like Wall Street in late 20s, early 30s. Currency as we know it will change, and there might be a period of time when bartering will be the way to survive. This is in the near future if I understand Charlie right. So stocking up on some essentials would be sensible. I think being practical, not over the top. For instance, and as an example, I would be thinking of being prepared for a bad spell of weather when goods and services could be unreliable. By that I mean be sensible and practical but don’t worry. Trust God to help us through. How should I put it. ‘Don’t sit indoors expecting Jesus to knock on the door with bread if there is none available in the shops.
    I think we are being encouraged to TRUST in God more, DO the right thing (take the next right step) and LOVE your neighbour as yourself. Be a good example to those around you.

    Most importantly, I understand Charlie is advising us to get our relationship with God in order. Some ancient prophets would have said ‘Repent, and turn back to God for He is about to punish mankind for turning away from Him.’ I hope this gives you an idea of the best of what I have taken from Charlie’s writing.
    And I am coming to believe, mankind is bringing the problems on ourselves. God is not fixing it like He so often has. When do we thank Him when good things happen. We take the credit for ourselves. When bad things happen we want to know why God allows it. In other words mankind wants the glory for the good God allows and to blame God when we go our own way without Him and things fall apart.

    Liked by 3 people

  23. SteveBC says:

    I would like to ask a few odd questions and expose my ignorance. 🙂

    What is a novena? What’s it for, why do it, as opposed to just praying when the impulse strikes? What is a Montfort consecration, and how does a consecration differ from an extended novena? What does a Montfort consecration actually involve and why would a person do such a consecration as opposed to simply praying on impulse or doing an extended novena?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      A Novena is a prayer of nine days for a specific intention. A legitimate question could also be, why do any form of prayer at all? Different people have different things that move them, Steve. Why have hot dogs and hamburgers and key lime pie when basic grains, beans and water will sustain us? Prayer is our spiritual nourishment. Sometimes I like fast food, sometimes I like the Spiritual nine-course meal that a Novena offers. A consecration is a (hopefully) life-long commitment to a certain way of proceeding in your spiritual life and an abandonment to a particular saint to help and accompany you on that way.

      Like

  24. Lucy says:

    Dearest brother in Christ !
    Praise God for your initiative of this Novena and all of the public awareness-raising that has happened here, by the workings of the Holy Spirit !!! I give thanks also in anticipation of the great and tender Mercies the Father desires to grant to Joey at this time !!! I am not sure ,Charlie, if you made it to Corpus Christi, Texas during your long “periple” across America, but ironically , it has indeed become a veritable DUMP ! If only your readers could see the refineries and multiple chemical plants that cover the inter-coastal canal and city perimeters there… It is an extremely troublesome sight to behold. And even beyond that, I have sensed strongly in prayer that we must COVER this area in the Precious Blood of the Lamb, begging our Lord and our Mother to send legions of Holy Angels to make a protective shield over Corpus Christi. Let it NEVER be a target for any further forms of violence or terror, in Jesus Name we pray !!! I have been called to pray many times for the protection of Corpus Christi , Texas… so I thank you for keeping this intention in your own heart of intercessory prayer . In His Mercy, votre bien petite sour, lucy

    Like

  25. Bob says:

    And you said Charlie that the Grotto of Lourdes was a dump before Mary appeared. Any other info on this? If so it shows again how God can reclaim that which is lost and ugly.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes it was, Bob. There are many fine books on Lourdes and what happened there. If you have never seen it, watch the 1943 movie, “The Song of Bernadette.” It takes some dramatic license, but the fundamentals are accurate. (The Vincent Price character is actually more of a version of the reality of Emile Zola from sometime later.

      The famous French naturalist, Emile Zola, had taken a young woman, Marie LeMarchand, whose face was ravaged by lupus, in one of those smarmy intellectual efforts to prove Lourdes a fraud. Alas, Marie was cured instantaneously and miraculously. The doctors who examined her before and after proclaimed there was no natural cause that could have done this. ON the return trip, the sullen Zola ungraciously told the young woman he thought her uglier than before. He angrily proclaimed that if thousands were healed before his eyes he would NOT believe in a miracle. And yet, for the rest of his life, the incident haunted and dominated his writing.

      Like

      • Bob says:

        Yes I saw that movie and it just goes to show that some will just not believe, but we need to pray that as many as can be saved and brought to faith are.

        Like

        • Bob says:

          Incidentally, Charlie you were in my dream last night. It seems we were to stand guard over a high cliff, standing at the top for 100 hours. You were taking the first watch and you told us we may each have to take several watches before the time was over. You were exhorting us that we and our progeny would be blessed if we were faithful to this duty.

          Like

  26. Lilia Florentiae says:

    Charlie, I’m praying the Novena with you and all the readers.
    Thanks for reminding me.
    I would have forgotten it, though my grandmother died on February 11th many years ago and she was a great devoted of Madonna of Lourdes.
    She always asked Our Lady of Lourdes to be allowed a swift death, because she did not want to be a burden to her relatives. She died suddenly on Feb 11 at her home. She was very well and happy. She had come back from her favourite walk. She just fell and departed without a word or any pain.
    Praying with you all,
    Lilia from Italy

    Liked by 1 person

  27. “Is there a place where you summarize the messages you are able to convey to the world or where you elaborate on the storm that is to come?”

    I know that’s asked often, so for what it’s worth, I did something recently over on the “Our Blessed Hope” forums that could be of some help for newcomers, or anyone else reviewing, or looking for something in particular.

    That main forum is here: http://blessedhope.yuku.com/

    The “Great Storm” section is here: http://blessedhope.yuku.com/forums/93/THE-GREAT-STORM

    And under “The Great Storm”, at its top, I have three threads on Charlie.

    The first thread in that section contains some articles that Michael Brown did on Charlie, so it’s a good overview.

    The second thread from the top is a compilation of excerpts from the “central messages” given in Charlie’s blog, as a (relatively) quick read-through. Note that the title at the top of each topic in that thread serves as a quick link back to the full, original article. (Handy dandy access.)

    The third link is an index of (nearly) all of the original articles from Charlie’s blog, with clickable links to the articles, listed in chronological order.

    Liked by 3 people

  28. “The third link”

    I meant: the third *thread*, from the top.

    Like

  29. Alphonsus says:

    I would like to ask a question about the form of intercessory prayer here. It is not intended to criticize in any way.

    Why does one ask the LORD to send a specific saint by name to help the one in need? Is it because that saint is the patron of the cause, or is a favorite saint of the pray-er, or for some other reason?

    I ask because as a life-long praying Catholic I have never encountered this way of asking and do not understand. Again, it is not my intention to be difficult nor disruptive. I just want to understand.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      No offense taken, Alphonsus. It is because all are alive to God – and God likes us to live fuly the communion of the faithful. When we ask our neighbors for prayer – whether our neighbors here or in heaven – it is a confirmation of the communion of all the faithful. We live unity through asking others for prayer. We confirm our faith by asking the faithful departed – and we obtain the benefit of their prayer and guidance.

      Like

  30. narnialion54 says:

    Linda,
    Thank you for organizing Charlie’s essays. It is a great help. I used your site to run off copies so that I can study them and for use when technology goes down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

