Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day Four

When I was a little boy, not yet in school, my maternal grandmother gave me this iconic print, telling me this angel was always watching over me. I am glad to lend her to Joey Cronin for a while.

When I was a little boy, not yet in school, my maternal grandmother gave me this iconic print, telling me this angel was always watching over me. I am glad to lend her to Joey Cronin for a while.

 

Let brotherly love continue. Do not neglect hospitality, for through it some have unknowingly entertained angels

Let marriage be honored among all and the marriage bed be kept undefiled,

-Today’s Reading, Hebrews:13

Wait on the Lord: be of good courage and He shall strengthen thine heart.

Wait, I say, on the Lord.

-Psalm 27:14

Holy Mother, Immaculate Conception, you came to Lourdes to show us your Son’s healing power, to assure us that you will come even to a dump, to call us back to Him, to assure us of your presence and love in the worst of circumstances. At Fatima you rose to warn us of the consequences of our disastrous course; that our rebellion and and rejection of you would, of itself, lead us to ruin, even as you assured us of God’s continuing love and tender desire to call us back to safety. Now, we wait on you. Teach us to care for one another, in the sure knowledge that when we do, we care for you and your Son. Let this be a time of fulfillment, trusting that even in the midst of sorrow and chaos, Our Lord’s tender, healing power will be fulfilled in all who call upon Him – particularly all who call on Him through you. Let this fulfillment begin with the healing of young Joey Cronin, as a sign of Our Lord’s presence in this world gone mad.

Amen

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day Four

  1. audiemarie2014 says:

    Amen!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. vkmir3 says:

    Amen! Such a beautiful novena. I am so blessed to have found your writings, Charlie, and this wonderful community. It brings me such peace and hope in the midst of the storm we are in. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chris says:

    Amen.Thank you Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex Ireton says:

    Thank you Charlie! I had same pic as a child. My mother said I was saved by an angel when I was two crossing a bridge at a nursery. I was following my aunt across a bridge over a pond. Suddenly mt aunt heard a voice say the child is in the water. She said when she turned around she say no one but she say my hair floating on the top of the water. She jumped in and saved me. I have been saved several times from extremely dangerous situations by unuasual situations. I guess the load has plans for me in this storm b

    Liked by 1 person

  5. N. Wright says:

    Amen to this prayer! “Let this fulfillment begin with the healing of young Joey Cronin, as a sign of Our Lord’s presence in this world gone mad.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    AMEN! So be it.

    Your heart is full of love and it shines in the darkness.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. anne says:

    thank you Charlie. Beautiful novena.
    I was struck by the last few words, because just before turning on the computer i was thinking how this world really has gone mad. People’s behaviour is simply not sensible. Compare God’s plan to how we are living everyday lives from small things to big. Upside down! However, people think we are mad because we sit in silent Adoration, Mass etc. Truly i was pondering all this then saw the last few words and sensed such confirmation.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. donna269 says:

    Amen, bless Joey Cronin, Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Fran says:

    +Amen+

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Marguerite Rose says:

    Thank you so much, Charlie. Your prayers are so beautifully written, while mine are usually a jumbled mess! Your words “teach us to care for one another” have special meaning today for me. The Supreme Court of Canada today overturned the ban against doctor assisted suicide. Doctors can now help to kill people who are terminaly ill and request it. My heart is so heavy, and I cry in anguish. Where is the caring for one another? I fear, because as a senior, I will probably face terminal illness some day. I pray I won’t ask for assisted suicide, but will the law have evolved by then to pressure those who the wider society deem useless? Every tear is a wordless prayer. Holy Mother, pray for us. St. Joseph, patron of my beloved country, pray for us.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      One of the huge, under-reported scandals in degenerate European countries that support this is how many “unrequested” assisted suicides. doctors perform each year. Now is the hour of darkness and demons in the world. But know this, Marguerite, their time is short – and if their triumphant advocates knew how short, they would tremble in terror.

      Liked by 2 people

      • audiemarie2014 says:

        “…their time is short…” Thank God, Charlie!

        Like

      • Marguerite Rose says:

        Thank you, Charlie, for articulating what I could not last night because of my distress…the part about how many unrequested assisted suicides are performed in Europe.That was my fear. As I laid in bed last night I was thinking about how it all felt that that we as a nation, had hit bottom…again! And the phrase “when you hit bottom the only place to go is up” kept going through my mind. So I looked up, and saw a sliver of light, the Light of Truth, the Warmth of Love, and knew God is with us. Today’s psalm reading comforts me: “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for thou art with me”.

        Here is a link to the story on Lifesite that some may be interested in: https://www.lifesitenews.com/news/supreme-court-ruling-could-leave-canada-with-most-permissive-criteria-for-a
        A quick quote if I may, “The court unanimously decided said that prohibitions against assisted-suicide “unjustifiably infringe” a person’s right to life, liberty, and security of the person.” I dont understand how assisted suicide supports our right to life! That notion is upside down and inside out, and utter nonsense. How can death support life? We have the right to live! Then it came to me that I’m not supposed to understand it! The father of lies, the great deceiver, has invaded and infested. But God has a plan. I read the Book, and know how it ends!

        Bless you, Charlie, for being our guide, our Sherpa.

        Like

  11. Mack says:

    Charlie I just reread your post where you said we passed a turning point in the late summer of 1997. Steve Jobs returned to Apple that August. The revolution he launched has profoundly changed the world, sometimes not for the best. It depends on how people use technology. But today it has almost become like a God. Do you think this might have something to do with the turning point?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, Mack, the Lord did not choose to tell me what the turning point was. Generally, I have long since gotten to where if the opportunity was clearly there and He did not choose to tell me, I have almost no curiosity about it. I trust He will tell me whatever I need for the work and I have found that idle curiosity on such things on my part does damage, either distracting me or leading me to make unwarranted assumptions or failing to contemplate those things that are important. I have nothing against curiosity – I have plenty of it. On these things, though, I have been disciplined against it. It is a fruitless endeavor.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Connie says:

    Charlie, speaking on time being short…..on another post you made a comment about time being elastic. I haven’t been able to keep up with comments lately, but for a while I looked to see if anyone asked you about it but didn’t see a question relating to that. I have pondered on that concept and what it might mean, but since you said it, you are the only one I figure who really knows what you meant. Can you expound on the concept and how it applies to the times we are in? I do not want to be curious for idle curiosity – it seems as if time being elastic during the storm would be a good thing. I love to contemplate on good things when I am feeling down or can’t sleep and I remember you telling us about Jesus smiling when He told you that He has a plan- that always comforts me immensely. Thank You for all the good things you give us to ponder on, and thanks for sharing your Novena and keeping us updated on young Joe and family.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      My point was that we make estimates on how long it will take for certain things to happen based on our experience and capability. That is irrelevant to God, who can accomplish anything in an instant…so our calculations about how much time is needed for various things to happen is naieve.

      Like

      • Bob says:

        Mark Mallett discussed time being elastic on several occasions and what he meant was the belief that God has certain judgments, for example, in mind but with prayer and penance God can delay or withhold their fulfillment. The thought being that many good or bad promises or prophecies God makes can change based on our response. Jonah and his prophecy is a good example, although sadly, many of us believe that things have gotten so bad that a storm or chastisement is pretty much inevitable, but we should still pray and do penance, as we don’t know, that maybe even now God can find a way to change hearts and to minimize the sufferings needed.

        Like

  13. MMBev says:

    Actually, right now during all that was happening for Joey and his family, I have felt that God has made time “elastic”. I echo Connie’s gratitude for the novena prayers for Joey, and all the good things you have given us to ponder on. And I am grateful for Steve’s idea when he said he’d reach out his hand at night, and so many joined in, because every night I think that thought and see in my mind a liquid gold web spreading all over the globe as we join hands.

    However, I have to admit that I am even lower down the technology pole than you are Charlie. I do NOT have a cell phone. I did once, but I thought it was very funny, and as soon as it’s “time” had elapsed, I quit carrying it. I never used it. I never knew what it’s number was. I think not using it was maybe, oh, a tiny bit of rebellion on my part. My husband bought it for me, and had three years paid for using it. He gave it to me so I could phone him when I was going to be home late to make his dinner. He didn’t tell me the number so I couldn’t tell anyone else. I mean, screamingly funny. I guess I have a warped sense of humor but I just loved it. I carried everywhere.

    The thing was, when I parked my car when I was out shopping, I could never remember where when I was done. Lo, these thirteen years later, I still can’t. I fixed the problem myself. There I would be at Wally. Yup, I tried the in line with the “P” of the photo shop sign trick to no avail. To balance to walk I must have both eyes open. To be able to read I must be right in front of the image, and a certain distance away, and close one eye to read. I shall leave it to the imagination of all to ponder how it looked to see me look for a silver car, as I walked, (thousands of them, I may say) and then squat down and stare at the license plate, only to stand again with great difficulty, and head down towards the next silver car. Aisle after aisle I would trudge. I’d give it a half hour, then go back into the store and some nice young Wally worker was sent out with me to find my car.

    That was when I finally acknowledge I had a problem and used the handicapped parking spots. (So many fewer.) Alas, with my limited concentration, I would never remember to phone my husband.

    But he did come to believe in the doctrine of “Purgatory” before our marriage ended in his death. He told me that living with me had convinced him of it, and privately I am certain that I managed to clear him completely before he died. Who knows, poor man. Maybe he felt that God made the time of our marriage “elastic” for him, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha, well until just a few months ago, I had an old, primitive, clamshell phone. It was the last of three I used during my pilgrimage. Turns out small electronic equipment does NOT take being rained on and subject to outdoor elements all the time well. Who knew? My so for sometime had pushed me to get a smart phone. I told him I didn’t need a phone that would make breakfast for me, just one that would make calls. On Thanksgiving Day last year my phone, which had been getting increasingly quirky, finally stopped sending calls at all. So I went to WalMart and got a new one – a smart phone this time. When my son came in for his visit just before Christmas, I showed him…it had been the cheapest I could find. He said I should have gotten a better one…said my smart phone was not “smart” enough. Having thought I had already made a major concession, I growled that I was smart enough to cover whatever deficiencies it had. And then he discovered, in the store, Butterfinger Brand Peanut Butter Cups…which were sublime. So we quit talking about the phone….and wondered why they had not thought of this idea several decades ago.

      Liked by 2 people

    • SteveBC says:

      MMBev, a liquid gold web spreading over the globe. What a beautiful image. Thank you for that!

      I may be your tech consultant these days, Charlie, but I confess to using an old flip phone and keep it off most of the time. How’s that for high tech? You have to know something is weird when one’s tech consultant has a dumber phone than one’s own. I didn’t even have a cellphone at all until 2007 or so. I think I was the last person in the entire US of A to get a cellphone.

      Narnialion54 is quite right. MMBev, you are *hysterically* funny. Does anyone remember Phyllis Diller and her husband, Fang? I dare say your husband has risen to similarly iconic heights in my eyes with your exegesis of his doctrine of Purgatory. 😀

      Like

      • MMBev says:

        Now I am totally terrified! Double vision! Mirror! Oh. How dreadful! You just had to say that didn’t you Steve! No compassion, well, – maybe a very small INSIGNIFICANT amount considering the hand image. But, IT’S VERY SMALL. Phyllis Diller! How utterly humiliating–I’ve even called him FANG in my mind. I mean before he even died!

        The very worst could be true! I’m not exactly sure what I look like anymore. How would I know? Not only that I cut my hair myself two weeks or so ago, and I don’t have a mirror to let a person see the back of the head. I just sort of felt around. AAAAAhhhhhhhhhhhh. True story.

        FOR ALL I KNOW, I MAY LOOK LIKE PHYLLIS DILLER.

        And you’ll say you didn’t do that on purpose. And this post isn’t even a “musings”.

        Ok, tonight, I plan to liquid gold you to the ground!

        Like

        • SteveBC says:

          MMBev, I could barely get out of bed this morning, so you must have been successful at liquid-golding me into the ground. Whoa, that explains it.

          This post may not be a “musings” but your comment certainly is a-musing! 😀

          As far as I know, absolutely *nobody* looks like Phyllis Diller did, so I think you are in the clear on that horrifying idea. However, I was about to cut my own hair and feel around the back to do it right, and now I will not be able to do it without thinking about the back of *your* head instead of mine. That could lead to disast-hair !!!

          Like

  14. narnialion54 says:

    MM Bev
    You are so uproariously, wonderfully funny!!!
    I wish you lived next door. You had me laughing so hard!!!
    You are better than Seinfeld.

    Like

  15. anne ovari says:

    Oh, Bev, I love your comments. You reminded me of the time when I parked our15 seater bus outside the chemist. When I had finished I got back in the van and saw a hand bag on the driver’s seat which wasn’t mine and that made me feel a little strange. It took me a few more moments to realise, this isn’t our van! It was parked right next to the one I had jumped into which was identical!😃 I can use a disabled car park now when our youngest son is with me, it definitely makes finding the car much easier!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh, Anne, one of the weirdest things to ever happen to me…I drove a deep green Ford Windstar minivan. I was doing a statewide campaign. I had parked at an oasis over the interstate (in some urban areas in America, they have what they call oases over the interstate highways – pulloffs that are not actually exits, but give you access to a bunch of restaurants, a traveler’s shop and facilities). When I came back out I clicked the remote to unlock the van, got in and started it. Before pulling out, I looked down and saw this frilly gift bag. Bizarre…then I looked in back and it was very clean, MUCH cleaner than my car ever was during a campaign. I then realized that, holy cow, this was not MY Windstar. I got out and two rows back there mine was. I looked it up later…at the time, there were well over 10,000 possible radio signals for a car remote – and about as many possible key cut configurations. The odds that an identical color, identicle vehicle with both the same remote frequency AND the same key cut would be sitting a few doors away was nearly one in a million according to my rough calculations. I was just glad I didn’t drive off…the poor owner would have thought her vehicle had been ransacked when she got into mine.

      Liked by 2 people

      • anne ovari says:

        That’s so funny that a similar thing happened to you Charlie and it’s amazing that you were able to unlock the other person’s van. We must be a bit slack here as I hadn’t locked our van and neither had the other driver. I’d like to think we are able to trust one another.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          I was in the Chicago area at the time. Not a good idea there.

          Like

          • anne ovari says:

            Hopefully after the Storm that will change☺

            Like

          • MMBev says:

            You guys are making me scared again. I drove a Saturn three door coup – yes, silver – the last few years I worked. I actually got into three different but similar cars in our small city of ……… here in BC and, this blows my mind, started them and then realized ….. whoops …… Charlie please work the math probabilities on that for me?

            But the worst was one horrible, blizzard-like, incredibly gusty Sunday morning. My husband said he would drive me to Mass (he was afraid to let one-eye tackle the job and I was glad). So I asked if we could stop first at Safeway and get bread and milk as we need some. So he did, and since we we’re both handicapped, yup, he parked in the most handi spot. I came out. I looked. The car. The car. Then I saw it. Now I said gusty. I have to maintain a kind of “thought” in my mind to do anything, and wind blows so I steady against it and , and , and , then it stops! If I am lucky it starts again before I fall over. Anyway, there was the car, I could hardly see for snow and wind, I hauled open the door and dumped myself inside, and said DRIVE. (Well, perhaps a bit loudly, I didn’t want to be late for Mass.) Nothing. Dear, DRIVE or I’ll be late. Nothing.

            Then, I turned to the driver’s side. Who knows who he was. He was in shock. I lept out. My husband was yelling over the wind at me, from the parking space just behind me.

            Liked by 5 people

  16. narnialion54 says:

    Tears running down my face… too much laughing before breakfast 🙂

    Like

  17. anaverena1 says:

    Indeed! MMBev, you are hysterical and wonderful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

