Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day Five

Our sure defense.

Our sure defense.

Through Jesus, let us continually offer God a sacrifice of praise, that is, the fruit of lips that confess his name. Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have; God is pleased by sacrifices of that kind.

-Today’s Reading: Hebrews 13:15,16

Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil: for Thou art with me…

-Today’s Psalm; Number 23

Sweet Mother, Holy Immaculate Conception, you came to Lourdes to show us that all that we have that is needful comes from your Holy son, and that it is present to us even in the direst of circumstances. Teach us to freely share the goods your Son has given us in trust, to be a sign of hope to each other, so that like faithful servants, we may return what the Lord has given us with interest, bringing more souls to Him by sharing His joy with them. Young Joey Cronin and his family are walking through the valley of the shadow of death right now. We pray you, ask your Son to heal him as a sign to all that He is with us, that we need fear no evil. May this renew the Culture of Life and of faith throughout the world, to be a true sign of hope that His rod and staff will comfort us through whatever Storms may come.


(Update – Most of the hurdles have now been cleared for transfer and Joey will be moved to a new hospital next week if all goes well. Yesterday, Bishop Emeritus Rene Gracida confirmed Joey, whose confirmation name is now Paul)

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day Five

  1. Fran says:


    Liked by 1 person

  2. the phoenix says:

    Thank you very much for this encouraging update, in which it is clear that prayers are still very much needed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy D says:

    Wish I could be there to give them a hug. Jesus and Mary, please hug them for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. marti says:

    What a gift!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Paul says:

    Thanks for posting the Novena daily, Charlie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Becky-TN says:

    Praise God – that’s awesome, Charlie!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. audiemarie2014 says:



  8. MMBev says:

    May the Holy Spirit, called once again to Joey, as He was at Baptism, bring Joey Paul to the fullness of health and wholeness so that his life will bring a witness of incredible joy and gratitude to God from his parents, from Joey, a new Paul, and all who know of his experience.

    I have come to realize that the prayers you have written for us could be copied and kept. It is a long time since I have felt whole whole-heartedly the words used to convey the need. This novena can be used at any time, for any occasion, simply with a change of the designated request.

    Other people’s prayers virtually never echo in my heart, but these so truly do. Thank you for another gift, Charlie. I can’t even begin to count all the blessings that have come to me since arriving here. ..from you, and from the other commentators.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jacqueline Nevinger says:

    I was surprised this evening when my husband told the story of young Joey during his homily. His focus was the Gospel message of prayer and how it can change the most drastic situations. He also said it is up to us to protect the gift of life. Maybe not in those exact words but close. Probably 1000 people at Mass..or more. You never know how the Holy Spirit works in people. It will be interesting to know when we get to the other side. My husband also told me years ago that the elderly in Holland didn’t want their kids to visit bc it would somehow lead to being “put to sleep”….can’t remember the exact details. But that supports what you were saying of what is occurring in Europe. For at least 15-20 years now! God Bless You, Jacquie

    Sent from my iPad


    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      This morning, the priest I went to confession with at a different parish said something about the Joey Cronin situation. I told him I was the guy who had mobilized everybody. There was a little pride in it, certainly, but also some talk about the balance of responsibility and restraint in such situations…the desperate need for more prayer through action – the least recognized form of prayer in modern life – and one of the most needed. But it was pretty cool…he was obviously impressed…and I think it lightened my penance a bit.


      • MMBev says:

        I am so glad you told us this. I had a different response. I don’t know many people to ask, so there were only two I could email. I don’t always do the most appropriate thing anymore which makes me feel really humiliated and embarrassed. I had forwarded your blog entries, and one of the recipients told me last Friday that I had sent them eight or nine emails in a very annoyed voice and told me to take their email address off my list. I said I was most sorry but there were times when with the brain damage, I did do things that were not in the most socially acceptable way. But I did say I had contacted LifeSite, as I was sure other commentators had as well. I realized she hadn’t read any of the emails when she started quizzing me, as in, how did I know that the first test didn’t show he was brain dead etc etc. She volunteers at the Pregnancy Counselling Office, which is why I thought they’d phone the hospital. I felt so stupid at that point I was afraid I would cry, so I just got out of the after Mass Friday coffee group and went home.

        And then, and then, thank you Charlie, thank You Jesus, there was LifeSite’s News Story on Joey. And again on Monday! I know they receive Lifesite and read it, so I felt better.

        I’m so glad you told the priest. You mean he actually GAVE you a penance after that? Hah, he should have been the one doing the “command center”!


        • Dan Tucker says:

          MMBev, I sympathize with you in regard to the difficulty “spreading the news.” I too have had a difficult time finding receptive hearts and ears among my 40 something friends, brother and sister. I frequently get the silent treatment when I send emails with links to Charlie’s site, Mark Mallet’s, Pelianito’s or Locutions. I then tried to elaborate on why I am sending the link, and made reference to news articles to illustrate the timeliness of what is being discussed on these spiritual sites. I thought I was making it plain as day why these things are important but when people don’t want to tune in, they simply won’t. I also got a “please don’t bother me with this” from someone I care about, and it hurt.

          Feeling a bit of a failure, especially after reading our Lady’s wishes that her words be made known on the Locutions site, I prayed for the grace to know how to proceed. My dad, in his 85 years of wisdom suggested that I back off and remember that God is the one who changes hearts. Dad and I had a brainstorm to develop an attractive business card with the names of these sites, which I wish I could include here. I have begun passing out some of these cards, leaving them in church, etc. to try to spread the word. The scripture that comes to mind is Luke 14 about the banquet that God prepared and issued invites for, but the intended guests were too preoccupied to go…so the poor and the lame, who were receptive to the invitation were invited instead.

          So I encourage you to keep trying to reach people despite the occasional rebuff. People are listening though perhaps for some the message needs more time to sink in. Other hearts may be more receptive than those we’d originally hoped to reach.


          • charliej373 says:

            I think that a refined way of spreading the seed, Dan. “…and as he sowed, some seeds fell along the path, and the birds came and devoured them. Other seeds fell on rocky ground, where they had not much soil, and immediately they sprang up, since they had no depth of soil, but when the sun rose they were scorched; and since they had no root they withered away. Other seeds fell upon thorns, and the thorns grew up and choked them. Other seeds fell on good soil and brought forth grain, some a hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty.” – Matthew 13:4-8

            Liked by 1 person

          • I, also, made up business cards with the address for the Blessed Hope forum, where I am posting a (fairly conservative) sprinkling of various seeds. I haven’t found many takers for the cards so far, but I’m glad to hear someone else is doing a similar thing. I hope we can keep the internet on long enough for people to find these messages and benefit from them.


        • “I don’t always do the most appropriate thing anymore which makes me feel really humiliated and embarrassed.”

          Bev, you’re such a dear soul and very much appreciated. I always look forward to reading your posts here, so please take heart — you’re doing great, as far as I can see.🙂


      • marie says:

        Joey is very blessed to have your support, Charlie. I feel so hopeful on his behalf just knowing that you have mobilised us all to pray.

        Likewise, I have been so much more hopeful about Father Gordon’s situation since you announced that he is on your radar. You are a towerhouse of strength and prayer. I feel blessed and thankful to be part of the community you have created here.

        Sweet Mother, Holy Immaculate Conception, ask your Son to heal Joey, and, please intercede for Father Gordon. Amen.


  10. Thank you, Charlie, for providing us with this beautiful, powerful Novena.


Leave a Reply

