Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day Seven

Shrine to Our Lady on Ellis Island, in the midst of Lake Erie, rising abruptly in the woods. - Photo by our reader, the Phoenix

Shrine to Our Lady on Kelley’s Island, in the midst of Lake Erie, rising abruptly in the woods. – Photo by our reader, the Phoenix

In the beginning, when God created the heavens and the earth,
the earth was a formless wasteland, and darkness covered the abyss,
while a mighty wind swept over the waters.

Then God said,
“Let there be light…”

-Today’s Reading, Genesis:1

Our Lady, Immaculate Conception, you came to Lourdes to remind us that all that is, is the handiwork of God. He is Master of creation. All the satan can do is mutilate or negate what God has created. He creates nothing. We are all God’s children, but endowed with free will, we must choose whose disciples we will be. We can participate with God in creation, itself – or we can participate with the satan in attacking what God has created. The ethics of modern medicine decreed that young Joey Cronin should be destroyed, cut off from that which gives him life while he heals. Your people rose up in a fountain of faith to recognize that all we can be is servants – and chose to be servants of the light of creation. We pray you, inspire all humanity to rise up and say with the Creator, “Let there be light.”

Amen

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Novena to Our Lady of Lourdes for Joey Cronin: Day Seven

  1. the phoenix says:

    One tiny point … It’s Kelleys Island.
    Continuing to pray for Joey …
    and the words of this novena are very deep every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diane says:

    Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Chris says:

    Amen…Let their be light

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Judy says:

    Charlie: All your prayers this week have been so very beautiful. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Julia says:

    Charlie, thank you for keeping up sharing Novena with us. And thank you for sharing the lovely picture from the phoenix. Praised be Jesus and Mary.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fran says:

    +Amen+ Lovely prayer.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. anne says:

    wow……that photo is gorgeous. Our Lady is right there in the midst of the most beautiful Creation. Oh so far from me! so thank you for sharing.

    Like

  8. anne says:

    Australia’s government in a showdown mess. I am sorry for placing it here but need you all to see this.

    Like

  9. Frances Harry says:

    Amen! Come Lord Jesus…thru the Immaculate Heart of Mary!!

    Like

  10. narnialion54 says:

    Such a beautiful novena, Charlie and lovely photo, Phoenix.
    Thank you.

    Like

  11. audiemarie2014 says:

    Amen! Love the picture and prayer. Both are beautiful. Thank you, Charlie and the Phoenix.

    Like

  12. Ceri says:

    Thank you for this lovely prayer. Thank you also for the deepest growth of my life. I have become so fond of all in this group.

    Like

  13. Spikenard says:

    I have two questions for you Charlie 1) I remember reading at one time what Our Lady’s favorite title is and I think I remember it’s Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary, do you know? and 2) I’ve been searching to no avail for an article you had recently posted by a guest who spoke of being prepared with such things as using water from hot water heater. I think he was some kind of engineer. Could you provide the link/article for me please if it rings a bell?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hi Spikenard. No, Our Lady has never shared with me what her favorite title is. She did tell me that she prefers the title of Our Lady of Tepeyac as her proper American title for the apparition at Tepeyac Hill to St. Juan Diego – but she did not express any ire at being called primarily Our Lady of Guadalupe for that apparition. She said it in context that the Old World would be re-evangelized from the New World during this Storm, and she preferred that be done under the American title than a Europeanized title.

      As for the preparation, there are a host of articles under the Peppy Prepper, which I link to at right in the permanent preparation links. It is done by John McConnell, an old friend of mine who has organized fellow Baptist men to help at disaster sites throughout this country for over a decade.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ann says:

        “. . . the Old World would be re-evangelized from the New World during this Storm.”
        This statement stopped me cold, as I suddenly realized I experienced this just last week. Temporarily living in a new city, I’m still exploring convenient Mass times at various churches, happy that I’m at least getting in a couple days so far with times that work for me. In the process, I also found not one, but three wonderful adoration chapels that are open all day, so I’ve been going to adoration every day.

        One day as I was leaving, a Hispanic lady, who I had seen in the chapel on other days, followed me out and started telling me her life story in the parking lot, all the tragedies and trials, and how Jesus and “Mama Maria” helped her through each one. She had a well-worn prayer book that was crammed with holy pictures that had been soaked off the glass of grocery store votive candles, and she kept showing me various prayers that she said I had to say “every day and don’t skip.” She showed me prayers for protection from evil spirits, and deliverance from curses, and demonstrated how I had to cross my forehead and lips, and plead the Blood of Jesus over each member of my family “every day and don’t skip.” She showed me in her book where she had whited-out the name of satan every time it appeared, because, she said, Jesus told her not to say that name. So, when she prayed she substituted with “evil” or some other generic word. She told me how I had to say the prayers to St. Joseph, and praise to the Trinity “every day and don’t skip.”

        After half an hour, though I admired her devotion, and her courage, talking like that to a stranger, I began to get irritated. I thought, I already do most of these things, and besides, I just came out of the adoration chapel, for Pete’s sake. Her English was hard to understand, and I thought, why doesn’t she go and evangelize some Hispanics. Then she started showing me her armor, dozens of medals and scapulars she had on chains and pinned under her clothes. Well, I couldn’t resist, and with a bit of smugness, I pulled out mine. But she abruptly changed course, ignoring my own impressive collection, and tapping her fingertips on her lips, said, “you have to eat the body–eat,” and she tapped again. Motioning towards the chapel, she said, “they are like Protestants, they go there, but Mass, no.”

        I stood there, stunned. It hit me like a lightning bolt, I was convicted. I had been taking my time to find Mass times that were “convenient,” with no thought to the immensity of what I was shunning on those days that I didn’t “eat.” I mumbled something to the lady about wishing all the Masses weren’t in the morning, to which she responded by inviting me to a noon Mass the next day, if I was ok with it being in Spanish. Of course it was ok, but I know there was no noon Mass listed in any of the church bulletins, nor on any of their outdoor signs. I assumed it must be a private Mass for some group.

        Well, it turned out to be just a normal, daily Mass, and there were several hundred people at that unadvertised Mass every day, all Hispanic. And they did not hide their faith. Some knelt and kissed the ground when they passed the tabernacle. I saw quite a few wearing St. Benedict crucifixes or Miraculous Medals on the outside of their clothing. And when Mass was over, instead of rushing to the exit, a great many of them went up and stood or knelt before the tabernacle to pray before leaving, and many more went directly to the adoration chapel. So I believe you’re right, Charlie. It’s already happening.

        Like

        • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

          Ann, that is a fascinating and convicting story. Thanks for talking the time to share it.

          Like

        • MMBev says:

          Thank you so very much for writing this comment. It has really touch my heart. I have met only one or two hispanic people at our Church, usually trying to get immigration papers for themselves or for their families. I wish we had hundreds of “your hispanic” lady. What a contrast, even for those of us who faithfully try to be witnesses.

          Like

        • Irish7 says:

          Thanks for sharing Ann. As I read your story, I discerned a bit of a dark religious spirit about it. I could very well be wrong (and surely the idea of going to Mass is good, etc), but I don’t know…something feels “off” about it to me. As I was reading it, it felt more like an attack against you and I felt defensive. But then you found good in it as did other commenters and you all seem to have good discernment) so I may very well be wrong. I just thought I’d mention it in case.

          Like

        • Ann says:

          I know this post is old and maybe nobody will read another response, but I feel compelled to share this addition anyway. Today I was catching up on some of Mark Mallett’s writing that I had missed and this one from a couple weeks ago blew me away: http://www.markmallett.com/blog/the-summit/ He tells of how the veil of the sanctuary was split, and the Body and Blood of Jesus are now the means by which we can enter directly into the presence of God.

          “The verb “eats” used here is the Greek verb trogon which means to “munch” or “gnaw”. The meaning was so clear to Christ’s listeners that St. John records in 6:66 of his gospel that “as a result of this, many of his disciples returned to their former way of life and no longer accompanied him.” Yes, 666 still symbolizes apostasy today, a rejection of Christ crucified, which is re-presented at each and every Sacrifice of the Mass.”

          The word, “eat,” keeps coming to me, and I am getting a very strong message that the time has come to boldly proclaim this truth to our fallen-away friends and family members (with kindness and charity, of course), and above all, to examine our own attitudes. I now believe the Hispanic lady was indeed a harbinger, sent to shake me out of my own complacency, besides confirming what Charlie said about the Old World re-evangelizing the New.

          By the way, it is important to note that I did not detect any “religiosity” or arrogance in her, but only a deep and humble love for Jesus and Mary, and probably the Holy Spirit prompting her to disregard any respect for my time. The only reason I felt irritated was I had something else to do that I had erroneously thought more important. Another huge message for me is that God can speak abruptly, and in ways we least expect, asking us to completely change course, and we had better learn right now how to listen and be docile if we hope to hear his voice when the storm is raging.

          Liked by 1 person

      • Barbara Dore says:

        I think Our lady likes us to use the title as Our Lady , The Mediatrix of all Graces

        Like

  14. pineconejill says:

    Charlie, thank you so much for the wonderful novena, your prayers are so true and novenas have such great power, it’s a powerful gift for Joey. I once prayed a Memorare novena for my great aunt; she had cancer and I prayed for an end to her suffering. It didn’t go quite how I was expecting since she died the exact same hour I finished my novena, but, her suffering did end, so the prayer was answered (and I am very careful how I word them nowadays.)
    I love Genesis 1:2, when I taught CCD I would have the kids fingerpaint it–it was so squishy and fun. I am saddened that they have turned “the Spirit of God” moving over the waters into a “mighty wind”. I grew up with the image of the Holy Spirit moving over the waters, loving the world into existence. Now its a mighty wind? What good is wind going to do? Sounds more violent than creative and loving to me. Makes me a little sad.
    God’s blessings everyone
    pcj

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, Jill, I certainly do not know what God will do with Joey Cronin….but I know we have already seen a small miracle. The intent was to let his parents reconcile themselves to themselves to life support being removed on Friday, January 30th. That was the plan. This has already been a sign…a sign when we act together, without vanity, with faith, and with resolute fortitude in manning our post, God moves and we can change things dramatically. The hospital thought they were going to pull the plug on Joey Friday morning…they thought nothing could change that. God’s people rose up…and the boy has been given a chance at life – and now even the hospital knows he is not brain dead. Whether he is given complete recovery or not, the Culture of Life made a small victory here that no one expected.

      I expect to have some news about Joey tomorrow afternoon.

      Liked by 3 people

      • MMBev says:

        I wanted a “relational” conversation with the person who answered the hospital phone. Everyone experienced the measure, polite, monotone, structured message when we phoned before that Friday.

        At times when I have had to change the direction that a student was going against their will, afterwards, whether it was done by me or another, and no matter how small the response, I gave all the credit to the student. I explained how proud I was that they were able to look at both sides, think about it and be able to change their minds, even doing it wholeheartedly when maybe they still didn’t want to. Now lets face it, that was only partly true. But the attention to the fact that THEY made the change (even if forced), made what went before sort of disappear, and brought about a lift of their spirits and a measure of feeling like they had accomplished something.

        So when I phone back (a day later, since I was in Canada, following the news story), the woman answered exactly the way the person did when I first phoned. And I did what I used to do with the students. I gave the credit for the turn around in response to the hospital, and how elated I was that they had the courage to do that. I discussed how I knew how hospitals, like most institutions, have outside over-site insisting upon justifying every single expense, and how I was sure that the hospital and it’s doctors and staff have to take the best medical information they receive and then have to make an honest and just decision for everyone concerned in the situation. I praised them for making such a difficult decision to reverse completely their first response and have fortitude to make a complete change, giving Joey his best chance at life, and how wonderful that was for his parents.

        With each interaction that woman’s voice changed. By the time we got off the phone she was darn near crying with pride.. I ended by saying, and oh, by the way, I’m from Canada. I was the first person from Canada she had spoken to. And I do know that she was so touched by the conversation, that it went as far to the top as she could get it, and went to every staff person she’s met in the next few days.

        That conversation changed her as clearly as it changed the students I worked with. God does that with us. There were enough people telling just the facts, and she knew them too, but it maybe removed some scales from her eyes, and hopefully will for some others as she relates our conversation.

        Like

  15. Bonnie C says:

    Charlie, Thank you for this novena. I was thinking maybe you did get to write about the satan’s ways while you were on the mountain. Thinking you also got to show us how to respond. Sending my guardian angel right now to give you a tender kiss on your brow. A kiss of thanks and encouragement, blessings and affection.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Nothing is lost, Bonnie…but all comes in God’s time. Sometimes I don’t know what God’s time actually is, so he has to pull on my leash to get me to heel properly. But nothing is lost.

      Liked by 3 people

      • LJD says:

        I must admit, I am going through some withdrawal with no new writings of late. (I am not complaining at all about the novena/prayer requests for Joe)

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Not to worry, LJD…I kind of am, too. I had planned to write during the Novena…but in the first five days, things arose that prevented it, so I figured okay, God, I reckon you want us to keep our focus. But come Wednesday evening or Thursday morning…lotta stuff going on.

          Like

  16. Ceri says:

    Spikenard, the article you are trying to find was written by Daniel O’Conner I believe. It was practical preps for catholics.

    Like

  17. bnuckols says:

    Just a question. Is Joey still on a ventilator?
    Always praying for life and healing!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I believe he is breathing on his own, now. They had him on the ventilator primarily because of damage to his throat…they operated on Saturday, Jan. 31, for that and it was a success. It was just a few days to allow that to heal and then they would remove that tube. He is continuing now to react to stimuli: he wiggles his toes and reacts to his bed being moved or being jostled or touched.

      Liked by 1 person

      • bnuckols says:

        The tracheostomy is normally done to prevent damage and paralysis to the vocal cords and pressure type sores due to a planned prolonged use of a ventilator tube or inserted airway. We went through this with a 17 year old friend last summer and the adult son of another friend a couple of months ago. They were each on the ventilator several weeks after the tracheostomy. (The boy still couldn’t talk above a whisper for a while after he was breathing on his own. )
        Wonderful if Joey is breathing on his own, though!

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Rose says:

    Charlie, thank you…I frequently check in here during the day and in the evening to gather with my family in faith…such comfort and hope always!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Nancy D says:

    I pray that Joey’s parents and loved ones will receive from Our Lord that peace that passes understanding, that quiet confidence that comes from knowing God is with them and will never leave them or forsake them. God is good. His goodness will see them through, come what may. He’s on their side, He’s got them in the palm of His hand. There is NO safer place to be. Blessed be God.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

