Correction and Update

By Charlie Johnston

In a response to a comment the other day I noted the geographic restrictions involved in the president’s request for an authorization of military force against ISIS. While that was part of an earlier proposal, the request that has actually reached the Congress does not place geographic restrictions on it. I apologize for not giving the most up-to-date information.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Correction and Update

  1. Bob says:

    A media savvy guy who is willing to be honest and admit his mistakes is more likely to instill trust.
    Thanks bob.


  2. Gabrielle says:

    Charlie, no need to apologize. Thank you for always trying to give such up to date information. Your blog is greatly appreciated.


    • charliej373 says:

      Nah, Gabrielle, when I was a newspaper editor and columnist and then on radio, I always loathed the way so many would shout something that turned out to be wrong and then put a mealy-mouth correction in tiny type inside. I try not to get my facts wrong, but when I do, if possible I want you to hear it from me first and loud – and if not, I want it corrected as soon as possible. I may get a fact wrong sometimes, but when I do, I’m not going to mealy-mouth my way through it.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Spikenard says:

    Thank you for your honesty Charlie!

    It might be that you have spoke of this, I don’t know, but I remember reading Anne Catherine Emmerick’s books on the Life of Christ and how John the Baptist spent time in wilderness before his mission. And I wondered about your journey. I read that you took little, and I can imagine you relied on the goodness of strangers. But did you also learn how to live on foods in the wilderness? Like berries and plants and animals you could capture? What, do you think, was behind this mission, and why did God have you do this, do you think? Should we, too, learn to forage, or is this specific to your mission?

    And I sooo admire your stand in not taking part in a government such as we have, and would desire it for myself & family. But with 6 children and astronomical costs of healthcare, I hope God would have mercy that we do buy medical insurance? I pray every day against abortion and federal funding of abortion….I so wish we did not have to have anything to do with this mess! Like you’ve said in previous articles, it seems a moot point in protesting, no grass-root effort is going to topple our government’s current ways. Except prayer ~ because in the end God wins, right? Is there anything else we can do?


    • charliej373 says:

      I just did a hit and miss, Spikenard. If things got dicey, I could catch fish in a seining net overnight. In the wilderness, I often ate wild greens – and in California had a lot of fruit trees. In Louisiana and Texas there were a lot of pecan trees.

      If you want to know more why I went just go to the search feature and pull up “pilgrimage journal.” It will give you the entries I have written here so far on that journey. You can start with this piece.

      No, my mission is not your mission. You may need to learn to forage, but not because it was my mission. Again, the key to everything is acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around. The next right step for you is not what is right in front of me, but what is right in front of you. God bless.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary Ann says:

    It’s hard to get things accurate with this govt, which is constantly playing a shell game precisely so opponents won’t get it right.


  5. Peter says:

    Hi Charlie,

    The U.S., U.K., France and a whole slew of other nations have pulled out of Yemen. The U.S. is bolstering their forces in Kuwait. Why do I get this feeling that a huge Sunni-Shiite war is about to break?? I’m hearing that there is little hope for peace in the Ukraine despite the newly reached peace accord. Now is not the time for the U.S. to get bogged down in a religious conflict in the Middle East since many believe they are the perpetrators of this whole conflict.
    Pray for peace,


  6. Barbara Dore says:

    Charlie, how do you drink water?


    • charliej373 says:

      Forgive me, Barbara, but I don’t understand this question at all. Please clarify. I drink it like everybody else does.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Barbara Dore says:

        Sorry, during your travelling, , miles away from shops or houses. no water available


        • charliej373 says:

          Ah, gotcha! I took great pains to try to be near streams and rivers…I tried never to be more than a mile away from one. That was not always possible…when I went into certain mountainous wildernesses I could not follow the course of a river. Luckily, in the mountains, there are usually abundant streams. The main adjustment I would make there is that in the mountainous wildernesses I would, whenever it got into the afternoon, make camp early if a heard a stream nearby. There, I wanted to make sure that I would have water both for the night and to be able to drink my fill and fill my bottles before setting out in the morning.

          I know as I walked, people often wondered about it…and I was amused at the squeamishness factor of so many. I know in modern times, when contemplating drinking stream water, people think “Death!” – which is quite a contrast to our ancestors, the pioneers who, when they came upon a stream thought, “Life!” I was much more in sympathy with our ancestors on the matter. Once, I gleefully decided to tweak peoples’ ‘Ick’ factor. One evening I made camp by the bank of a river in Mississippi. I had some trail mix and of course, the river water. The river was teeming with tadpoles. I told followers of Abraham’s Journey on Facebook later that I had a very wiggly drink of water that night.


          • Bob says:

            After watching too many of those shows about parasites and other nasties, such as “The Monster Within” I am much more likely to buy a good water filter system before I drink and in preparation for a storm. Crytro and Gardia sound pretty nasty to me.


          • charliej373 says:

            Understand, Bob. When the park rangers told me the streams I was drinking from were infected with gardia and explained what it was…I felt a twinge. Next time I filled up my water bottle, I will confess I hesitated a moment, then said my little prayer and defiantly took a big drink.


  7. Anne not says:

    Perhaps Barbara’s comment refers to Gideon’s army.????


    • charliej373 says:

      Well, that would make some sense. But God is ever startling, fresh and new. When He acts, He connects things to what was, but in ways that are startling fresh and new.

      Certainly, I have some striking gifts of communication and logic, but at bottom I am very plain. I like restaurants like Cracker Barrel and Black-Eyed Peas better than the four-star varieties (though I do have a quiet passion for some of the finer French and a few Italian restaurants). I do very few things for their symbolic value…just stumble forward. I think it is far too easy to get caught up in a breathless, but false, portentiousness when you do that. Just do the work in front of you and let God take care of the portents.


  8. Spikenard says:

    Ever since I found out about the aborted fetal cell line, I’ve refrained from allowing my children to get those vaccines due to the moral issue. Of note in some of the new measles cases in our country is the fact that the strain of measles diagnosed matches the strain in vaccines. In other words, newly vaccinated children shed the virus to others getting them infected shortly after their getting vaccinated. (See here:

    Re: Autism and MMR – the same website you quote: Children of God for Life has many articles written about the apparent link. An exert from here: :

    “Would it surprise you to know that prior to the introduction of the MMR vaccine that was produced using aborted fetal cell lines, the rate of autism in the United States was 1 in 10,000? Would it surprise you to learn that the dates coinciding with vaccine mandates state by state also coincide with a rise in autism? In 1995 another spike in autism rate surged. Why? The chickenpox vaccine, which uses aborted fetal cell lines was introduced to the US market that same year. Would it surprise you to learn that in other countries, the same spikes in autism correlate to the introduction of aborted fetal vaccines?”

    We currently have 1 in 88 boys being diagnosed with Autism in the US (slightly lower in girls).

    Charlie, you seem more educated than I, and I’ve come to respect your gift of intelligence. And the choice of not using the MMR was a no-brainer for me due to the aborted fetal cell line use. But the studies from Debbie Vinnedge’s site do seem convincing. I’m just wondering if you’ve seen them Charlie?


    • Spikenard says:

      (meant to put this under the other article about vaccines….sorry!)


    • charliej373 says:

      Well, I don’t trust government not to meddle with things “for our own good” and not telling us these days. But I also find a problem in the diagnosis of a lot of illnesses, There is a huge spike in Autism diagnoses and it bears examination…but I think a big part of the problem is that autism is over-diagnosed now – and was certainly underdiagnosed prior to the 80s. Certain disorders are now commonly diagnosed that used to be considered within the normal range of behavior. Certainly one of the most abused and over-diagnosed disorders is ADD, which used to be called normal boyhood.

      I must confess that I have more confidence in medicine at the margins (that is in critical situations) than I did years ago. But I have less confidence in it in its habit of making every type of behavior pattern into a disorder. Is everybody who is absent-minded autistic? You would think so, given modern practice. I honestly think that, if I were the same boy today that I was 50 years ago, some doctor would diagnose me as mildly autistic. I was abnormally smart, sometimes severely absent-minded, and often seemed to consider things from a weirdly alien perspective.

      As I go forward on this, I want to take some care not to come off as pooh-poohing people’s concerns. Because I truly do believe many are legitimate. But I think attention is being directed away from the right source to the wrong source in many cases in a kind of magician’s misdirection. I have not got it sorted out. I know things are in a mess…but we are not going to get out of that mess by substituting polemics for evidence.

      So yes, I agree it’s a mess. But when assertions are made on matters of fact, I would like to see who is making them and where they are getting them from. You will note that when I make a statement of fact here, I almost always provide a link to a reputable source. I appreciate the sincerity of Mrs. Vinnedge, but in the second piece you linked to, it does not state an author of the short piece, nor does it offer any supporting data for the assertions it makes. It is just an assertion. It may be a true assertion, it may not be…but if we are going to be serious about these matters, we really need to get beyond unsourced scary assertions.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

