The Lion in the Streets

(Photo by Robyn Preston - New Zealand)

(Photo by Robyn Preston – New Zealand)

By Charlie Johnston

“Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour”

-1 Peter 5:8

When an enemy comes to assault your castle, he does not attack where your fortifications are strongest. He finds the weak spots and mounts his assault there. Therefore, set the heaviest guard where your defenses are weakest without neglecting your fortifications.

The devil is on the prowl. He has already taken most of those castles which are weakly or indifferently fortified. Now he seeks the vulnerable spots in those castles which are well fortified, that he may take or disable them from the confrontation at hand.

Call things by their proper name. If you say that what is evil is actually good – or even neutral, you open your soul to assault. If you say that what is good is actually evil, you do the same. But make your denunciations with fear and trembling, for if you declare to be evil that which is actually just mistaken or errant, you blast open a wall of your castle, allowing the devil access to your stronghold.

Do not shrink from confrontation for fear of being wrong. Even saints have sometimes battled other saints without either of them sinning – and sometimes with neither being right. You can enter the lists with an opponent without sinning. But if you cannot engage in contention with another without inflaming yourself with frenzied malice against them, it is better that you refrain altogether – and offer prayer for those involved in the battle while binding up their wounds when the battle is finished.

Even in matters of intrinsic evil, leave some room for the repentance of those who commit it, without compromising with the evil, itself. Where intrinsic evil is not involved, it is the intention behind the act that makes it either errant or evil. To intentionally seek the harm of an innocent is evil. To impose your will by force on a matter that is otherwise licit on others is evil. To use your profession of faith as a means to oppress others and aggrandize yourself is not only evil, but stinks of blasphemy.

Take great care in how you judge these things, for with the judgment you judge, so shall you be judged. If you are quick to judge others’ errors as a matter of greed, of envy, of lust or a thirst for power, then when you stand in judgment, the Lord shall impute the same motives to your errors and failings. Your pride that you are not like other men, but better, holier and nobler will be the source of your own fall. Hold fast to Christ.

Battle manfully and with resolve, but do not be miserly in sharing the mercy the Lord has given you in abundance. If you are, you will not conquer your opponent; you will give yourself over to the lion who wants to devour you.

I have told you true.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in (FP), Prophecy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

231 Responses to The Lion in the Streets

  1. Michelle says:

    Since we are talking about demons, I was wondering if anyone has had an experience like mine. About 5 years ago, I was sitting in my house and a crow came to my window. We sat and stared at one another for several long minutes before he flew away. At the time I just thought “that was weird.” Shortly after that evil seemed to descend on my family. I don’t know if I should say all that happened to us but it has been really bad. I would say to my husband, “I can’t really explain this, but I feel evil all around me.” At the time, I didn’t put the crow and the evil together but now I wonder if there was a connection. Now, when I see a crow, I start praying.


    • Bob says:

      I would say don’t be paranoid about every crow you see. THAT crow was a likely attack. Otherwise continue to do the right things of prayer, prayers for spiritual protection of yourself and your family, pray to Mary, St Michael and always remember the cross of Jesus and the Blood of Jesus. Demons hate Jesus crucified because that reminds them of their greatest blunder and their greatest defeat. Also as I am sure you have repented of any sins or occult involvement in your life you are probably not leaving any doors open there but it is worth asking if any family members are leaving doors open as that is an area where special prayers of protection could be directed if that is the case. And if you see anything major needing attention I could provide a link to our St Louis deliverance ministry or others could offer help if needed, depending on where you live or Charlie may have some people he knows.


      • Michelle says:

        There are a couple more connections I have made to that particular time. One is that a friend of mine was having some sort of spiritual thing going on. I couldn’t help her through talking or friendship, so I pulled a rosary out of a drawer and started praying it. Now, I hadn’t been to church in 35 years so that was kind of an odd thing for me to do. I’ve been praying it everyday, since. The other connection is that our daughter started working for this family that has absolutely no morals. Of course, they loved her and she loved the attention. I’ve wondered if they had some connection with the occult, just a gut feeling, though. All of this at the same time as the crow. Now, since then we have become estranged with 3 of our 4 children. It catipulted me back to church. I don’t understand any of it. It’s like our kids sold their souls. There is much more to this story, but the main thing is that it does seem like an attack. Before this I would have described our family as a happy family. We so enjoyed being together. We had so much fun together. Joyous comes to mind. I thank God daily for those 25 years. I don’t really know what a deliverance ministry is, but I would like to learn. Thanks Bob.


        • Bob says:

          Yes something “spiritual” is a red flag about your friend as many today think if it is “spiritual” it must be good not realizing that those who serve God are in One camp and those who either serve themselves or spirits other than God are in another. There is an incredible spiritual naivete in our age. Of course those friends of your daughters and your “gut feeling” should be prayed about further. You may contact the St Louis renewal office for more info and depending on where you live they may have some other help. As for what deliverance ministry is ours is focused on both healing and deliverance as demons can create problems for us, anything from temptations, to obsessions of the mind, oppressions and difficulties in our lives which can be addressed through prayer. Our ministry always includes healing prayer also as there is usually some emotional wound, pattern of sin or other wounding that God would heal. Empty places in our lives must be filled with God’s love so there are no empty places for demons to harass us in later. (Luke Chapter 11 vs 24-26)So feel free to give them a call if that would help. Our Archdiocese is over our ministry so it is sound. I will pray for you myself.


  2. Bob says:

    Before Charlie gives us something else to ponder, when he has time, as we were discussing how the satan attacks our “castle” where it is weakest, I want to end my post with a link on the 7 deadly sins and the 7 virtues which we should develop to counter them. Some spiritual directors will ask their directees to consider their predominant weakness so that they can address their weaknesses which can be most easily attacked. Charlie had much good thoughts on ways pride, vanity, judging or cowardice can open us for attacks, now and when the storm gets worse. Our weaknesses are places we can be most easily attacked. And in trying to evangelize or help others come to the truth as Pope Francis said we will often come to the seriously wounded and we will need to be a field hospital for them.( In my daily work with addicts I often see those who are useless for battle at the present time as they are slaves to their addictions, lusts, I once was.) And so perhaps we could benefit from considering our major faults and ways to counter these with the opposing virtues and most importantly with the help of God’s grace. In learning to guard our castles this may be a subject worth more in depth discussion as our individual weaknesses vary?


    • charliej373 says:

      Part of girding our loins for battle is recognizing the reality of what we may face, preparing ourselves to deal with it as Christians, neither timid nor maliciously enraged. One of my favorite discussions of that is in the late Rev. Martin Luther King’s “Letter from the Birmingham Jail,” which I consider one of the finest examples of what Christian resistance should be extant in the English language. In one excerpt he says about preparing for protests and sit-ins that, “Mindful of the difficulties involved, we decided to undertake a process of self purification. We began a series of workshops on nonviolence, and we repeatedly asked ourselves: “Are you able to accept blows without retaliating?” “Are you able to endure the ordeal of jail?” We decided to schedule our direct action program for the Easter season…”

      I should note that I am working on a detailed and somewhat complex piece, both on where we now are and on examination of conscience as we enter the lists, that I expect to have up later today.


    • Mick says:

      Thanks, Bob. I needed this.


  3. connie says:

    This is Fr. Gallaghers’ series which has about 15, 16 approx 30 min videos. Thanks for the links, Bob which helped me find this.


  4. Mick says:

    Charlie, I need some help because I am seriously confused. You said in this article, “But make your denunciations with fear and trembling, for if you declare to be evil that which is actually just mistaken or errant, you blast open a wall of your castle, allowing the devil access to your stronghold.” That part I get, I think. But in a post several months ago, you said that with all his faults, Obama is utterly sincere. I’m having trouble squaring these two statements. Obama lies, cheats, pushes the murder of unborn children, violates the Constitution, takes away our rights, steals from the citizenry, coddles illegals, breaks the laws enacted by Congress, ignores court orders… all before breakfast. How can this be sincere? In my mind, he’s unequivocally evil. But if he’s sincere, then am I allowing the satan to breach my defenses by saying that Obama is evil? I’m not condemning him to hell; in fact, like you, I pray for him (although admittedly not daily; I can’t stand to think of him that often). But Jesus said, “By their fruits shall you know them.” Obama’s fruits cry out to heaven by their stench; but does his sincerity mean that he is merely mistaken or errant, rather than evil? Am I missing something? Am I overthinking this? Help!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Keep in mind, Mick, that that is a matter of private revelation to me, on which I could be wrong. On the other hand, sincerity is not a definitive virtue. It only means you truly believe what you do to be good. Adolf Hitler was very sincere. I have thought since then that it illustrates the vacuousness of sincerity without intellectual and moral rigor. Much of what this president does is objectively evil. But he believes what he does is good. The main advantage of the slim virtue of sincerity over hypocrisy is that conversion can come, once someone sees the reality of the evil of their position. With someone who is committed to hypocrisy, the reality of good and evil is irrelevant, as everything is simply geared to the advance of their own power.

      When I was told that, I was also shown the penitent Obama, who would not realize the monstrous nature of his disorders until long after it meant anything to anyone but him. He is God’s instrument in the sense that Pharaoh was God’s instrument. But he will live to repent after all is left in ashes – knowing that he was primarily responsible for the greatest crisis in the history of western civilization. When I ponder that, I actually feel sorry for him and the damage his continued assaults on faith, truth and liberty do to his soul. But do not think for a minute I suggest he should not be opposed and fought at every avenue.


      • Bob says:

        That does leave me with the ?? on how actively we should oppose Obama knowing the lack of success which is likely” Perhaps it is like Jeremiah who continued to preach God’s truth even though he realized it would probably not change much.


Leave a Reply

