Quick Apologia

I am getting a few folks asking why I don’t respond quicker…and they are right. Of late, I sometimes get backed up to two weeks behind on emails. I have to ask you to bear with me. There is the visible side of this and what is behind the scenes. I did an analysis of how many requests and comments I am responding to right now on a daily basis, in hopes of getting more efficient. Just in the last few weeks, I get at least 200 emails and comments a day that need responses. On busy days, it can spike to near 500. That is in addition to any phone calls, writing posts, and daily errands and other projects. I did the math and I think God must be collapsing time a little – for when I got the numbers, I did not see how to increase efficiency; rather, I really don’t know how it gets done at all.

Many of the requests I get are from people in deep pain or with great sorrows – or very serious questions. As best I can, I want to give a real, considered and prayerful answer rather than becoming pro forma. Frankly, as things get closer, the need gets ever greater. Again, to the best of my ability I give individual and thought out responses to the deep troubles people confide to me. Please be patient with me. Several have told me I should get some people to help respond. That day will probably come, but I am conscious that, while we are on the border of desperate troubles, people who write me want to hear from me, not my designee. Frankly, the grace with which some of you are enlarging your souls tell me that the time will come when more than a few of you can help with those responses. But for now – and for as long as it is reasonably possible – I will do it myself. And I will not start giving short, form responses to try to save time. So I ask that you have patience with me.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Quick Apologia

  1. radiclaudio says:

    Yes – it does seem like our Lord is amplifying your time as I don’t see how you can get much of anything else in life done just writing, reading reading all replies and emails, and responding to even 20% yet alone the level you do reply to. May God continue to bless you with His sense of time, doubling and even tripling your own time for His glory! 🙂

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Charlie, no need to apologize. I read every day and often times I want to comment, but I refrain because I am sure you are overwhelmed by the responses and I don’t consider this a chat board so if I consider my response to not be of urgency, I simply refrain and pray on your words and let the Holy Spirit answer my questions.

    So I am only replying now to be helpful and remind our brothers and sisters that it would be helpful if all of us try to refrain from posting simply to post and be more considerate of Charlie’s time and when one does have something of importance to say or ask, then try to be as brief as possible. God bless all!

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, I appreciate the thought and consideration, Tom, but I would not want anyone to hesitate to comment or write for fear of taking up my time. I’ve always known that if this time came, I would answer individually and directly to everyone for as long as I could. It would keep me up at night if I thought people who had something they needed responding to refrained…I would feel like I had abdicated my solemn duty.

      I think raidoclaudio is right. God is somehow amplifying my time…it is kind of like the loaves and fishes. But here, I think, is a key purpose: if this grows enough, there will be a time when others will have to be involved. I went through my training over my lifetime. I think maybe you who are willing are going through some, too – and you are being prepared to make out a true army who can pass it on, as it were…and there will be less direct need of me as more of you are set to go…so then we will be a team. And if each of our time to respond is amplified, then this hope truly can fill the whole world. So don’t refrain when the spirit moves you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • malachi99 says:

      Completely agree Tom. Though i must admit i have been guilty of doing precisely this very thing (even now 🙂 )I suspect, from my own experience of writing you Charlie that peoples anxieties and fears might make them a bit more on edge and desperate for a response to their concerns. You go to a lot of trouble for our sake and I want to let you know how much we appreciate it. Whilst I do not want to speak for all here I think that having you respond personally iis a real spiritual comfort for people. Being invited into the private quarters of the admiral is ennobling and a source of great comfort and joy.

      God bless you my friend

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Anna Stenken says:

    Thank you for the dedication to your role in guiding us through the storm. I will be praying for you. I would be completely overwhelmed. Be blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kathleen Vacheresse says:

    Charlie you are in our prayers each day

    Like

  5. Mona says:

    Charlie!
    If you post these peoples problems on prayer request or on a new form of headline, we all could help this people in need, and we would love it. You can not save all the people reading your site. We want you to have the time to write your muslings and your postings so you can teach us. It is also your right next step. I have been so glad for your respond on my problems and coments, but also very glad for other peoples loving comments. Give your time a priority check.
    My love from Mona in Denmark

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Most of the emails are intensely private, Mona. They need an equally private answer. There will have to be ways eventually developed, but that time is not quite yet, I don’t think.

      Like

      • luvmercy5775 says:

        Charlie, Reading this post, the following story about Moses is the first thing that came to mind. Pray about how it may apply to you. Meanwhile, with most others who follow this blog, I’ll be praying for you.

        Exodus 18: 13-23

        13 On the morrow Moses sat to judge the people, and the people stood about Moses from morning till evening. 14 When Moses’ father-in-law saw all that he was doing for the people, he said, “What is this that you are doing for the people? Why do you sit alone, and all the people stand about you from morning till evening?” 15 And Moses said to his father-in-law, “Because the people come to me to inquire of God; 16 when they have a dispute, they come to me and I decide between a man and his neighbor, and I make them know the statutes of God and his decisions.” 17 Moses’ father-in-law said to him, “What you are doing is not good. 18 You and the people with you will wear yourselves out, for the thing is too heavy for you; you are not able to perform it alone. 19 Listen now to my voice; I will give you counsel, and God be with you! You shall represent the people before God, and bring their cases to God; 20 and you shall teach them the statutes and the decisions, and make them know the way in which they must walk and what they must do. 21 Moreover choose able men from all the people, such as fear God, men who are trustworthy and who hate a bribe; and place such men over the people as rulers of thousands, of hundreds, of fifties, and of tens. 22 And let them judge the people at all times; every great matter they shall bring to you, but any small matter they shall decide themselves; so it will be easier for you, and they will bear the burden with you. 23 If you do this, and God so commands you, then you will be able to endure, and all this people also will go to their place in peace.”

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          I HAVE contemplated it all along, luv, and the time will come when it shall be done. That is the trajectory and end of what we do here. But that time is not yet. We are a heck of a lot closer than when we began some months back, but it isn’t soup quite yet.

          Like

          • Pete says:

            NO SOUP FOR YOU! :)…sorry, couldn’t resist that one 🙂 Please tell me you know where that is from.
            Be well brother. I will offer up my Rosary tonight for you.
            BTW, how’s your Angel doing with those buttons?

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Haha, well thanks for the Rosary, Pete – and this most assuredly is not a blog about nothing!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Mick says:

            Pete, I’ve never even seen the show, and even I know where that quote is from! It’s one that my brother and sister-in-law say a lot (probably because my sister-in-law is from Germany, and they both have a goofy sense of humor). 🙂

            Like

  6. Bob says:

    To shorten your moderation time can I suggest we shorten the “Me too” as in I am praying for you too, due to time and space and we can assume we are doing so? Also the first thing a co monitor could do, when you decide to assign one, is to screen and post appropriate comments and you could review them and add comments as you see the need to do so, later. And that would perhaps allow you to have more time to respond to the in depth issues and questions you need to take the time with. Just a few ideas.

    Like

  7. Dan Lynch says:

    Steady as she goes Charlie! Slow and deliberate speed. Do not waste your energy and become exhausted. In Christ, Dan

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha Dan! I dare not get exhausted. Since my neurological damage 12 years ago, if I push myself when exhausted, I seriously risk triggering an episode that can knock me out anywhere from a couple of days to a week. I only played superman about three times after my recovery to finally concede that, “Okay, God, we’ll do it your way.” – and it helped me to learn that NOTHING is lost in God’s economy. He does not depend on my prowess to accomplish His will. I need to trust Him to give me what prowess I need when I need it…and when He doesn’t give it to me, I don’t need it.

      Like

  8. Vanessa Joy says:

    Thank you Charlie for being present and real as we do battle moment by moment. Becoming a follower of Jesus in each moment of our lives, is certainly not for the faint hearted. We must suit up and show up and despite the feelings of ambivalence within and the great daily temptations to falsely believe that our little sacrificial moments of love, might just be an exercise in futility… and in the famous words of that politician par excellence, (not) “what difference does it make?” God help us all and save us from ourselves! Indeed, “we can do no great things only small things with great love.” Saint Teresa Lisieux

    Like

  9. Fran says:

    I will pray for you. You must have Divine help, I don’t know how else you are keeping up.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    No apology needed from this quarter, Charlie. You are a runner in a very long and arduous race; you are now becoming one of God’s “true athletes.” A few words of comfort first from St. Paul and then from a modern Saint:

    “Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable” (1 Cor 9: 25). Every Christian is called to become a strong athlete of Christ, that is, a faithful and courageous witness to his Gospel. But to succeed in this, he must persevere in prayer, be trained in virtue and follow the divine Master in everything.

    He, in fact, is God’s true athlete: Christ is the “more powerful” Man (cf. Mk 1: 7), who for our sake confronted and defeated the “opponent”, Satan, by the power of the Holy Spirit, thus inaugurating the kingdom of God. He teaches us that, to enter into glory, we must undergo suffering ( Lk 24: 26,46); he has gone before us on this path, so that we might follow in his footsteps.

    …help us to be strengthened and fortified to face the challenges that await us at this dawn of the third millennium.”

    from the “JUBILEE OF SPORTS PEOPLE,” HOMILY OF St. JOHN PAUL II, Sunday 29 October 2000

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Barbara Dore says:

    Please pray for Charlie!

    Like

  12. Mona says:

    Charlie!
    Please erace my comment. I am not the one to teach you. I am sorry, for my comment. It is you that teach me. This cites wisitors is growing and I se millions of people wisiting it dayly. How will you in the future find time to answer all this people? I just wonder.
    Mona

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh no, Mona, I can’t erase your comment…it was borne out of genuine and tender concern for me…and the time will come when you will have something to teach me. We support each other.

      It is not just God’s will we must be aware of, but His timing and His sequence as well that are important – and carry clues for us. For example, when I was a little fellow, my angel told me things that were going to happen – and happen they would. Once he even showed me an entire conversation with my Father as we drove to the grocery store. The next day that conversation happened verbatim in precisely that situation. (That was a weird experience – and I much later came to realize what a cool customer I must have been even then to deliver my “lines” so naturally, waiting for Dad to say something different than what he had in what I was shown a day earlier.) Then later, while still a child (probably between maybe 10 and 12) he started telling me things. They would happen, but not at ALL as I had expected. It was a step in the training – to help me depend less on my own expectations and cleverness. Now if you had reversed the sequencing, I would have been frustrated and gave it up early on. But by the time the tougher stuff came, I had already learned that what was told me was credible and accurate, however it came, so I had the fortitude to endure the much tougher lessons that were to come.

      WE live in a self-serving, impersonal world. I knew, to begin with, direct personal contact is critical. Even when I have something hard to say, saying it directly to the person says that, in this impersonal world, they mean something. God loves individuals, so we are to do so, too. Yes, I believe my time has been amplified so that we can weave it together personally, one at a time. But the time will come when for me to try to hold onto doing it all directly myself would be a mere vanity. When that time comes, I will probably screw up at first…I usually do. I am very stubborn about what I think to be my duty. But after a week or two, it will get through my thick skull, and I will act to magnify this so that many of us are ministering to each other. And in that way, we will build up the people of God as a force of profound and huge hope throughout the world.

      Like

  13. Gabrielle says:

    Charlie, we appreciate everything you are doing. God Bless.

    Like

  14. Cecilia says:

    You are one awesome sherpa! Thanks for hanging in there, Charlie. Prayers coming your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Elizabeth G. says:

    You are an evangelist in the 21st century, trying to react in God’s time. The two are hardly comparable. Expedition team, please remember to be patient with the “sherpa”.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. monica says:

    Interesting that you speak Charlie of time collapsing. I recently had this same conversation with some members of our lay Carmelite group and they feel the same way. Years ago a fine priest said that it is metaphysical phenomena as evil appros chest implosion, time speeds upm

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fran says:

      I think we have talked about this before on here, but it has felt that way to me too, that time is speeding up. I believe it is a mercy.
      “For there shall be then great tribulation, such as hath not been from the beginning of the world until now, neither shall be. And unless those days had been shortened, no flesh should be saved: but for the sake of the elect those days shall be shortened.” Matthew 24:21

      Like

  17. monica says:

    Interesting that you speak Charlie of time collapsing. I recently had this same conversation with some members of our lay Carmelite group and they feel the same way. Years ago a fine priest said that it is metaphysical phenomena as evil appros ches implosion, time speeds up.

    Like

  18. ruthie larivee says:

    Always Charlie. You are an angel.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  19. And btw, happy birthday, Charlie! (It is your birthday tomorrow, isn’t it?)

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      No, Linda, Thursday is my birthday. But tomorrow is the 59th anniversary of when my poor mother went into labor with me. Since she had the mumps at the time, the doctor gave her some sort of injection to delay my delivery. She went into labor on a Friday afternoon and on Sunday morning I had had all I was going to take and was born despite the injections. With that three days of labor, it is wonder Mom ever had any more children. Thanks be to God, whatever her faults, lack of courage was not among them: she had five more children after me – and it is a great blessing to have so many siblings in your cohort.

      Liked by 2 people

  20. Becky-TN says:

    Asking for prayer, Charlie. On way to children’s hospital with my 3 year old. Been in er all day. Vomiting/ dehydration. His name is Simon.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I have asked the Lord to send St. Nicholas to watch over and carry both you and Simon safely through this scare, Becky.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Becky-TN says:

        Thank you all for your prayers! After 14 hours in 2 ERs (first the ER my husband works in and the Children’s Hospital), Little SImon is home and exhausted.

        In the end, he was severly dehydrated with an end diagnosis of rotavirus and “poopie” issues caused by the dehydration. He’s right next to me snacking on some crackers and sipping water and so far, so good everything is staying down. He’s running a bit of a temp, but is in good spirits.

        I am grateful for your prayers. It’s amazing how strong we think we are until one of our littles gets sick then we fall to pieces. I kept telling the Blessed Mother that she needed to help me keep it together. She did. Also, when things like this happen, how we begin to try and bargain with God. But in all the fear, I realized, Simon is not mine. He is God’s. And while I can type that, it’s hard to take in.

        Lots to ponder as we catch up on sleep and laundry (which I am joyfully completing – thanking God for my washer and dryer, not to mention the person who invented Lysol 😉

        So, keep the prayers coming for a full and quick recovery and, if I might add, prayers that no one else get sick.

        God Bless you all,

        Becky

        PS Charlie, Thanks for the request of St. Nicholas. There were lots of littles in the ER last night who needed him just as much as Simon.

        Liked by 1 person

    • audiemarie2014 says:

      Praying Simon recuperates quickly from his illness, Becky.

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Praying for your whole family, Becky.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kati says:

      Becky, I have also prayed for your little son. I hope he is doing much better today.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Fran says:

      I have been praying for Simon too, Becky. Please let us know how he is doing when you can. God bless your family.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Hoping your time on the mountain was fruitful Charlie! Thank you for all you do for us!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks Mystical. I am still in the mountains and will be for at least another week. The way it is snowing, I may not get down till spring! Once you’re here, you are not getting out until the snow melts away.

      Like

  22. Jacqueline Flipper says:

    Dear Charlie,(In response to the posts on “Quick Apologia”) I don’t get  much time to read much beyond the posts. However, when I do, I am very grateful for your (Charlie’s)  tenderness and respect for each individual in your responses. I am trying to learn from you: I am trying to develop a deep respect for each person I meet and to respond with humility. God has shown me that this is what he wants of me, as I can be quite opinionated. I trust He will keep teaching me how to be humble and treat all my family, friends and strangers as the precious “children” of my Father. Thank you for your transparency. I am also learning (trying) how to forgive myself – to accept myself with all my humanness, and yet to grow out of the self-centeredness that is my nature.I didn’t know how to post this as it was not about the conversation. I just wanted you to know that this post means so much to me in many ways.Again, thank you for being living example to me – and others, I’m sure. Blessings to you. Jacqueline Marie

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      God bless you, Jacqueline. I try – but as several readers can attest, catch me wrong and I can be a real pistol. Humility is not my nature…my pride is more like a wild Bronco that has been disciplined, but is ever on the verge of going off for an invigorating gallop. I think that is pretty much what we all have to deal with. Work and pray….ora et labora.

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Charlene says:

    Dear Charlie

    Luv Mercy an exodus 18 came to my mind also and Dan Lynch is right on.
    You sir are a gift to all and please please know not to burn out. We care about you in cyber space. Every day is a grace moment and taking the next right step and being a sign of hope for others. This has become my every day motto. Thank you for your yes to our God.

    Charlene

    Like

  24. narnialion54 says:

    Charlie,
    I used to spend hours on the web searching out the latest news, prophecies, articles. Now, I just come to the Next Right Step and I am at home with my family of God. I feel loved, protected, and peaceful here. Liquid gold, as MM Bev says so beautifully. Thank you dear Charlie.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Gabriela says:

      I use to do the exact same thing. That was my guilty pleasure and that is what I gave up for lent… hopefully, for longer! I don’t think it was very productive and really helped me in any way… other than give me quite a bit of anxiety and leave be in an absolutely paralyzed state, sometimes for days. I’ve been thinking a lot about what Charlie has been saying lately and came to the conclusion that spending hours on the web searching for the latest news, prophecies, articles, etc. probably wasn’t the next right step. It took me a bit of time to figure out what the next right step was for me (I think I was looking for something major and earth shattering) and came to the conclusion that it was my family, my kids (I have 4 between the ages of 2 and 6). Focusing on them, praying, fasting, confession, mass, and of course this blog (I always feel comforted and not paralyzed after my visit here). I think that pretty much sums up my strategy… oh, and also picking up some extra toilet paper 🙂 Just in case.

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        God bless you, Gabrielle! Making your home joyful for your children is such a refined and mature way to live your faith. And having lived outdoors for the year and a half of my pilgrimage, I know the delight of toilet paper. Your family will thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  25. bhocutt says:

    Charlie,
    God bless you for what you do. I love you and you are doing a great work. Thank you.

    Like

  26. SteveBC says:

    Charlie, I have some vague idea of what you are accomplishing here and never cease to be amazed at what you are accomplishing, and what you are helping all of us accomplish in and among ourselves.

    I’ve been all over the map with comments both helpful and obtuse. You have hung in there with me while I take what I read here and slowly figure out how to put that together with all the pieces I’ve had just lying around disconnected in my head for the past however many years. I truly appreciate your efforts.

    It will be different when you “graduate” to leader of a team, and some of us may feel that something is lost in the transition. However, given what you have done to build this community so far, I see no reason to believe what will come after that transition will be actually less than before. Indeed, I suspect it will take everyone here to a higher level once things smooth out.

    May God smile upon you for all that you are doing. Certainly I am! 🙂

    Like

  27. anne says:

    monica, i sense time is certainly speeding up. Like the end of an old fashioned tape on a tape recorder! Closer to the end it runs.

    Like

  28. Mick says:

    Charlie, thank you for all that you do. May God bless and protect you always.

    Like

  29. Stephen Maresch says:

    https://veilofveronica.wordpress.com/2014/12/20/last-night-i-had-the-strangest-dream/
    Charlie this women has the same format as you do on your web site at first I thought I was on your web site, is she related to you or do you both share the same web master?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      No, Stephen, I don’t know her – and I am my own webmaster (a crack staff I have – me, me and me). But both are sites are in a WordPress host, which provides multiple templates for building your own website. Obviously, she and I do have similar tastes in the elements we chose to build it.

      Like

  30. anaverena1 says:

    Charlie, just to reiterate what others are saying; I too am deeply grateful for the spiritual food, wisdom and insight you provide for us here – how did we ever get along without it! Your website has been the greatest find. God bless you.

    Like

  31. Charlie, there’s no need to apologize. I take it that we need to step up our game right now. Whatever talents we have been given, we need to start putting those God-given abilities to work, right now. And no one should kid themselves, we all have them!! No more sitting on the sidelines as my old football would say, get in there & make a difference!

    If you’re not sure what graces you’ve been given, it’s time to ask the Holy Spirit for the gift of discernment & get moving., Charlie, you had said in another post I believe that when you were in politics, if your people weren’t making mistakes, they weren’t working hard enough. We are all going to make mistakes, we’re human. But let’s not be afraid to act because of our hidden vanity not to step out of our comfort zones. We are going to be seen for what we are – fragile humans that will make mistakes – but also God’s children who are deserving of His grace & mercy!!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Ah, beloved, when you are absolutely confident that the Lord will correct your errors, when you work to keep from making them, but work hard enough to give him plenty of errors to correct, you are seriously on the right track!

      Like

  32. Julie says:

    Hi Charlie, it’s Julie from Arizona. I’m so sorry, I had no idea regarding the magnitude of emails you are receiving. Your very thoughtful, hopeful, Spirit filled reply to my first email, when I was in fear that my debility would prevent me from serving, and my weakness would exacerbate the chance of me throwing down my cross and running when it is time to bear down and serve, was extraordinarily helpful to me.

    I want you to be able to continue to do that for others. I have been a social worker for 30 years and have been hearing from our Lord over the past eight years that he had a new vocation for me. I am being told that I am to pray for the “innocent unevangelized”, but as I read your email I felt a pulling toward making myself available for Catholic Christian counseling questions related to emotional healing, domestic violence, abuse, neglect, within family systems. It could be that the social worker in me is wanting to return back to where my “ego” feels comfortable but I will leave it open as a possibility sometime in the future to minister from my home using the computer. Of course I would have to run it by my spouse first. He is my pathfinder and grounds me like a lightning rod ground lightning. God bless you in all you do!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I love it, Julie. I know the temptation to go back to what is familiar. My first summer in Colorado was filled with that temptation…I knew the work was supposed to begin from here, but I was only marginally conscious of what, actually, I was supposed to be doing. I had always thought that when I came out with this (as I did in November of 2012) that would firmly shut the door against any further political work – and I also knew my “going crazy” had been a big subject of insider gossip in Illinois politics for several months. So imagine my surprise that summer when I started getting calls from old pols – running for Congress, Governor, Senator, trying to recruit me back to their team. One official, who I had both scrapped with and been comrades with, wanted to run for a bigger office and called. He was the fourth or fifth. It was a sore temptation, because I made good money and I knew what I was doing…trying to recruit me to that was like asking a duck in a tree if he would come back to the pond. Every part of me internally was screaming “YES!” But I knew that that was done for me for now. So I asked the guy, told him rather animatedly, why are so many people calling me when I know you all know I have gone nuts? What’s the deal. He chuckled and told me, “It wasn’t as big of a surprise for us as you think, Charlie. Everybody already knew that something was VERY different about you.”

      So we all muddle forward. Sometimes, the Lord wants us to cast out into the deep unknown, when we want to be safely at what we know. Docility to the Holy Spirit is, ultimately, a gift. My friend the official did joke with me that, given Chicago, having a command operative who actually talks to the dead might be a significant competitive advantage. Ha!

      Like

      • Julie says:

        Yesterday I was comented to you that I was considering doing social work over the internet to try to help. Today in Northern Arizona all internet and cell phone services were lost for most of the day. Wow. As I am homebound I had no idea what was going on. I have no landline phone so couldn’t call anyone, pay bills or check with Verizon. I thought “it’s happened!” I wondered how to keep contact with other Christians for marching orders when one cannot leave home or use technology to get a sense of what is the next right step. For me this website did not exist and to be honest it won’t exist if such an event takes place. It was a very sobering training experience. We will indeed be led by our guardian angels in taking the next right step whenever that time comes.

        Like

  33. the phoenix says:

    Your thoughtful, personable, spiritual, and prayerful replies are well worth waiting for and greatly appreciated, Charlie!

    As for ministering to others and being ministered to, being as eccentric as I am affects me both ways.

    As far as ministering to others, a Star Trek club that I am a part of held a banquet a short time ago. The Captain of the club is the one who normally gives out awards to crew members … and so he did. But the character that I portray aboard ship is different … and so I dressed in costume and presented two awards as well: One for Spirit of Adventure, the other for Heroism.

    Word went out in e-mail right before the dinner that costumes were not preferred, but since I’d planned for it for weeks, I went ahead with my plan anyway, and believe it was the right choice. The winner of the Spirit of Adventure award happens to have Downs Syndrome. Now, I did not select him for the award out of pity, but because of his childlike purity and enthusiasm. Since this was the first time he had seen me in costume, the occasion was more special to him … because he was better able to recognize me that way as being connected with the Star Trek that he connected with, so he smiled and shook my hand. The other recipient, who won the Heroism award, is a lady who is always looking out for her neighbors … who made sure her apartment had a Christmas tree this past year, (if not for her they likely would have gone without) and who quite possibly saved a life this past year because she checked up on one neighbor in particular. I also presented a gift as a token of my appreciation for someone special. So we go where we are called to be a sign of hope to others. Some of us to more unique places and situations.

    As for being ministered to, since I do not often find myself easily accepted by society for whatever reasons, and have not had the greatest experience in the past on another Catholic forum when I asked for advice … I honestly would not feel comfortable at this point having anyone else but Charlie respond to my private e-mails.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I love that you had the guts to go in costume, Phoenix, and made that child’s day! WE worry so much about what other people think about us. I suspect we would worry less about it if we knew how seldom they actually think about us at all. So surrender to joy! It will enrich your life dramatically and even do the same for those who think you are weird by giving them a regular supply of delicious gossip!

      Liked by 1 person

  34. charliej373 says:

    Okay folks, just to let you know, tomorrow is my “Catch up with emails” Day. I am going to put my shoulder to the mill and try to get them all done. I think I have gotten them down to a manageable level now.

    Liked by 2 people

  35. Kathleen Vacheresse says:

    Happy birthday! This is the day the Lord had made let us rejoyce and be glad

    Liked by 1 person

  36. connie says:

    Well, then I wish you Birthday Blessings today Charlie and will just read and not type tomorrow! God Bless You, Friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anne ovari says:

      Happy Birthday Charlie! May Our Lord bless you and fill your heart with His Love and Peace. I thank you again for your fiat. Keeping you in my prayers and of course everyone else here. I feel as though we have made a heavenly family here on earth.♡

      Liked by 1 person

  37. narnialion54 says:

    Charlie

    The Lord bless thee, and keep thee:

    The Lord make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:

    The Lord lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.

    Numbers 6:24-26

    Like

  38. SteveBC says:

    Charlie, are you at all considering the new fact that you have hundreds and possibly thousands of people all around the world in The Next Right Step Liquid Gold Network wishing you happy birthday today in their minds and hearts, if not in words here? And all because you are honoring your mission that you thought for so many years would be unpleasantly difficult and better if not needed at all? That’s a whole lotta love, Charlie. Happy Birthday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

