And Now For Something Completely Different…

This is not actually a post. Rather, since there has been some discussion on the bizarre white-gold/black-blue dress matter of late, I laughed out loud when my sister posted what I think is the definitive comment on it! Enjoy.

Ugly Dress

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to And Now For Something Completely Different…

  1. NancyA says:

    Shared that one with my 22 year old daughter, Charlie. It was pretty much our reaction, as well…

    Like

  2. Jacquie says:

    You go girl! Sick of the dress!

    Like

  3. connie says:

    Gave me a true LOL moment!

    Like

  4. aegsemje says:

    https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=436409639842117&id=100237920125959&set=a.228269320656151.1073741825.100237920125959&source=48

    Okay, aeg is relatively new here. Aeg, you have to make at least a short comment to support your link – and I don’t clear free-standing links. I just crabbed about this earlier…but this is WAY too delicious not to put up, so I make the comment with it. – CJ)

    Like

  5. Paul says:

    Hi Charlie…

    Anyone have a comment on a blog called locutions.org ?

    Been reading it last couple days and it appears to be legit

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      We have discussed it before, Paul. Some folks here swear by it. I tend to think of most of it as fairly refined spiritual meditations. I am not persuaded that it is of supernatural origin because Our Lady is said to speak there in an often harsh and political way that she never has to me. I think it a worthwhile resource, though. There have been several discussions of it here. You might find this Musings piece interesting.

      I think you have been here for a little while now, Paul, but I will repeat this. One does not have to agree with me to find room to speak here. On reputed locutions, so long as something is not contrary to faith and morals, I am happy to hear from it, particularly if it has worthwhile information as the LttW site often does. I could be wrong about the supernatural origin of many different such things – and I am not interested in imposing my will on others on matters in which we are free.

      I have only banned advocacy by three figures on this site: the obvious and fully exposed fraud, Maria Divine Mercy; the once interesting Dr. Kelly Bowring who has now given himself almost entirely to the apostate claim that Pope Francis is an anti-pope, and the Italian journalist Antonio Socci, who is perhaps the most dangerous of all for he had substantial credibility once and now seems completely bent on overthrowing Pope Francis and leading people into apostasy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Paul says:

        Appreciate it Charlie…

        Like

      • Gabrielle says:

        Charlie, I have long read the locutions since I live near where the locutionist is located. There have been a few predictions that did not come true. But, more than that, there is a great difference between what you have said and what the locutions say about the consecration of Russia. The locutions indicate that if only the Pope would finally dedicate Russia to Mary then all of this trouble would go away. And, it is my understanding that you feel heaven accepted the consecration of the world in the 1980’s. Would you care to weigh on on this issue any further? Thank you!

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Gabrielle, I appreciate your question. We have covered that extensively and I don’t care to go through it all again. But if you will use the search feature to the right of this page, use the search term “Russia” and on your next search do “Fatima” and that will bring up the important articles on it. In a nutshell, there may be more yet to come, but Sr. Lucia said definitively that the 1984 consecration had been accepted in heaven and St. John Paul said he fulfilled the consecration in a way that had been accepted. When LttW or any other private revelation makes me choose between whether Sr. Lucia, the actual visionary, and St. John Paul were, at best, dull-witted dupes on this matter or whether the new private revelation is wrong, I am going to stick with Sr. Lucia and St. John Paul, conspiracy theorists be dammed.

          Like

          • Gabrielle says:

            Charlie, I appreciate your explanation. I already did that search a week ago as that was a question that had been nagging at me since I started reading your blog. I deeply appreciate your stance on the issue. Thank you for your time in writing your response.

            Like

      • Paul says:

        Thank you, Barbara…and I am…came to the conclusion a long ago that there’s plenty of legitimate material to peruse…if something is dubious in any way, I avoid it. Got enough problems…

        Like

  6. vparisi says:

    LOL Charlie thanks for the laugh!

    Val

    Like

  7. Mary Unrein says:

    Hi Paul, I have a nun friend, missionary of Africa, living in Vermont been sending me print outs from this site. She believes this blog locutions .org to be on target.

    Like

  8. CrewDog says:

    …………. and like a Good Girl she has her trigger finger outside the trigger guard when not ready to shoot! A friendly reminder from an Endowment Member of the NRA 😉
    GOD BLESS ALL HERE …………. and keep your humor at all times!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Ha, CrewDog! I’ve been an NRA member for a quarter century, since my first year of law school. I attended one of the most liberal law schools in the country, and I used to wear my NRA baseball-style cap to class. It was fun watching smoke pour out of all those liberals’ ears before their heads exploded.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kati says:

        I absolutely LOVE that you did this, Mick! I truly believe that being who we are without fear or apology regarding our faith in Truth can be exciting, fun (often demonstrating good humor) and a very positive influence on others (whether the reactions of others seem positive or not). ;-D

        Like

  9. pineconejill says:

    Kaboom!

    Liked by 3 people

  10. the phoenix says:

    “The Dress” was mentioned in our sermon at Mass today. Along with an actual physical sign with the letters “MOM” on it, that when you turned upside down read “WOW”. And then came the main point of the sermon … the Transfiguration. (Yeah, if you think about it, Jesus’ clothes changed their appearance.) And what is really important during the Transfiguration: God the Father saying, “This is My Beloved Son … Listen to Him.” … that being what we should focus on.

    Like

  11. Tom Tedmond says:

    Lol. If I didn’t give up Facebook for lent I would repost.

    Thanks Charlie.

    Like

  12. RUKU5@aol.com says:

    Thanks, lol.

    Like

  13. Donette says:

    And now if I may call the Church Militant back on duty, I thought you might like to read what Deacon Rodriguis has to say about the war.

    http://www.austincnm.com/index.php/2015/02/angels-dragons/#.VPQGT2f9loz

    Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      Wow. Very helpful and stirring. Thank you, Donette.

      Like

    • JG says:

      Donette,
      Thank you for sharing this piece. It’s good. At the very end, the video to St. Michael I think this is the full prayer. Am I correct? If it is, I remember Fr. Z writing a piece that we lay people should stick to the shorter version of the St. Michael Prayer. We are not spiritually equipped to say the fuller version. It would be like having a little boy who is a box car racer compete in a NASCar race with professional drivers( my analogy). Point being, it’s very dangerous and one can get seriously hurt. Just thought I’d share what I had leaned to help prevent serious spiritual harm to anyone.
      May God bless you,
      JG

      Like

  14. Deborah Parrella says:

    Dear Charlie, I like your sister and agree with her Have a Blessed Day. Debbie

    Like

  15. Padraig Caughey says:

    😃

    Date: Sun, 1 Mar 2015 18:37:37 +0000
    To: padraigcaughey@hotmail.com

    Like

  16. radiclaudio says:

    Hi Charlie and TRNS family. Sorry for kicking this diversion off the other day – lol. But the actual issue and many of the posts have been sort of funny. 🙂

    Like

  17. Julia says:

    Charlie, I love your final word on that dress. That’s a cool pistol packing mama. LOL

    Like

  18. Mack says:

    I used to think the locutions.org were authentic, but now I don’t because the papal election didn’t happen the way it had prophesied. It’s also a little confusing because it seems like Francis is different from the pope it prophesied. Now it is still saying Mary will raise up a priest son, a new pope, who will be martyred in Jerusalem. I don’t know about that. But it still has some beautiful spiritual thoughts, so I read it for those. Here’s one from a recent locution: “Until man’s final moment, no matter what sins have occurred, no matter what decisions have been made or evil brought about, God will always be able, in surprising and astonishing ways, to suddenly flood the human spirit with the refreshing waters of conversion.”

    Like

  19. Kati says:

    Charlie,
    I much enjoy starting this week with a good dose of humor. Please tell your sister that she is “da bomb!” He he he he he… 🙂

    Like

  20. Donette says:

    In regard to Locutions.org: Has anyone noticed that Mons. Essef’s (sp?) picture with Mother Teresa along with the info on his being the spiritual director of whomever is behind these locutions? I even looked at his blog to see if anything is said….Nothing is there. That concerns me particularly for those who read those alleged locutions regularly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

