Prayer Needs and True Trust

Praying Hands with Rosary Beads and Dove --- Image by © JJamArt/Corbis

By Charlie Johnston

A couple of quick prayer requests and a clarification borne by a wonderfully helpful reader’s serious prayer request…

First, early this month, ISIS kidnapped members of the St. Vincent de Paul Society in Syria. The savages say that unless these Christians renounce their faith, they will be decapitated and their children, burned alive.

Second, the Cronin family got word today that the hospital Joseph is at, where he has made much progress, is making arrangements to send him to a long-term care facility, as they have been notified that the insurance will not fully cover the intensive care after March 15. I will talk with George about it tomorrow and update you.

Finally, one of our faithful readers, Linda, who runs the Blessed Hope Forum, which has categorized much of my writings here, was worried today about her husband, who is scheduled for heart surgery. She worried with things getting so dicey, it might be better to skip it. Several readers, both in comments here and in email, said it was the best explanation I have made of how to handle such things and suggested I put it in a post. So I ask you to pray for Linda and her husband, and I copy my response below:

“I understand your instinct, which is sound when dealing with ordinary matters. But the order of things change with this Storm and doing things the ordinary way is an invitation to disaster. When I was young I did, indeed, change things and plans based on inside information. The Lord allowed this so I could see how disastrous this thinking was in such circumstances. Invariably, when I made a plan to change things around based on inside knowledge, a bigger disaster than what I was shown would ensue.

Act with normal prudence. If it makes sense for your husband to have the surgery (and it sounds like it does) then have the surgery. If you change things around because of what you think is inside knowledge, he could die of sudden kidney failure – or something else. This whole thing is designed to show you the virtue of trusting God while living normal prudence. If you cleverly change plans based on supernatural insights, you are trusting to your ordinary means to overcome supernatural events – and attempting to thwart God’s efforts to show His supernatural care. It does not work.

I have often said that God loves the ordinary – and you should, too. Make your normal plans based on your ordinary information – and trust God in the extraordinary situations He brings. I have lived that. On two occasions, close family members have been in areas I knew were going to get hit with disasters by inside information. Every fiber in my body screamed out to get them out of there…but because of the discipline I have had to live, I knew that to attempt to do so would likely get them permanently disabled or killed. So I trusted God…and my trust was justified. You do not have to live this discipline I do…you do not have to go through the situation of knowing a bomb is going to strike right where your son is standing and act normal, trusting that God will move him and that if you warn him it will be a disaster. But I need you to understand that, when God is moving directly, your only hope is to be still, know that He is God, and trust to His mercy. If you do otherwise, acting on any inside information instead of using ordinary prudence, disaster WILL follow. If I were planning to get on a plane to travel to see family and my angel told me that an EMP would strike while I was in the air, unless he also told me specifically to change my plans, I would get on that plane as planned and trust God. Otherwise, I might die.

I very much sympathize with people wanting to know exactly what I know so they can plan around it. I lived that. It took me decades to know such things and learn to still my fears and act with ordinary prudence trusting God to carry loved ones through disasters I knew they were standing in the way of. The specific knowledge I have is kind of like a mysterious alien weapon. People think if a would let them hold the weapon they could protect themselves. I know, from experience, that they will only maim or kill themselves. We don’t have time for you to tearfully learn that discipline as I did. So I withhold much of what I know. My job is not to inform you of all I have been informed of. The knowledge is deadly dangerous if you have not had the decades of training – and a constant burden even if you have. My job is to get you safely to the port on the other side of the Storm and give you heart to endure. I assure you, the way to go forward is to use ordinary judgment in ordinary things…if you want to make some prudent preparations, that is fine, but keep enough to meet your obligations if all smooths out. I know that is unlikely even from a secular perspective now, but it is an important matter of discipline that you do so. Make your ordinary decisions based on good, solid ordinary prudence, trusting God for the rest. I know that sounds scary, but it is the ONLY sure way to safety. So if surgery is normally warranted, get the surgery. If, from ordinary prudence, it is not, then don’t. But to avoid it based on any inside information you either actually have or think you have is to invite disaster.

God bless and keep you as you navigate these treacherous waters. Walk through the valley of the shadow of death, but fear no evil, knowing the Lord really is with you.”

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Solidarity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

139 Responses to Prayer Needs and True Trust

  1. Virginia says:

    Just to add to my above comment, Charlie, for me these heroic “white helmets” are the embodiment of the “troops” you speak of who are a “sign of hope casting out into the deep.” Throughout Scripture we have our marching orders and our battle cry…As St. Paul says in his letter to the Phillipians 3:13-16, 20-21: “I forget the past and I strain ahead for what is still to come: I am racing for the finish, for the prize to which God calls us upward to receive in Christ Jesus…If there is some point on which you see things differently, God will make it clear to you; meanwhile, let us go forward on the road that has brought us to where we are…For us, our homeland is in heaven, and from heaven comes the Savior we are waiting for, the Lord Jesus Christ, and he will transfigure these wretched bodies of ours into copies of His glorious body. He will do that by the same power with which he can subdue the whole universe.”
    God bless you.


    • al chandanais says:

      Hello everyone, i am in need of prayer, last year i pulled then tore my flex tendon in my right groin. i took time off and it is better but the year it took to heal has taken it’s toll on my knees and now the tendon in my left groin. I am in agony getting in and out of the car which i do quite often as a salesman. I haven’t slept well in a very long time because the tendon hurts when i move my leg. I just went to bed and after trying to turn over I was met with excruciating pain. I have asked God to take the pain but to no avail. I don’t know what to do anymore but I know this can’t go on like this. Something has to give so my request is prayer for enlightenment on my situation. Thank you for you prayers.
      al .

      Liked by 1 person

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        Al, you are in my prayers for comfort from your chronic pain. Physical and massage therapy would most likely help alleviate the pain and give you some exercise you can do at home for self-care. Drinking plenty of water helps too. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        Praying for you, Al. So sorry you’re in nasty pain. Just a thought now for your consideration: I have end stage knee arthritis and I have discovered when I dial back the carbohydrates, the discomfort nearly disappears. An overabundance of simple carbs can readily cause inflammation. God bless you, Al.


      • vkmir3 says:

        I am asking St. Joseph to intercede on your behalf for enlightenment/healing during the time of the Novena to St. Joseph.

        Liked by 1 person

      • the phoenix says:

        Praying for your healing, al,

        … from today’s Liturgy of the Hours:


        Lord, we humbly ask for your goodness. May you help us to hope in you, and give us a share with your chosen ones in the land of the living.

        Ant. I count everything as loss but this: the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.

        Ant. 3 Although he was the Son of God, Christ learned obedience through suffering.

        Lord, Jesus you healed the sick:
        Lord, have mercy
        — Lord have mercy

        Lord Jesus, you forgave sinners:
        Christ, have mercy.
        — Christ, have mercy.

        Lord Jesus, you give us yourself to heal us and bring us strength:
        Lord, have mercy
        — Lord have mercy

        Liked by 2 people

        • al chandanais says:

          Thank you one and all for your prayers and love. On my way home from work I told Jesus how much i loved him and let him know i would love him no matter what, well last night the walls crashed in and anger rose up over the intense agony but never did i lose my love for my Jesus. I guess the ugly one decided to test me so the worst he could do was have me cry out to you for prayer. Thank you all for your advice and prayers. This came from nowhere and hopefully will return there someday Lord willing. I am resting it today and feel little discomfort, thank you again and God bless all of you.

          Liked by 1 person

      • Barb129 says:

        Praying for healing for you al….


  2. radiclaudio says:

    Hi Charlie. I missed the original version of your above reply. I’m very happy our TRNS family caught it and urged you to repost. I find your directions in it very liberating. Be prudent, trust God. I can do that, with His grace, prayer, the Sacraments and the support of Divine Community (including you all). Thank you very much and Praise our God now and forever! Rich.


  3. Charlie, I know this is a comment to an older post, but I continue to work my way through your blog from the start and now am only 7 months behind!

    I consider this one of the most important posts you have written that I have so far read.

    As I became familiar with you, and given my knowledge/understanding of other Catholic prophecy, and after really having a lot of discussions with my wife and other friends about the potential imminence of all the impacts and ramifications of the Storm, it has led to an awful lot of questions on how to handle the resources God has given us, and other potential questions about whether or not certain things are worth planning, and… well… let’s just say the thought that “well, it probably won’t matter anyway” can really tend to permeate the conversation if you let it.

    I really spent a lot of personal time contemplating, praying, taking it to adoration, and GOD TOLD ME (I’m joking… I know that annoys you. Fortunately or not, I have not been privy to the direct voice of God giving me my instructions). Anyway, while no locutions, after all of my thoughts and prayers and contemplations I did feel a real sense of peace in examining our resources and taking this opportunity to purchase prudent materials that fall into one of two categories: (1) things I will use anyway – extra food, water, gas, etc,, and (2) insurance. Under “insurance” I list something as goofy as a hand well pump. But I rationalize that like this: I spend thousands of dollars each year on all my insurances that I hope I never need to use. This is normal and prudent and nobody questions it. Identifying a few of the critical need items in the event of disaster and spending some money to increase the odds that you’ll have access to those needs, to me, is insurance. The key is to stay within your means and not get too carried away – be responsible and prudent.

    I’m kind of digressing, which I normally do, but back to my original point… while a bit tempting, I will not be cashing in my 401k. I will not be taking out loans to finance every last item I can think of to combat every scenario I can think of. I will not be driving up credit card balances. We will continue to act responsible financially, maybe with a few manageable stretches here and there, and we will continue to plan out family vacation, and we’ll keep doing out work. If and when the day comes that everything changes and my 401k account is worthless, then so be it. The upside is that I didn’t hand 50% over to a corrupt government by cashing out early. The penalties are insane.

    Sorry for the long post. Thanks for your continued efforts.

    P.S. When you have a chance, check out the song I wrote – it’s in your e-mail from a couple weeks ago. No rush. Of course, IT MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE IF EVERYTHING CRASHES TOMORROW!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

