Rise

One-Church-Mar-29-2013-He-is-risen-indeed

By Charlie Johnston

Today the Lord is risen. We must rise with him. The question cannot be whether He is on our side, but whether we are on His. That will be the decisive question as the assaults and crises that surround us now are confronted: do we trust to the Master?

Just before He left the physical world, Jesus gave us the Eucharist, His very self, to comfort and console as. St. Augustine noted that this Divine food looks like our ordinary food, but has a completely different effect, for when we partake of ordinary food it is absorbed into our system and becomes part of our body – but with this Divine Food, when we partake of it, we are absorbed by it into the One Body of Christ.

He is risen, indeed. Alleluia.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Culture, Preparation, Solidarity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

125 Responses to Rise

  1. Leslie R says:

    Peace and Love to all as we weather the storm. “Come, Holy Spirit, come by means of the powerful intercession of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Your well-beloved Spouse!”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Mark says:

    A Joyous Easter to you Charlie and to all your readers and their families.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mack says:

    Happy Easter to you, Charlie, and to all who visit this blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. barb129 says:

    A blessed, joyful Easter to all!!! May our hearts burn with His love…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Diane says:

    Christ is risen. He has risen indeed. May our Great and Glorius God Bless you all!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. KarenM says:

    Happy Easter to you all! I have been reading this blog for a couple of months but have not yet commented. I truly appreciate the wonderful people I have found here. I don’t know what is going to happen, but I also have felt for some time that something is coming. I trust Jesus and Our Lady. You provide both a reality-check and encouragement. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Kim Johnston Hocutt says:

      So happy you are here KarenM, hope to hear a lot more from you, I love this family! As you know I am new, (as far as an administrator, and commenter), but it is getting easier, with the help of Our Lord and Our Lady! HAPPY EASTER TO EVERYONE, HE IS RISEN!!

      Liked by 2 people

  7. EllenChris says:

    Joy and blessings of the Risen Lord Jesus to you, Charlie, to your family and to all the “family” here — those who write and those who read. with much love.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Anne says:

    May the Light from the Risen Lord shine on all here. Yes Charlie it is we who have to place all trust in Him.He does not abandon us ….. trust.Kim I am glad it is getting easier for you. Thank you for your commitment.you are Kim ….. Not just Charlie’s little sis!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jacquie says:

    A very special prayer I would like to share with you for Easter:
    Prayer before the Eucharistic Jesus
    My Lord and my God. I firmly believe that you are here, that You see me, that You hear me. I adore you with a profound reverence . I ask pardon for all my sins and the grace to make this time of prayer fruitful. My Immaculate Mother, St. Joseph my father and Lord, my guardian angel please intercede for me. Amen
    A prayer of Opus Dei.
    Written by the founder. It is the best prayer I have discovered when coming before the Risen Christ present in the Eucharist. One of my favorites.
    Easter Blessings to all those in community here.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Mick says:

      Jacquie, thank you for sharing that wonderful prayer. I say it whenever I make a visit to the Blessed Sacrament. I learned it from my husband, who is a supernumerary of Opus Dei.

      Have a very blessed Easter season, everyone!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Jacquie says:

        Mick
        I find myself over the years praying it at odd times. Like when entering a church or chapel. But mostly in presence of Christ. It is a strong act of Faith in the True Presence of Christ!
        J

        Like

    • jaykay says:

      So much, in so few words. Thanks, Jacquie. Blessings. J.

      Like

    • Kati says:

      Thank you for this beautiful prayer, Jacquie. I have added it to my prayer document for my Kindle.

      Like

  10. Nancy D says:

    Jesus, I’m on your side. I trust in You.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. vkmir3 says:

    He is risen! Alleluia! As a result of being led here by the Holy Spirit and discovering your blog and message, Charlie, and with the help of your sister, Kim and this beautiful community here, I have had one of the most meaningful Lenten and Holy Week experiences ever. The wealth of knowledge, experiences shared and the beauty of the souls here is such a gift and much needed in these times. I remember all here in my morning prayer and I am determined to T-D-L! When I falter, I am lifted up when I remember that there are others here that are struggling as I am. I only need to trust in God’s mercy, take the next right step and share the love and joy of the Lord with everyone that I can. I sometimes think that our Blessed Mother dropped bread crumbs for me to follow to get here! Wishing all here a very blessed Easter season.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Nancy D says:

      vkmir3, thank you for your beautiful words this morning. I echo them! Welcome to our community and to our mutual struggles! God bless your Easter season as well.

      Like

  12. Mack says:

    I just saw on Drudge a story about tech titans seeking immortality by technology. These stories make me laugh. Jesus has risen from the dead! And he will give us trueceternal life! Not more years of painful suffering on earth!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. SteveBC says:

    Happy Easter, everyone! No matter how weird the world gets between now and next Easter, may you not just survive but thrive. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Phillip Frank says:

    At the Good Friday service for the celebration of the Lord’s Passion in the presence of Pope Francis, the Preacher of the Papal Household, Fr. Raniero Cantalamessa, denounced the indifference of the institutions
    “Jesus overcame violence not by opposing it with a greater violence but by enduring it and exposing all its injustice and futility. He inaugurated a new kind of victory that St. Augustine summed up in three words: Victor quia victima: Victor because victim.” So we must offer “forgiveness” even to our “most relentless enemies”.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Carmel says:

    Joy and peace to all this Easter season. May the light of the Risen Christ enlighten us all and shine in all hearts. Thank yo Charlie and Kim for your dedication.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. donna says:

    Happy Easter to all here! May God continue to bless us with each other throughout the storm….to be a sign of God’s love….

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Nancy D says:

    I was thinking this morning. . .every day I take a quick look in the mirror before I go out the door: Hair combed? Check. Make-up done? Check. Shirt buttoned up? Double check. 🙂
    But it occurred to me that what I really should be checking is, “Am I ready to represent Jesus today?” Did I pray this morning? Check. Did I give myself and my day to Jesus? Check. Did I ask Him to fill me up with new graces, more love, some extra wisdom, fullness of joy, and a large portion of strength? Double check!
    In other words, am I acknowledging God? Am I ready to take that next right step He will put right in front of me today? Am I cognizant of the longing for hope in everyone around me, and do I have that hope in me, ready to give to others?
    From now on, I’m going to do the latter before I do the former. And I shouldn’t be going out that door unless I’ve CHECKED.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Kim Johnston Hocutt says:

      Beautiful, Nancy D!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      Nancy, this is brilliant. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • anne ovari says:

      Oh Nancy D , thank you! Thank you also everyone for your Easter prayers for us all. Easter at our place was filled with a few challeges but on reflection I can see God’s perfect timing in all that happened which made it all the better to cope with (and all the prayers from everyone here that I know help all of us). That got me thinking that whatever we have to face further into the Storm will happen in God’s perfect timing for each one of us and if we cling to Him and place ALL our trust in Him we will be all right.May the risen Lord fill our hearts with His Love and Joy!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mick says:

        Happy Easter down under, Anne! I know what you mean: we’ve had some challenges here that I’m pretty sure are intended to prepare us for the height of the Storm.They are little things, but instructive nonetheless. Our dishwasher died on Palm Sunday; the baby got sick on Easter Sunday, and our stove broke last night–we can’t use any of the 5 burners. When the baby got sick, I immediately prayed the Prayer of Miraculous Trust, and she was much better yesterday. But when the stove broke, I was thinking, “The Lord is trying to tell us to get ready to lose the things that we’ve come to rely on.”

        Hmm… I wonder if the Lord will “heal” my dishwasher and stove if I pray the Prayer of Miraculous Trust… 🙂 In the meantime, thank God for dishwashing kids and for two-burner camp stoves!

        Liked by 3 people

        • Leslie R says:

          Mick – well, I’m the dishwasher around here (though it is just for the 2 of us); and we have a wood stove with a flat top for emergency cooking situations…

          Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Leslie, we also have a woodstove with a flat top for cooking. I have done some cooking on it, but the little camp stove is sure coming in handy. I suspect that we’re going to be using the woodstove for cooking a great deal more in the not too distant future.

            And by the way, since you’re pretty new here, welcome to the “family”!

            Like

          • Leslie R says:

            Thank you, Mick – I’m very grateful to have found a community of strong believers who are open to the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Les

            Like

        • jaykay says:

          Hmmm… now let’s see… o.k., sorted already. Do a quick novena to St. Martha for the dishwasher and general domestic vibes (her sister St. Mary… probably not so much).

          And for the cooker, it’s got to be St. Laurence. He had some experience in that direction, I understand.

          There, see? You can always rely on men for practical solutions.

          No, really, don’t mention it. J. 😊

          Liked by 2 people

          • Mick says:

            Ha, jaykay! Although if you could see my house, you’d know that I’m more of a Mary than a Martha… 🙂

            You know, I think we have WAY too much fun on this blog. Has anybody else noticed that? Everybody here is just a lot of fun!

            Like

          • Mick says:

            Jaykay (a.k.a. “Mr. Practical”), I thought I’d give you an update and thank you for your wonderful prayer suggestions. St. Martha came through with a new, not-too-costly dishwasher; St. Laurence helped the repairman fix our cook-top so that we won’t have to buy an expensive replacement; we got a “new” used dryer that works well enough (not sure which buddy upstairs to credit for that one); and St. Martha’s sister, St. Mary, is giggling understandingly at the many dust bunnies and cobwebs to be found throughout my house. 🙂

            Like

        • SteveBC says:

          Mick, I’ve felt the same thing in the last few weeks, as if I’ve been getting little nudges to fix things or to get certain things done. Procrastination on such things gets prevented almost immediately by full breakdown, requiring replacement. This is different from what I’ve been going through with my family’s house since 2010, which has required major upgrades over the past 5 years. I strongly believe that that was to get our house up to par for Stormy times, but it didn’t feel immediate.

          Now that process is starting on small things, and the feel is much more immediate. It’s as if certain things won’t be available for a while, so God breaks anything that might not last another couple of years, forcing me to fix it now while a replacement is available.

          I’m not sure it’s a good idea to pray to “heal” your dishwasher. Rather, pray to find a new one that will last and not require repairs for the next few years, as well as to find the money to pay for that new machine. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

        • anne ovari says:

          Oh Mick I’m glad your baby is better (is that Anne-Marie?). We had a sick baby (my grandson) in the house over Easter also. It does sound like God was giving you a little test of being prepared. Like Charlie has said before it is quite amazing what we can do when we have to go without what we have become used to especially if we place our trust in God. When we bought our house it came with a dishwasher. It broke down soon after but it has never been replaced except by our own personal dishwashers! ☺God bless

          Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Yep, she’s Anne-Marie (you have a great memory!). How’s your grandson doing? I hope he’s feeling better. 🙂

            Like

          • anne ovari says:

            I don’t have the best memory,Mick. I rememered Anne-Marie I think because she has my full name.☺.Thank you for asking after my grandson,Noah. He is back to his full bouncy,cheeky self.☺God bless

            Like

          • Lily says:

            We have also had a sick baby. Not very sick, just sick enough to remind me that for all of my competences, I don’t control a single thing. Our health is directly in the hands of God.

            Like

          • Mick says:

            Prayers for you little one, Lily.

            Like

    • connie says:

      it’s interesting that you talk about looking in the mirror, NancyD, as i have recently been asking myself When I look in the mirror do I see Jesus? and when others look at me do they see Jesus? Who do I reflect? Am I a mirror image of Jesus?

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Ha Mashiach Kam (Christ is Risen in Hebrew). Ken Hu Kam (He is risen indeed). Have a lovely Passover and Easter season.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. CrewDog says:

    LET US PRAY that the celebration of Jesus’ Resurrection during Eastertide this year is also the beginning of Good People of Faith arising to Defend the Faith and Faithful!!

    “EXCLUSIVE–BOBBY JINDAL ON RELIGIOUS LIBERTY: ‘EXTREME LEFT’ BECOMING MORE SECULAR, RADICAL; ‘WE NEED TO FIGHT BACK”
    http://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2015/04/05/exclusive-bobby-jindal-on-religious-liberty-extreme-left-becoming-more-secular-radical-we-need-to-fight-back/

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. CrewDog says:

    PS ;-):
    Heartlight Daily Verse – April 6
    1 John 3:16
    This is how we know love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.
    Thoughts on today’s verse:
    What does it mean to lay down our lives for our brothers? Sounds pretty extravagant, but the next verse in 1 John 3 reminds us that most often it’s very simple: if we have a brother or sister in Christ with needs, we give up what we have to fill that need!
    Prayer:
    Lord God Almighty, I am convicted by your sacrifice and ask for eyes to see and grace to act when my brothers and sisters are in need. Through the name of Jesus I ask this. Amen.
    Visit heartlight.org for more

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Jacqueline Marie says:

    A very joyful Easter to all, and to all who visit this site. I have been blessed to read ( I don’t often comment) the thoughts and prayers of those who are seeking God’s will. It is a comfort to know there are so many who love God and His creation. I also welcome Kim to the community, although I feel more like a student – listening to the class discussion rather than a participant. Praise God for a community of real people who are ready to learn more of God’s will for us in this time. This blog is truly a gift to me for which I am very grateful. I know we have entered the storm. It is all around us. I used to think that my small group of friends and I were just very weird; the world wants us to think so. But it seems that we were trying to make sense out of what was contradicted in this world, and did not line up with His Word. I am beginning to understand more, and feel the need to continue to learn what my role is. Thank you, community for helping to bring clarity to my heart and soul.
    I am heartened by this community of believers. Blessings and joy to all this Easter.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Leslie R says:

      God bless you, Jacqueline, I too only recently found this site. I am very grateful to you and all that are part of ‘Charlie’s gang’

      Like

    • connie says:

      Hi, Jacqueline Marie! Your name is lovely. I think we all feel like students and it seems as though we are all learning from each other. I love the openess and humility of everyone here. I tell you the joy is palpable this glorious Easter season!. Easter blessings to all and I love love love when someone who hasnt chimed in yet like Jacqueline decides to. What a great big family we all are coming to be. Makes me very happy:))

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kim Johnston Hocutt says:

        Connie, I absolutely agree I love to hear from people who have been reading the blog and decide to chime in, when I first became an administrator I was very intimidated, but I am who I am , a little redneck girl from Alabama, not good at writing, not theologically studied, (I’m workin on that y’all), but I decided God gave me this to do and I am gonna do it!! I sooooo love this community and everyone here, and I am hoping to inspire others that are intimidated, cause you cannot be worse than me!!!! Haha

        Liked by 2 people

  22. Jean says:

    Please forgive me if this was previously discussed on this website, but my memory is as long as a toothpick.

    Anyway, in messages to Saint Faustina, Jesus said: “He who refuses to pass through the door of My mercy must pass through the door of My justice. (Diary 1146)”. Jesus also promised a period of mercy and Day of Mercy, to occur before the Day of Justice arrives.

    Has anyone noticed or mentioned how this correlates with the Holy Jubilee Year of Mercy that Pope Francis is planning to begin on Dec 8, 2015, the Feast of the Immaculate Conception? The Jubilee Year will conclude on November 20, 2016, Feast of Christ the King.

    Anyway, the pope will issue a papal bull this coming Saturday on the Vigil of Divine Mercy Sunday in front of the Holy Door of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome.

    As background, each of the four papal basilicas in Rome has a Holy Door. The doors are normally sealed shut from the inside so that they cannot be opened. They are opened during Jubilee years, when pilgrims enter through those doors to gain the plenary indulgence connected with the Jubilee. More on the significance of the door here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holy_door

    The rite of publication of the Jubilee Year will involve the reading of passages of the Bull before the Holy Door of the Vatican Basilica (a unique rite which has historical roots in the Church) and indicating the opening/closing dates of the Holy Jubilee Year of Mercy. Pope Francis will subsequently preside in St. Peter’s Basilica at the celebration of First Vespers of Divine Mercy Sunday (April 12), underlining the fundamental theme of the extraordinary Holy Year: God’s Mercy.

    In this rite of publication, Pope Francis is declaring this period an “Extraordinary Jubilee” that has the mercy of God at its center.

    In Judaism and Christianity, the concept of the Jubilee is a special year of remission of sins and universal pardon. In the Biblical Book of Leviticus, a Jubilee year is mentioned to occur every fiftieth year, in which slaves and prisoners would be freed, debts would be forgiven and the mercies of God would be particularly manifest. More here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jubilee_(Christianity)

    My speculation is:

    Could it be that the door to which Jesus was referring to Sister Faustina (door of mercy vs door of justice)…be that Jesus was referring specifically to this period between December 8, 2015 and November 20, 2016…the Jubilee year of Mercy when the Holy Door of St. Peter’s Basilica is opened and subsequently closed?

    I personally believe that the door of mercy, the opening of that period of time Jesus specifically promised to Saint Faustina, will begin on December 8, 2015 and end on November 20, 2016. (Charlie didn’t you indicate the rescue will come from Our Lady the Immaculate Conception whose feast day ushers in this period of mercy?).

    Also, for those who still anticipate the Illumination of conscience event that will precede a Great Miracle from God, it would seem the opening or closing of this door (or the period in-between) would be a splendid time for God to illuminate consciences, perhaps falling just before the fury of the storm begins? Also, there is a remote possibility it could begin when the pope opens the door at the vigil next week (but unlikely as the Illumination will come “when things are at their worst”).

    Also, the Great Miracle of Garabandal is to occur within a year of the Illumination on a feast day of a child martyr of the Eucharist in Spring on a Thursday at 8:30 in the evening. The martyr’s feast day that fits this model before the rescue in October 2017 is St. Hermengild, a Spanish child martyr whose feast day in 2017 is Thursday April 13th. Garabandal is in Spain. If the Illumination occurs at the end of the Jubilee Year of Mercy on the Feast of the Divine King in November 20th, 2016, then this martyr’s feast day is the ONLY one that would fit the Garabandal parameters.

    Note Also:
    IN 2017, APRIL 13TH, THE FEAST OF ST. HERMENGILD, WHO WAS MARTYRED FOR HIS FAITH IN THE HOLY EUCHARIST, WILL FALL ON HOLY THURSDAY … THE FEAST OF THE INSTITUTION OF THE HOLY EUCHARIST!

    This is a mere 6 months before the rescue, and interestingly the Miracle is prophesied to convert Russia! Perhaps then Russia’s conversion lends a hand in the rescue that is to follow in October 2017.

    When you take all of this into consideration, together with the lineup of Jewish feast days with the blood moon tetrarchs, and the information on this website from Charlie, it is looking more like Catholic private prophecy is aligning with secular world events in a spectacular way.

    Add to this a quote from Mark Mallett’s website about “The Harbinger” by author Jonathan Cahn:

    “…He also noted a pattern of judgments at seven-year intervals in September 2001 and 2008 marked by the greatest crashes in Wall Street history, up to that time. The first occurred on Sept. 17, 2001, just a few days after the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks, and the second occurred on Sept. 29, 2008. Both occurred on the biblical day of Elul 29, the very day appointed to wipe out the financial accounts of a nation. The next one occurs on Sept. 13, 2015.’ ”

    Is September 13, 2015 the beginning of the financial collapse? I leave that for your discernment.

    God Bless and hang on! God is doing a work in us and He is not finished!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Leslie R says:

      Thank you, Jean – excellent observations. I seem to be going through a gradual illumination of conscience for the last couple years – many events to atone for…My wife and I just finished ’33 Days to Morning Glory’ and now will focus on Faustina’s diary and Divine Mercy in the coming months.
      The hair on the back of my neck stood on end when I read from Charlie: “The final of these Blood Moons will arise on September 28 of this year, the eve of the Feast Day of the Holy Archangels, Gabriel, Michael and Raphael:” God bless, Les

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jean says:

        Leslie I think many Christians are going through their Illuminations in a less painful, slow way so they are not in shock when this event occurs. They will be the ones to pick up their brothers and sisters, and yes…their enemies when these others are traumatized by this event.

        Liked by 1 person

    • EllenChris says:

      Great article, Jean! Very interesting ideas and really good connections — you have me thinking. It is indeed the feast of St. Hermenegild who was indeed a martyr of the Eucharist — killed for refusing to receive Communion from an Arian bishop on Easter Sunday. However, he was not a child at the time, he was an adult with a wife. I don’t remember them saying a *child* martyr of the Eucharist, but just a martyr of the Eucharist.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bonnie C says:

      I had a conversation with my sister and her husband a few weeks ago when my brother in law said that if I would be able to follow him, every so often, I would hear him saying to himself, “You idiot!” Because he is having these memories of things he did and regrets from his past. Then, my sister told me about something she really regrets from her childhood.

      After that they said how one of their friends, when he came to visit, told them how he is having these memories of things he did in his life that he is filled with sorrow and regret for. They tried to console him, telling him he is and was a good guy. This, of course did not help.

      It wasn’t until some time after I left that I realized what was going on! This brings it home to me again. I must tell them and then they can tell their friend. I’m not sure where I read it, but in a relatively recent post from an alleged apparition or locution from Our Lady, she is said to have stated that she sends our angels to remind us (paraphrased) of things from our pasts that we need to seek reconciliation for because “it is necessary for your salvation.”

      Liked by 2 people

      • connie says:

        Could be also part of the Illumination- please Lord that all souls begin experiencing regret for past sins and begin hungering and thirsting for your forgiveness and tender loving Mercy!

        Like

      • barb129 says:

        I’ve been having this happen to me also. I will suddenly have a memory of something from my past that I had forgotten about that I want to confess. It’s gotten to the point where I’m asking the dear Lord to not remind me of any old sin until right before my scheduled confession day so I don’t have to fret over it too long…hehe…

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          So you are aware, Barb, at absolution ALL your sins are forgiven except those that you consciously withhold. An old sin you remember has been forgiven in a previous confession UNLESS you intentionally and consciously withheld it. I will repeat the advice I was long ago give…do not focus so heavily on sin because when you do, you are engaged with sin. And you should certainly not obsess over what Christ has already forgiven. When I say take the next right step, I am not talking about walking backwards but going forward.

          Liked by 3 people

  23. NancyA says:

    Folks, may I ask if anyone watched the show A.D. and what impressions you had? I did not see the previous program, but felt like this show did not always portray a Catholic understanding of some details, which I cannot enumerate now. Just a sense. There were some scenes which I found myself explaining to my 13 yo daughter were not quite as we believe via Catholic tradition. Curious as to other’s perceptions. Thanks!

    Like

    • Mick says:

      Nancy, I agree with you. I decided to skip A.D. because I was so unimpressed with the first installment (The Bible). I found that I had to do a fair bit of explaining, clarifying, and correcting after our family watched The Bible. I didn’t see the point in going through that again with A.D.

      This is just my own take; I know that a lot of people saw a lot of good in The Bible. But I have to be especially careful where my kids and their faith are concerned.

      Liked by 3 people

      • NancyA says:

        Thanks, Mick. Sophia Institute Press sent a mass email saying something like “why every Catholic should watch…” and yet I felt the same as you describe. I’m glad to have your ‘validation.’

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jean says:

      I always enjoy movies about the Bible even when they are not done well. I thought the original Bible series was well-done and so watched A. D. I was disappointed from the beginning b/c it felt like I came in, in the middle of the story. I actually went back through my recordings to see if I missed something. I finally realized they just made a colossal assumption that viewers knew what was going on. The problem with this, is that you are not fully vested in the characters when all the major scenes unfold..they are essentially still strangers to you.

      Also, I thought some of the dialogue and situational scenes were not very reflective of Scripture or what I expected to be said or to unfold, and some characters were very weak, especially Peter. The disconsonance must have occurred in my mind b/c of the protestant perspective being presented. I am Catholic and perhaps that is why it seemed to go off script.

      There were too many commercials and very little story unfolded in that hour. The story was just getting started when I noticed that the recording was half way done. Thank goodness I could fast forward.

      Like

    • Mark4:41 says:

      I’m glad they are putting these shows on TV. They take liberties and add things that are not in the bible but nothing way out of whack. If some explaining or correcting is needed well that’s a good topic for the kids. The story of Christ crucified and resurrected is being told to America and that’s great. If you want exact interpretation we will have to wait for the second coming or read your catechism.

      Like

  24. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Nancy,
    I didn’t see AD, but I think it was the Mark Burnett/Roma Downey production. If so, I saw some of their previous work. While I appreciated the effort, I was pretty turned off by there seeming to be a female apostle figure traipsing around with just the other apostles…that was too historically inaccurate and distasteful to me. Then, if course, you have Bill O’Reilly’ s “Killing Jesus” (disliked that title) wherein Jesus seemed to not have any clue that He was the Son of God, at least until the time I turned it off because I couldn’t watch anymore. I love the genre of movies, but they are hard to get right, it seems. My favorite is “Jesus of Nazareth” — filmed beautifully with a strong supporting cast, although I wish the actor playing Jesus had been a bit more masculine looking. However, the recently deceased James Farentino as Peter was fantastic. My daughter and I watched “Ten Commandments,” and we decided filmmaking has not surpassed those old epics. Although, how could anyone ever match Charlton Heston in a leading role? 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

    • Kati says:

      Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament,
      My husband, a daughter who came home this Easter and I also attempted to watch the O’Reilly movie, but found it pretty much devoid of essential truth…though it was supposed to be an historical account. There was a great deal of fiction and pure secular speculation involved in the entire thing. My daughter was the one who brought it up to be watched and she also found it boring and not very well done even from an artistic perspective. We could not even watch it to the end.
      This daughter, by the way, had come home after many years of not attending Mass and has gone through a great deal of pain and confusion. She went to Church with us on Good Friday and for the Easter Vigil and was totally enthralled with everything. I continue to see the expression on her face during the Vigil Mass in particular. I KNOW that the Holy Spirit was vitally engaging her and drawing her back to Him who is Perfect Love! It was a time of healing for her. For our God, NOTHING is impossible!!! 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

    • barb129 says:

      “Killing Jesus” drove me crazy too. Bill O’Reilly keeps saying that it’s supposed to be just historical, but I don’t think you can do a life of Jesus without making it religious. Giving the impression that Jesus doesn’t know He’s divine isn’t historic, it’s making a religious statement. Drives me crazy every time he talks about it on his show.
      I love Ben-Hur. When I was a child, I wanted so badly to see Jesus’ face in the movie but now I understand the wisdom of filming it that way. No one else’s face can possibly match the face of our dear Lord and this way you can imagine yourself how He must have looked without being disappointed.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

        My daughter was watching Ben-Hur on Easter. She loves that movie! I agree with you, barb, that when little I always wanted to see the face of Jesus, but also now see, too, the wisdom of not doing do.

        Liked by 2 people

      • NancyA says:

        My little girl, on watching the Mysteries of the Rosary program is frustrated that the face of Jesus is not shown, but I’ve explained it in a similar way, barb. Those programs are profoundly moving,

        Like

    • NancyA says:

      Thanks to you, too, Monica Joseph. I agree. I am very lucky. I was able to purchase DVD’s of the 1957 Father Peyton’s Rosary Crusade films of the Mysteries of the Rosary. My daughter loves them. Highly recommended: http://www.marianland.com/ignatius0809/LCSM-M.html

      Liked by 3 people

    • EllenChris says:

      Gospel of Luke Chapter 8 verses 1 – 3: Soon afterward He went on through cities and villages proclaiming and bringing the good news of the kingdom of God. The twelve went with Him and *also some women* who had been healed of evil spirits and infirmities; Mary called Magdalene from whom seven demons had gone out and Joanna, the wife of Chuza, Herod’s household manager and Susanna and many others who provided for them out of their means. The Gospel of the Lord (ESV) Somebody had to make dinner.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

        EllenChris,
        I like this Lucan passage about the women who ministered to the apostles; in fact, my youngest daughter is named Johanna, after the Joanna in the passage you mention. (Johanna is also my great-grandma’s name — the German version of Joanna. Each of our daughters had a Biblical name) I had always assumed, though, that the women worked with each other and not alone to, as you say, “make dinner” 🙂

        In the segment of the mini-series I saw, though, a woman who I am assuming was supposed to be Mary Magdalene is getting into the boat with just the other male apostles as they all head out onto the Sea of Galilee, and in fact she even seems to be at least semi- in charge, if I recall correctly, directing the apostles. And, also if I recall correctly, Jesus is not even in the scene (it may have been setting up the miracle of the walking on water.) It was a woman being alone in a boat with 12 men on the open water that was the proverbial “last straw.”

        Like

        • Mick says:

          Wow, Monica; that scene with Mary Magdalene and the apostles in the boat sounds like something out of Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code.

          Like

          • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

            That is the essence of how I remember it, Mick. I turned it off at that point –too anachronistic. If my memory or impression is wrong, though, I apologize for the mischaracterization.

            Like

  25. Bob says:

    I’ve been a bit scarce around here the last few days as my first grandbaby popped out yesterday. Elliott Robert. He’s a cutie and I would say so even if he weren’t my own. I was remembering today that. with how small and fragile and innocent each new life is how foolish for any of us to not understand our need to rely on God. Have a good day and God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Bob says:

    this from yesterday’s daily office readings:

    From an Easter homily by Melito of Sardis, bishop
    The Easter praise of Christ
    We should understand, beloved, that the paschal mystery is at once old and new, transitory and eternal, corruptible and incorruptible, mortal and immortal. In terms of the Law it is old, in terms of the Word it is new. In its figure it is passing, in its grace it is eternal. It is corruptible in the sacrifice of the lamb, incorruptible in the eternal life of the Lord. It is mortal in his burial in the earth, immortal in his resurrection from the dead.
    The Law indeed is old, but the Word is new. The type is transitory, but grace is eternal. The lamb was corruptible, but the Lord is incorruptible. He was slain as a lamb; he rose again as God. He was led like a sheep to the slaughter, yet he was not a sheep. He was silent as a lamb, yet he was not a lamb. The type has passed away; the reality has come. The lamb gives place to God, the sheep gives place to a man, and the man is Christ, who fills the whole of creation. The sacrifice of the lamb, the celebration of the Passover, and the prescriptions of the Law have been fulfilled in Jesus Christ. Under the old Law, and still more under the new dispensation, everything pointed toward him.
    Both the Law and the Word came forth from Zion and Jerusalem, but now the Law has given place to the Word, the old to the new. The commandment has become grace, the type a reality. The lamb has become a Son, the sheep a man, and man, God.
    The Lord, though he was God, became man. He suffered for the sake of those who suffer, he was bound for those in bonds, condemned for the guilty, buried for those who lie in the grave; but he rose from the dead, and cried aloud: Who will contend with me? Let him confront me. I have freed the condemned, brought the dead back to life, raised men from their graves. Who has anything to say against me? I, he said, am the Christ; I have destroyed death, triumphed over the enemy, trampled hell underfoot, bound the strong one, and taken men up to the heights of heaven: I am the Christ.
    Come, then, all you nations of men, receive forgiveness for the sins that defile you. I am your forgiveness. I am the Passover that brings salvation. I am the lamb who was immolated for you. I am your ransom, your life, your resurrection, your light, I am your salvation and your king. I will bring you to the heights of heaven. With my own right hand I will raise you up, and I will show you the eternal Father.

    Like

  27. Mack says:

    Jean, you have some interesting observations about the day of mercy. I’ve thought about that too. The Jubilee Year of Mercy is a perfect preparation for the Rescue. Since Charlie has said the government will fall and Obama won’t finish his term, I expect that calamitous events will start here during the year of mercy, since apparently the election won’t take place in 2016. That might spur more people to take advantage of this time of grace.
    Also, for what’s it’s worth, today marks 1000 days until Dec. 31, 2017. By then the Rescue will have happened. So whatever comes our way, it helps me to think “this is only going to last for X numbers of days…”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Me too, Mack… I’m just counting down the days until 12/31/17.

      Like

    • Jean says:

      Mack, I wasn’t aware that Charlie said the government will fall and Obama won’t finish his term. I’m a little lost about some of the early stuff concerning the storm and rescue since I came on board this website late.

      I personally was already speculating that the election won’t take place, but I thought it would be because of martial law. Martial law is the death nail for America IMO, but the America I once knew is “no more” already. I mourn it of course but am looking forward to the rescue and subsequent life that will follow.

      I know all this storm seems so scary to contemplate, but I have actually been walking around sort of on cloud nine since I noticed the connection b/w Jesus’ message to Saint Faustina and the Door of St. Peter’s, along with Charlie’s information. The reason is that I know in my heart that this dark confusion is about to be blinded by the light and the Era of Peace is near. That is something to be joyful about. My heart sings.

      Liked by 1 person

      • charliej373 says:

        Now you’re talking, Jean! Shoot, even in temporal terms, the Storm already looks like a relief from the craziness that now reigns every day.

        Liked by 2 people

        • SteveBC says:

          I agree, it does indeed look that way. However, as I have said before, I suspect that when we are actually in it, we will look back on these remarks and say, “What were we thinking!?!?!” Nonetheless, if these Things do not come as they must after all, I really believe we’ll be in much worse shape long-term.

          Like

  28. Bob says:

    What’s up? Everything Ok? It has been quiet lately. Keep in touch.
    God Bless bob

    Like

  29. Bob says:

    A few things here indicate hope for the conversion of our president who referred to Jesus as “Our Savior”. But how we live out this truth is the issue:
    http://www.catholicnews.com/data/stories/cns/1501497.htm

    Like

  30. A Quiet Person says:

    Happy Easter Everyone!

    Just a quiet story from a quiet person. I wear a wad of medals around my neck. My favorite actually contains a relic of Padre Pio. It looks like the relic is a bit of blood or bloody tissue. I have no idea how it came into my procession. That is a mystery to me but anyway, I treasure it.

    This morning, for some reason I thought I would take a look at all of them. I rarely do this except for once in a great while when I need to put them on new strings, and I was not planning on doing that today. I took a look and immediately saw that the relic portion of the Padre Pio medal was gone! I do not even know how this could happen. It just somehow or another must have popped out. I couldn’t believe it. I was so sad.

    I try to not overly spiritualize everything. Things just happen. But I went the whole 9 yards with this. I thought maybe this was a lesson in learning to be less attached to things. That is a good lesson for me because truly, this was my most treasured possession. Then I figured I had to realize that St. Padre Pio does not need me to have a relic of him in order for him to go to bat for me. Besides, it is not Padre Pio who is going to save me. That is true, but I was still so upset! It was just plain gone and what were the chances of finding it?

    Well, apparently, the chances were much better than I ever would have figured . I thought I should look for at least a moment though I had so little hope. I went in the bathroom and as I took my shirt off, the teeny, tiny relic, which apparently had stuck to my skin popped off onto the floor and I found it!

    Here is my point. There was no reason for me to check my medals today whatsoever. Nor did I hear a drum roll before I did so, announcing that the Holy Spirit or Padre Pio or my angel or anyone else was about to prompt me to do something that I would be very grateful for listening to. In fact, I did not have any particular thought whatsoever about checking my medals. I just did it. And for some reason I am drawing a lot of reassurance and comfort from this because I am thinking maybe that is how the Lord will be speaking to me, and maybe you as well, especially in the times we are preparing for.

    Sometimes I worry and wonder if I will hear His voice, if I will recognize it, if I will understand what He is saying. . . For those of you like that, you will know what I mean. And what I learned today is that the Lord is pretty well aware of how dumb-like-a-sheep I am and He gave me this experience to tell me that He can figure out how to communicate with me just fine, and my worrying has nothing to do with the success of His plan.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Wonderful story, Quiet. As I was reading it, before I got to the part where you talk about dumb sheep, I started thinking about sheep and how they recognize the voice of the shepherd. We raise sheep on our farm. And one thing that farming has taught me is how perfect Jesus’ agricultural references and analogies were. When he described us all as sheep, he wasn’t kidding. Sheep are dumber than a box of rocks. However, they really do know the voice of the shepherd, but not the voice of anybody else. My husband and my almost 16-year-old daughter are the two shepherds (well, Shepherd and Shepherd Jr.) in the family. They can go out to the pasture and yell, “Come on!” or “Let’s go!” or “The moon is made of green cheese!” and the sheep will come running from every corner of the pasture and head to the barn. But if I go out there, I can yell until I’m blue in the face and nothing will happen.

      Your story also reminded me of a story that our associate pastor, Fr. Maurice, told us over a decade ago. He was a young priest at the time (maybe 35), and he was telling us how he had known since he was maybe 7 that God wanted him to be a priest; but he spent over 15 years running in the opposite direction. Finally, on a whim, he went to Medjugorje and again, on a whim, he went to Confession for the first time in a very long while. Later that evening, the Blessed Mother appeared to him in one of the vineyards near the village. She didn’t speak, but he spoke to her. He said, “You want me to do something, don’t you?” She nodded. “You want me to become a priest, don’t you?” She nodded. So he spent the next few months in Medjugorje, living with a local family and shoring up his faith before returning to the US and enrolling in the seminary.

      One day, the son of his host family asked Maurice if he’d like to accompany him as he went to get the family’s sheep. Apparently in that part of the world, all the families that own sheep hire a few shepherds to take all the village sheep up into the mountains during the growing season. Then in the fall, the shepherds bring all the sheep (hundreds of them, it sounds like) back down to the village and return them to their respective owners. Maurice, puzzled, asked the young man how he would know which sheep were his. In his broken English, he responded, “I DON’T know. The SHEEPS know.” And, sure enough, when the hundreds of sheep arrived in the village, all of the assembled villagers started calling and hollering… and the sheep divided themselves up and all went to their respective owners. At the end of the story, Fr. Maurice summed up by saying that if we are listening for His voice, we will recognize it, “Because the sheeps know.”

      So, Quiet, this is the long way around saying thank you for reminding me, and all of us, to trust that we sheep will indeed recognize the Voice of the Shepherd if we are attempting to Trust-Do-Love.

      Liked by 2 people

      • A Quiet Person says:

        Thank you Mick for this wonderful story. It was so validating. I am grateful you took the time to write it. It gives me a whole new way of understanding of how I can be so inadequate (dumb!) yet still be able to hear the Voice of the Shepherd.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Petra says:

        Mick, I really love this story, especially about how “the SHEEPS know.” 🙂 Sheep are dumb, right? Yet, they know the voice of their master.
        Isn’t it a lot like how we often recognize something is true and when it’s not? Or like sensing someone is trying to con us, or knowing when they are being sincere? It seems the closer we get to Christ, the more are able to tell the difference between truth and something that sounds like the truth, but isn’t. We might not even be able to put our fingers on exactly what’s wrong with the “not true” but we seem to find it doesn’t fit.
        I’m sure we dumb sheep are going to recognize the voice of the Shepherd when He calls. I think that’s true because we already ignore a lot of voices that would lead us astray (in the media and around us), and quicken to those that seem to draw us nearer to Him.

        Like

      • the phoenix says:

        What a cool story, Mick!

        Like

        • Mick says:

          Phoenix, I wish you could have heard Fr. Maurice tell the story. He’s a young, vivacious priest with a ton of Irish wit. He gave our oldest son his first Holy Communion years ago. How I miss him and his incredible homilies!

          Like

      • connie says:

        Mick, we use to raise sheep, and goats too. The stories Jesus told about the sheep and goats use to have me thinking all the time about the nature of both. And goats are pretty nasty creatures- they seem to have a mean streak in them, and they are pretty independent whereas the sheep are so very trusting and biddable( for the most part!.) But those goats, boy, did they try my patience. So I kinda got a soft spot for my sheep, esp. the little lambs. So I always thought that Jesus has a soft spot for his sheep, even if they are a little dumb because they can be sweet and innocent and soft and cuddly. But not those goats!

        Like

        • Mick says:

          I know, right? Goats are… so goaty! Jesus wasn’t kidding when he talked about separating the sheep from the goats. I would get rid of all of our goats and get a cow instead, except that five of us are allergic to cow’s milk. But, you’re right… they are nasty creatures that try one’s patience. And don’t get me started on how destructive they are to fences, barn doors, etc.

          I’m with you… I’ll take dumb but sweet/innocent/soft/cuddly over clever but nasty/destructive any day of the week.

          We’re in the middle of lambing right now. We had a set of triplets, two sets of twins, and a singleton born–all on Wednesday! They are so very cute… and in a few months they’ll be awfully tasty.

          Liked by 1 person

          • connie says:

            I particularly love lamb but I have yet to do any justice to a goat dish. Although we don’t raise any animals at present, I have been throwing hints at my husband to get some chickens and one or two nanny goats for milk- but he has to build the structures to house them and I hope we don’t run out of time before he gets going. He did build me a worm farm and a greenhouse, so I am hopeful!:)

            Like

          • Mick says:

            Ooh… worm farm! Sometimes I think we should get one; but I always decide against it because if we feed our scraps to the worms, we’ll have fewer scraps for the chickens.

            Goat meat… I once made a meat loaf with 4 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound ground goat. It was so awful that, over my husband’s thoroughly unconvincing protestations that it didn’t taste that bad, I fed it to the dogs. However, we finally figured out that if you use the goat meat and bones to make a soup stock which you simmer for 12 to 24 hours, it makes delicious soup or stew. Goat meat is also good in tacos and makes some of the best sausage I’ve ever eaten.

            Just a thought about goats: If you are able to talk your hubby into getting you a couple of nannies, perhaps you might want to consider asking him to buy you a buck (or buckling) also. With the times that are now here, it might be difficult next year (or in the fall, for that matter) to find somebody who has a buck that could service your nannies. The same goes for chickens: perhaps you may want to consider getting a straight run of a dual-purpose breed and then keeping a handful of the roosters for breeding the hens. I can’t imagine that McMurray or Cackle Hatcheries will be shipping day-old chicks next year.

            Like

      • MMBev says:

        And so it was a long, long time ago. When Jesus used the analogy, shepherds kept their sheep together at night, in an enclosure, with one gate. It was guarded to protect the sheep and keep them from wandering away. (The guys were guarding their flocks by night, angels etc…) That way you had company, as well as “group protection”. In the morning, each shepherd would call his sheep, and the bunch would sort itself out and follow the right Shepherd. Only personally, I like sheeps. I don’t mind being one of Jesus’ sheeps.

        Like

    • Leslie R says:

      Thanks, Quiet. I’m trying to watch differently too as well as listen. I’ve seen lately where my plans for the day are frustrated, but something else happens that leads to a wonderful blessing; a better answer to some prayer than I would have devised. God bless, Les

      Liked by 1 person

  31. Mick says:

    To read an article about the final moments of some of the Kenyan students martyred last week, please click on the link and then scroll down a ways:

    https://avemariaradio.net/kresta_in_the_aftern/kenyan-students-asked-for-prayers-before-al-shabaab-shot-them/

    Kyrie eleison.

    Like

  32. Anne says:

    Be careful regarding the rescue.We do not know……it may only be a point of time with a long climb back. What about the 3 and a half years of anti christ’sreign.???
    Confusing to me.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Anne, I constantly encourage people to not get caught up in timelines…but Revelations says the Beast will exercise authority for 42 months – and it makes a distinction between the beast and the antichrist the beast serves. Most of what I read on religious sites concerning this are specific interpretations rather than actual Scripture. These interpretations have gained currency and are commonly accepted so people think they know exactly what will happen – just as it was common religious knowledge a little over 2,000 years that the Messiah would be a rich, powerful warrior who would cast off the Roman oppressors and establish a new earthly kingdom that would never be overthrown. I strongly suspect that now, just as then, the common assumptions that everyone “knows” are going to be confounded. Which is why I tell you to acknowledge God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to those around you.

      Like

      • Jean says:

        Charlie I agree with your approach about the AC. There are some contemporary writers insisting the AC will be from Islam, and yet cannot explain why the Jews will accept him a their Messiah. Then earlier writers associated him with a new Roman Empire rising out of the ashes of a collapsed Europe. Well, I think the AC will look and feel and seem normal and the world will not suspect him when he rises to power. It will only be after he’s gained power that it will become clear he was not what he seemed. Either way, those close to God will have the grace to recognize something amiss with his philosophy and hopefully avoid falling in with him, though I do believe the Bible says most of the world will follow him. In Catholic life, we believe that Mary will help us avoid error if we say the Rosary faithfully every day. That is our weapon…and love.

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          Now you are on to something, Jean. If the antichrist was so easy to spot, why would so many follow him?

          Like

          • MMBev says:

            If you’re just one of Jesus’ sheeps, you’re too (oh do forgive me) dumb to even try to figure that stuff out. It takes you ages to even read one of Charlie’s blogs, and there are so many comments that you forget half the stuff that got ritten anihow, so you eat grass and T-D-L. Sheeps have trouble even remembering the steps in the correct order, which is why Charlie has to roll his eyes and keep reminding us, and reminding us. That’s also why we have had to practice it for so long. And we still often fall short. God should have made sheeps with more brains.

            Like

          • Mick says:

            You could write a book, MMBev. Seriously. I bet I’m not the only person here who would buy it. And “ritten anihow” was priceless.

            Like

        • Personal speculation about the anti-Christ etc is Ok as long as we are not dogmatic about our speculation and elevate it to definitive truth and we are ready to adjust our opinion and speculations when new information comes to hand. It can also be slander when people accuse innocent leaders of being the anti-christ. When I was younger there were people saying that Ronald Reagan was the anti-Christ and Margaret Thatcher was the whore of Babylon or those crazy people who think Prince Philip or Prince Charles or Prince William or Prince Harry is the anti-Christ.

          Like

  33. Anne says:

    Thank you Charlie for your reply……..makes sense to me that we will be confounded because all is God’s call. Just stick close to good company ….. Jesus , Mary ….. And go for the ride on the wings of the Holy Spirit!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

