Enter the Lions

We're from the government and we're here to help.

We’re from the government and we’re here to help.

By Charlie Johnston

I know people are waiting anxiously for my “Whatcha Gonna Do When They Come For You” column. I’ve nearly got it finished, but I reckon I will wait until tomorrow evening to put it up. First it is long and second, people got excited enough when I touched obliquely on the subject a few days ago that I figure I will be hopping the day after it is up – and I really would like a quiet Sunday tomorrow. If all goes well, we will be taping the video of some honor choir members singing the song of deliverance that you have been waiting so patiently for – and it will be up sometime next week.

I want you to know several things I have been contemplating – in part, that you might now that while we talk of dire potentialities, even likelihoods, I go on planning things as usual. Of course, longtime readers here know that if I was told the exact hour things were going to crash, I would go about the business I had planned without any changes unless specifically directed otherwise – figuring that wherever I was to be at the moment was where God wanted me to be. And I would not worry about why, knowing that He would reveal it in His own good time. What I most want is that all of you would be as docile.

I want to, beginning in the summer, to start taking a week to a week and a half each month and visit various cities both to encourage and share practical counsel with groups of people, have dinner with friends, visit local churches and maybe tour things like Christian facilities, offer support to small local Christian businesses. Any public gathering will always be free and there will be NO passing of a basket – and while I would have prayer cards to give out, there would be no table of items for sale. But I have lived poverty for several years now and it would have to be financed someway. There would be travel expenses and I would need a cheap hotel – something like Super 8 or a clean independent with wifi. I do very well in public, but I need solitude regularly…I get very crabby and I have a hard time thinking clearly if I can’t retreat and be alone for a time every day (you can check with my old candidates – they will tell you it is true…and that a crabby Charlie really isn’t a fun Charlie). I figure if I spent the better part of two days in each area, having a sponsor in each who would contribute $300 would cover transportation, food and hotel and allow everything to be freely given to all who would want to come. It would be large enough to cover expenses but small enough that it would not effect my simple way in these times.

To that end, to help create a real network, I am going to invite people who are willing to host a get-together without me first to send me an email at chrljhnstn@gmail.com. I want some of you to be able to get together and meet each other. The initial meeting would have to be held in some sort of facility OUTSIDE anyone’s home. A church hall, a VFW hall, whatever. But the initial set-up would have to be somewhere other than anyone’s home. There are some crackpots who target this site. You don’t see them and you shouldn’t. It is not just a function of the site…any reasonably sized public entity attracts its share of crackpots. I dealt with them in media and a lot in politics…and one of the key things is to protect people from crackpots. Most are not dangerous…a very few are. I will not have any of you used as a canary in the crackpot coal mine. Once you have met and know some people, you can easily set up meeting at homes with people you already know and trust – but any public call cannot be in a home.

We will have both stickers and buttons in a few weeks. They will be available through the Full of Grace Supply House…and I will have them to give away whenever I am on the road. I am heading out to the cabin again in a week and a half, going to do the final draft of the prayer meeting booklet and, hopefully, the beginning of a summary of the key themes at this website. I mentioned that there may be some significant changes coming to the website, but there is a lot to work out on that. For now, my sister has taken on a role of comments editor – and just in time. I have over a thousand emails to deal with. Most have to wait about two weeks, but I am keeping it at least to a dull roar.

My posts right now are largely geared as to how to man your post well. I work to hearten and encourage all of us, but especially the good clerics that face a great challenge. I want those who stand from the start to know that many faithful Christians have their backs and are following their lead – and defending them against secular attacks. I want those who panic at the first sight of battle to know that all is not lost, that they will have an opportunity to steady themselves and hopefully become new St. Pauls and St. Peters. But I want those who publicly betray the faith or attack the faithful to know they will be held to account – in this world and the next.

Cleveland Bishop Richard Lennon

Cleveland Bishop Richard Lennon

I have an opening piece on that that should go up midweek. But for now, we have yet another heroic Bishop who is not giving in to the secular tide, but standing heroically for the faith and the faithful. He is Bishop Richard Lennon of Cleveland, who has issued standards for teachers of Catholic High Schools, including publicly supporting Catholic teaching. There is a marvelous article on it in Lifesite News. I am going to add a permanent link to Lifesite. Though I sometimes think it lets its ideological bent color its straight reporting, it is covering these types of stories with a depth and vigor you can find nowhere else.

Meantime, if you can, take the time to send a note or make a call to the Bishop thanking him for his fidelity to the faith, the contact info is:

Bishop Richard Lennon, Roman Catholic Diocese of Cleveland, 1404 E. 9th St., Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Phone: 216-696-6525

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Church Governance, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Enter the Lions

  1. Alex ireton says:

    Hi CHARLIE, I would like to offer my home in Rocklin, Ca. It’s considered a suburb of Sacramento. You would have your own private room and bath. We live on a plateau over looking a Beautiful quite valley. Our garden is like a monestery garden. Very quite and peaceful. My husband and I are retired. We will offer you good meals and the nesasary expenses for your stay. Northern Cal needs you. Please let me know.
    Blessings,

    Alex Ireton

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hey Alex,

      I wrote down, but edited out your phone number. I think a California swing would be good in late July, so I will contact you about it.

      Like

      • Alex ireton says:

        Looking forward to hearing from you. July would be good for us. If there is any thing I can do from my end in contacting priest in this area who have parishes you would like to appear at let me know. Also there is a Catholic book store Easters that has special events. Dennis Easter is the owner and provides a great place for Catholic venues. Willing to help out anyway I can.
        Blessings
        Alex

        Like

  2. AngdK says:

    Praise God!! What a wonderful plan!! I would love to meet and get connected with others who share this commonality of thought and faith!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Becky-TN says:

    Hey Charlie, can I assume you will be asking some of the bishops and priests that read your site to possibly have gatherings at their parishes/diocese?

    Would love to meet you in person and meet my brothers and sisters here.

    God Bless,

    Becky

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      No, I’ll mainly look to readers, then once I have a general area, take it from there. For the Bishops particularly, reading my site is something they are reticent to talk about – and I respect that. I spent a lot of time in politics…they have plenty of pressures as it is and I do not want to add to them, rather to offer support. When the time is right, I will rise to help them in any way asked, but for now, I really just want to help make it easier for them to defend the faith and the faithful. For many, publicly discussing me would just open up a new line of attack against them – and distract them from their primary task of leading their flocks. In politics I was always at the front when it would best serve the cause and stayed in the background when it would best serve the cause. The whole point is to get everyone in position and fortified to defend the faith and the faithful. I can take care of myself. I know this may seem strange, but right now, if I were counseling a Bishop, I think I would advise him to keep silent on the matter…neither inviting me nor forbidding me. And if any wish to visit privately, I certainly will do that…but they have enough controversy to fight that they need our support, not additional complications.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kati says:

      I don’t know where in TN you are, Becky…but I am slightly outside of Nashville and would love to meet you! Charlie, if I can help in any way with what you do in Nashville, I am ready! 😉

      Like

  4. Jacqueline R says:

    Alexa, if you haven’t read this please do. He is talking about beginning to visit different areas of the country. I’m inclined to want to invite him here. What do you think?

    Sent from my iPad, pax, +jacqueline

    Like

  5. Karen says:

    The idea of being able to meet people of the NRS family gives me hope. Maybe we could start prayer groups using Charlie’s guidelines to help strengthen and encourage one another since we will be close geographically to one another… Thank you Charlie for all you do.

    Like

  6. Lizzyjane says:

    God send his army of angels to guard all of your ways+++

    Like

  7. anthonymullendivineantidote says:

    I would like to sponsor you with the ability to give away one free Consecration to Jesus through Mary book and one free Flame of Love book for each person who comes to hear you. We will ship them ahead of time to wherever you are going to be at your direction. We will also sponsor the first three trips for $1000. May God be praised and our Mother venerated as the Triumph of God’s Divine Mercy! Your friend in Christ and our Mother, Tony

    >

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Well shoot, Anthony, that is wonderful! It may be a little hard to know how many will come…as it won’t be by reservation and it will be open to all. I think I will go ahead and plan the first trip for late June. I’m thinking on that first one I will do Tallahassee, Atlanta, Birmingham and maybe Nashville. I figure I can probably add a fourth city because I have family I can stay with in Tallahassee and Birmingham. I will be in contact with you to start working out some logistics later. But the Flame of Love Book would be a lovely gift for people…and I admire your spirit. We keep proceeds from the Prayer of Miraculous Trust cards to finance other things – like the stickers and buttons we are doing. Though they are sold online, that allows us to give them away at all events and to anyone who comes around…and that is the whole purpose…make enough to let us spread it far and wide.

      Liked by 1 person

      • m&m says:

        Hello Charlie!
        This would be an awesome experience to be able to meet you! There are a few of us on the Space Coast, FL, and we would love to have you. Tallahassee is far away from us (for whatever reason, FL doesn’t look like it takes long to get any where) so would it be possible for you to swing farther south?

        Like

      • Tom says:

        Would love to sponsor you in Atlanta, please contact me when you are ready to set the plan.

        Like

      • Mary says:

        So glad you will be coming to Atlanta! There are many already coming together in prayer groups and in plans for refuges. We will look forward to your visit!

        Like

  8. dciavarella says:

    Thanks again for your guidance and steadfastness Charlie! Would love you to visit up here in ND but not sure of the number of followers in this region. I will even personally upgrade your stay to a Holiday Inn Express. (If familiar with the commercial, it might make you invincible!). When I read of the sheep and goats sifting going on, I worry that I have the courage to not back down from my post. God knows that I have many vulnerabilities which I hope will hold up under pressure. Either way, what a delight and blessing we have in Divine Mercy Sunday tomorrow April 12. God’s mercy is infinite and I intend to partake of the great gift of the indulgence by Mass and confession this week. What better way to prepare for the coming and current battles!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. LittleLight says:

    Thank you for all you do, Charlie. Right after I read your post, I found this link from SpiritDaily. Just, Wow. I seem to be finding echos of what you say here in your website, just about, well everywhere. It seems many have eyes to see and ears to hear. It seems as if a sleeping giant were waking up.

    This should give us all great hope. Praise God! I just know Our Awesome God is much like C. S. Lewis described—-not a tame lion. Thank you, Dear Holy Father Francis! God Bless & keep us all!

    http://dsdoconnor.com/2015/04/11/the-great-sign-of-the-holy-year-of-mercy/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sr Lorraine says:

    Bishop Lennon is a wonderful bishop. I know first hand because he was one of our chaplains in Boston before he became a bishop. He is a very dedicated, hard-working and pastoral priest and bishop. He ha to step in to deal with the abuse crisis after Cardinal Law resigned. That was a very tough time.

    Like

  11. Phillip Frank says:

    I am in a Christian band and if you don’t mind, I would like to learn and play your ” song of deliverance” when we play out to further its influence.
    We are a multidenominational band and play at different events, church functions and other places looking to spread the Lords message through music.
    Phil

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, I only have the foundation lines…you will see it next week. Whatever the melody is above it, I don’t expect to hear that until the rescue when it is actually done. But you are free to use it. Shoot…I am even going to go out on a limb. I don’t normally ask much of anything, except in conversations my visitors initiate – and then I stick to the subject. But I think I will ask this time if it would be okay if different musicians added their own melody above the line. It might be kind of cool to see what different people come up with – and who gets closest to the actual heavenly melody when it is finally given.

      Liked by 2 people

  12. anne says:

    in case you did not see it Charlie,{put comment on previous post} ……please please do not forget to work on and print your article on the 3 Popes and the storm. i feel it gives a bigger picture for us all. Remember, we are not all in America and will not be able to go to a meeting. So i think this article may give us all a stronger sense of being in the BOAT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MMBev says:

      My heart feels like yours, Anne. I haven’t been thinking of a particular subject, but mourning a bit that I’m unable to travel down to a “Charlie Event” in the States. Bet there are a lot us feeling the same way. God will tend to our needs.

      Like

  13. radiclaudio says:

    Hi Charlie, I have been so busy with my business the last few weeks that I haven’t been able to reply much to your or others posts much. but I have been following you and all the dear commentors to stay connected. I have also been praying for us all.

    Finally, I want to share a thought as a follow on to your idea regarding supporting our priests and bishops, a great idea by the way. I am friends with my US congressman. He is a good and holy man. An openly pro life Catholic. He and his family take a lot of grief for their faith. He calls me occasionally for a spiritual boost. This happened again today. He and the few others like him also need our prayers, love and support. Please consider at least praying for the few men and women in our government trying to hold the line. Actually all of the the Disciples and non believers alike.

    Much love and affection,

    Rich

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lily says:

    What a great idea, Charlie. I don’t suppose you will be coming to Canada? I would love to facilitate a get-together/prayer group, regardless. Thank you for all that you do!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Kris R. says:

    Charlie, I would like to extend to you an invitation to our small town here in SD. We have a loft over a boathouse in a quiet bay you could stay in. Plenty of room in the house if you prefer. Reader Nancy D. also lives in this town. Between the two of us I think we could organize a gathering.

    Like

  16. EllenChris says:

    I just shot you an email, Charlie — I really hope you will consider it. Come to the Capital District of Albany–Schenectady–Troy, Please. There are lots of folks here who would love to meet you and really need to do that. Love and prayers for Mercy Sunday!

    Like

    • luvmercy5775 says:

      EllenChris, I live within driving distance of the area you mention. How can we get connected?

      Like

    • Anna819 says:

      I relocated to the Capital District of Albany a couple of years ago and have been praying to meet some like minded people in this area. This site is one of the few things that keeps me going. It would be such a blessing to meet you, luvemercy5775, and any others of you who live in this area.

      Like

  17. Sonya says:

    Thank you,Charlie for encouraging the faithful and helping us keep our eyes on Jesus and be a sign of hope. Reading your blog has given me courage and hope. It is difficult to stay calm knowing a storm is coming that the likes of we have never seen. A group of us have started to come together to help prepare, mostly moral support and friendship. We are in the Boston area and would love to host a visit.

    Like

  18. EllenChris says:

    What an amazing, wonderful, blessed day this has already turned out to be! Thank You, good Lord.

    May His limitless Mercy and Grace touch everyone deeply today and always.

    Like

  19. Another Karen says:

    Hi Charlie,

    I live in southern New Hampshire and would love to do what I can to get you here. I am about halfway between Portland, Me. and Boston, and not too far, so much area can be covered.I feel blessed to have found this blog, and really need your courage and support. I look forward to your ‘what you gonna do when they come for you’….

    Thanks for all you do and this ministry.

    Like

  20. Bob says:

    And the St Louis area near your old stomping ground is waiting!!

    Like

  21. Melanie says:

    Dear Charlie,
    I need your help..I teach and encourage everyone..especially young teens to take advantage of the Sacraments including Confession and the Eucharist regularly… I have been telling them to go to Confession once a month as a rule and Mass every week. I took my family yesterday, and our Priest told both my husband and my son that they did not need to come to Confession every month. Rather only when they have done something serious or have done many things they need to confess…. he told my son to instead pay more attention to doing good things. He also did not give either of them any Penance even when my son confessed the sin of Pride. My son, is one of many 14-15 year olds that think a little lie here or there is no big deal…that disobedience isn’t really that bad on the grand scale of things…after all they see other kids doing it and getting away with it… I tell him that sin is a slipper slope..that one small one, leads to several small ones to larger ones creating a big gap between him and God…also, the importance of accountability of one’s choices and their consequences nor matter how big or small. That Confession brings us closer to God and frees us from the lies of the enemy. We also receive a blessing from Jesus through the Priest. Should I be concerned with this Priest who is telling my son and other teens that regular confession is not that important…only once in a while as needed according to them? He also made a reference to Karl Marx in his homily regarding the distribution of wealth…that it wasn’t his original idea…that it came from the New Testament where the disciples of Christ gathered together in community, sold and blended all their belongings…. I am thinking of leaving this Parish as it has been suffering for many years now with a lack of Passion for Christ…a very lukewarm parish I am sad to say…I’ve been hoping it would be renewed but, with this new Priest I am very concerned. I would appreciate your thoughts on this as I am aware that the Priest are being sifted too and we must be aware of false teachings and when to leave.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, yes, Melanie, I would find a new Parish home. I have know a few priests with the attitude you describe. They often think they are hip, but often shortchange their parishioners by not taking them seriously. I once had someone close to me who had been out there for a while…wanted to go to Confession after five years of serious disorder. The person did. The priest gave her three Hail Mary’s. Oh she was furious…felt like the priest hadn’t taken her offenses near as seriously as she did – and actually made light of them. She asked if I could take her to another priest who would do it right. I told her that the absolution was valid, even if the priest was unserious…but that if she could wait a few weeks I could get her an appointment with one who would take her serious. The only sins she would need absolution for would be those of the two-week interim – but he would be glad to listen and giver her counsel on the larger problem. I took her…and waited outside for her. It was almost an hour. When she came out, she was beaming…and enthusiastically told me it would take her a week to get through the penance he whacked her with – but he took her seriously.

      I know it is a tough call for priests on this matter. I have been fortunate…I have gotten some of the heaviest penances on the lightest confessions – and some of the lightest on the most agonizing confessions…and almost all have been well calibrated. But priests, take care…some times when you think you are giving a penitent a break, you are actually conveying to them that you take neither the faith nor them seriously.

      But if I were you, I would not hesitate to find a new parish. Life is tough enough…and Mass should give you peace and bring you closer to God rather than filling you with anger and disquiet.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Bob says:

        On Divine Mercy Sunday it is good to remember that the severity of the penance has nothing to do with the Mercy received as we could never do enough penance anyway. Sometimes a greater penance may help me to reform and to be more opened to God and sometimes a simple penance may remind us the mercy is all from God, so it varies. For most of sinners frequent confession is good to not be careless about small sins which can lead to greater faults. And even JP2 went weekly!

        Like

    • Sr Lorraine says:

      While the absolution is always valid and that is the most important aspect, I think more healing would come through confession if priest’s knew how to help people truly receive it. That seems like what you are saying here.

      Like

  22. CrewDog says:

    I wouldn’t mind visiting my old stomping grounds near Scott AFB. I have not traveled that way in over 20 years … the roads are better now I’m told?
    Have a Great Feast Day of Divine Mercy … Ya’ll 😉

    Like

  23. Matthew says:

    Charlie:
    I would love to meet others in the metro-Detroit area who are readers of this site. Also willing to sponsor or help sponsor a visit here to south-eastern Michigan.
    Matthew

    Like

    • Mick says:

      Matthew, I live near Lansing; where are you?

      Charlie, I sent you an e-mail this morning about hosting/sponsoring you if you wanted to come to the Lansing/Jackson area; but metro Detroit would be better than no trip to Michigan.

      Something just occurred to me: Charlie, remember the priest I talked about in another comment–Fr. John Hedges, the priest in New Boston MI? Well, that’s in southeastern MI, and I bet he’d be more than glad to have you come and speak in his parish. Mark Mallett has been there at least once, and he and Fr. Hedges are good friends. Perhaps you could have Mark get you and Fr. Hedges in touch with each other and work something out. Or, I’d be happy to do some legwork, if that would help. Thoughts?

      Like

      • Carmelite says:

        Mick and Matthew, my daughter lives about 20 min. from New Boston. We drove there for morning Mass after reading Mark Mallet’s post. The church is so small :-), filled with icons and statues, Mass was a beautiful experience (keeling at the altar rail for communion), along with Exposition after Mass and Divine Mercy chaplet and Lauds and NO handshaking. Altho’ my daughter with two small children wouldn’t be much help in setting things up, I also believe it would be a good idea to contact Fr. Hedges. Wish I lived closer. I would certainly make a good try at being there to hear Charlie.

        Like

        • Mick says:

          Hi, Carmelite! OK, let’s see… Matthew, Michelle, Susan, Quiet, RMD, you, and me. Am I missing any Michigan people who have chimed in?

          Charlie, are there enough of us for you to consider a stop in southeastern MI? Would you maybe like one of us to contact Fr. Hedges and get his take?

          Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Oh gosh, Mick, in my initial planning, I do indeed intend to make September an upper midwestern swing, probably Lansing, Chicago, Springfield and St. Louis.

            Like

      • A Quiet Person says:

        Hello Charlie and all of you other Michiganders. I live in the diocese of Lansing but live closer to the Ann Arbor area, and not all that far from New Boston. (My son graduated from Fr. Hedges’ parish school in 2010 and my daughter went there as well). I love the idea of a Michigan visit including Fr. John Hedges. His church is absolutely imbued with prayer. One can feel it. it was also the site of a Eucharistic miracle a few years ago. I think you can still google it for more information. And yes, it would be great to have a “pow-wow!” maybe sooner than later, from the sound of things!

        Like

        • Mick says:

          Quiet, that’s neat that your kids want to St. Stephen’s. I had heard about the Eucharistic miracle that happened there–what a great grace for that parish! I’ve never been to New Boston; but I’ve spoken to Fr. Hedges on the phone, and I heard him speak a few years ago at a Heart to Heart event at Domino Farms. He’s pretty awesome. He even enrolled my youngest son in the Brown Scapular for me.

          I, too, hope that all of us Michigan folk can get together sooner rather than later. In the meantime, however, would you like to maybe meet for lunch sometime in the not-too-distant future? I’m not sure what your work schedule is like, but I’d be happy to drive to Ann Arbor or wherever to meet you for lunch.

          Like

          • A Quiet Person says:

            Hi Mick,
            I would love to get together! During the week is messy because I work and also have a busy 15-year old who keeps me hopping with her activities. Do you have time on the weekends? Maybe I could meet you there wherever you go to Mass. I don’t mind driving at all.

            Like

          • Mick says:

            Quiet, a Sunday would work fine, if you wouldn’t mind driving to western Jackson County for Mass. My family always goes to my dad’s for brunch after Mass. I’ve already checked with him, and he said that you’re more than welcome to join us. Would this work for you?

            Charlie, I’m sorry to do this to you, but… pretty-please, could you send my e-mail to both Susan and Quiet so that I can stop jacking your threads? As a mea-culpa-cum-thank-you, I’ll say some extra prayers for you this evening. Thanks! 🙂

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Okay, Mick, I have done it – and will probably regret it as I fear I will get more such requests – and it can get time intensive. For most, you are just going to have to wait until some sort of private forum is set up so you can exchange such things yourself.

            Like

          • Mick says:

            Thank you so much, Charlie. I won’t bother you any more (about e-mail addresses, at least).

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            No problem, Mick…you had an imminent need – and some of the people you get together with can get a jump on planning out logistics for my visit there.

            Like

  24. Elissa Fruciano says:

    would you go to a meeting in your area?

    Like

  25. A Quiet Person says:

    Matthew,
    Hello neighbor. That is my neck of the woods too. A southeastern Michigan visit would be wonderful!

    Like

    • Mick says:

      Hey, Quiet! Where are you? Matthew’s in metro Detroit someplace, I’m near Lansing, Michelle is in Holland… Any other Michiganders (or Michi-geese) out there? It would be great if we could all have a pow-wow.

      Like

  26. RMD says:

    Matthew,
    I’m up in the “thumb” but would gladly help support a visit from Charlie to the Motor City!
    RMD

    Like

  27. NancyA says:

    I like where this is going.. I suggested it long ago, offered my assistance, and agreed with another reader who wanted to be able to gather, but I understood Charlie’s reticence at the time, trying to protect against undesirables gaining too much info or access. I think there are a number of us in the Philly metro area as well…

    Like

  28. L says:

    I am a regular reader of this interesting website but this is my first comment I think.

    I have gained so much insight and confirmation of my own inner thoughts concerning what is happening in our world by reading this blog. I am unfortunately a single mother so at times this whole prospect of the storm upon us can overwhelm and frighten me for my children’s sake, but then I realize that means it’s time for me to go and get on my knees again so the Lord can renew my trust in Him.

    I have consecrated myself and my children to Jesus through Mary so I remind myself everyday we are in their Sacred care. Since I am in the trenches of motherhood with 4 active children, and in the workaday life I don’t much have the temptation to hunker down and wait for the storm to arrive and pass. My whole existence is just trying to take the next right step and trust in God so perhaps I’ve had some training for this storm. I tell the Lord often that I will lovingly show up but He has to take the wheel.

    It is surreal being so involved in all their activities and in their catholic school and wondering if all these wonderful supports will remain in the future. That’s when I have to remember to let God be God and for Hope to be my guide. God bless all here.
    JMJ

    Like

    • Mick says:

      L, welcome to Charlie’s little family!

      As a mom of 5 kids aged baby to college, I know exactly what you mean when you say that you worry about the Storm and how it will affect your kids. So as I was reading your comment, two things came to my mind. First, the widow of Zarephath was a single mother; and her tremendous faith and obedience–her willingness to Trust-Do-Love–saved her, her family, and a complete stranger (http://biblehub.com/drb/1_kings/17.htm). The second thing was Psalm 36… that’s the psalm number in the Douay version; in other versions, it’s Psalm 37 (http://www.drbo.org/chapter/21036.htm).

      One more thing: Psalm 90 (Douay; 91 in other versions). When I was in my teens, my mother encouraged me to read this psalm daily. I don’t read it daily anymore (kids; enough said); but I do read it frequently, just to remind myself of God’s awesome Providence. Here it is: http://www.drbo.org/chapter/21090.htm.

      It sounds to me like you’re doing a terrific job. God bless you and your family. 🙂

      Like

    • A Quiet Person says:

      Yes L, it strikes me as surreal too sometimes. I have been living with the awareness of the coming storm for several years now and so have my kids, to a large extent. I can speak very enthusiastically with them about their futures beginning a few years from now. But for the next few years? My brain just stops. It’s like I need prayer to jump-start it again.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Susan says:

    Mick, Quiet, snd RMD,
    Another shout out from Michigan (Lansing Diocese)! Count me in for a south eastern MI tour. Would be happy to help sponsor a road trip. Many blessings!

    Like

    • Mick says:

      Susan, I’m about 25 minutes from the Cathedral. I would love to meet you, if you’re game. Perhaps on some weekday we could meet at the Cathedral for noon Mass and then grab a bite to eat?

      Like

      • Susan says:

        Hello Mick, Meeting for noon mass and a lunch would be great. Back in time to pick up kids. I live about 30 miles east of the Cathedral. I just went to the Chrism mass Holy Thursday. As for a date to meet for mass, looking about 3-4 weeks out. With 5 kids, I know you realize just how busy the springtime is. The week of May 4th or May 11th would work well for me. After pondering “Whatcha gonna do…” it will be great to exchange some thoughts. Let me know. Have a blessed evening!

        Like

        • Mick says:

          Susan, would Friday, May 8, work for you? Perhaps after Mass, we could meet over on the sacristy side of the church, near the tabernacle. If Friday doesn’t work for you, I could probably make Monday or Wednesday work; our son has class from 12 to 4 on those days, so I could ride with him and just hang out in town until he finished class. What do you think?

          Like

  30. Rose says:

    Hi Charlie…we live in Omaha and would be honored to be of any assistance you may need…and it would just be plain nice to meet you. Thank you for all you do.

    Like

  31. Lourdes says:

    I am in the Syracuse NY area and would love to help host a visit from Charlie. Anyone in the area? Let me know:) Anywhere in upstate NY would be super! Would love to have you in our neck of the woods. Charlie, God Bless You and your ministry!

    Like

    • Ruth Ayres (Ruth A) says:

      It’s all very well for you in the States – but what about all the people in the other 75 countries who are following you? England feels like a desert. How can we get to know each other?

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Ruth, I don’t have an answer for that yet. But remember, this website only began real operation 13 months ago. It did not take off until last July. Steadily, I have laid a foundation brick by brick, not failing to do what I could out of anguish that there are not enough bricks to start a roof yet. I know that this has gained a sizable international following. I have no answer for that yet, but remain convinced that by just taking the next right step, we will get there at some point. A good reader or one of the double handful of people who now give me marvelous private counsel will have an inspiration at some point…and then I will act.

        Like

Leave a Reply

