From the Mountain

The view from the back window at the cabin I am at.

The view from the back window at the cabin I am at.

By Charlie Johnston

I got to the cabin in the mountains on Friday afternoon. We had gotten a lot of snow on Thursday, but weather reports said the road were clear during the day as temperatures got up to the mid-40s, but that more snow was coming Friday night. I was stressed enough I left thinking I would turn back if I ran into serious obstacles at the higher elevations. But I needed some solitude…time to think and work. The roads were completely clear. Even the gravel and dirt road up to the cabin was clear. I didn’t slip once. Ah, but Friday night, we got over a foot of new snow. By four o’clock Saturday afternoon, it had largely melted off the roads again. But once again, overnight we got another five or six inches of fresh snow. And again, as I write this, it has finally largely melted off again. Who knows what tomorrow will bring?

I could feel the tension melting away Friday afternoon. I even delighted in the heave blanket of new snow Saturday morning. Most of all, inspiration came. I have sometimes seen writers mark something as their own favorite piece of work – and it is not anywhere close to my favorite from their opus. But I am going to risk it here. The second part of “Whatcha Gonna do..” is probably not the best thing I have ever written, but it certainly ranks among the top 10. It is not that it ceased to be a piece of practical advice on traveling on foot for a long period. It remains that, but inspiration rose and it has become much more. In some way, I think it has, in microcosm, has become a story of our times. What it has morphed into took my breath away this weekend. I don’t know that it will do the same for you…but I do think you will agree it was worth the wait. I will post it first thing tomorrow.

One of the supplies I get when coming up to the cabin are some of the cheap hot dogs – you know, the dollar a pack variety.red foxes I leave out a couple each day for the fox that likes to come around each evening. I am bemused to find the fox now has a protégé he brings with him. I don’t know whether it is a girlfriend or just a young fellow he is training on the proper rounds to make. Certainly, his protégé looks a little younger and spryer. They still only get two hot dogs a day.

Though in a remote spot, I am only about 20 miles from a Church, one that even has Daily Mass four days a week. In the Colorado high country, the transition from small town to stark wilderness is startlingly abrupt. I can’t get there when the roads are blocked, but they have one evening Daily Mass and a Sunday anticipation Mass on Saturday evening. At this time of year, even if the roads are snowbound in the morning, they are usually fairly clear by late afternoon. I will be here a few weeks to finish the Prayer Group booklets, arrange my first road trip for June and get the next three on the calendar. On Divine Mercy Sunday we taped a video of the song of thanksgiving for rescue. A friend, has a teenage daughter in honor choir – and so she got a couple of friends to help sing it with me. Actually, there were supposed to be four girls and two boys, but only three girls made it. Apparently teenagers are not all that enthused about spending their Sunday afternoons singing a repetitive religious song. Who knew? I can’t put videos up directly on this site, so my son is setting up a YouTube Account and I will link to it later this week when my son has it finished.

I

An amateur photographer like me cannot begin to capture the quiet solitary beauty of the mountains in the morning after it has snowed...but I give it a try.

An amateur photographer like me cannot begin to capture the quiet solitary beauty of the mountains in the morning after it has snowed…but I give it a try.

am profoundly grateful to my friends who have made this fortress of solitude available. Though I dreaded the onset of the Storm for decades, now that it is here, I find a great jubilation mixed in with the struggles…for now I know it is the beginning of the Triumph. How lovely that the sequence which leads to the Triumph is seriously underway now.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to From the Mountain

  1. Jean says:

    How lucky for you Charlie…wish I were there! Enjoy and I am looking forward to Part II.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Becky-TN says:

    Happy for you, Charlie! Enjoy the solitude; pray for us!!

    God Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kati says:

      I have lately been wondering if there is anyone else from TN who reads the Next Right Step besides you and me, Becky.
      We are looking forward to the Nashville visit of Charlie…and are willing to help in some way with that.

      Like

  3. SteveBC says:

    Sounds wonderful, Charlie. Snow is beautiful anywhere but especially where the roads clear themselves! 🙂

    I am also traveling. I’m in Oregon for the weekend for a get-together with my siblings and other family. I lack the money to have paid for this brief but very fine family trip. When planning the trip, I realized that airline miles will be like money in the Storm – they will go to airline mileage heaven, which happens to be located right next to money heaven, where all our money will soon disappear to.

    I figured it was a use-it-or-lose-it situation. When I went to make the reservation, I found out that I had 106,000 miles and could make the flight for 100,000 miles and go first class for $11.20 total!

    For those who follow these things, I should chock all of this up to God and prayer. I prayed to see my siblings on the west coast one more time before the Collapse. 2 weeks later my brother emailed me to see if I could figure out a way to come out from the east coast for a surprise birthday party for one of my brothers. Everything went very well, and yes, my brother was *very* surprised!

    Enjoy the snow and the solitude, Charlie, while I take the red-eye back to New England later tonight. 😀

    Liked by 6 people

    • Susan, MI says:

      Sounds like a great trip, Steve. Glad you had a nice visit your family. And flew first class! I greatly appreciate you mentioning the airline miles, I hadn’t even thought of that! Along with airline miles, use up those credit card points!
      Charlie, glad you found the chance to still your soul and find inspiration in the new fallen snow. Can’t wait to read one of your top ten. And then use up credit card points for gadgets that may be useful… Although, the rewards catalogs seem to always have those Sharper Image type gadgets. Maybe a drone that can fish or cut firewood. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Ha…or maybe a drone-seeking laser.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SteveBC says:

        Susan, it was indeed a great trip. Portland is apt to be cool and drizzly this time of year, but we had brilliant sunshine and temps in the 70s the entire weekend. Of general interest might be that I did not talk with either of the two sibs who are not following anything, although I did get a chance to spend a good long time reviewing this stuff with the sib who does read Charlie and is tuned into this whole thing. The time spent with the other two sibs and various other family members was simply a time of fun and laughter, which I think is the best outcome there. I did not push a thing, simply relaxed and had fun with them.

        Like

    • Kathy D. says:

      My family all got together last fall for Mom’s 80th birthday. First time we were all together since 1984. I felt that it was the last time. Now they are planning a family cruise for between Thanksgiving and Christmas. I started making plans to go, but every time I tried to commit to it, I just felt sick inside. I kept putting it off and putting it off. I really wanted to go! I used to love cruises and the time with family sounded so good! But things kept coming up making it harder and harder to make plans. Between that and feeling nervous and upset about going, I just decided not to go. It was like a huge load off of me! Maybe I am just meant to stay home close to my own family. If things start happening they will need me. And if things still go along uneventful, I will still be with my hubby, kids and grandkids at the holidays, where I want to be anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

      • SteveBC says:

        Kathy D., your timing is interesting. The cruise possibility falls after the period during which Charlie believes the Collapse will occur, and here you are finding yourself unable to make plans for that period. My trip to Portland was *encouraged* and is now done, while your possible trip was *discouraged*. I find that noteworthy but am not sure it means anything. We will see.

        Like

    • mmbev says:

      Ok, SteveBC. It sounds like you had the “gift” of a lifetime. I hope that you were trailing liquid gold the whole way there and back….and left a bunch for the clan on the West coast. Sounds to me like you were using your brains again. Hope it was wonderful, and fun.

      I’ve been in a mini-whirlwind for the last two weeks. Sure haven’t had any time to think of the Storm.

      We are all expecting an absolutely fantastic, incredible, outstanding, overwhelming, and simply breathtaking blog tomorrow. Not that you should think that after what you wrote in your blog above, would cause you to think we are expecting great, earth-shattering words from you, that will be indelibly etched upon our hearts until death.. No, not us. Never. We are not such grubbers.

      Well, maybe a very small, tiny, microscopic part of us might be. Really, really microscopic.

      At least if you’re really happy with it, you might come back rested. Nothing like thinking that one has done a great job causes them to experience real satisfaction.

      And am I glad you don’t know my address here in Canada, a long, long way from you. (That’s not a nice thought, Charlie. I know, I know, I’m supposed to keep it that way. BUT, should I survive the Storm, I know where Mt. Meeker is….and you don’t know what I look like.)

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Well, I found when I was doing my daily radio commentaries that sometimes when I thought I had spun a gem, listeners just went “Meh…” Other times, I would do a throwaway piece that became an unexpected gem. But most times it was what I thought it was. You never know until it is out there.

        Like

      • SteveBC says:

        MMBev, it clearly was a gift and an answer to my prayer, all unexpected. Although I did not think in terms of spreading the liquid gold around (and I *should* have!), I decided before and throughout that no matter what happened I would deliberately be kind and good to others. I received a number of opportunities to go off-track with that. For example, I was delayed by weather going west (it was *snowing* in Denver), yet I kept my good humor and helped keep all around me relaxed. When we were told that going into Denver would be rough, I asked my guardian angel to get together with all the other angels around the plane to keep things as smooth as possible (but no smoother in case anyone actually needed a lesson of fear), and the plane landed without any turbulence at all.

        My time with my family was wholly positive, so my family goes into the fullness of the Storm with good feelings among us all, despite some underlying differences. If weather denotes that our time together was blessed, then it was perfect.

        Like

  4. TH says:

    So good to hear from you Charlie. Was getting a bit worried when there was no communication from you for a few days. What you describe in your camp is so beautiful! I can imagine your peace of mind at this moment!

    Like

  5. Mary Anne says:

    Song of Thanksgiving recorded on Divine Mercy Sunday. Beautiful. Perfect.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. JosephineSD says:

    Aaahh thats cute about the foxes. Im sure they appreciate the handout. I love to see what wildlife comes around when you put a little chow out. Living in a large city I’m amazed and appreciative to see the wildlife.. Speaking of large cities, any plans for hitting the west coast/San Diego, even NoCal?

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      I have two brothers in San Diego. I am tentatively planning a California swing in August that will include at least Sacramento, Los Angeles and San Diego.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vanessa Joy says:

        Charlie, would you consider a speaking engagement in the Riverside area? We live about an hour or so from San Diego. It would be such a blessing for all of us between San Diego and Orange County as Riverside is about an hour plus or minus 30 min from each county. Thank you for your kind consideration. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          Absolutely, Vanessa. Actually, I have family that lives right next to Riverside. If you will pop me an email at chrljhnstn@gmail.com, I am organizing all who have made invitations and requests next week. I can organize all through the email, but I could never get it done through the comments here.

          Like

          • Jacquie says:

            I surely hope I’m not the only invitation you received to the Midwest? Reading other comments it appears there are requests that tend to group together. I’ve not noticed any other Midwest requests.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Most invitations have come to my email box, as I requested. I can organize them from there in a way I cannot from here. There are many. My box is utterly overwhelmed right now.

            Like

          • June1 says:

            Any possibility at all for a Canadian trip? 😀
            Or will time be running out by then?

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            I believe you need a passport to get to Canada now, and I intend no interactions with government that are not absolutely necessary, until the new way rises.

            Like

      • Kelly says:

        We are in orange county ca if you need a place to stay

        Like

        • mmbev says:

          Charlie, do you have any idea how many people on this blog are crying? Sobbing, moaning, shrieking into the night? If you get a You Tube account, I’ve seen items to listen and watch that last up to two hours (or more). Any chance that one of the events could be posted on the You Tube for us forlorn, left out, all alone, mournful members of your blog? (Or more?) Not that I’m greedy, of course.

          Like

      • JosephineSD says:

        Yay! Will help in any way!

        Like

      • etsiyona says:

        Please San Diego!

        Like

  7. anne says:

    thank you for letting us know you are in the Mountains. Waiting…..for part 2 and hoping you will right about the role of the 3 Popes …..Starting with St John Paul. Look forward to more writings now that things are getting stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jean says:

      Anna,

      Can you please direct me to the role of the 3 popes? I’m not familiar with it.

      Jean

      Like

      • Anne says:

        Charlie made a remark in the comments section no more than 2 or 3weeksago about last 3 popes and the storm.said he would write about it sometime.sorry Jean….cannot remember which article it was attached to.

        Like

  8. anne says:

    oh meant WRITE…..but i hope you are right!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bob says:

    I would like time in the mountains too. God’s country is always good for my soul, but with moving I am occupied the next several weeks. My spiritual director was careful to admonish me to not forget my prayer time even when I am busy.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. abyssum says:

    Oh, Charlie! How your post and your photos bring back happy memories of my cabin in Wyoming on the Colorado line at 8,400 feet !!! Blessings !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, it is beautiful, your excellency. I am right at 11,000 feet here.

      Liked by 2 people

      • abyssum says:

        Charlie! 11,000 feet eleveation! Wow! I cannot breathe at night above 9,000 feet. I camped one night on Grand Mesa AT 10,000 feet and I had to move to a lower altitude so that I could get some sleep. But, then I am asthamatic and so that is understandable.
        Still, 11,000 feet !!!!!!!

        Like

      • W. Leo says:

        You back yard must be on a SW slope to have such tall trees at 11,000 feet. We love the krummholtz and twisted trees on the Rockies tree line.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Impressive, Leo. It is on a southerly slope, but I think it tilts ever so gently east. Also, I have trouble understanding how elevation affects plant life. In southern California, the tree line is a LOT lower than it is here in Colorado. You can start seeing trees fade between 8,000 and 9,000 feet there. Here, the tree line usually ends fairly abruptly just above 12,000 feet – but the pines just below are often quite vigorous.

          Like

      • Irish7 says:

        And there is that 11 again….in your fortress at 11,000 sharing your experience on rt. 11…all at the eleventh hour. 😳

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Rob Crossland says:

    OK

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S™ III, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

    Like

  12. Kathleen Vacheresse says:

    Remembering you and your intentions in my Rosary tonight .

    Like

  13. radiclaudio says:

    Hi Charlie, the cabin retreat sounds very nice. I grateful that you have it to recharge.

    I was really looking forward to reading part 2 as you have been promising for a week now. So I/we will wait a little longer and look forward to finally reading it when you do eventually post. You are certainly are keeping us in suspense about it-and now you’re even tainting us with how good it will be when we finally get to see it (he he). i guess your delays will help me/us practice the virtue of patience (lol). Much love to you and our extended TRNS family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Nancy D says:

    I am so happy for you that you have this marvelous place of solitude, peace and profound beauty at your disposal. May the good Lord bless those dear servants of His who make it possible. I am relieved that you are there, and am so looking forward to Part 2. . .so much more since the Holy Spirit has “morphed” it into something greater than you yourself had imagined it would be. May the rest of your time in retreat prove to be most fruitful and refreshing for you, renewing your strength for the last leg of the journey for which you must fulfill your task of Sherpa. God bless you and keep you safe in the Sacred and Immaculate Hearts, today and always.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. radiclaudio says:

    taunting vs tainting – lol

    Like

  16. Anne Archer says:

    Hi Charlie,

    I wonder if there are any folks in the Orlando FL area. You are scheduled for Tallahassee but was hoping that there could be another stop on your trip.

    Anne

    Like

  17. Carolyn C. says:

    God bless you Charlie for sharing the photos..so looking forward to the song. These posts help keep me tethered. I could have been all over the map with what is going on. Are you coming to Oregon too?

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Poustinia!

    Pray the Rosary daily!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Phillip Frank says:

    Your bitter sweat comment about your feelings on the storm reminds me of the scriptures and Jesus fixing his eyes on the goal. During the last supper He told his disciples of how much joy He had in celebrating it with them and finally realising the effect it would have on them and eventually, the whole world.
    I see you in this place today.
    The cure for magical thinking is upon us.
    We are all becoming like Neo at this time…get ready for your red pill.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Enjoy your peacefull sejour Charlie. Have not long been up and the birds and cuckoo are singing ten to the dozen, beautifull time of the day. Off to Mass soon will be thinking of you and everyone who have been asking for prayers on this site . Looking forward to pt 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I am also happy and sad regarding the tribulations that are upon us. Sad at the pain, but if what you say is true, then we are heading to the time of Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. I am grateful and thankful for that.
    I do wonder, after everything is gone, our knowledge of physics, science, doesn´t, so will many of our “conveniences” still be there or come back? After the storm will we be able to go on an airplane again? I suspect that during a time we won´t be, but later on during the triumph? I´m in Europe now, but perhaps I will come and help with the chapel building.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, of course. This is a spiritual battle. God is not changing the natural laws He set in place. He may suspend some of them on an episodic basis during the Storm, but I reiterate that the world we will inhabit after the Rescue is completely normal, transformed only by our attitudes. I am glad you are starting to see it for the reality it will be rather than the unicorn fairy tale so many want to make it out to be.

      Liked by 4 people

      • jaykay says:

        “completely normal, transformed only by our attitudes”.

        That is so comforting, and not for the crass reason that all will go back to “as was” after we’ve suffered a little bit of inconvenience for a short while. No, what I mean is, we have made the world, God’s loving gift to us, so abnormal that it has been deformed by our attitudes. We’ve worshipped the created, not the Creator. We need to get back to the real “normal”, because that’s been lost sight of for so long. Which means a profound sense of gratitude for the many wonderful benefits we have, rather than the frantic grabbing after ever-new gratifications that is our time now. So Belshazzar’s feast is coming to its end, and pray God that we’ll be able to crawl out of the wreckage and be signs of hope , and help, to our poor, distraught brothers and sisters who won’t know what’s hit them.

        Liked by 3 people

        • W. Leo says:

          Charlie, would you kindly provide references to the “unicorn fairy tale so many want to make it [the world] out to be” after the Rescue?

          Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Leo, look at about 80 percent of the sites that contemplate such things and you will see people imagining that no one will have to work any more, everything will be free, all our decisions will be made for us – and with perfect wisdom and justice. Contemplation of such things from the religious viewpoint is prone to the same error that animated the rise of communism and other such faux idealism. We will have to work, we will have to be responsible for ourselves, make decisions, treat others justly. It is what is at bottom of all.

            Like

      • Lin says:

        Charlie, do you mean that you do not expect the Storm to cripple the world to the point that our current technology is unavailable to us(or greatly reduced), at least for a period of time? Computers, cell phones, ease of travel, etc? I have always envisioned that manufacturing and supply would be vastly affected, causing us to need to return to the way life was lived(technologically speaking) 50 years or so ago.

        Thanks for your hard work on part 2. Looking forward to it.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          It could be for a time – but only because of infrastructure damage. We will still have the technological know-how – and it will all still work. In fact, that could be a great source of productivity and useful work coming out of the Storm; rebuilding the infrastructure.

          Liked by 1 person

          • SteveBC says:

            Charlie, you appear to have fallen into the “broken window” fallacy. Simply rebuilding our infrastructure to correct damage is what one does when one’s window gets broken. Just bringing our infrastructure back to its condition a priori is a measure of waste and not an advantage at all.

            On the other hand, and I think this is an extremely important potential advantage, if we rebuild our infrastructure so that it is both more efficient and (from new attitudes) provides much better service, then you would be correct. The *net* improvement over the old system will be the measure of advancement. The remainder is making up what was lost.

            A country like the US falls behind rapidly growing developing countries because in the US people don’t want to condemn existing infrastructure to the trash heap. The developing country can learn from what we did (right and wrong) and go right to the latest tech. This relates to the concept of “sunk cost”. And if our older infrastructure is damaged so severely that we are forced to toss it away and build anew, there are productivity enhancements involved in bringing the system up to the latest tech. This in turn gets to the larger concept of “creative destruction.” It can be worthwhile to junk a perfectly good system if the increment of advantage outweighs the cost of building it, assuming the old system’s actual value is zero (i.e., sunk cost is not considered).

            I would like to think that the most likely infrastructure to fail in the Storm would be the infrastructure we no longer need or want, or that has been “captured” by those individuals or firms that can turn that infrastructure to their own advantage. Then new attitudes and new tech can allow us to scramble our way to a new infrastructure notably better in serving us. However, I don’t see that as the only kind of damage that will occur. Much of the damage will be a straight loss.

            What I think we would agree on is that everyone who can wield the personal equivalent of a hammer will be throwing themselves into the rebuilding, whether the effort is to correct a loss or to gain new benefits that serve new attitudes. Like people after a hurricane, virtually everyone will be working in a spirit of service that we have not seen before. That in and of itself will be immensely positive for us to experience.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Nice insight, Steve – the old “buggy whip preservation society” fallacy.

            Like

          • Mary Ann says:

            Dang. I was sort of hoping for a Chestertonian era. And freedom from the spiderweb.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            A Chestertonian era would be a glorious one in which to live!

            Like

      • Sue says:

        I am trying to wrap my head around “normal”. By this you mean television without 30% of airtime devoted to commercials? Cell phones, etc. without users oblivious to the outside world? E-mail without spam? Highways and landscapes without billboards? Commerce without price gouging? Governance not in the hip pocket of special interests? Local government not wholly owned by developers who tear down every historic building and swallow every surrounding cornfield to slap together a fugly monstrosity? Life without compulsory insurance on every conceivable notion? Life without junk mail?! Unbearable taxation? Fair wages for an honest days’ work? Internet without pop-ups, and sidebars jangling every nerve, and unsolicited videos auto-loading and gumming up the script you’re trying to read? No “New and Improved” products emerging at a dizzying pace, rendering obsolete the product you just spent a fortune on? No snake oil? No more multimillion dollar sports arenas that become insufficient before the taxpayers are done paying for them? Drugs where the cure isn’t worse than the disease? Doctors you can afford to see? And what of Hollywood?! As you can see, there are a number of occupations and practices which I pray will become extinct, permanently. (It brings to mind a quote from “Caddyshack”, in which Ted Knight(?) plays a pompous jerk who says “The world needs ditch diggers too, Danny!”) So there you have my unicorn fairy tale. Am I overexpecting? Please don’t be upset, I am sincerely trying to conceptualize what kind of world awaits us, and just how much of the muck of everyday life now is going to be scrubbed away…

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          Sue, first, I tell you attitudes will change – everyone’s. I think you should contemplate your own, though. I will just take one example – from your first line. You want television without commercials? You can get that with cable stations, though you have to pay a subscriber fee. The workman is entitled to the fruit of his productivity. If you just want free television without any interruptions but want someone else to financially create it, that is not a desire for a freer, more honorable world, but one where people re-arrange things for your consuming convenience at no cost to you. That is what is at the root of covetousness. You have been commenting here long enough I know that is not what defines you…but fully two-thirds of your examples are just things that you want to enjoy without having to pay for. I am not upset and not trying to provoke you. Just want you to take a look and dig deep into what you are really asking in some of these examples. But just as you are entitled to the fruit of your labor, so will everyone else be entitled to the fruit of theirs. Replace the crony capitalism – where gov’t chooses winners and losers, and there is very little price gouging possible. When you want to preserve land open, form a consortium or get a unit of govt. to buy it at a market price rather than deprive someone of their property rights by redlining it through regulation. It is not just a call for others to be fair – but for each of us to examine our own expectations to be fair.

          Like

          • Bonnie C says:

            What I hope for is the “infused knowledge” or understanding of nature and the natural order of creation that Adam (and Eve, I assume) were given. How things REALLY work. Not that there won’t be studies and sciences, etc., and not that we don’t know anything, but the wellsprings of gifts and inspirations that will be given once we live in the Divine Will. I anticipate this and hope I’m not thinking in terms of unicorns and fairy tales. I know this hinges on conspiracy theories, but I think a lot of science beneficial to our health has been covered up because of this culture of death – Agenda 21 – earth worship/sustainability stuff.

            Still remember my dad crouched down in his garden, holding cucumber seeds in the palm of his open hand, about to plant them in perfectly straight rows strung with stakes and string. He told me that placing the seeds was his favorite part. It really is miraculous. He didn’t just shake them out of the packet. Each seed was meticulously placed and spaced, covered with soil and tamped. Miss him.

            Like

          • Sue says:

            Ha, you should see what I pay for cable! Kidding aside, today has not been kind, and when you said “completely normal”, I guess I read “back to normal”, and my heart just sank, and out came a screed about things that get me riled up. I think you nailed it about being self centered, wanting things my way without regard to the rights of others. I hadn’t given much thought as to WHY they get me riled up, at least not at a deeper level. Selfishness, and self-centeredness. Although I will say that in some cases, there is a lot more “fruit” than “labor”. I don’t expect to go untaxed, or to get something for nothing, but I suppose that my seeing (and getting riled up by) a profit motive in others is simply a reflection of my own greed, wanting to keep that Almighty Dollar for my own use. And I am that way. Thank you for helping me see it in action, :D! Finally, I stand firmly by my comments regarding modern architecture. I believe it to be a civic duty not to erect an eyesore, and I sincerely hope God has plans to change the hearts, and sense of style, of future architects. When He gets done with me, that is!

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Thank you, Sue, for not getting riled at me. You have been such a valuable commentator I did not want to offend, but to look deeper at the things we sometimes want. Now, I have to completely agree with you on much modern architecture and art. It is deeply impoverished, but is probably a true reflection of our banal age. May architecture and art get much richer and deeper – and when it does, may it also be a true reflection of what we have then become.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mary Ann says:

            Like. WP won’t let me like, so I am liking verbally.

            Like

          • Nancy says:

            Charlie, is it that everyone’s center becomes God alone and, for example, would not do anything to disappoint Him?…kind of not wanting to disappoint a father (not out of fear but love). That being the case, love becomes the way of life, from the way we live to those in our lives, especially family. I hope this isn’t too idealistic an expectation.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            No, this is more of a realistic expectation. Contemplate on this and you will see it more and more clearly.

            Like

      • Jim M. says:

        It will be God’s “normal”, unlike what the world has devolved into up until now. And so we must adjust.

        The Lord will not let us perish of hunger, thirst or exposure, but we will work for our food, water and shelter. A more fertile world, that we will, somehow, know how to work. Fertile not only in bodily necessities, but in spiritual ones as well. Where the memories of the storm ground those who survive in faith.

        Like

        • connie says:

          Jim, you have put into words beautifully what has been in heart about the things to come that garner hope. Thank You. You always write something very edifying!

          Like

      • Chantal says:

        Let see if I understand things correctly.
        From what I understand, we are living a spiritual battle, a reclaiming of God´s vision on earth. So life after the storm is a kind of fulfilling of the request in the Our Father —Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

        Many speculate the chaining of the evil spirits. So this means that we won´t be tempted by the various evil spirits since their power to torment us will be restricted (I dare hope eliminated, but that sounds too good to be true.) This means that thoughts and situations incited and encouraged by evil spirits will be eliminated. The justification process/mind conversations to do what is wrong will be diminished/eliminated. So our minds won´t be as confused by false reasonning.

        The will and posibility to commit sins is there, but if the thought never enters our minds because the evil spirits are now powerless, then the sin is not committed.

        It may not be so much infused knowledged as no longer having a confused mind wondering what to do or confused about what is right or wrong since we won´t have the evil whisperings, but only our guardian angel´s whispering.

        The attachements and claims the evil one has over us because of our sins/or family sins will be eliminated/diminished. So some of our tendencies to commit certain sins will be diminished or eliminated.

        We commit the sins through our free will, but how many sins, difficult situations, thoughts, harm, confusion, fear- evil, is caused by the fallen angels? Remove them and most sins and evil in the world is removed. We have been created in God´s image and our inner souls seek goodness and love. satan often succeeds in getting us to do evil by convincing us that it is actually right and good.

        At the same time, without this blindness and confusion, the next generations will be much more responsible for their sins, since the haziness caused by the evil one will be gone.

        All our knowledge regarding science, ect is still there. Just like we rejoice in the discoveries of a baby, even though we already know it, God rejoices in our discoveries and knowledge of nature and the world and how we apply it in his Will. It just that the evil succeeds in convincing us to use it to destroy God´s creation instead of using it to build and protect/take care of creation.

        I do wonder if there will be a re-creation of some extinct animals, or in respect of the laws of nature was is gone is gone. I am saddenned and the many animals threatened or extinct.

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          The last three of your paragraphs are deeply insightful, Chantal. I have literally seen my angel nearly clap his hands in delight when we get something right – or nearly right – which is about the best we do. One thing, you are attributing way too much responsibility for our sins to dark forces. We are moral agents. Demons inflame tendencies or disordered desires that are already there in each of us. Though the satan will be chained for a time, our disordered tendencies are still there. History is the story of the great battle between evil and good. Each soul is the battle ground…and still will be. But thanks be to God, the dark one will not have so many troops on the ground to further wound us.

          Like

  22. Chris says:

    So glad to hear you made it to the cabin safely. It looks so beautiful in the snow covered mountains. I was on a business trip once in Denver. They took us on a bus trip to a place called Silver City….I think. It was the most beautiful place I had ever seen. I tried to take pictures from the bus but my camera didn’t work.I have always wished I could come back to see those beautiful streams and mountains.Well…maybe one day if our Lord wills it.What a lovely thought to meet you and our friends here at the site of the future shrine! Is there any chance you will make a stop in your travels down south…perhaps Covington Louisiana…or anyplace close to here. There are a few of us here who would love to see you.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I walked through Covington. In fact, I went to a concert in a series there of concerts in the park back in 2011. There will be a time when Louisiana – one of my very favorite states – is on the agenda.

      Like

    • Chris, my sisters and I who all read this blog are in Covington, Madisonville, and New Orleans!

      Liked by 1 person

    • connie says:

      Hi Chris, my husband is from Broussard, La and I hail from Lake Charles(although all of my family is originally from Mamou). I told my Mom recently that I would love to make a trip to Mamou soon, hopefully this summer, to try to make contact with cousins that are still living in that area.

      You write that there are others in your area that are like-minded that want to meet Charlie. I would love to meet up any where that ya’ll might gather for this. Perhaps there could be a gathering in Lafayette being that it is kind of central and maybe any who might be interested from East Texas, Lake Charles, etc could be part of hosting Charlie for a visit. I live in east texas now and so wherever a gathering may be,whether a prayer group or a visit from Charlie, I would very much like to be a part of if anywhere near my area. I would dearly love to have some fellowship with others! So whenever Charlie gets it setup for us to contact each other, I would welcome anyone in Texas or La. to contact me or invite me to make contact with them. It is good to know that there are others nearby who follow Charlie’s blog- makes me feel a little more hopeful and somewhat strengthened!

      Like

  23. Carmelite says:

    Am a bit green as I think of your solitude, Charlie :-/ But if it has inspired your upcoming article, praise be to God! It AMAZES me when my husband says ‘I’ll believe it when I see it.” Oh, please pray for him and others who will be so unprepared.

    Dear friends, surely there are enough of us in Western PA to get Charlie here? I’m just north of Pgh …
    Rosary and prayer rope .. weapons for our times. The Carmelite (or Brigittine) Rosary carries a plenary indulgence, fyi 🙂
    In His Love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bonnie C says:

      Hi Carmel, I live in Ohio, what I am fond of calling 3 O’clock Ohio. Interstate 70 is in my back yard. It would be such a blessing if Charlie could come to our area. Steubenville – Franciscan University – is about 45 minutes from my home. Wonder if. Charlie has followers from the Steubenville area?

      Like

    • torilen says:

      I, too, am in Western PA, about 1 1/2 hours east of Pgh. I’ve been reading here for almost a year, but have never commented. A chance to get Charlie to speak near me is my incentive to speak up!

      Like

  24. diane wyder says:

    Dear Charlie,
    thank you! and do you know specifically when you will be in Sacramento in August? Just yesterday I prayed that I might be able to visit my 2 daughters and 12 grand children there…it will be 2 years since I saw them…Krista is pregnant with her 6th beautiful child….I am thankful to your reader who mentioned air miles (I too had forgotten about them)….and one more thing: the first time I read you was the most beautiful article on children and large families…you stole my heart there and then and of course God wanted it that way for it lead me to all the other articles….I am still waiting for the “right” moment to introduce your “God wins” article to my husband for he, unfortunately is in strong denial and/or fear…he is that very good man you describe…very decent very good but does not have the ears to hear….I SO WANT TO HELP HIM but I do fear his rejection…
    back to my original question: when, my dear friend in Christ, will you be in Sacramento in August?
    God bless you!

    Diane Wyder

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hi Diane, well, I won’t know specifics on the California trip until early July or June at the earliest. I will publish here all venues I will be going to, so you will know. As for your husband, if he is a good man who cares for his family, just support him. You don’t need to convince him of anything or even press him. Do you have any doubt he will step up to the plate if the need arises? If you are confident of that, give thanks to God and don’t worry.

      Like

      • audiemarie2014 says:

        Charlie, has anyone asked if you are coming to the Midwest? In particular, Minnesota? I feel crummy inviting you here, as we’re having a cold spell again, but, then, you are in the mountains with snow. By the time you start your travels, we should be warm here! 🙂

        Like

  25. diane wyder says:

    Not to overdo it but: I just remembered the prayer of Miraculous trust to Our Lady of Tepeyac…and I prayed it for my husband’s receptivity and my becoming fearless of rejection….this is just in reference to my previous e-mail> God bless all of us in this territory of souls as Peli would say. I am so so grateful!

    Diane W

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Mack says:

    Looking forward to part 2! And this morning this piece at NRO about police-led home invasions of conservatives in Wisconsin is truly troubling:
    http://www.nationalreview.com/article/417155/wisconsins-shame-i-thought-it-was-home-invasion-david-french

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Hereford says:

    Are you planning any speaking engagements in Nebraska? We would love to hear you!

    Like

  28. Dionna says:

    Hi Charlie,

    Thanks for sharing those photos-what a beautiful place to be especially when you need to get away from the “noise” of life and hear the voice of heaven. I appreciate that you have taken such time and diligence to write this next important piece for all of us. The care and time you take is further evidence of your heart and why you said yes to this mission.

    May you continue to be blessed with the sweet peace and solitude of your lovely mountain retreat.

    Like

  29. xredmondx says:

    Your at 11000 feet? We took a family vacation out there in August and drove up to the top of pikes peak. I had to use a oxygen boost can so I didn’t feel light headed. My wife’s lips were turning blue. Lol. And of course she refused the O2 because she made fun of me since I ordered the 6 pack on Amazon. I guess that what happens when you spend your whole life in Chicago at 575 feet. We all laughed when the potatoe chip bag blew up at about 10000ft too. We have a friend in Erie Colorado and if it is part of Gods plan I would like to relocate the family out that way someday soon.
    Take care up there.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha, I chuckle at people who have snack bags that explode as they go up the mountains. It happens a lot up here. I lived most of my life in Chicago, too. I was out here when I was 17 years old and tried to play baseball. I was huffing and blowing ridiculously. Oddly, now that I am in my late 50s, the high altitude agrees with me more than when I was in my teens.

      Liked by 1 person

  30. kris says:

    Dear Charlie, I have checked in once in awhile to see if you put up the part 2. I actually have not wanted to see it put up as I spent a week in this strange funk after reading part 1. My husband and I read it and began wondering just what we would do based on where we live, the fact that we do have a disabled son that would not live in the wild , the fact that we live in a settled wilderness much like what you describe you cabin area to be like, and have only one road for hundreds of miles. I lived with that funk and could not figure out really what it was all about. At church on Sunday our dear Lord settled me down and the same message I always get is, be like a little child, there is nothing I can do except turn to our Lord each day and just say, what do you want me to do today, please give me the grace to accomplish it. And then go do my dishes (which is a great task sometimes . Tee Hee) I do pray that there is never a time when the scenario you describe comes about. I don’t know how I and my family would do with it all, I just pray we can all stay together being each others best friends and helpers. So much child like trust is needed now.

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I think you will find what I put up today both bracing and soothing. I pull no punches, but I put it in context that I hope will inspire people to steady their resolve and, maybe, even look ahead with a little joy. I am doing some final polishing on it. Will put it up before bed tonight – for I could put it up as is right now. Sometimes it is best not to overpolish something, but I fret a little on not just getting this one right, but having the tone, the feel the rhythm of it right, too. You all have waited long enough. Whatever condition it is in before bed, you will get it today.

      Liked by 3 people

      • A Quiet Person says:

        Your comment about looking ahead with a little joy reminded me of a homily I heard not that long ago where the pastor encouraged us to pray for joy, reassuring us that it is OK to ask for it. I think all of us here are fervently praying for strength, courage, wisdom, perseverance, and protection as we prepare for the storm. To pray for joy does not automatically come to mind when I am on my knees but now I think I will be more mindful to pray for it as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • barb129 says:

        I do believe that Charlie is trying to teach us patience (or some other such virtue)! Hehe….

        Like

    • Mick says:

      Kris, may God bless and Mary keep you, hour husband, and your dear son. Your family will be in my prayers.

      Like

  31. laura says:

    “I will post it first thing tomorrow” 😉

    Like

    • Anne says:

      Hmmm…..remember he worked in the political field…..promises!!! Sorry Charlie,……could not resist!

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Touche, Anne. I get a little flustered because I used to work in media – and took pride in always made deadline. I thought it would be the same here – and pig-headedly still insist on it being so. But with this, I am coming to find it is not soup when I intend or want it to be…it is not soup until it is soup.

        Like

    • kathy kalina says:

      Come on, Laura. You’ve been here long enough to know that the article will go up on C.S.T. – Charlie Standard Time! That’s how writers roll…

      Liked by 1 person

      • charliej373 says:

        Charlie Standard Time is giving you a taste of what I have lived. My angel would tell me something and I ask when and he just says, “Soon.” It is more fun to give the frustration than to get it, I must admit.

        Liked by 2 people

  32. Dee says:

    Am humbled to be a part of this web of prayer. The blogs bring such peace. And i consider you all friends, and pray for you also. Yes, Carmelite, there are others in Western Pa. as I to am 20 min. north of Pgh. Maybe we will meet someday. Thank you Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Martha OConnor says:

    Carmelite and Dee, I, too, live in Western PA. about 20 min. east of Pgh. Let us pray that the angels bring Charlie here, too!

    Like

  34. narnialion54 says:

    Hi Carmelite and Dee,
    I am also north of Pittsburgh. I think there are several others who comment.who are near Pittsburgh. My favorite Mass is at the Pittsburgh Oratory at Pitt.St. Phillip Neri. I’ve only been a few times but it is always heavenly. I think rickclaudio?? is near here too.
    Wow, wonder if Charlie would come here???

    Like

    • Carmelite says:

      The Pgh Oratory is an awesome place indeed! Would love to attend Mass there .. so far have only spent time in the chapel and with one of the Fathers. And that chapel is an experience in itself.
      Gosh, we’ve got some string-pullin’ people around the Pgh area, don’t we? Anyone up for arranging a ‘Charlie visit’? Or Latrobe. Gosh, that’s Catholic country!

      Like

  35. Mark4:41 says:

    Charlie are you coming to Montana? I’m in Missoula MT. If you do come, after a chat, I got $300 to help sponsor the trip. Does anybody else live in this area?

    I to camped at 11,000ft in the back of my pickup on the Beartooth highway. It seemed the mountain range was holding back the storm. For a time it was sunny on one side and raining on the other. It was amazing.
    God bless all here.

    Like

  36. Kris R. says:

    “Whatever condition it is in before bed, you will get it today.”
    Charlie, what time do you go to bed? 😊

    Like

  37. Sr Lorraine says:

    Charlie in regard to above comments after the Storm, will the changed attitudes mean that things like the gay rights movement will just collapse? Also what about things we are seeing like genetic manipulation, IVF, etc.? If people still know how to do them, the temptation will be there. I guess it’s just hard to envision how the world will be.

    Like

  38. gwen5559 says:

    Very sad this morning to hear that Bishop Finn has resigned. He did a lot of good in our diocese and is an excellent man.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I hated this news. A Bishop who tried, sometimes awkwardly to do what is right – and he is brought down while some who actively attack the faith remain in honor. The howling mob approaches the gates, shouting “Crucify Him,” once more for any who hold fast to the fundamentals of the faith.

      Like

  39. Mary Ann says:

    http://www.dfwcatholic.org/after-vision-of-christ-nigerian-bishop-says-rosary-will-bring-down-boko-haram-78019/.html

    This link reminds me of your comments regarding the conquering of Islam. It has happened before.

    Like

  40. laura says:

    “Whatever condition it is in before bed, you will get it today” -c.j.

    Like

  41. Charlue, at what point do we start worrying about not hearing from you?

    Like

  42. Hello Charlie,

    I have irrefutable proof that your directions come from above. About twenty years ago I heard you speak in Michigan. You prayed for everyone individually and when you came to me you stopped and looked confused and said to your friend who came with you that you were supposed to pray for my hands. So you did. You had no way of knowing that God and I had been conversing about my hands for years. I was feeling down because my gifts were hidden. I had a fleeting thought when you spoke that it would be great if you knew about me. That it would be comforting for me and quite a sign for me to know your authenticity. So when you stopped and said you were to pray for my hands I knew exactly what it was about. I spent the rest of the night beaming. You have all the provenance you need. Thank you for the yes that is your life. With Jesus and Mary, Mary Ellen O’Brien Anchorage, Alaska

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Was this perhaps a dream or a vision, Maryellen? I have never spoken publicly in Michigan – and I have kept my visitations and such confined to my priests and a few very close friends until just a few years ago, except for the Spirit Daily intevies 12 years ago. I have spoken on religious topics in Denver, St. Louis and Chicago – but mostly in the context of my political work. I have run no prayer meetings ever except for Denver. I mainly wanted to keep things quiet until it was needed – while mainly hoping intensely that it never would be.

      Like

  43. it was not public. A bunch of people had a prayer meeting every 13th of the month. It was on the edge of the state and your friend was driving and the meeting was not on your schedule. It was surprising and serendipitous. So I Thot it was you. If not then I attributed it to you. God bless us all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

