Finally, the Song of Thanksgiving

The Immaculate Conception

By Charlie Johnston

Okay, we are making this a cheery day – or as the Monty Python cast was wont to say, “And now for something completely different…”

I cannot directly embed videos here, so my son set up a Vimeo account for me  – which I can link to for videos. On Divine Mercy Sunday, we taped this. One of my friends has a daughter who is in an honor choir. She got three of the girls and two of the boys to agree to come over and do this. Alas, teenagers apparently can think of better things to do with a sunny Sunday afternoon than tape a little song. Who knew? But, two of her girlfriends DID show up – and it came out fine.

In order of their appearance, the girls are Audrey, Anna, and Emily – then me. Many thanks to each of them. Audrey originally showed up with shorts and a t-shirt, but prevailed on Anna to find her something a bit more formal.

Back in my radio days, I used to have to listen to myself on tape for airchecks with the program director – and my kids always insisted on listening to me on holidays. The station would play a “Best of..” tape while we went off on some adventure. The kids were fascinated that I was both in the car driving with them and simultaneously on their radio. I hated listening to myself, but they got so much pleasure from it, I dealt with it. But this was actually the first time I have heard myself sing clearly on tape. Not great, but not bad, either.

This is the song of thanksgiving that rises in the world as rescue comes. I did check with my angel…and those of you who want to are welcome to put on a melody atop this ostinato.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Solidarity, The Rescue, The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

147 Responses to Finally, the Song of Thanksgiving

  1. the phoenix says:

    Several days ago I could click the link and hear the song, today it doesn’t work … all I get is a black screen. Anyways, love the song!


  2. I don’t know why but when I listened to this, it reminded me of U2 singing Yahweh and Psalm 40 song.


  3. Carmen says:

    I seem to remember that Kitty Cleveland was going to make a recording of the song. I would love to hear it. Can you tell me how I could get that? I went to her site but couldn’t find anything. thanks Charlie! You are in my prayers.


Leave a Reply

