Ordinary Miracles – Trusting the Co-Pilot


(A story of the road for our ordinary miracles. This comes from reader, Dave Jones from the upper Midwest -CJ).

By Dave Jones

I thought I’d pass along an experience that happened to me and my family about 3 years ago. If you think it’s useful, you can pass it along to your readers. Maybe a guest column when you’re busy.
It started with a trip to a wedding of a son of our good friends, which was taking place in neighboring Minnesota. It was me, my wife, and our 2 grown sons in the car with the associated luggage. Enough weight extra that I could notice the difference in how the car handled. One of the tires had been making a low toned warbling sound. It sounded like the tire was out of balance. I had looked at the tread and found no uneven wear. I wasn’t sure if it was a bearing, or maybe a small bulge in the tire, but hadn’t found anything and had left it go. This was simply a background issue that I had in the back of my mind and not something I saw as a major issue.
The trip was about 250 miles and all went well with mostly interstate highway and divided highway miles to get there. The wedding was very enjoyable and we returned home the next day, again flowing with traffic and having no problems.
The following weekend, I went to a neighboring town to get my mother to spend a weekend with us. She gets around with a walker and hasn’t much mobility, so she enjoys getting away for a visit. Sunday morning we went to church and then out to breakfast with the 5 of us. We had an enjoyable breakfast and then returned home. When we got out of the car, my oldest son called my attention to a hissing front tire. Sure enough it was going flat with an clearly audible sound. I wondered where the leak was, so I started to run my hand over the face of the tire to see if I could feel escaping air. Suddenly my hand was jabbed by a hundred ends of broken wire. It was not on the face of the tire, but well into the inner sidewall out of sight unless I had really been inspecting the tire. The steel belting was thoroughly broken for a good half of the tire and there was even a sizable bare spot which was threadbare! I enclose a picture which I felt compelled to take at the time.
This was where the realization of the protecting hand of God came over me. I practically broke into a cold sweat remembering the 4 of us going over 70 mph the weekend before, loaded with people and luggage, jockeying with semi trucks. A catastrophic blowout on a front tire would certainly have been horrible. I might have seen part of my family killed in a terrible accident. Instead, we had traveled on blissfully ignorant of the peril. Even after that, the tire hadn’t blown when I was ferrying my mother, leaving us stranded along the road with her and her walker. It didn’t even go flat while we were eating breakfast, having us come out and finding a flat to deal with. No, it wasn’t till I was back home, where I had all my best tools and jack, and a full sized spare to fix this problem. As it goes with things most times, you don’t fully see the grace of God until you are looking back at it. I not only thanked God, but made sure my sons also saw the realization I had come to. If it were not for the grace of God, we would have had a much worse situation to deal with.
It it for this reason and several more that I feel I have no excuse to lack trust in God. I feel that He has showed me that He will provide in all situations, and that my real security is my total faith in Him. I know that we will very likely face very troubling times, but I never lose a minute of sleep over it, because if He doesn’t have me in his hands, there’s nothing I will be able to do. God bless, Charlie and thanks for the encouraging words!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Ordinary Miracles. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ordinary Miracles – Trusting the Co-Pilot

  1. anthonymullendivineantidote says:

    Amen! It is incredible to think God is in all things…even tires! The more we focus on one moment…the present moment…the more we accumulate all for Him. Thank you Dave for sharing!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. diane wyder says:

    Beautiful. Beautiful. Thank you! Total trust in His constant loving Presence. I will sweetly drift off to sleep now with this story, praising Him and wake up with Him, praising Him and then all day long….all I need to do as Denzel Washington simply put it last Saturday: “put God first”…”everything is a gift”….thank you God, thank you God for everything.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Dee says:

    Years ago, my daughter was a Franciscan missionary, working in a remote mountain village in Mexico. One day being late for a meeting at the church, she decided to take a short cut and walk through a field of high grass. Halfway through the field she came upon a car parked in the middle of the field, which she couldn’t see starting out. The car had the doors open, and there were four men in the car, all drinking out of bottles of liquor. I should add she was a beautiful 23 yr old, with long flowing hair, and a beautiful figure. One can only imagine what was on there minds as the whistling began. My daughter said she then noticed two VERY big black dogs walking beside her, which seemed to come from nowhere. And she continued on to the church, unharmed. Once there, the dogs ran off, and disappeared.
    Just another example of how God will protect us in times of harm. A beautiful extraordinary miracle. She had a very deep trust in God. And still does as she suffers daily with painful advanced lupus. She entered a cloistered order after her missionary work, but left after a year, married and has two grown children.

    Liked by 6 people

  4. Elizabeth VandePutte says:

    Thank you for sharing ! Encouraging and Faith building !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Just a humorous comment on the title – I saw a church marquee in our town that said “If God is your co-pilot maybe you should change places. : )

    Liked by 5 people

  6. jnursester says:

    How true! it reminds me of once when traveling between Lubbock, TX and Fort Collins, Colorado with my two girls who were 4 and 6 years old. We had a flat in Raton, NM and it was evening. A guy walked out of nowhere, helped me change the tire and disappeared. I knew God was taking care of us.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Deon says:

    Thank you for this wonderful witness to God’s loving providence!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mll says:

    Beautiful way to start the day! Thanks for sharing this and reminding us that there are miracles every day if we just trust in God.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. EllenChris says:

    Thanks for this — it is a wonderful reminder of God’s Providence.

    I saw a bumper sticker the other day that tickled me: If God is your Co-pilot — you better change seats!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Barbara Dore says:

    It had happened to me some years ago. A handsome man rushed to our car and he expertly changed the wheel and he said even no word! something like an unexplained power prevented us to realize that he is an angel until he left us. when finished , He turned towards me and gave me a raising eyebrow and I felt he knows me..It happened so fast before I copped on…. No words at all….I said to my husband that is he the angel? He nodded and he said he felt same as me. I will find out when I pass over the veil….

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Kathleen Wimmer says:

    God and my guardian angel were protecting me and so many others the morning some 16 years ago when before going to work, I picked up the wrong pill bottle. I took m ambien. Having never taken the pill before, I had not yet taken the medicine for my sleeplessness, I had no idea how it would effect me. I did note before I left for work that I had taken the wrong pill, but just thought I would be a bit tired that day. Well, I remembered nothing that came after that moment. I had driven way past my exit on highway 40 when I was stopped by the police. It seems too that the police had been trying to get me to stop driving and Incident had even been reported, as it was happening on the radio. When, they got me to stop somehow, I remember standing outside of the car and the next thing I knew, I was in a patrol car and they wanted to take me to the hospital. I came to enough to tell them what I believed happened and that I had to get to work. For some strange reason they took me to work instead of the hospital. I slept for the next few hours. I shudder when I think of what could have happened that day. God was with me that day!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Forgive my typo’s above.


  13. Meriadoc says:

    Last summer, my car’s battery had a cell that was totally shot. It went bad on the final stretch of a busy road before my apartment. I had just enough momentum to carry me through the entrance to an open parking spot. That spot was ideal for the tow-truck to come the next morning and tow me away.

    Hard to tell which miracle was bigger: that I could coast into the lot without slowing down traffic, or that the ideal spot was open and waiting for me! I got a “twofer” out of that little event.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Karen says:

    Thank you, Dave, for a beautiful story. It helps me to see God as our Father.
    May God bless you!


  15. A Quiet Person says:

    Can I add my story here? It seems to fit in. A few years ago I was at a local church listening to a talk by one of the visionaries of Medjugorje. Even now I don’t know why but I was so agitated throughout the whole talk I could hardly sit still. I was anxious, distracted, and upset. By the time we got in the car to leave I was really grouchy. It did not help that when I turned the car on it made such a loud noise I could hardly stand it. I couldn’t figure out how to stop the noise. I definitely did not want to take a day off from work so all the way home that night I am trying to figure out how I could make my long commute with that racket going on. I couldn’t. The noise was driving me bonkers. There was no way I could drive safely with that din. So the next day I took my car into the garage. The sound was easily fixed in a moment. Since I was there, I figured I would get the brakes checked. That had sort of been in the back of my mind to get done eventually. I just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. Well, that turned out to have been a pretty good idea. On one side the brakes were working to only 5% capacity. On the other side – zero.

    So, as often happens, the Lord was taking care of me when I did not even realize it. How long had He been protecting me, even as I was driving, at that time, 3 – 4 hours each day because of my crazy schedule? And when He really needed to get my attention, He knows how to do it!
    I am trusting that the Lord will continue to take care of all of us, even when we do not recognize it at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

