Guidelines for Hosts on Visits

Two-lane highway in countryside

Two-lane highway in countryside

By Charlie Johnston

As I begin to make my visits to various cities around the country, here are guidelines for hosting a visit:

  1. If you volunteer to be a host, I need an email address I can publish so others in your region can get hold of you. It can be your regular email address or you can set up a separate account for security purposes. If you want to do a separate account, gmail, hotmail and yahoo are free and easy to set up. Once you are set up, I will publish your email as the host for that particular city.
  2. After your email is published, you should set up a meeting with volunteers within a week to take care of the various tasks needed. Use both people who email you and people you know to set up a committee to organize the visit. The meeting can be at a home or business place, but get people on specific tasks.
  3. If you volunteer to host, you will need to find a sponsor who will contribute $300 directly to me. This is to finance travel, meals and hotel expenses when needed. I do not need the money until I get there. I want sponsors only – and for this amount. Do NOT pass a hat for me at any public meeting. If you do, I will stop it. I cannot do this without sponsors, but my work is free to all who come. I do not want anyone to come and feel sandbagged by an appeal for cash. My needs are small and I live very simply.
  4. You may certainly speak to a Priest or Bishop concerning me and ask for a venue, but do NOT pressure them. Certainly, you can direct them to my website so they can see what I am about. This is very important. Our Priests and Bishops have very difficult work ahead. My purpose is to try to support them and give them heart in their work as well as for the laity. I defeat that purpose if I have people trying to force them to take a stand on me. Let them take a stand on the fundamentals of the faith – and let us support them. I have many Priests and a chunk of Bishops who follow me regularly – more than a few who wish to stay anonymous. I respect that. In fact, if I were counseling one, I might recommend it. In political work, I always did what was best for the cause: if that meant being in front, that is what I did. If it meant staying in the background, that is what I did. Our purpose is to build each other up and support our clergy in the work before us. Formally, though the appropriate officials are aware of my work, I am neither endorsed nor forbidden. I have been under the direction of three priests for the last 20 years.
  5. Once I arrive, someone will need to be responsible for ground transportation throughout my visit. I should always be accompanied by someone who knows most of the people attending various events and can introduce me individually.
  6. I need some alone time each day. If I need to stay at a hotel, I will pay for that from proceeds from the sponsors. If it is a hotel, I need Internet service, but I prefer cheap – either a decent independent (my favorite type) or something like a Super8. For whatever reason, I do not like the clinically austere feeling of Motel 6 and usually do not sleep well there. Please do not try to impress me with something fancy. It makes me uncomfortable. Several who have volunteered to be hosts have offered little guest houses or hermitages or mother-in-law apartments. That is wonderful and suits my needs to a T.
  7. I will make arrangements with the host to be picked up at the bus or train station and make arrangements for further travel after I have gotten the host for the initial stop in a particular tour.
  8. A woman in Denver has offered to co-ordinate much of the arrangements, so once I have a host in a city, you will hear from her.
  9. I will need an address of the host. Anthony Mullen of the Flame of Love Devotion is drop-shipping materials – booklets and such – to be distributed at the gatherings I speak at. He will ship them directly to hosts.
  10. Do not be shy about setting up events at Protestant Churches that are amenable. As I have said, all faithful Christians, both Catholic and Protestant, and all faithful Jews, are to be treated as full partners in the work. God will see to the unity…we are to help build up the faithful together. There are no junior partners here.


On the evening of my arrival in a city, the first event should be a private dinner with the volunteers who set things up. I want to get to know and break bread with the committee members who made things possible. The dinner can be at a private home or at a restaurant. If it is at a restaurant, you pay.

On the second day, it should start with a Daily Mass where possible. Forgive me, but 7 a.m. is about the earliest I am prepared to start.

In the course of the day, several types of events should be scheduled – and these can vary. The type of events that can work well are visits to business owners who may be trying to live their values but find themselves under siege from statist enforcers, charitable endeavors such as homeless shelters or crisis pregnancy centers, interviews with Christian publications or radio stations that are interested, tours of Shrines or notable local landmarks. Anything that is solid and may need some bucking up or support is an appropriate venue. I would very much like, where possible, to visit and show solidarity with some Protestant Christians in each city I visit. I have a particular affinity for Evangelicals and traditional Methodists – all of whom were very kind to me on my pilgrimage.

Lunch can just be with volunteers – but it is a wonderful opportunity to get to know some of the religious leaders in a city. Where possible, I would love to have lunch with volunteers, Priests and Pastors – both Catholic and Protestant. This allows me to get a feel for the faith-life of a city and what it needs – while also giving clergymen a chance to get to know me without having to take a public stand. Again, my main concern is supporting them on their prime mission.

The visit should culminate with a public meeting in the evening, preferably beginning at 6 or 7 p.m. That gives people time to get home from work and settled. The meeting can be held at a hall of a church that is agreeable, a home, or a room at a VFW or other such spot. There should be a table set aside for sign-in for people who are interested and for materials that will be given away, such as Miraculous Trust Prayer Cards, Flame of Love Booklets and buttons and stickers. On the sign-in sheet, you should keep a copy for yourself and make a copy for me. People who follow my website are focused on acknowledging God, taking the next right step, and being a sign of hope to those around them. I want to meet you – but these trips are as much about getting like-minded people in the various regions to know and be in communication with each other. You can be a profound support network together.

At the meeting, I will make about a 45-minute presentation. Then I will enter into a question-and-answer session which will become a dialogue with all present. On several occasions, I will offer a chance for people who need to to be able to leave without embarrassment. I loathe it when people come out for something and are forced into a marathon. I will stay as long as needed to answer and chat with people, but I do not want anyone to feel it is a burden.


My first trip will begin in mid-June. I will arrive in Nashville at the Greyhound Bus Station at 11 a.m. on Tuesday, June 16. I have not made formal arrangements with a host yet. I will go from Nashville to Atlanta, where I am working with a host. From there it will be to Ft. Lauderdale, where I also have a host in place, then to Tallahassee, where my son is and then on to Birmingham. I am open to adding a site or two if there is a solid host who contacts me.

In July, I will visit New England and the Eastern seaboard. In August, it is California. Septembet is the Midwest and in October I will head to Texas and Louisiana. Come November, I will rest until the holidays are over.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General, Solidarity. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Guidelines for Hosts on Visits

  1. beth trussell says:

    Please give the data for Atlanta whenever you can. I live in Augusta and would to come!!!!

    Many Blessings!!!!!!!


  2. Judith Johnson says:

    We would love to have you in Lubbock/Slaton on your way through Texas.


    • texasooz57 says:

      Hi, Judith! So nice to see other people in the panhandle of West Texas on Charlie’s site! We live in Plainview near Lubbock. We are looking forward to seeing Charlie and meeting others in Texas when Charlie passes through Texas in the fall!


  3. narnialion54 says:

    has there been any interest from the Pittsburgh/Steubenville, Ohio (Franciscan University) area? I can’t host, but would love to help out if someone else hosts!


    • charliej373 says:

      That is one of the few areas I have not heard from.


      • Donette says:

        They might be tapped out, Charlie. The leaders who live in and around those areas have been bringing in speakers for years. Most recently, Maureen and Ted Flynn of Signs and Wonders gave a conference at the Airport Sheraton Inn. It was a very well organized event. When I first met them in the early years of the Steel City Conferences there were the Medjugorje visionaries, Father Jozo, Fr Svet etc. that they would fly in. It would draw thousands of people.
        Bishop Wuerle was Bishop of Pittsburgh then and even though the retreats were not held on Church property they had to tread water when putting on an event. Once when there was a bit of a rumble the primary leader of the event commented, “Look folks, when we do these things we are walking between the raindrops with the Bishop.”

        Having had the fun experience of standing in front of a Bishop myself and making a request truly can be a hair raising event. Fortunately for me, God sent me Bishop Thomas Tobin. God Bless him. May he receive his right and proper golden crown when he returns home.

        When Ted Flynn took the podium, and stood in front of the 200 people present, he said, “We are really getting down to the Remnant folks. The others just aren’t interested in what Our Lady has to say anymore.”

        I asked Maureen if they had you on their scope yet and she said “No.” They did not know you. I have been considering sending them your email address. I hesitated because I didn’t know just how famous you wanted to become, Charlie.


  4. Lin says:

    It’s very exciting to see your travel plans taking shape! Happy trails to you…I doubt if I will be able to travel to see you, but I’ll be praying and looking forward to hearing about the meetings from other members of the community here!


  5. Charlie I know in my Archdiocese we need the permission of the bishop before we can ask for a speaker in the parishes. People may need to be aware of their diocesan policies.


  6. Deon says:

    I am interested in assisted a host in Northern CA.


  7. Melanie says:

    Please keep us posted when you make arrangements for Southern California. Would like to contribute. Thanks! I hope you keep us posted on how it all goes throughout your travels and the response you get at the meetings!


  8. johnmcfarm says:

    Hey Charlie, when you come to our area I will be happy to sponsor including chauffeuring or car for you to drive, hotel or motor home and/or McFarm Resort (complete with goats!!!) and meals throughout stay. I think you would enjoy a couple days peace at my farm…it is very quiet and peaceful.

    I am wondering about a “promotional” or informational brochure (can be one page typed) that details a bit about what you will be doing at events for us to pass around to look for event creation at churches or other organizations that may be interested.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bob says:

    When you get closer to a Midwest visit let us know your plans and if you are near the St Louis or Belleville area I will see how I can be of some help if things don’t turn bad before that.


  10. Jennifer says:

    Charlie, I’m in Nebraska and can’t host but would help or drive to a nearby venue.


  11. christiaria says:

    Charlie, October is a wonderful time to come to Louisiana. We’ll make it happen! I’m not an organizer/administrator, but I’m happy to sponsor you. Are any of the other La. readers on here interested in organizing his visit?

    By the way, I recall you mentioning the McDonald’s in Covington, LA. If that was the one off of I-12, I live about 5 mins. from there! We have a wonderful Catholic community here, and I know we’ll get a good turn-out.


    • charliej373 says:

      I went one night to a summer concert in the park series nearby. I don’t think it was on the Interstate. Though I was usually within a few miles from an Interstate, I rarely was actually right on one. It was near a creek or very small river. Ha! For the few days I was in Covington, I stayed a small foot and bicycle bridge over the creek. It came in handy because it rained like a son of a gun one night. You don’t know how nice it really is to be under a safe bridge when it is raining hard if you live outdoors. It feels absurdly cozy and safe. I think I got a haircut there, though it might be a town over. I got my haircut at the “Bayou Barber.” Nice fella – and best of all he offered his customers a Cherry Coke while they waited – which is my favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Therese says:

    There are many of us in the greater Portland, Oregon and SW Washington/Vancouver area that have been following you Charlie. I would love to assist in anyway I can. We have a wonderful Catholic Radio Station dedicated to Our Blessed Mother, a beautiful Grotto, and many other worthy causes to see. Our prayers are with you as you go forth to spread the Gospel of the Lord.


    • Hopenjoy says:

      Therese, so happy to see someone else from Oregon here! I’m in the rural part of the state and feel so very isolated in our small parish with so few people “aware” or preparing spiritually or physical. If Charlie or co-hosts could connect us via emails wouldn’t that be wonderful to meet up sometime? God bless you!


  13. Donette says:

    PS. What? You plan to travel only by train or bus, Charlie? You’re not going to fly anywhere? That is what costs the Hosts the most money…plane fare. It always required more then one of us to fly priests from Italy, plus their translators to get them to the States and then we flew them all around the United States to the various location for people to hear them speak.

    I don’t think $300 is too steep for a Host. Not everyone can house visitors and that is when the hotel costs go up plus the meals, local travel arrangements, etc. We paid for all of those things for our guests, Charlie. I didn’t charge an entry fee, but some people do and they ask a lot depending on the over all cost of the project.
    I do hope someone from the Ohio, Pittsburgh area makes contact with you.


    • charliej373 says:

      There could be circumstances where I travel by plane. But while I don’t dislike it at all, I hate going through airports now – and I want to keep expenses down. Part of me wishes I were independently wealthy so I could do this at no cost to anyone but me, but that is not the case. But I’ll be darned if I am going to make it expensive. I think this will keep things afloat without creating a burden for anyone, so that is how it is. Ha, I already have my Greyhound Rewards account!


      • Mack says:

        I bet you’ll meet some interesting people on the bus, Charlie. Last year on National Review there was an article by a man who rode across country by bus, just to get in touch with ordinary people, sort of like an informal study. It was amazing–he told about one young man who could have passed for a gang member who had a really thoughtful question, and said something about how he was worried about the direction of our country. I don’t have the link anymore but it was a good read.


  14. Carolyn C. says:

    Charlie, Yes, do hope you can come to Portland. I am on staff at the local Catholic retreat house and we collaborate with the Catholic Radio Station. Would be honored to assist in any way needed.


  15. janine gonya says:

    I would be honored to work on your Northeast visit. If you are here in July we can have a meet and greet cookout at our home and invite local priest and pastors and families that I know follow your thread. There are several families that currently meet monthly to pray and discuss our role in the coming storm. I know my husband and I and our adult children look forward to meeting you in person. God Bless you in all you do and guide you in your travels.


    • ryusi says:

      Hi Janine, Where in the Northeast are you? We are in MA, around Natick…


      • janine gonya says:

        I am on the Ma boarder near Woonsocket RI, Blackstone, a small sleepy town south west of Natick. We are hoping to get Bettania II in Medway to be the meeting site for Charlie to talk to the masses….it is a large venue and Maria Esperaza said it will be a place of refuge…her cause for Canonization is being sought. There are many families in our area that are preparing and supporting each other in this time of trouble. Our Lady I believe has brought us all together for her Son’s greater glory and Her Immaculate triumph.


    • Another Karen says:

      I am in southern NH (seacoast area), and could help sponsor/transport where needed up this way. I hope that there are many of us in the area as I at the moment feel like a fish out of water with respect to my belief about the urgency of preparing for the storm. Would be nice to meet others for mutual support, and am very glad Charlie is coming this way!


      • LittleLight says:

        Quiet corner of CT here. We’d love to be able to attend a meeting.


      • cathyg2015 says:

        I’m on the North Shore of MA (so in between NH and Natick area though probably closer to NH). So looking forward to Charlie’s visit and meeting up with like-minded folks as well. I’d be happy to sponsor and help out in other ways although I’m not sure if I have the capacity to host since my time off from work is very limited and I don’t believe I have adequate community connections. That said, I am completely open to doing whatever is necessary to help this along…


  16. Carol S. says:

    I am so happy you are coming to Ft. Lauderdale!! I can’t wait!


  17. Chris says:

    Christiaria, so wonderful of you to sponsor Charlie. I am not an organizer/administrator but I would love to help/volunteer, be on committee.How about we nominate Beth for administrator…she has great organizational skills. She can call or email me. We could have a good turnout. Oh, and you sang so beautifully at mass this morning.


  18. Chris says:

    Charlie, that concert you went to in Covington was probably at the Bogue Falaya Park. The Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra has concerts there quite often.In fact, they played one last weekend. It was to be my very first concert but my husband got a message from an old friend that
    another old friend was dying in the hospital. So we went to pray the rosary and Divine Mercy Chaplet at his bedside. Also, Bayou Barber is on Boston St., not far from the park. Not far if you are driving, but I guess when you are on foot a few miles is a good distance. The McDonald’s is right after you cross the bridge over that little creek. It is a beautiful area, glad you felt cozy and safe.Can’t wait until you visit us here again.


    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, Chris, you have got it exactly. The McDonald’s WAS just across from the bridge over the creek…the Bayou Barber was just a little ways from the park. I think you have it exactly. Covington will definitely HAVE to be a stop – and I will show you the bicycle bridge I made camp under.


  19. Mick says:

    Charlie, I’d be more than happy to host you when you come to Michigan; but here’s my situation. I have decent “people” skills, but I have poor organizational skills (meaning, I’m pretty haphazard and awful at organizing). I’m good at following instructions, though; so if somebody gave me a “blueprint,” I could get those things done or delegate them to people who could. Plus, I can get around Jackson County and parts of Ingham and Washtenaw Counties well, but I’m lost in the rest of the state. So, if you’re planning to go to the Detroit area rather than Jackson/Lansing, I’d be a lousy choice for host(ess). (By the way, have you had an opportunity to talk to Mark Mallett or Fr. John Hedges yet?).

    This is the long way around saying that if my limitations won’t be a hindrance, I’d be glad to host. Otherwise, perhaps someone else would be willing (and even with my willingness, somebody else might be a better choice).🙂

    P.S. If you do come to the Jackson area, we’d be happy to feed you 3+ squares a day. The food is simple, but it’s plentiful.


    • charliej373 says:

      Mick, I know you are in touch with several other readers on this site in your area. You already have the germ of a committee. Just have each of them take what they are good at and run with it. You don’t have to be the organizer…have one of those you already regularly meet with take the reins of that and go for it. I am planning to come to Lansing – I have no invite from anyone in the Detroit area. I exchanged notes with Mark yesterday (I was chuckling at his “right step” post and was going to tease him about it – but he contacted me first to let me know it was, indeed, a sort of homage). I will ask him about Fr. Hedges…but I don’t try to engage people directly right now; I respond to invitations that are made and let it grow from there.


    • Susan, MI says:

      Hello Mick and Charlie,
      Just a quick hello to say we have two germs on the committee. 🙂
      Limitations? Many. Distracted beyond all belief? Yup… Field trips, exams, sleepovers, you name it. But, count me in. Jesus has brought me this far, in spite of the current state of my germy germiness. If we allow Him, and it so pleases Him, He will use the least of our talents to bring about the most generous and abundant fruit. I believe that is something He never tires of. Mick, looking forward to seeing you again. Charlie, looking forward to meeting you. Peace to you, both, and all here.


      • Mick says:

        Hello, my dear fellow germ!🙂

        Yes, let’s do get together sometime soon. Michelle and Quiet Person, are you game?

        Any other Michiganders out there, would you like to join our We’re-Not-The-Cool-Kids-but-Charlie-Rocks-and-Despair-Is-For-Chumps Club? Organizational ability is completely optional, but would be a plus. Germs of Michigan, unite!🙂


  20. Dionna says:

    Greetings Donnette,

    Just letting you know I reached out to Ted Flynn last month about hosting Charlie here in Northern VA (WDC Metro area) where we (and they) live. I know they would do an excellent job of it. Glad to know someone else has mentioned it to them. As you said-Ted was not very familiar with Charlie so I sent him some pieces from the Blog and gave him my best endorsement of course:-) They just completed their quarterly magazine for Signs and Wonders and as you know just hosted a seminar- so they have have been pressed for time. He wanted me to send Charlie his flyer-which outlines his new book-which I did. I think Ted wants Charlie to see the connection they have. We spoke for quite some time-and it was apparent that he and Charlie are very much on the same page and dealing with many of the same issues. Ted said that so many people he encounters at their seminars are filled with “fear”. It is the current weapon of the enemy- we are all feeling it- and I pray the Holy Spirit will be giving us much Faith and Trust – in extra measure this Sunday!

    Charlie-I do hope you and Ted are able to connect-be it Gods will I would love to see you here in Northern VA and even make a trip up to Emmitsburg-to the Grotto. It is not far from here. Very Holy Ground indeed.

    I am unable to host myself-but if anyone in NO VA can-I will help! I have a few others out here I am going to reach out to also-to see if they can host.

    I just got back from my trip to Alabama- was able to spend some time with my uncle who is battling cancer (thank you for the prayers from Pelianito’s blog-he was feeling better when we got there-praise God!) and see my sons college UNA-really beautiful university-lots of gardens, trees and lovely old town shops etc. Their mascot is the Loin and they have two of them (live) at the front entrance. Big cage with waterfall etc. really cool! Was great to see my uncle and numerous cousins i have not seen in 20 years! Great being in the south-where my dad is from too. I do love Alabama y’all! If you cannot come out this way Charlie-maybe I can find my way to Birmingham when you get there. Would it not be awesome to stop by EWTN-it is not far from there?.

    Yours in Christ through Mary!

    You are ALL in my prayers.


  21. Therese says:

    Hello Hopenjoy and Carolyn C. I would love to be connected so we could communicate and join our hearts, prayers and resources on a local level.


  22. Jacquie Nevinger says:

    I just noticed the reply to address:

    Deacon Ron and Jacquie 600 Shady Creek Dr. Lafayette, IN 47905

    765 491 0001 Jacquie Cell 765 426 4347 Ron Cell



  23. Mona says:

    Will your talks be posted on YouTube?
    I am wondering if I am going to USA to hear you in my hollyday in week 30 or 31. If I do, I would like to wisit and live whith some friends of your site. I do not know what I will do whith my holliday. Do I want to wisit my cabin in the Norwegian mountains or wisit some of you in the states? It will be my first Holliday after my husbond dyed, and therefor I think I am a bit confused and uncertain. Pleace pray for me so I can find out what to do.
    Mona from Denmark


Leave a Reply

