His Eye is on the Sparrow

total consecration

Ordinary Miracles

(This little tale of a prayer answered unexpectedly is from our reader, Sonya. Entrust your intentions to God – then let Him surprise you. -CJ)

By Sonya

I am a mother of six and like many others am praying for the conversion of my son.  He is off at college and  I am not even sure if he attends Mass.  I decided to pray the Saint Louis de Montfort’s Total Consecration to Our Lady for him.  I inserted his name in each prayer.  Instead of praying “Pray for us” I would say, “Pray for Timmy.”  The day of my consecration I planned to go to confession with my husband and two of my younger children.  I texted ten different people to meet us after confession at 3:00 to pray the rosary for persecuted Christians, especially those in the Middle East and Africa.  Everyone I texted were family and close friends. Not one of whom I texted could make it for various reasons.  The only one I didn’t text was my son, Timmy, because I was sure he would not come.

A half hour before we were to leave I received a text from Timmy asking me if I knew where he could go to confession. I was so shocked, I almost thought it was a joke.  I calmly texted back we were going to confession at the Shrine and he could come with us.  Still, I did not hold my breath. However, he did show up and came with us.  After confession, I asked if he would join us in praying the Rosary.  I never mentioned my intention.  We each took a decade.  Timmy had the 5th decade.  We all asked for a special intention before our decades.  Timmy’s intention was for the persecuted Christians!! This was a ray of hope given to me on the last day of my consecration.  It has almost been a year since then and on the outside I can see no changes, but I have a bright ray of hope which I  hold onto. Timmy is in Our Lady’s hands!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Ordinary Miracles, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to His Eye is on the Sparrow

  1. diane says:

    awesome story – as a mother of young adult children I certainly understand your prayer for your son, and God understood the heart of His mother. Let us always remember to lift up the young adults — the temptations and the world they are up against is not friendly toward them at all. I am so glad God answered your prayer in such a beautiful manner. God Bless you and your family.


  2. CrewDog says:

    Never “Write-Off” anyone .. Living or Dead!! …. especially Old Renegades like me😉



  3. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    Marvellous, Sonya!

    Praise be to God from whom all good things come.


  4. Mary Anne says:

    The unfailing power of prayer. I do something similar. I pray the Consecration to Saint Michael for my husband and children. Instead of saying ‘my’ soul and body…I say ‘our’ souls and bodies. And with the St. Louis de Montfort Consecration, every morning when I bless myself with holy water and say the all that I am and “all that I have” prayer…I think of them.


  5. audiemarie2014 says:

    I absolutely love this “ordinary miracle”, Sonya! Thank you so much for sharing it.


  6. Mary W. says:

    Proof positive that God knows us all by name: knows who we are, where we are, and WHEN we need real living proof of that. We need to recall such moments often, especially during the STORM. Thank you Sonya….warms the heart.


  7. Judy says:

    Yes, he is surely in Our Lady’s hands. Our dear Blessed Mother is such a loving friend and advocate! My son recently gave me the best Mother’s Day present, though he may not have thought of it that way: He finally filed his annulment papers. I have been reminding and praying a long time. I gave up. Then he filed before Mother’s Day. I am sure that Our Blessed Mother nudged him to do so. Only God can know how much peace and joy this gave me.


  8. Torchbearer says:

    Being that Our Lady is the one through whom the Triumph comes, I believe it is a necessity to be consecrated to Her. It is in the 33 days of preparation that one learns what is means to be at Her disposal for bringing glory to God. She not only takes all that we give Her (so that She can perfect it and present it to Her Son) but She in turn gives us Herself and takes care of all our needs. This story is a great example of that. Hail to Our Mother and Queen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joseph77 says:

      Daily Prayers from St. Louis Marie De Montfort’s total consecration to Blessed Virgin Mary: Hail Bright Star of Ocean, Come O Creator Spirit Blessed, O Jesus Living in Mary. Our Blessed Mother of Medugorje has asked for prayers for Her intentions, her plan for the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart of Mary and for the healing of our nation back to God and to Mary.


  9. Blessed be God in His Angels and His Saints


  10. jules says:

    Thanku for sharing this story it has warmed me and encouraged me🙂


  11. joanp62 says:

    Beautiful story, Sonya. I pray for my son’s conversion all the time. Perhaps I should try the Consecration for him too.


  12. Dave says:

    Thanks for sharing that Sonya, and thanks Charlie for running this category. There are a lot of assurances that God gives us and it helps to see it across a wide spectrum of life.

    A couple of years ago, my oldest son was home visiting. He’s a believer, but right now, seldom attends mass. We went together to mass and the Gospel reading was from John 10

    27″My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; 28and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand. 29″My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.

    “No one will snatch them out of my hand”. The timing was perfect and gave me a lot of comfort.


  13. Julia says:

    Sonya, thank you for sharing your beautiful testimony.

    I believe Blessed Mother has arranged for you to be assured she is watching over your son, and indeed each one of your family.

    If we can keep up the prayers as mothers and fathers and grandparents, I am sure God in His Mercy will work great miracles of grace to save our children.

    Praised be Jesus and Mary.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. kris says:

    I read this blog and Mark Mallett’s pretty faithfully. Mark Mallett’s recent entry on his horse Bella was especially touching to me and I must say, put a smile on my face. For fear is the overriding issue I have as well. I could tell you a long list of reasons for that. But I am sure the details matter less than my recognizing what I am like, my barriers to trusting God. Yet as each year passes and as I have been part of this community and those that read Mark M. I find myself, asking the same prayer all the time now, please make me a child that can trust. By this I really mean, have a child’s absolute trust in my mom and dad who will take care of things, things I really have no idea they are really taking care of because I don’t have to worry about them. You get the picture. So I want to share a recent small conquest to overcoming my own barriers that just seems so amazing, yet not, to me.
    Over the past few years my husband and I have definitely been asked to get more disciplined with our finances because the economy is definitely changing and it effects small business like ours most quickly. So we always keep finding new ways to just let things go and find that we really don’t miss them anyway. Yes, that means we don’t travel and do vacations. We eat differently, i.e. I don’t shop for what might be tasty, I shop for what is basic and wholesome and on sale. My whole family has had to get into this mode and little by little I find we all know, heck we didn’t need all that anyway. Over the last six months we were faced with medical issues with everyone in our family. Now three of us, an adult child and my husband and I have no medical insurance . Thankfully, the youngest one of us has our State chips program and he was the one with two hospital visits during this time. But the strain of traveling to the hospital three hundred miles away, staying there for several days at a time and making several follow up visits, still put a stain on our pocket books. Then comes the other issues of a medical nature that come directly out of our pocket, surgery for one, which although day surgery, cost a whopping 30,000.00 dollars. With all that on our plate, we find out that two of our cars had damage to tires that required two sets of tires, due to both having AWD. this was the final straw to me. Where can I find almost 1000.00 for tires right now. We cant so we parked the cars and had to borrow a truck from a family member. So…..my husband and I decided to search the craig’s list in our local area. But all the tires that were our size were never available. An inspiration came to me to call our local tire company store and ask what size tires I could get away with on my van and he told me. I went back on craig’s list and the first ad I saw was for those tires. And yes, they were available still and they were almost new. $125.00 for four matching tires with great tread. When we went over to look at the tires for my van, he pointed out a set of tires for the other vehicle and low and behold, they were just the right alternative size that could fit our other vehicle. Buying both sets gave a what we needed for $three hundred versus the $1000.00! I was chuckling and remember saying a prayer of thanks because this whole episode was so different than what we have been used to doing. We have never been wealthy, yet always pay our bills and have enough for what we needed, not always what we wanted. Being bargain hunters has not really been our experience but we now realize how helpful it is to think outside the box. I have learned from this experience how as the economy continues to go down, I feel encouraged that if we trust our Lord He will lead us to places we are not used to but he will open new doors that will provide what we need, not what we would like. And that is actually okay. I am just amazed at the learning process, the pruning that is going on to prepare our hearts to be like little children and let our Mom and Dad take care of things. We will need to put energy into doing things differently, but the trust relationship that is developing is so amazing. As for the hospital bill, I am not afraid at all. I know somehow it will all be taken care of. I am just at peace that we did the right thing and God will provide.

    Liked by 4 people

  15. Vladimir, Slovakia says:

    Dear Sonya,
    I am feeling encouraged by your experience. I would like to tell you and all the readers there is a great Community, Solace Community in Great Britain that was entrusted with a mission for mothers, fathers and children. Maybe you have heard of Mother s Prayers, Father s Prayers and Chuildren of Faith movements that span at least 100 countries now, all without any promotion. These are actually prayer groups of mothers, fathers and children. Mothers and fathers lear to entrust their children completely to the Lord, actually give them up to the Lord. In this way parents learn to “detatch” or cut the “umbical cord” in a spiritual sense of the word, so the Lord can do miracles with their kids, like returning them home even after many years of knowing where they were, etc. Lots of miracles going on thanks to the fact of surrendering our kids to the Lord.
    The incredible fact about this mission is you can pray alone the prayers and be surprised whom our Lord will send your way to join you in the prayers. It is a weekly one hour prayer time, without advertising – it is more or less a condition, because our Lord wants to work His ways, connect people, etc. Just google out the Solace Community and you will learn everything you need to know to start to pray and expect the unexpected from the Lord.
    God bless you all, my sisters and brothers in America.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

