Cardinal Virtue From a Child’s Faith

The cardinal feather Karen Dembia's son found after prayer.

The cardinal feather Karen Dembia’s son found after prayer.

Ordinary Miracles

(This simple little story sees Jesus through the trusting eyes of a child. Our reader, Karen Dembia, sent it along with the picture. We often fear to speak of what we ask, lest we look a fool when we do not get what we seek. But whether we get the answer we want or not, the Lord always hears. – CJ)

By Karen Dembia

This was a watershed moment for me regarding childlike faith. We have many different varieties of birds that visit our birdbath and feeders. I was outside with two of my sons, and we found a beautiful blue jay feather. I commented that although I’ve found blue jay feathers all the time, in my entire life, despite the fact that they are frequent visitors, I never had found a cardinal’s feather. My youngest son said, “Mommy, let’s ask Jesus to help us find one right now!”

Here is where my faith hit a wall. Intellectually I believe Jesus could help us find a feather at any moment. But in my almost 50 years of life I had never found one. And even more to the point, what if I asked and we didn’t find one? I was scared to ask, because I didn’t believe in my heart He would send us one.
So I prayed in a way that hedged my bets. I said, “Dear Jesus, we were wondering, if it was Your Will, if You could help us find a cardinal’s feather…maybe today…maybe sometime this Spring…or Summer… Thank You.” I was embarrassed at how lame that prayer sounded, but my son was very happy. They went off to play in the woods. Within a half hour they came running in clutching, of course, a perfect red cardinal’s feather. My son told me they had been rolling big rocks and he found this feather under a rock he picked up.
Needless to say, I had tears in my eyes. This ordinary miracle, taped onto my refrigerator, tells me more about Jesus’ character than any theology I have ever read.
God bless, protect and guide us all,

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Ordinary Miracles, Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Cardinal Virtue From a Child’s Faith

  1. SteveBC says:

    Karen, I would have done what you did. Thanks for the lesson! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Shirley Bachmeier says:

    Thank you Charlie, for seeing the value of these little miracles of the heart that you take the time to share with us. It also tells me how tender and loving your heart is. Holy Spirit, we celebrate Your coming into this world of neediness and disorder due to our incredible bad judgments in trying to live without God. Holy Spirit, free us to love You, the Father and the Son; by Your graces, ignite your Flame of Love and spread it throughout the world. Bless you, Charlie and Family

    Liked by 1 person

  3. June1 says:

    “This ordinary miracle, taped onto my refrigerator, tells me more about Jesus’ character than any theology I have ever read.”
    This. This right here. Just perfect.🙂


  4. anne ovari says:

    Yes thank you Charlie, for allowing readers to share their miracle stories. They certainly have given me hope and encouragement. Karen, that was such a beautiful story- so simple but yet so profound. What a lesson to just let go and have that deep and unwavering faith and trust of a child. Praying for everyone. God bless.


  5. Michelle says:

    Karen, what a beautiful story. It reminded me of the same lesson I learned 16 yrs. ago. My husband, a professor, was spending his summer working at a university in Costa Rica. My 8 yr. old son, 2 1/2 yr. old daughter and I finished school and joined him several weeks later. He had found a house for us to rent. Our first day, he left for work and explained to me about the temperamental key. We went for a walk to explore the neighborhood. Upon our return, I couldn’t open the door. After 10 minutes of trying, my hands were sore and red. I told my children we needed to pray. We no sooner bowed our heads and my daughter popped her head up and said, “God’s coming!” My son and I laughed and explained to her that God doesn’t work that way. But of course, as you can guess, that key slid right in and the door was open.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. narnialion54 says:

    This is beautiful, Karen. Thank you.
    Thanks, Charlie and God bless and encourage everyone here.


  7. jnursester says:

    My daughter who is in OT school in Roswell, was in a car wreck Tuesday night. She was driving 25 miles east of Roswell en route to Tatum doing 70 when a truck in front of her decided to make a sudden unsignaled u turn. She had the reflexes and presence of mind to brake and turn to the left. The right side of the car took the impact (1989 Toyota Camry, no air bags) and her head went thru the windshield and her sternum impacted the steering wheel. Miraculously there were TWO EMTs driving right behind her who got her out IMMEDIATELY, stabilized her and called the ambulance. They had her to ER in less than 30 minutes. She never lost consciousness. She sustained several superficial lacerations on her arms and scalp, she has about 25 sutures and assorted staples. She has a broken left index finger (she will be seeing ortho ASAP) and a sternum contusion and the usual seat belt contusions. Other than that she is fine. I am AMAZED at the power of prayer and God to watch over us. Thanks to all of you who are helping her these couple days with your prayers and kind thoughts…God is good, ALL the time!
    Judy Johnson

    Liked by 2 people

  8. donna says:

    absolutely love this…..made my day.


  9. Mick says:

    So beautiful, Karen. Thank you.


  10. bhocutt says:

    It is always amazing to me how God can renew our faith with little things. Thank you for the story, it has lifted my spirit.


  11. jb says:

    “…Lift a rock, and I am there.” apocrypha


Leave a Reply

