Ever Watchful


(The Guardian Angel – Pietro da Cortona)

Ordinary Miracles

(Tomorrow I will have a host of information up. I will have the new “Upcoming Events” link added to the top bar, which will be regularly updated with information on coming speaking appearances, dates, and contacts in each of the cities. We also will add a link to a new, private chat board for readers of this forum. It was set up by our reader Tom in Atlanta and is ready to go operational. Now you will be able to contact each other and exchange contact information for getting together. On a quick note, I appreciate the many submissions that are coming in for ordinary miracles. It is a marvelous focus on what this site is about. I note for people sending things in, the point is that these are ordinary miracles, not big flashy ones. These are the equivalent of God’s little whispers to us each day. For a dramatic example how such a little whisper saved lives, we turn to our reader, Amy Crandell, from Georgia. -CJ)

By Amy Crandell

When my daughter was an infant I would take our oldest two sons to school every morning and come home. We would usually wait about an hour and head back out to go to daily Mass at St Anne’s across from our neighborhood.

One morning we came home after dropping off the boys and sat on the couch. I was really tired from having a needy nursing baby all night and thought we might skip daily mass and catch up on some sleep. At the last minute I changed my mind and decided I really wanted to not miss Jesus in the Eucharist. As I opened the door to the garage I realized something was very wrong when a hot cloud of smoke hit my face. I had left the motor running on my van and shut the overhead door. Before long the house would have begun to fill with carbon monoxide while the baby and I slept in bed. We might have died that day without that last minute urging from within.

Praise God!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Ordinary Miracles. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ever Watchful

  1. anne ovari says:

    Yes, Praise God! indeed, Amy. What a wonderful story and how caring is our Father in Heaven. If only everyone realised how ever watchful He is over every single one of us. Awesome! God bless

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy says:

    Thanks for writing. Your story lifts the spirit.


  3. joanp62 says:

    Wow! Wonderful story. God Bless.


  4. Karen says:

    Thank you Amy! Your story made me praise God!


  5. A reminder that I also provide an existing “chat board” called “Our Blessed Hope”, with a private (invisible) forum called The Catacomb over at:
    http://blessedhope.yuku.com/ in case anyone wants to use that one. I update it regularly, and it’s always ready for whatever anyone wants to use it for.🙂


  6. Amy says:

    I’ve often wondered if the enemy was after me because we’ve gone on to have 4 more children, all boys that we have prayed will become priests.


  7. Julia says:

    How beautiful Amy, makes us proud to be children of such a wonderful protecting Heavenly Father.


  8. Diane says:

    Hey Amy , I work with your mom and she has pics of all the kids on her office door. She never told me this story. Your family life and occurrences are full of “little miracles”. You and Phillip are so blessed. Praise God for your guardian angels. You are in my daily rosary. God bless


  9. Kathryn says:

    Praise be to God!


  10. nanannda2 says:

    Thanks, Amy . . .this is a reminder to me that our “ordinary miracles” often have life-changing effects, not only for ourselves but for others. Praise God, who works miracles in our everyday lives AND expands them we know not where. His ways are so-o-o much higher than our ways!


  11. suez1954 says:

    A wonderful reminder and faith builder! We are surrounded by miracles and just need eyes to see!


  12. Dave says:

    Wow Amy, just wow! This gives me the shivers, not only because of the circumstances, but a very similar thing happened to me once. It is confirmation that we are in His hands and He will always be there for us. No excuses now for doubt or mistrust. Thanks Amy.


Leave a Reply

