Musings – Miracles and More

miracle

By Charlie Johnston

Great news! Reader Tom Kuipers from Atlanta has set up a private chat board on which you may exchange contact information with each other or just talk about whatever – without me hovering over you. The link, which I have added to the permanent links at right under “Private Forum,” is Next Right Step Forum  . So you know, you must register and be cleared by Tom to get on the site. No one can go there who has not registered and been approved. But once you are on, you can have at it. So people in different regions of the country can now get to know each other off-line as well as on. I am grateful to Tom for setting this up and maintaining it.

*********

I have been inundated of late with people in agony, whose families are in crisis or are suffering some terrible setbacks – and some just worried that they are not doing enough…or that they are prone to stumbles and failures of their own fault. The worry seems to grow greater the darker the cultural skies get around us. Please remember that I preach the ordinary. Do not try to gear yourself up for dramatic, heroic action; just take the next right step. Don’t get caught up in trying to banish all sin in your life. As a very wise priest once told me, when you focus on banishing sin directly, what you are engaged with is sin. The only way to conquer sin is to drown it in a sea of love. Do not be surprised to find that you often do not do what you want, but the very thing you hate…that too often you do not do the good that you want, but the very evil you do not want to do. (Romans 7:15-19). You are in good company with St. Paul. Recognize that you are a broken sinner and keep getting up and stumbling forward. That is the best a true Christian can do. I tell you firmly that God is not concerned with whether you are worthy. Along with you, He already knows that you are not. He is concerned with whether you are willing. Do the little you can and you will be astounded at the amazing things God accomplishes with the poor, broken tools we are.

*********

Michael Brown of Spirit Daily wrote a marvelous piece on miracles earlier in the week. He was right on target. The study of theology has done much to deepen our understanding of the faith, to protect us from error. But theologians fall into deep error when their dense ruminations cause them to think they have become masters of Christ rather than His servants. It is an arid parody of faith that St Paul warned of in 2 Timothy 3:5, people who “have a form of godliness but deny the power thereof.” Paul warned us to avoid such people. That does not mean we should become storm-chasers, ever seeking after the next sensation. It takes two legs to walk efficiently. Faith requires the firmness of sound theology and the knowledge that all power is in God, who acts as He will.

I have gently spoken of a new age of miracles coming. I do not say that figuratively. I mean it literally. No, God is not going to change the ordinary means He prefers we work our lives out in. But miracles, in ages past, have been used to demonstrate compellingly that God IS, to show what pleases Him, and to confirm His servants. Right now, it pleases God to draw all vanity and malice out while He keeps His hand largely hidden, so that hearts may be fully and truly revealed. But He will act with unmistakable and obvious power to demonstrate all the things I have mentioned when all hearts have been revealed. A Church without theology is just a light show. A Church without miracles is an archaic fable. Be careful what you either carelessly condemn or confirm, lest you find yourself contending with God. This is the New Advent and the Lord will come in power and majesty. Wait for Him. Be of good courage and He will strengthen your heart. Wait, I say, on the Lord.

*********

Later tonight I will have details and contact information up on the trip to the southeast for later next month. People in Nashville, Atlanta, Ft. Lauderdale and Birmingham are getting things up and ready. It will be in a regularly updated link on the black bar at the top of the page, entitled “Upcoming Events.”

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Discernment, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Musings – Miracles and More

  1. SteveBC says:

    “This is the New Advent and the Lord will come in power and majesty.” Charlie, is this a case of “I tell you true”? I do hope so.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thanks Charlie as usual always inspirational. the Next right step is the way to go-keeping our eyes on the Kingdom not ourselves and our weaknesses and sins.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. the phoenix says:

    Wow! Have to post a comment without reading your post first, because I saw your picture of the rainbow! 🙂

    You see, this afternoon I decided to take a nap as a thunderstorm was rolling in. But as I was resting in bed, I felt an urge to get up and see the rainbow. So I did. At first there was none, but after about fifteen to twenty minutes, there it was. I took some photos of it, nothing glamorous. All this just happened about two – three hours ago now.

    Well, now I have to go back and read your post …

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Becky-TN says:

    Thanks, as always, Charlie!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. EllenChris says:

    This goes out to Tom Kuipers: I just now tried to register at your forum with the UserName I have here — “EllenChris” and the program told me that someone has already registered with that name. If someone has joined your forum already with that name, it wasn’t me — I am the “real” EllenChris.”

    Am I just doing something wrong? I would like to keep this same UserName. How do I register so that it will work? If you could post me back some info here, I would be very grateful. Thanks and many blessings.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I can attest that there is only ONE EllenChris. Accept no substitutes. (Fortunately, Ellen, when I registered, no one had tried to register as Charlie Johnston just yet. Would have been a bit of a bollox if a scammer had stolen my name, eh?)

      Liked by 1 person

      • EllenChris says:

        You got me laughing, Charlie. 🙂 🙂 I hope there is not some strange doppelganger of me careening around running amok out there on the web somewhere. I don’t know how anyone could try to impersonate you, Charlie — you are unique indeed.

        But I wonder what the glitch is over there on Tom’s forum. I would like to register. I hope I will be able.

        Meanwhile — many blessings of the Most Holy Trinity on this the eve of this great Feast.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Jacquie says:

          Ellenchris,
          I had a bit of trouble getting set up. I’m a bit daft when it comes to all things computer. But, I’m sure Tom will set you right.
          Charlie, I cant tell you how much it means to me to have the new forum! And it really heartens me to know that the difficulties that beset me and my husband have a purpose.
          It is a difficult time. But your post has given me hope.
          Thank you
          Jacquie

          Like

        • mmbev says:

          Identity theft. identity theft!

          Liked by 1 person

    • Another Karen says:

      I also could not register. At first, it took the information but said the confirmation code was wrong. When I tried to redo it, it said the name (Another Karen) was already taken.
      Not sure what to do……

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Ellen, when I tried to register, it also told me that my username was taken. Tom, help!

      Like

    • Tom says:

      All, the forum is working fine. As of now there’s about 200 registered users, about 60 or so who have posted so far. The process is that you sign up but then you have to wait for me to approve you before you can log in. Please be patient, I do have a family and a day job 🙂

      The provider of the forum (this is not “Tom’s forum”) is a company that hosts many forums–ours is set to private and other users from the other forums cannot access ours. If people on other forums have already taken the user name you wanted to use, then just slightly modify it (I made myself TomTDL for example). If your password is not sufficient, then please make a more secure password. A good practice is to use at least 8 characters/digits and make at least one upper case, one digit, and one character (#, %, & etc.)

      If you are having trouble logging in, just send me a message to tom.svdp@yahoo.com and I’ll respond. But again please be patient as there’s already a couple hundred users, We only 6 who had issues logging in so it’s working pretty well on it’s own thankfully but I believe I answered those questions over the weekend and this morning through the forums’s private messages or emailing you directly, God bless!

      Liked by 1 person

      • charliej373 says:

        Hee hee…I was chatting with the fellow who is coordinating the visit in Ft. Lauderdale – and he told me it feels like a full-time job. There is a part of me that grins in wicked pleasure when someone does something and finds themselves inundated. I love for my friends to find it is tougher than it looks 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • Tom says:

          I’m glad you’re amused, mister! Just kidding of course, but when you said “are you ready?” I was only on my cell phone this weekend so the full admin panel was not available to me like it is today from my desktop. The next time I looked at my phone and saw there were 89 new members I had to authorize and do it from my cell (which meant I had to do one at a time) and then started getting questions from people, finished those questions and my phone showed another 100+ new members I had to clear I thought “what did I get myself into?!”. But in God’s economy it has all worked out just fine and it’s nice to see people beginning to connect so no worries 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Ha, Tom! I was embarrassed to tell the lady who owns the Full of Grace Supply House the first time I was going to mention the Prayer of Miraculous Trust on the website. I was afraid it was vain. But I had been a little intimidated by the number of people who were reading every day – and thought, well, better to warn her and have nothing happen than to say nothing and have her unexpectedly swamped. So I told her just in case – and boy, was she ever glad! Now, before I do a post that might highlight something that will affect her, I check to make sure she isn’t going on a romantic weekend with her husband or something. We do have a right lively bunch here!

            Liked by 2 people

          • audiemarie2014 says:

            Thank you, Tom, for setting up the forum for all of us!

            Like

      • Petra says:

        Hey, Tom – Thanks so much for being the moderator at the new forum. Hope it doesn’t become too much of a burden for you.
        God bless you for taking this on.

        Like

      • SteveBC says:

        Tom, you’ve done us all a great service with this set-up. Thank you for your efforts. 🙂

        Like

      • Mick says:

        Thanks so much, Tom! You’re awesome! 🙂

        Like

        • Tom says:

          Nope, I’m not awesome. Far from it. But God is and I promised Him long ago that if He shows me what to do then he’s got a faithful servant here to do it–so it’s actually pretty easy letting Him lead, much easier then banging into dead ends trying to do things on my own like I used to do in my younger brash days. So as long as He keeps leading the way, I’ll keep following. One step at time, as it were 🙂

          It’s really not much work now that everyone is in and connecting with one another. It’s very nice to see God connecting the dots amongst His people and there’s surely some purpose He has planned that will become clearer as things progress.

          Like

  6. Dee says:

    I also am having trouble registering for the forum. It is saying that my name doesn’t match my email address, and every time i try to register, a big red X appears with the word weak. I’ve commented several times, using my name, and email, and do not know why it isn’t matching up now. Sorry to bother you. Maybe I’m doing something wrong. I will have a meltdown while you’re traveling if I can’t access the forum and keep up with all the wonderful friends that are on this website. lol Love and prayers to all.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hi Dee, anything new may need to have a few bugs worked out. I am sure Tom can help. He is the host for the Atlanta visit and gave me permission to give out this email address: tom.svdp@yahoo.com ….with his permission, I will add him to the contact information at the top bar as moderator of the forum.

      Like

    • SteveBC says:

      Dee, I’m not sure about the “my name doesn’t match my email address” issue. However, I can help you on the Weak password issue.

      It is a good idea to create a password you can easily remember. Even so, it is a good idea to have it be at least 8 characters and preferably longer, and it should have at least one lower case letter, at least one upper case letter, at least one number, and at least one special character. If you have the requisite character variety and an eight-letter password still shows as weak, then take it up to, say, 12 characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Quoting: “I have gently spoken of a new age of miracles coming. I do not say that figuratively. I mean it literally. No, God is not going to change the ordinary means He prefers we work our lives out in. ” CJ

    I was thinking recently on the meaning of the word parousia (transl. “presence”) and I realized that when one looks at the world today, God seems conspicuously absent to most people. I am no saying that God is absent, only that He seems to be absent to most people. God does not impose on ourselves because if He was easy to see then we would not have much of a free will, we would be on our best behavior before His awesome presence. So He gives us the benefit of not overwhelming our senses. “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20:29. That apparent absence of God may be a way to separate the faithful from the unfaithful. When the time of separating wheat from chaff is over … then God may decide to let His presence obvious, just enough to call some to last-minute repentance, and take His people over the Jordan river so to speak, into a period of peace under His supervision. May be that is why the Lord chose that word parousia after all. I do expect miracles to increase. I have experienced a few lately –one of them being simply my survival– We are approaching Corpus Christi (celebrated her on Thursday June 4) and that reminds me of the deathbed conversion of my mother. She passed on June 18, 2009 smack in between Corpus Christi and the feast of the Sacred Heart. Her conversion was a miracle by any standard imaginable: it involved a premonition dream with Our Lord of Mercy coming to get her on June 10, her sudden request to see a priest on June 13, the miraculous finding of a priest only blocks away from her residence, then her confession, and when all was done she went into a coma that lasted until the hour of her death. It was also a miracle that the clinic where she died was owned by Opus Dei and of course there was a priest to give her last rites. I am hoping for a “coincidence” and I have a hunch that sometime in the next week or two there will be another miracle. I will make sure to tell you after it happens.

    Liked by 7 people

    • DanSouthChicago says:

      Carlos, thank you for all the input you have given over time. I have found it helpful. I am praying that the Lord will grant the miracle(s) you request.

      God bless.

      Liked by 2 people

      • All I am asking is a solution to some very difficult family problem. I ask that with some trepidation because all over the globe there are brothers and sisters that are facing death. My problem is not that grievous. But it would be nice to be back in Virginia doing what I should be doing instead of wasting precious time in this hellhole of envy and strife. I already renounced to my inheritance but that was not accepted. The person causing the problem wants his siblings reduced to homelessness, living on the streets. It’s been three years of this and the Law here is truly useless. If God does not do something we are in a dire situation indeed. Thank you for your prayers.

        Liked by 3 people

        • marie says:

          Carlos, this is a post about miracles and more. Praying for a miracle for you. God bless.

          Liked by 1 person

        • SteveBC says:

          Carlos, as marie is doing, so I am doing: I pray that your lessons be learned from now on more easily and that your issues here resolve quickly, so that you can go where you are drawn to for the Storm.

          Liked by 1 person

          • SteveBC: you just read my thoughts. I have been praying that –if it is God’s will– I can return to Virginia and put this bag of cats behind me. Today we received info about yet another act of violence of “the schizo culprit” against my father’s neighbors. I hope the authorities wake up and do what they are supposed to do. Then “I’ leaving on a jet plane” (1st Peter, Paul & Mary 1:1) 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • SteveBC: suddenly breaches appeared on the employment front. One of my buddies a co-director (ad honorem) of a South American Catholic organization was invited to travel to an international Catholic conference in the US. There he may have a chance to offer my services. Also someone of some importance and well known in Vatican circles has been quoting from my work in public (I’ve been told recently) I happened to have his card (he’s a priest) from a meeting a few years ago. I plan to write to him in appreciation and basically inform him of my employment needs. Very low pay in the US is good pay here in BA so … there is a chance for mutual benefit. Let us pray, perhaps any of these faint possibilities will bring the blessing of needed employment.

            Like

          • SteveBC says:

            Carlos, that is very promising news indeed. I pray much good will come of it.

            I am very reluctant to provide any further comment on your words here, and you are welcome to ignore what I am about to say. I would like to say that perhaps you don’t want to approach this priest contact from the point of view of telling him your employment “needs”. You aren’t “needy” if God takes care of you. Instead, you could alter the tone to be a positive one that speaks to potential opportunity rather than need.

            You have businesses and ideas related to those businesses. You have been supported in writing the websites and other things, and I would think you would want to expand what is working. If the priest likes your articles, perhaps offering to provide something specific to him that answers *his* needs would start developing the relationship in a more positive manner, without putting your contact in the tough place of trying to find you a job.

            When it’s ready to happen, it will happen, but “need” can come from fear. If you serve others and are open to further opportunity, who knows what might occur? 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • SteveBC: This is in reply to your second post which I just read. You are very right. I am still thinking how to approach the matter. It is OK. My seven years of “lean cows” must be coming to an end … I kind of have a sense of something changing. Your advice is excellent and I will follow it if I do contact that person. In the meanwhile please continue to visit DELUMEN.ORG when you can. I am catching up with the posting and there will be something daily starting tomorrow … I think people will like it.

            Liked by 2 people

        • mmbev says:

          My prayers also.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Another Karen says:

    Thank you Charlie for this post – it is timely. I appear to be in the same boat as so many others having setbacks, problems and doubts about my own way. Somehow knowing that this is the way forward is comforting. So glad I found you and all of your followers i it is a great gift!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. barb says:

    I can’t seem to register either –will try tomorrow. thank you Charlie for these wonderful updates. God bless you!

    Like

  10. Erin says:

    I wanted to wish everyone here Happy Feast of St. Joan of Arc. I know her feast isn’t often celebrated here in U.S. I think it’s optional. She has been mentioned several times on this site. May God give us courage to be like St. Joan. St. Joan of Arc – pray for us! God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Dee says:

    Thank you so much for the kind response Charlie. You really are a blessing. I’m sure also, given time, Tom will have the forum working fine. I was so sure it was me, as I am a first rate computer klutz. And thanks also for another comforting post as I too feel I can identify with just about any setback or problem that’s shared on this site. As long as we keep praying for each other I trust we will be fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dee says:

    Thanks Steve for the advice. I will try a longer one. Actually it never gave me a chance to put in a password. As soon as I typed the first letter, a red box came up, with an X in it and the word “weak”. Very strange. I think I will try again tomorrow, and give Tom some time to work out the “bugs”

    Like

  13. EllenChris says:

    Many blessings to all on this great Feast Day of the Most Holy Trinity.
    Tom very kindly got me registered on his forum this morning. Over there my UserName is EChristine. So EllenChris is EChristine at the NRS Forum. I really look forward to chatting with you over there. Thanks again, Tom.

    Like

  14. marie says:

    Oh, dear, I have also tried to register as ‘marie’ but someone has already taken that name. I wasn’t aware of another ‘marie’ on Charlie’s blog.

    Not sure what to do as I am pretty much a tech dinosaur.

    Thanks anyway, Charlie and Tom, for setting this up. I will have a think about another name 🙂

    Happy feast day of the Holy Trinity!

    Like

  15. EllenChris says:

    Tom explained that if anyone on any of the *other* forums run by that company has that name already registered, then you can’t use it. So it is not that someone here or on Tom’s Forum already has your name, it is somebody out there in “Cyber-land” somewhere.

    If you tweak your name a little bit, as Marie did, it should go through. EChristine-EllenChris

    Like

  16. Annie SH says:

    I had some trouble registering also, but think I’m in. My name will be different over there. I used my ‘nickname’ of Anniekins.

    Like

  17. audiemarie2014 says:

    Thank you, Charlie, for this post. It provided exactly what I needed, as I’ve been struggling, wanting to cry, but couldn’t. Then, the tears came after reading this and I’m now refreshed, inspired, and ready to go again. (And, it saved you from another email from me! tee hee). I’m grateful to God for having chosen you to help us through the Storm. God bless you.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Bob says:

    I am Bobg over there as apparently there is another Bob somewhere!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Bob says:

    Happy feast day of the Holy Trinity. My spiritual director yesterday reminded me this is the feast of the “Big 3” but he reminded me that was said in good humor and yet with due respect. But someday we will understand how 3 and yet one!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Barbara Dore says:

    Most Holy Trinity , Father, Son and Holy Spirit, One God , may the World burn with love for you. amen

    Liked by 1 person

  21. SMT says:

    You mentioned not to carelessly confirm or condemn. With that said, can anyone give thoughts and guidance on “Locutions to the World” site. The messages I am reading seem to reflect Mark Mallet and this site’s messages.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      LttW has been discussed a few times on this site. I think most of the messages are good spiritual meditations, but I personally do not believe they are of supernatural origin. Frequently, it has Our Lady speaking in a way I have NEVER heard her talk – and it seems a running commentary on the news. There is also often a bitter edge to the language that I just don’t ever hear used in my experiences.

      That said, I don’t have a problem with someone citing something IF it relates to a point they are making. There was an article here that briefly touched on it some months back. Again, I think they are usually worthy meditations. I don’t have a problem with them like I did with, say, Maria Divine Mercy, from the start. But while Mark Mallett, Pelianito, Dan Lynch, or Daniel O’Connor can be cited here at any time for any reason, I do like for LttW stuff to be directly related to a point a commenter is trying to make.

      Like

  22. Bob says:

    This from Catholic Spiritual direction about the role of Mary in the conversion of Islam.
    http://www.spiritualdirection.com/2015/05/16/fatima-mary-and-the-moslems

    Like

  23. Mick says:

    OK, I think I just signed up at the new forum. Over there, I’m going to be MickeyMick. That’s what my dear grandfather used to call me. Funny… until today, I hadn’t thought of that nickname since Grandpa died 18 years ago. Anyhow, see y’all over there! (I may be a Yank, but Grandpa was from Arkansas.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. CrewDog says:

    MickeyMick sez: “I may be a Yank, but Grandpa was from Arkansas.”
    There Ya are then! Ya got Good Blood in you veins Gal 😉
    Sooieeeee ……. Pigs! ….. RAZORBACKS!!

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. June1 says:

    You have no idea how timely this post is for me. The last two weeks have been hellish. I have been hovering near despair, in a deep depression and wondering if everything I am going through is truly God’s will for my life. I have not finished a rosary in WEEKS. I begin them on my way to work, MAYBE finish the first decade (while in and out of consciousness on the 4:30 a.m. bus) and have no drive/energy to finish after work. There is much more, of course, especially things that are happening at home/in family life, but I won’t ramble on.

    I actually came very close to e-mailing you, Charlie, to maybe hear some words of comfort but I didn’t for two reasons:
    1. Everything I need to hear you have repeated over and over again on this website. If you are the real deal, there is much to look forward to when Our Blessed Mother makes Herself known and rescues us in two years, and if you aren’t, it cannot diminish my faith in/love for God because of the things I have personally seen and experienced before I discovered you.
    2. I know you are beyond swamped with e-mails and work and don’t want to annoy you with a hysterical message.

    When Maria Divine Mercy started her sham website, I bought right into it, I am so sad to admit. I even e-mailed her a couple of times, pretty much begging her to assure me that it was all true (I know… I was nuts). I was so desperate for change in my life and the world. Either she or someone working for her responded and tried to tell me to just keep praying and be patient and that, yes, it was all true but would take some time for the “prophecies” to be fulfilled. I’m not at all suggesting you are a phony, Charlie. I have a good feeling about you and everything you write. I love your humility and what you said about what would happen if everything with your angel actually ended up being a figment of your imagination, that you would just retire and go fishing with family. I admire that so much. I guess I’m just at that point again, that desperation to see something happen that will change hearts, break those hearts of stone and have people racing back to God. It just hurts so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      June1, I read that you are having difficulty finishing rosaries and had to laugh a bit, because I have had difficulty getting all the way to the end of a single Hail Mary. My mind goes haring off on some other track about halfway through! I just keep at it. Sometimes I’ve had to restart my Hail Mary 6 or 7 times before I can get all the way to the Amen, but I just keep at it until I do, laughing (ruefully) every time I realize I’ve faded off somewhere else halfway through *again*!

      As for your ability to discern, practice leads toward perfection, I think. I believe that letting go of MDM and ending up here is a sign you are getting better at this, since I think Charlie is the real deal and the fruits of his work and this site have been so profoundly good for me and so many others.

      I pray your situation improves, but if it does not, just keep at it. Someday, you will be back to getting all the way through a rosary again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • audiemarie2014 says:

        SteveBC and June1, what a relief to know that I’m not the only one having trouble with saying/finishing my rosaries! And, thanks Steve, for the encouragement!

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Audie, you are in good company. Pope Emeritus Benedict said, after he left, that he often has trouble finishing his Rosary. Hee hee…even the best of us are like little kids…we get started and then think, “Oh look. A squirrel!” I like to think we give Our Lady a few chuckles along the way.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Becky-TN says:

            Well, I’ll add my name to the list of squirrels. Actually, I’m more like a squirken – part squirrel, part chicken running around with my head cut off. 🙂

            I suffered for years with distraction during prayer. Still do. I’d start, then start over and over and over, etc… to the point of fearing that there was no use. But many years ago, I learned to give the Blessed Mother my prayers and ask her to allow every prayer I say to go through her Immaculate Heart first (thus making it pure and worthy) before presenting it to the Father. It has helped a great deal.

            God Bless all of you!

            Liked by 2 people

          • audiemarie2014 says:

            Now THAT is truly reassuring, Charlie! Thanks!! Whew! 🙂

            Like

          • I read a long time ago that we should not repeat prayers, that it could lead to scrupulosity or be a form of scrupulosity. It is very liberating to know that God accepts our humble efforts and like any good parent puts our stick-man artwork on the fridge and looks lovingly at it, no matter that it lacks any vestige of technical artistic merit. Our desire to please Him is what really matters. If we could pray perfectly, we would almost certainly become proud. Sometimes praying poorly is what’s best for us. Didn’t GK Chestertson say that “if something’s worth doing, it’s worth doing poorly?” Meaning, just keep trying and whatever you do, don’t quit praying no matter how poor you think your prayers are! God treasures the dandelions we give him if that’s all we have to give, as long as we give them with love and trust. Jesus we trust in you!

            Since this is a musings column I have a request. A friend of mine in Marietta GA is looking for a good spiritual director. Any suggestions? Thanks!

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Well, Marietta is not far from Atlanta where I will soon be. I will ask around.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Dave says:

            Janet, I agree with the notion of reciting prayers from rote memory. Jesus even warned about it. For me I try to use 3 forms or praying. One is the reciting of things like a rosary of divine mercy chaplet. With these I work to keep my thoughts aligned with prayer even if my mind wanders. Another is a sort of free form talk from the heart which the protestants seem so much better at. Also there is just living life with Jesus as an active part of all decisions and praises for good fortunes, as well as asking for help. When Paul said to pray constantly, I believe this is what he was talking about.

            I like your mental image of the stick figure drawings on a fridge and the dandelions. A great way to look at our attempts to please Him.

            Like

    • Petra says:

      June 1: Regarding not being able to finish a rosary – or such incredible distractions.
      Man, this past month or two has been just a struggle to even get vocal prayer done, let alone mental prayer. I can’t even get through the first line of the first Our Father of a rosary without realizing I wasn’t even paying attention. I thought it was just me!!! I start over and over and over again, and am lucky if I finish.
      It’s somewhat comforting to know lots of us are having this happen lately. Tells me the headwinds against prayer are very strong (like a hurricane?) and we need to just keep going. Thanks for mentioning this June.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Patricia says:

        June1,
        Every time I think life has settled down something else erupts. It started to dawn on me today that the things I am dealing with are only going to get worse so get with the program: TDL or whatever it is. You are not alone even though we feel alone. We are all as my daughter likes to say “a hot mess”. She also has said and I think it is true “life is hard and confusing”. Sometimes it is worse than other times.
        For years I have used a Rosary CD to help me say my rosaries. I put it on first thing in the morning while making coffee and while I am still alone in the kitchen. If I find I was dreaming during a few of the decades I skip back and do it again. I am able to have a CD in my bedroom and in the car. When I wake up in the middle of the night I click the remote and fall asleep to the Rosary. I do have ear buds in but that is another story.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Carmel says:

          Some time ago I was given an iPad and I decided to use it bring up some visuals to help fight distractions when saying the rosary. From that I moved on to YouTube sites for the rosary. These rosary videos not only keep me focused (more or less!) but also help me feel part of a praying community. Mind you, inserting the Flame of Love prayer in the Second part of each Hail Mary can be challenging😊

          Liked by 1 person

          • June1 says:

            Thank you all so much for your loving and caring comments. Things have gotten a bit worse since I posted but it’s nice to know we are all in the same boat on these horrible, turbulent seas. All we can do is surrender to God and leave everything in His hands. I’ve just taken to right out begging for help while simultaneously apologizing for everything. In Your hands, O Lord.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Carmel when praying with others, I quietly pray the FoL prayer while they are saying their part. It actually helps me stay focused. Another thing that helps me stay focused is the Scriptural rosary (example here: http://www.ourcatholicprayers.com/scriptural-rosary.html). I pray and read at the same time. Keeps the squirrels on their own side of the fence quite nicely!

            Like

  26. ann says:

    Here’s a “little miracle”–I haven’t been to the sight in awhile and just sort of scrolled to this posting, bypassing more recent ones and met this sentence “Be of good courage.” Deep breath! Now just last week and the week before in front of the Blessed Sacrament in adoration, I heard that phrase, twice! I pondered it, wondered if it was scriptural, loved the sound of it, asked the Lord “Is this from You?” And here is this wonderful confirmation. I must say I need ‘good courage’ and ask the Holy Spirit for it because these days require that great gift of the Comforter. Thank you. How glad I am I got back to this site. To quote Crew Dog, God bless all here.

    Like

  27. Just read this article on a group of Christians taking the next right step. Whether they name it that or not, they are letting the Holy Spirit lead! http://www.worldmag.com/2015/06/christians_at_phoenix_protest_stand_between_muslims_and_anti_islam_crowd

    Like

Leave a Reply

