Basking in the Joy of the Holy Spirit Always, Everywhere, Now and Forever!

This piece by Anthony Mullen, who is National Coordinator of the Flame of Love movement in the U.S., is intensely focused on entering deeply into contemplation and cooperation with the work of the Holy Spirit. In a note to me, Anthony said it will”help many to meditate daily on the work of the Holy Spirit within to sanctify us, and especially to be a mental defense against Satan and the despair that will unfold late this year into 2017. Few people ever take the time to ponder these Seven Joys of Our Eternal Reality…our Inheritance as the children of an Infinite God of Love!”

Of course, the Holy Spirit is ever present, ever active and ever have need of recourse to the promptings of the Spirit. Good cause to contemplate it daily.

The Divine Antidote

As we complete this series…on the Personal Love between the Father and the Son…we will meditate on why we must always be begging for “Joy and the Holy Spirit”…since Joy is the Fruit of Charity (and to the Holy Spirit is appropriated the personal Charity or agape Love between the Father and the Son)…. and Peace is Joy perfected. So, since our mission is to Love as God Loves, and since we are heirs of God’s Love as His true children, we must possess His Joy! Think about that fact: we possess the Joy of God! What Father wants His children to be sad, hesitant, or fearful? God’s Will is for us to be constantly Joy filled…at every moment…despite our imperfections! God desires us to be Joy filled because of our imperfections (as long as we never give up fighting them) so He can show His Mercy….the greatest attribute of…

View original post 750 more words

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Basking in the Joy of the Holy Spirit Always, Everywhere, Now and Forever!

  1. Julie Greer says:

    Anthony wrote it will”help many to meditate daily on the work of the Holy Spirit within to sanctify us, and especially to be a mental defense against Satan and the despair that will unfold late this year into 2017. ”

    So true! So relieving to know that our good great God is building up an army of laborers, whose food is to do His Divine Will, who’s intent is to love God and others with God’s own Love, and whose mission in this world is to express God’s own joy. So, we serve out of pure delight for the fact that we belong to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, who has risen from the dead, and who has overcome our enemy. Oh, you Easter people, cry out “Alleluia!! “If we don’t, the rocks will cry out for us. Thank you for this website that builds up our knowledge, our fortitude, our wisdom, our understanding, our piety, our counsel, and a holy awe for our Good and Great Savior who rose from the dead, having freed us from all our sins. Let us praise Him. Let us labor in His fields with joy, for the harvest is ready. We were born for this very moment. Thank you Lord! Amen alleluia!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. deaconmnrick says:

    Reading those 7 meditations lifted my spirit and put a smile on my face. I will have to remember to go to these meditations when I’m feeling down and sad.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Bob says:

    This is a good meditation. I was told to meditate on the Holy Spirit before Trinity Sunday this week. Our friend Mark Mallett is at it again with another challenging word:


  4. Momof6g4b says:



    As one who has struggled forever with perfectionism, depression, anger… a “Martha” who always feels stressed and overwhelmed with the amount of work required to take care of a large family, home school, do everything from scratch (to eat more healthfully, keep within a budget, deal with childrens food allergies and health issues), grow a large garden etc, etc., I have prayed for years for the gift of joy…….feeling like I am not even a christian because I lack joy. I just don’t “get” joy. At this moment I feel like God has answered my prayers. These 7 meditations will become MY meditations. I know it will take a lot of effort to turn around a decades long, deeply entrenched, unhappy and irritable outlook on life. These meditations give me a clear focus and HOPE. A way to move toward understanding and being able to receive joy. It is right now a small light, like that from a tiny candle…but it is enough to pierce the darkness in my heart that I have wrestled with since I was a child. Please pray for me that I may respond well to the grace God is offering me here! I can’t tell you how much I have longed to be a joyful person, to be different than I have been, to be a light that attracts others to God, instead of repelling them.

    God, please don’t let me screw this up….

    God bless you all…

    Liked by 4 people

    • Kim Johnston Hocutt says:

      I pray that you will find joy in something every day!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      Momof6g4b, you have brought a little joy into my life, when I read this, “God, please don’t let me screw this up….” It may not have been your intention to make me laugh, but you did, as I remembered the numerous times I have said something very similar myself! 😀

      You need a new habit, Mom…. and Kim J H has the prescription for you. Every day, take a deep breath, relax, and find something to be joyful about, then go back to work. After a while, that will become second nature to you. May God bless you and bring you joy every day from now on.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      Momof6g4b: Remember you are doing the hardest job in the world being a stay-at-home wife and mother, lots of sacrifice, loads to do, not easy at all and you are not alone (been doing this for 26 years and now also take care of my parents). I also do a lot of things you do and I take caring for the ones God has put in my charge very seriously. One task at a time, One step at a time, One day at a time; took me decades to get to this point. Relax everything will fall in to place and give yourself permission to fail from time to time, it too is okay. I will pray for you and ask that you in turn pray for me. My joy is returning and I don’t let others who haven’t chosen to live the same as I do steel it away from me any more. All the best.


    • Kathy P. says:

      Thanks for your sharing momof6…I too struggle with perfectionism and all that goes with it. For years I have yearned to start a sketch journal but feared it would just end up in the trash! Now I am thinking it may be time to make a start in a joy in the storm journal as a way to cultivate joy and courage. TDL and “God, please don’t let me screw this up”! Prayers for you and everyone here!


    • Torchbearer says:

      Man, your life sounds a lot like mine, except I don’t have a garden … yet.😉

      You know, I just renewed my Consecration this Pentecost using the “30 Days to Morning Glory” book and one of the things that helped give me a joyful perspective on things was the section on Mother Teresa’s form of Consecration. The secret to her joy (even though she struggled with spiritual dryness for years!) was recognizing God’s blessings each day and pondering them throughout the day. When we focus on the blessings, we can allow the Holy Spirit to fill us with gratitude and joy! Just like our Lady. In fact, Mother Teresa would pray, “Mother, lend me your Heart (which is filled with the joy & love of the Holy Spirit) and keep me in your most pure heart.”

      Momof6g4b, the fact that you express your longings to the Lord for these spiritual gifts is a sign that the Holy Spirit is already at work in you. Keep persevering in prayer and TRUST like a child that your Father in Heaven knows you intimately and will give you what you seek. You are in my prayers as well. 🙂 God bless you & keep you.


    • torilen says:

      Wow, Momof6g4b, you just described me & my life! I’ve struggled my whole life with the same things as you. I’ve got the large family I always wanted, I really do enjoy home schooling & working in my large garden. I don’t mind the cooking from scratch due to the constant shortage of money & all of the food allergies. I really, truly don’t. So why am I so irritable, grumpy & frazzled? I know it helps when I change how I look at things & focus on being more thankful for what has been given to me. I’ll pray for both of us that we can make the most of these meditations.


    • Petra says:

      Momof6g4b: One word: STRESS!!
      Moms (and caretakers) are the ones who are paying attention to every little detail, noting if we’re almost out of milk, or if someone needs new shoes, or is feeling left out and needs a moment of attention, or getting broken glasses fixed, and keeping everyone on schedule, and figuring out the checkbook, or calming a anxious loved one, or rushing off to an “emergency”…. (the list goes on and on).

      Hard to feel joy when you’re the last stop before disaster.

      Taking care of the needs of others. That’s the vocation. When our minds are filled with a hundred things to juggle every day, we feel pushed, and rushed, and we run out of inner resources to meet all those needs.

      I think sometimes when I feel that way, it’s because I’m a bad manager. I have high expectations. I don’t delegate. I don’t stay organized, or create organization (a structure or routine that we can live within, such as one or two kids act as helpers in kitchen before meals, the others wash and clean up after: I teach and manage.) I don’t accept some things are going to be not done my peculiar way, or not at all. And I don’t laugh, and find things funny. I don’t like failure (not reaching my goals) and I get plenty of it. Why shouldn’t I feel frustrated, angry, out of control — joyless?

      So is the key to all this changing from seeing my daily life as a series of tasks to be completed (and feeling frazzled and upset because they’re not getting done), to focusing more on the big picture: that the people I’m living with and loving are able to thrive because of me, and I am thriving because of the grace of God? God’s grace is making so much of what I do even possible, and I’m drawing from that well of grace every day. They thrive because I am there, and I am here, because God gave me this job. And because it’s about love and not so much about whether the dishes are dry and put away, it’s for me to figure out, did everything I did today sing out love?


  5. Carmelite says:

    Mom, how I relate to your words, even tho’ I am a nana (therefore should be over my fretting)!
    I, too, am a perfectionist, and things must be done well, by gosh, especially the way I do it! Where is my joy and gentleness????
    It is there, Mom. Deep within us. We may not be outwardly bouncy and jovial, but we know that we are in God’s care. We repent over and over again about our failings, but we know that our Good God loves us, and that give us joy.
    It has taken me years to see this. I still grump at my hubby, but I also take lots of time to praise his efforts and show him love. I still feel like a ‘fake’ Carmelite, but I am so full of JOY after attending prayer and a meeting with my community. I am so very grateful that Mary brought me back to the Truth and helps keep me (and my children) in the Church.
    Gentleness and kindness is a chore for some of us – to others it comes easily. It is a real cross to want to be like others. To want what we do not naturally have.
    SteveBC says “Every day, take a deep breath, relax, and find something to be joyful about, then go back to work. After a while, that will become second nature to you. ” Good advice.
    Your joy is there, I can hear it. It’s just a more spiritual kind of joy.
    Dear God, don’t let any of us screw it up!
    God bless you and your family!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Phillip Frank says:

    I remember reading about a seminarian who contracted terminal cancer.
    One of his fellow seminarians who cane to visit him in the hospital near the end of his fight, mentioned how he could feel the holiness upon entering his room.
    The young man, wracked with pain, looked into the eyes of his friend and exclaimed ” If you could only know the joy”!
    Like Christ, he had fixed his eyes on the goal.
    May we all, through the storm which is life, remain fixed on this joy which will remain forever while these silly, petty little distractions of this life will be utterly and eternally forgotten as a candle is lost in the sun.
    So, fix your eyes every day friends.

    Liked by 6 people

  7. waitingNwondering says:

    Hi Charlie and all,

    I liked the article and the list of 7, but as usual, I missed something.🙂

    In the intro, Charlie wrote that meditating on these joys would be good, “especially to be a mental defense against Satan and the despair that will unfold late this year into 2017.”

    I know what the author of “The Harbinger” has been saying about the autumn of 2015, but where does YOUR reference to that timetable (late this year), come from Charlie?



    • charliej373 says:

      Waiting, the despair I speak of is all around us right now. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist or a prophet to figure it is likely to get much worse before it begins to get better. What I say is what I have consistently said both privately for over 20 years and publicly for three – we have entered into a deepening Storm that will, before it is ended, be seen as the greatest crisis in history. We will be visibly and miraculously rescued very late in 2017. That is what I say and what I have said. Sorry if I come off a little sharp…but it gets frustrating at times to fairly routinely see supernatural assumptions imposed on what I have said publicly that I have NOT put there – or to have people think they are going to trip me up into saying something I have not been given leave to say. These things must come. The answer is simple: acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around you. People seek after some sort of secret knowledge – a form of modern Gnosticism that will get them through. I tell you that the demons in hell already have that knowledge – and are still damned. The next right step: Trust-Do-Love is the key to it all; now, when the Storm reaches its full fury, and after it is all over. I have given you the rock that will keep you ever on the right path or very close to it. Stick with that and all will be well.


  8. Carmelite says:

    Charlie, gotta tell you. I downloaded your song video onto my desktop, and every so often will play it a few times. That little tune gives me so much joy! I like to pray short prayers as I drive – work – sit in my garden meditation corner. Especially when I am walking behind my mower. More and more that little tune gets sung over and over, and all worries fly away🙂
    God bless your travels and your message!!


  9. Torchbearer says:


    Beautiful! Inspiring! Thank you for these spirit-filled words! I can FEEL the joy of this message while reading it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

