The Silent Majesty of God

50 Years of the European Southern Observatory...'Editorial Use Only : Mandatory credit 'ESO/T. Preibisch'  Mandatory Credit: Photo by ESO/T. Preibisch / Rex Features (1893081r)  ESO

50 Years of the European Southern Observatory…’Editorial Use Only : Mandatory credit ‘ESO/T. Preibisch’
Mandatory Credit: Photo by ESO/T. Preibisch / Rex Features (1893081r)

(Below is a marvelous meditation by our friend, Janet Klasson, better known as Pelianito. One of my personal favorites that I wrote is related, though not on quite the same topic. I expect to have the piece on the satan up tonight. Meantime a couple of things you might want to know. On the contact link at the top bar, I have added contact info for Sophia Maria, a woman who is helping me organize trips and other administrative functions. As you might guess, that is a pseudonym – but she took it on my advice. I am strongly recommending those who work in a public position or with the Church to consider a pseudonym if they are helping me for any length of time. After the first two trips, she will be the prime point of contact for the logistics and schedule of future trips. Also, I have added the contact info for Tom Kuipers – moderator of the Next Right Steppers Forum. I am a little embarrassed to note that I am having some technical difficulties right now and can’t log in there. I told you I would not be hovering over your shoulders looking at all that is written there, but I really should be able to remember the “combination” to this particular safe. Ah well…a technical wizard I am NOT. In the future, I will add the contact information of various people who are helping or organizing things. Though I do not expect to travel outside the country, I hope to get some volunteers from other countries who will act as a coordinator for getting people together to discuss things and plan for future events. As you know, ever since it began, this site is a work-in-progress. I will try to keep stumbling forward. -CJ)

By Pelianito

From the First Reading on the Twelfth Sunday of Ordinary Time

“Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind: ‘Who is this that darkens counsel by

words without knowledge? Gird up your loins like a man, I will question you, and you

shall declare to me. ‘Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me,

if you have understanding…” (Job 38:1-4)

This dramatic Scripture passage recounts the beginning of God’s rebuttal to Job’s complaint at feeling abandoned by God in spite of his righteous life. God’s stinging rebuttal continues from here as he asks Job where he was in all the glorious acts of creation. In the end Job is properly humble and contrite as we can see by his response: “See, I am of small account; what shall I answer you? I lay my hand on my mouth. I have spoken once, and I will not answer, twice, but will proceed no further.”

Job’s reply is silence, and his silence is more eloquent than all he has said before. As Scripture tells us and Job recognized, there is “a time to keep silence, and a time to speak.” (Ecclesiastes 3:7)

Silence in Scripture often denotes reverence, awe, and a waiting that speaks louder than a trumpet blast. “When the Lamb opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven for about half an hour.” (Revelation 8:1)

St. Thomas Aquinas, probably the most prolific theologian that ever lived, was himself struck silent in the presence of God near the end of his life. According to the Thurston and Attwater revision of Alban Butler’s Lives of the Saints, he had a life-changing vision:

“On the feast of St. Nicholas [in 1273, Aquinas] was celebrating Mass when he received a revelation that so affected him that he wrote and dictated no more, leaving his great work the Summa Theologiae unfinished. To Brother Reginald’s (his secretary and friend) expostulations he replied, ‘The end of my labors has come. All that I have written appears to be as so much straw after the things that have been revealed to me.’ When later asked by Reginald to return to writing, Aquinas said, ‘I can write no more. I have seen things that make my writings like straw.’”

Like Job, faced with the awesome power and majesty of God, he was reduced to silence. I usually include an excerpt from my Scriptural prayer journal at the end of my newsletter article, but today I want to interject it in the middle as it is what has set me pondering on what exactly a “time to keep silence,” means in our day.

Psalm 69:12 I am the subject of gossip for those who sit in the gate; and the drunkards make songs about me.

“My children, guard your tongues well. Now, more than ever, is it important to measure your words and take every thought captive to Christ. Be deliberate in your speech. Let grace be on your lips. Do not let evil talk or flippant speech issue from your mouth. The tongue is an easy tool for the devil and therefore must be guarded with great diligence. It is far better not to speak than it is to speak rashly or thoughtlessly. Let silence be your prayer and do not rush to fill every silence. Say only what is needed to build others up, taking care not to flatter. Speak with sincerity, honesty, and kindness. If you cannot manage this, it is best to remain silent.

There are times when a rebuke is needed, but let it be as gentle as it is honest, measured and weighed to fit the situation. There is much silence in Scripture. Study the silence and you will be given many graces.”

O my Jesus, you were silent before your accusers. Help me to set a guard over my tongue, and to be measured and deliberate in my speech. Hold me in the glorious silence of your embrace—a place of immense majesty where words fail. Jesus I love you! Set a guard over my mouth, that I will speak only and always in the Divine Will. Amen.

As you can see by the prayer at the end of the journal entry, the first Scriptural image I had after recording this was the image of Jesus, silent before his accusers. One can only speculate on why he was silent at this critical moment, but I believe the best explanation is that it served God’s purpose. Certainly Jesus was capable of mounting a plausible defense on his own behalf. He could have easily convinced Pilate that the trumped-up charges against him were not deserving of death. But he knew that God’s purpose and timing were aimed at our ultimate good—the salvation of the human race. And so he remained silent and was tortured and put to death “as a ransom for many”.

When I posted that journal entry on my blog, a reader sent me a quote from St. Catherine of Siena that she had received that day: “We’ve had enough exhortations to be silent! Cry out with a hundred thousand tongues. I see that the world is rotten because of silence”. She wondered with all the injustice in the world, why we were being exhorted to silence. I replied that certainly the silence that allows sin to fester is the wrong kind and not the kind our Lord was referring to here. This is in one way referring to the silence that is an antidote to rash and flippant speech. There is too much “chatter” in the world. We need more contemplation. Less impulsiveness and more deliberation. Think twice before speaking instead of speaking twice before thinking.

There are issues that require that we speak out. But we are called to measure our words carefully, and say only what will make a real difference, not just what will make us feel good. Chewing somebody out who does not agree with us usually pushes them farther down the wrong path. A measured response invites discussion based on reason. There is too much emotion in speech these days and not enough reason. Sincerity, honesty, and kindness are the marks of the Spirit.

There is a time to be silent, as Our Lord was before his accusers. When our words will fallon deaf ears, what is the point? If hearts are closed, our prayers and penances will accomplish far more than our words. And sometimes God requests our silence, even when every fiber of our being wants to shout.

It is good to remember that there are whole communities founded on silence—the contemplatives—without whom the world would have spun out of orbit long ago!

But there is, I believe, a more compelling reason than merely cutting the chatter. The Catechism tells us that the Church must follow Christ into his death and resurrection. I do not think it is a stretch to say the Church has in our time entered into the Passion of Christ. Many recent Christian martyrs have testified to that with their lives. This exhortation to silence, to the weighing and measuring of our words, I believe, shows us that at this point in our Passion narrative, the Church is on trial before the world, and that we need to discern carefully when it is time to speak and when it is time to keep silence.

Prayer and discernment. We are living in perilous times. If we are facing Pilate, it is so very important that we discern the Divine Will and live in it to the best of our ability. God is on the march! Watch and pray!

May the Holy Spirit be in our hearts and on our tongues! May we hold every thought captive to Christ. May we pray with the Psalmist: “Set a guard over my mouth, O Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips.” (Psalm 141:3)

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Discernment, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to The Silent Majesty of God

  1. Mark says:

    Matthew 5:39-40 “But I say to you, offer no resistance to one who is evil. When someone strikes you on (your) right cheek, turn the other one to him as well.
    If anyone wants to go to law with you over your tunic, hand him your cloak as well.”

    Luke 6:29-30 “To the person who strikes you on one cheek, offer the other one as well, and from the person who takes your cloak, do not withhold even your tunic.
    Give to everyone who asks of you, and from the one who takes what is yours do not demand it back.”

    Jesus being silent when falsely accused is consistent with “who takes what is yours do not demand it back”, including his good name. Matthew goes on in verse 44 of the same chapter “But I say to you, love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you”.

    We are to pray in silence, Matthew 6:6-7 “But when you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you.
    In praying, do not babble like the pagans, who think that they will be heard because of their many words.”

    Psalm 46:11″Be still and know that I am God!…”

    Liked by 3 people

    • Petra says:

      He was oppressed, and he was afflicted,
      yet he opened not his mouth;
      like a lamb that is led to the slaughter,
      and like a sheep that before its shearers is silent,
      so he opened not his mouth. Isaiah 53:7

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary Anne says:

    And sometimes God requests our silence, even when every fiber of our being wants to shout.

    Speaking DIRECTLY to me … again. I am number 7 of 8 and watching many of my elder brothers and sisters completely floundering/abandoning their faith. I have emailed articles, passionately spoke of Gods mercy toward me, etc etc. .all to fall on deaf ears. Hard hearts. Heartbreaking. And Jesus said “Enough” Mary Anne. No more. Be silent now. So now I wait quietly. Hopeful. Patient. Trusting. Praying.

    Liked by 5 people

    • June1 says:

      It’s absolutely enraging, isn’t it, to watch them shrug or laugh important/crucial things off. This is the main reason I am begging Jesus to hurry and start revealing Himself to them in ways that are impossible to ignore/deny. I’m in the same boat, Mary Anne. I’m done talking. I really need to work on praying more and offering sacrifices on behalf of others (really been slacking off there). Praying for you, yours and everyone here!

      Liked by 2 people

    • I will go even farther to say that the time of silence and the time of suffering are serving the same purpose. Three different places in the last few days I have come across readings on how our sacrifices are working for those God has placed in our spiritual territory. Here is a beautiful excerpt from Luisa Piccarreta’s “The Virgin Mary in the Kingdom of the Divine Will”, one of her writings that is approved for distribution:

      “Now, listen to your Mama. In your pains, in the painful encounters which are not lacking for you either, and when you know that the Divine Will wants some sacrifice from you – be ready, do not lose heart, but rather, repeat quickly the dear and sweet Fiat: “Whatever You want, I want”. And with heroic love, let the Divine Will take Its royal place in your pains, that It may convert them into the little coin of infinite value, with which you will be able to pay your debts, as well as those of your brothers – to ransom them from the slavery of the human will, and to let them enter, as free children, into the Kingdom of the Divine Fiat. In fact, you must know that the Divine Will is so pleased by the sacrifice It wanted of the creature, that It gives her Its divine rights, and constitutes her queen of the sacrifice and of the good which will arise in the midst of creatures.” (Supplemental Meditation 3)

      Liked by 3 people

      • Mary W. says:

        Thank you so very much Janet. Your written words are here in my time of necessity as I try to carry a cross that the Lord has given me regarding a particular person put into our lives 16 years ago. To remain silent and be at peace in the face of constant ridicule has not been easy. I find myself praying much for this person, as I also try to not associate more than necessary with her in order to avoid conflict. It is heart breaking as children are involved and can witness any discord. Deliberate silence is necessary and difficult as I would like to say many things in order to set this person aright. Yes, I am warming to the Divine Will in my life. Give me strength dear Lord to persevere and give this person light and the desire to cooperate with your grace. Amen.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hang in there Mary! 16 years is a long time to have someone pressing on you. May God give you strength and grace!

          Liked by 1 person

        • connie says:

          I add my Amen to yours for you and all those who have this same particular cross to bear, Mary W. Deliberate silence is VERY difficult, but I find courage and strength by taking to heart as Peli reminds us that we have an opportunity to repay our debts and those of others in cooperation by our own Fiat to the Divine Will. I will try to remember often to say “Whatever You want, I want” when faced with some particularly difficult sacrifice.

          Again, reading everyone’s shared testimonies, challenges, and reminders really does build up the body of Christ here and I can only exclaim once again in awe, God is SO good!!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Mary W. says:

            Thank you Connie and Janet. Yes, an opportunity to repay my debts and those of others is motivating. As you say, trying to remember often to say “Whatever You want, I want” when faced with some particularly difficult sacrifice is key. The Lord did aid me today after I cried out to Him in adoration by having me come in contact with a daily mass goer who recalls so many wonderful people (gifts she called them) who are in her life. These gifts counter the bad apple(s) in our lives. All of those here who participate are such gifts and I thank God for all of you too! God is SO good.


  3. Phillip Frank says:

    To be “struck dumb” is the term we are looking for here.
    One type of dumb struck the saints met with is the overwhelming and indescribable glory of God.
    Faced with a type of beatific vision but only a glimpse to the other side of the Vale from this side, they could not reason it out even though it spoke volumes to them.
    St Francis was questioned by his Brothers when he would return from an Ecstasy but he could not find any word or experience or relation in this world to describe what he saw in the next.
    Just like scripture says ” no eye has seen nore ear has heard”. Literally, this is a fact.
    Even St Dom Bosco was told in an apparition of St. Dominic Savio that the way he was appearing to Dom Bosco and the way heaven looked to him was not its true form and only looked that way so he could have some understanding of it.
    And so it was with Job, God filling his mortal senses with things of Himself but in a way his finite mind could grasp, but still so big and grand as to leave him speechless.
    I liken it as if a person who can see trying to explain the depth, movement and form of a great painting to a blind person.
    The blind man hasn’t the ” language” of the sighted one.
    Charlie makes a good case of having to explain ” angel speak”. First through the filter of himself, than into human written language, than we read it and….well, you know what happens then…
    But we must remember that through grace, what we need to hear and how we need to hear it will make ” sufficient” what our God wants us to know and do.
    We, for our part, have to then ” take the next right step” which unfortunately when we do, quite frequently mess it up or otherwise revamp it into something WE think we should do, etc. But Charlie’s formula is simplistic because we are so simple minded.
    One step at a time…pray….next step…pray…. repeat

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Yeah, Phillip, whenever I begin to think myself clever, I do something dumb. Whenever I think myself dumb, I come up with some real insights. The next right step is the way to at least keep from getting to far afield in our dumbness. Works for me, anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. audiemarie2014 says:

    Pelianito, thank you for this piece. I read your posts on your site and they are so helpful, inspiring, and encouraging. It’s usually good to keep my tongue still. 😉 I just love what you write. God bless you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Praise God, Audiemarie! If the messages speak to you it is Him not me! Like St. Paul I can only boast of my weakness. If I did not have so much to learn, I would not have so much to teach! So I must praise God even for my weakness!🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. joanp62 says:

    I was just thinking, or maybe receiving in prayer, that the Church and those of us who love her and are faithful, is entering her Passion after Her Lord, and that we are in the trial stage between Jesus’ agony in the garden and the scourging. And here I read basically the same from Pelianito. It certainly is something to prayerfully consider.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. connie says:

    How beautiful this is, Pelianito. The Holy Spirit has been convicting me of much at which you wrote of and I have been meditating over my words in recent days while asking the Lord’s forgiveness for the times I should have been silent or chosen my words more carefully.

    In our neighborhood, which has recently experienced major flooding, during the most perilous time of not knowing what new dangers we might face from moment to moment, some people began to pass along scary rumors. One such rumor had to do with the dam which is about 2 miles upstream from us and was reported to have been breached. This caused much confusion, panic, and fear. In fact, the Emergency Management spokesman for our county said that it wasn’t the flooding situation that caused him the most challenges, it was people who were not interested in helping to create unity, goodwill, and sense of calm but instead caused division, strife, and panic in an already dangerous and uncertain time. I saw and experienced this for myself and it brought back to me the word’s of Charlie saying that it is panic that kills people in times of crisis. ( sorry, Charlie, for this very loose quote-hope I got the jist of it right)

    There were people who were already following our TDL without knowing, perhaps, that is what they did. One out-of-town- woman was visiting her sister and found out about our plight. She got together with some others who gave of their time, money, resources and began reaching out to people late at night last week when no one else had even visited the communities under water(I am talking about gov’t and other well known entities who do this professionally) except the local fire dept who helped her bring in supplies by boat. Now, there was even some contention about this. I do not know who actually did what and for what reasons, only the Good Lord does, but they brought hope with them. This little group may have had some misteps along the way yet I remembered that Charlie said if we just try to take the next right step trusting that God would fix our mistakes , so to speak, it is better than waiting on God to thunder down instructions to us before we reached out to help those in need. We had many neighbors, our friends who were there to help one another, as imperfect as each of us was. That was a good feeling, knowing that we were all in it together, even as there were those who were not working in solidarity. I, myself was not as charitable as I could have been. I was impatient with those who were causing strife. I learned a great many things about myself and others through this ordeal. I have a long way to go in imitation of the Lord. BUT, this experience(and I think in large part because of Charlie and all of you, TDL Family) I noticed I was thinking differently about a lot of things than I would have say, just a couple of years ago, and with each trial of this sort I AM trusting the Lord more and I am also being convicted by the Holy Spirit much more about the littlest, subtler things. Which is a good thing, I pray more & more dross is being burned away. One of my biggest challenges was that I just could not keep up with my daily rosary and chaplet of divine mercy, most days I forgot even to say my morning offering- we were just off and running every day and wiped out by nite. I know that in the thick of things is when I most needed to find a quiet place and get close to God again. I failed miserably at that. It doesn’t discourage me though, I tried throughout the day to thank, or praise, or petition God in little spurts, and to acknowledge Him out loud to others. I really got a kick out of this one time: A couple of days ago, before the electricity and water got turned back on, I had gone to the Dollar Store after leaving 2 of my neighbors. We had left by boat that morning to their truck parked at the dock and had gone into the nearest town to rune errands, and I retrieved my van that afternoon which had been parked with many other vehicles at the community park for safekeeping out of flood waters. My van had been there for many days and I wanted to park it instead at the entrance to our neighborhood as the .flooding had gone down enough that that area was dry again. I was waiting for my husband to meet me when he returned from work so that we could go by boat to our house together. So I was picking up a few little things at the dollar store when my neighbor called saying that she had just heard that the electric company was attempting to get into the still flooded areas to turn the electricity back on. Some meters had been covered with flood waters so they were assessing whether these areas were still flooded over. While on the phone with her, I suggested that we pray right then and there- so we did. She called me back not even a minute later excitedly telling me the elec. was back on and i said “Thank You, Lord” She then said very surprised ” Oh, that’s right we prayed!!!” She was so surprised I think that our little prayer was answered so fast, but I think that God was reaching out to her and I had a private little moment of, “Oh, yeah, Lord, I know what you’re doing……you’re little secret is safe with me- I won’t tell her! hee-hee!”

    I write this in hopes that others may find this resonates with their own experiences now or in the future. Our God is “Indeed Risen” and is “right at hand” as our Sherpa loves to remind us:)

    Liked by 8 people

    • charliej373 says:

      You have had a great grace, Connie. You have lived through a small trial run of both the challenges and the joys that will be in the chaos to come.

      Liked by 4 people

      • SteveBC says:

        Every now and then, Charlie, you say something that really sets me back on my heels and makes me think hard about what’s coming.

        On the positive side, I was thinking as I read Connie’s story of what you had said some months ago, that troubles and disasters are moments when great graces flow to those in need and those who help.

        So I got the hit on the severity of what’s coming at the same moment that I remembered that there would be great graces for us as we move through those difficulties. Oddly comforting overall.

        Liked by 3 people

      • connie says:

        I have been pondering this great grace you pointed out to me. I have realized a few things. One of the graces the Lord has given me I think, is the realization that people who don’t want to ( or maybe don’t know how to) be part of the solutions instead of being difficult, will not just dissolve into thin air or be somehow not in my immediate circle as I had some how naively been envisioning. I will still have to find a way to be a sign of hope- in my attitude and demeanor, there by keeping me from getting rattled or down.

        My challenge was not in trusting to God’s unfailing providence for my needs in the temporal world but instead I realized I was not trusting him to grace me with what I need to be a sign of hope in the midst of negativity, incessant complaining, ttempts at manipulation or control. I had to ask myself just how much had I cooperated with His Grace. Correct discernment of what to speak, when not to speak, and how to say the right thing as Picket had described is a great grace. As is using silence to allow the other person to be touched by the Holy Spirit, IN GOD”S TIMING NOT OURS, despite the great violence we do to our own wills when we remain silent even though every fiber of our being is shouting to wag that tongue! This has been my challenge.

        I can deal with snakes, alligators, red ants, leaches in garbage strewn flood waters. I can deal with all the other inconveniences and pain , fatigue , uncertainty about just about everything. I patted myself on the back for having the courage and grit to deal with all those pyhisical things. But my second biggest challenge was asking the Lord then waithing upon Him then cooperating with His Grace to be a sign of hope to those who are difficult or not of good will. Maybe I can seek out ways to use humor as Charlie does to diffuse a tense situations or a sour attitude or maybe I can practice daily repetition of favorite scripture verses or uplifting quotes to have quickly and easily on my mind and on my lips so that I can draw others to me by the peace and joy I have as Peli does.

        My greatest challenge was finding time to spend quiet time with the Lord. If I do not do this more often now and keep that a non-negotiable with myself, I know that my second greatest challenge will not be met by all that God wants to grace me with. Thank You all for helping me to see what maybe the Lord wanted me to see so that I trust in Him and ask Him for the graces I need to overcome- instead of to succumb because of my weaknessess in the times ahead . I feel like I have just tried on a suit of armor for battle, testing it for weaknesses and adjusting it in various places to fit well.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Bless you for your kind words Connie. But to be fair I must tell you that I am as human and prone to speak impulsively as anyone. Sins of speech–like a bad rerun on every channel at confession…sigh…Lord have mercy!

          Your last paragraph about armor reminded me of the story of David before going into battle with Goliath. King Saul tried to outfit him in his own armor, but it didn’t fit and David could not move. He removed the armor and went to face the giant clothed in the armor of faith and righteousness and was of couse spectacularly succesful. Lots to ponder there…

          Liked by 1 person

        • Picket Fence says:

          And I must also emphasize that I don’t always follow my own suggestions!

          I completely understand about wanting the negative people or situations to disappear. I have to remind myself that Jesus is inside of that person, looking out at me with His eyes. What does He see?

          I have a very great fear of failing and falling in the times ahead. I can’t even LIFT a suit of armor, much less put one on. I will attempt to lift mine eyes to His as He suffers on the cross for me, a miserable and wicked sinner.

          Your words do bolster me, Connie. Thank you.

          Liked by 2 people

          • CrewDog says:

            PF sez: “I have a very great fear of failing and falling in the times ahead. I can’t even LIFT a suit of armor, much less put one on. I will attempt to lift mine eyes to His as He suffers on the cross for me, a miserable and wicked sinner.”
            Hey PF … Join the ^%$#@ Club! We are all weak & miserable sinners here and live in fear of failing in the face of the enemy!! Those that think they are not … stay out of my foxhole!!


            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Funny thing, CrewDog…I have NEVER trusted a man who was eagerly confident to cover my back. The scared guy, the guy who gulps and sets his jaw with a little tremble first – that guy you can usually count on. But the guy who figures he may get slaughtered but is going to take as many as he can before they get him…that guy you can almost always count on.

            Liked by 3 people

        • torilen says:

          Connie, you have given me a lot to ponder. Your experience with the flooding and how people responded helped me to see exactly what Charlie meant when he said that our reactions to crisis, our panic, will cause us to be our own worst enemies. My husband and I are very high strung & so are several of our children. We tend to panic & shout before we think about things. That panic & shouting only make things worse, of course.

          I’m praying for all of you who have been affected by the terrible flooding.


  7. June1 says:

    You know what’s crazy? I just realized… the passage of my son’s children’s Bible I happened to read to him an hour ago as I was getting him ready for bed was the story of Zechariah being struck mute by the Angel Gabriel because he doubted Elizabeth would be able to conceive a baby in her old age. And Gabriel told him that the proof that all of it was true would be that Zechariah would not be able to speak until everything happened. And so it came to pass.🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. SteveBC says:

    Wow, Pelianito, how many times have I gotten in trouble with a quick word poorly thought out. I’m about as dumb as a post when it comes to learning when not to speak – and honoring that knowledge. However, over the years and decades, after countless lessons, I’m a lot better at it than I was when I started.

    For me it comes down to honoring someone’s free will. Everyone right now is at a certain place in their lives and development and knowledge. I have realized over the years that I can take a person off his or her path by helping too much. I’ve gotten better at being silent before someone who is working some new lesson or idea out, letting them go where they want and need to go.

    It’s amazing how it works for some people, and it’s especially fun and interesting when they go in ways I never expected. It’s a joy to see that person get that “Aha” that their path has brought them to. And for those not ready to take the step I could help them take, I take a step that is an expression of trust in that person and in God: I close my mouth.

    I’ve often found when looking back on a failed moment that I spoke because I did not trust.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Dee says:

      Thank you for posting this. Many of it’s truths resonated with me

      Liked by 3 people

    • Steve, your last line is gold! The key to most of our errors is lack of trust.

      Liked by 2 people

    • mmbev says:

      I have an amazing friend who waited years for me to see the reality of the situation I was in without saying a word. When I finally saw and understood, I was in awe of her ability to patiently wait until I had figured it out, stopped the denial and avoidance and began to respond the way a person should.
      An example is that I did not realize that my husband was a functional drinker all the years of his work life. Only when he retired and the drinking increased exponentially did I become aware of reality.

      I gain so much from reading the comments, learning through others experiences and trials, (thankful I am not called yet to undergo them), expanding my ability to handle situations in my future.

      We spend hours reading and trying to fit into our lives things that will “improve our quality of life”. The blogs and the comments here do exactly that. I have learned so very much that all I can do sometimes is just keep reading, and keep my silence. Often when I want to say something I find someone just below who has a comment saying what I would ahead of me

      Sometimes this makes me very happy to be a day or so late reading, because I gain so much more. What I would say is often less than what is expressed and I gain more.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. Picket Fence says:

    To me, silence is almost the same as patience.

    Over the years, I have finally seen the results of patience with people I cannot reason or argue with. If I remain “in friendship” with a difficult person rather than “in agitation” I can feel better about their point of view and their personal journey and not be stressed to emphasize mine. And when I keep quiet with regards to others, they seem to arrive at a better place without me adding my 2 cents. I just think that Jesus is so patient with us at all times, and I want to be like Him.

    On the other hand, letting someone go on and on while you keep silent can put that person in a spot where they finally hang themselves with their own rope. People just want to be heard. But there are times when the verbal expression of their ideas, wants and needs just comes back to bite them. Then you step in with common sense, reason, and love of neighbor.

    I fear, though, that I fail to speak up when I should through lack of courage. Sometimes being quiet is the easy way out. Then I must pray that the Lord gives me another opportunity or sends another to speak His truth.

    Liked by 9 people

    • Mary W. says:

      Your thoughts resonate with me Picket Fence. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Picket Fence says:

        God is so good! How He blesses us when we come together in awe of His Majesty!


        • connie says:

          Oops, I didn’t realize till scrolling down that I wrote almost the same thing you did when I replied to Mary W. further up. You said it much better than I did, Picket!! I also will have to unpack, sentence by sentence, your first post, beginning with “To me silence is almost the same as patience.” Quite a lot to ponder. Thanks


          • Mary W. says:

            Janet, Connie, and Picket Fence: thank you, thank you, thank you! The Sacred Heart of Jesus sent you to me today on this First Friday of the Month. This devotion has been a part of my life for 30 years. He keeps His promises !


          • Picket Fence says:

            Well, either great minds think alike…….or God continues to synchronize our hearts!!!

            I think it is the latter…..

            There is wisdom in your words, as well, Connie, and I thank you for them. I very much need the reminder that there is debt to be repaid, and a lot of it mine. Offering for others is so important. Not my will, but Thine, Lord.

            Liked by 1 person

    • kathyk1 says:

      When I first read Janet’s post about silence, I had just heard in prayer strong direction not to defend myself or engage in contending with relatives in a series of difficult conversations over the next few weeks. This commentary just reinforces the importance of this silence.

      Two things have been coming to me lately in prayer:
      1. !.heard a woman years from Operation Rescue talk about the gift of silence when confronted by angry people at the abortion clinics and in court as well. She said that when you speak, the angry person isn’t listening, just planning what to say next. When you respond in silence, it gives the Holy Spirit space to move in their hearts.
      2. Charlie’s comment that the evil who are now relishing their power and promoting injustice are just filling out their own indictment before God. I think this is part of the reason I’m called to be silent and not defend myself or contend with others in arguments. Answering back just inspires them to pour on more and worse insults, for which they will have to answer to God. My silence then, is an act of love, with the intention to mitigate their sin and the severity of divine correction upon them.

      Liked by 4 people

  10. Barbara Dore says:

    12 Promises | Cached
    Listed below are the “12 Promises” of the Sacred Heart of Jesus to St. Margaret Mary to encourage all Catholics to know and understand the benefit of practicing …
    Promises of the Sacred Heart of Jesus to St. Margaret Mary Cached
    Our Lord Jesus Christ made these twelve promises to those who honor His Sacred Heart to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, a French nun, whom he called “the Belove


    • connie says:

      It has been on my heart for quite a while now, Barbara, to get out the message of devotion to the Sacred Heart. I came across a website that makes available very simple packets for home Enthronement of Jesus and consecration to The Sacred Heart & the Immaculate Heart of Mary. The packets are designed in such a way that it is easy to include an entire parish, school, etc. not just individuals or families and so simple & straightforward that it’s easy for the head of families to enthrone their homes. The packets are available in Spanish and Vietnamese also.

      I just received my order of 200 packets and have formulated a plan of action with our parish priest to make them available to the parish on the weekend of the Feast Days of the Two Hearts, June 13th & 14th. Veronica is the name of the delightful lady to contact if anyone is interested in ordering packets:

      I told Veronica about this website, Charlie, and your upcoming tour. She asked me if you would be in the Philadelphia area around the time of the Holy Father’s visit and I told her I didn’t know. I do hope that you will be hosted by someone in that area. I will be checking regularly for your visit in that area so that I can pass it along to her.


      • charliej373 says:

        Funny thing…I was talking to a couple of people today specifically about the Philadelphia swing. That will be the first stop of my Mew England trip. It will be in mid-July. Send me a note at and I will forward your info to those doing the initial planning.


Leave a Reply

