All Shook Up



By Charlie Johnston

I have put up a new link at the top bar on the Page for various versions of the Song of Thanksgiving. Kitty Cleveland has finished composing hers, but it will still be a few weeks before it is recorded in a way I can link to here. I am pretty excited to hear (yes, just like you, I have not heard it yet).

I have some updated information on the Atlanta and Ft. Lauderdale visits in the “Upcoming Events” bar. For those of you near Tallahassee or Birmingham, I am just making small private meetings, so if you want to get together, contact me directly at

Next week I will be working out details of the New England trip in July. As of right now, I am tentatively planning to visit Philadelphia, Newark, Boston, New Hampshire, Upstate New York – and then Cleveland on my way back to Denver. Now for those of you who are hosts, if you want to have a volunteer video my talk in your city, I will put it up in a new link if you send me the video.


I really liked this article on Pope Francis. One thing that strikes me is that he does like to shake things up. I know I liked to have some people around with dissenting views, lest we get caught up in a groupthink that gets progressively more divorced from the reality of what people are actually thinking and concerned about. Dissenters always keep you on your toes. When they are right, they keep you from falling deeper into error. When they are wrong,

Pope Francis I

Pope Francis I

they help direct you towards what you need to explain with more clarity. The thing I think about a lot is how Pope Francis let things just float where they would in the first session of the Synod on the Family, then finished it off by giving a clear, concise, charitable but firm declaration of Church teaching and doctrine. I took more than a little bit of pleasure when a prominent leftist wrote an article in the National Catholic Reporter denouncing Pope Francis as a “homophobic Pope.” Just doing his job, baby!


Just about a year ago, I sharply criticized Miami Archbishop Thomas Wenski for invoking spiritual authority to insist upon a single political approach to the problem of illegal immigration. I rather tartly ended by hoping that Archbishop Wenski was as bold in proclaiming the fundamentals of the faith as he was in proclaiming his political opinions. I must confess, after a year’s worth of evidence, it seems to me he is – and downright courageous about it, too.

The good Archbishop has been second to none in insisting on fidelity to authentic Catholic Doctrine – and in speaking boldly about the new discrimination and persecution rising against Christians in the West. I reckon we could still have sharp words over some political issues, but he clearly is a bold advocate of the faith and of freedom. It makes me glad that he is a prominent American Archbishop.


Our friend, Daniel O’Connor, wrote an intriguing piece on the satanic deception involved in all this “gender theory” nonsense. I thought it made some excellent points – and dovetails nicely with my piece yesterday.


Meantime, with the Encyclical on the Environment coming out in a matter of weeks, I enjoyed this summary piece by Fred Singer in the American Thinker on how there is a push to massage the data again. A lot of it is technical and refers to more technical data, but it summarizes the gist of the issue while giving you plenty of information you can follow up with to work with raw data and see where this is headed, whose interests are at play, and where the players land.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Church Governance, Discernment, Signposts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to All Shook Up

  1. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    Yes, thanks, Charlie. Talk about being shook up!

    Don’t forget some of the of the 10.0 Richter waves generated this week by “expert Catholic Theologian,” Ms. Nancy Pelosi:

    The Baltimore Catechism favors so-called “gay marriages.” Those who oppose this unnatural “arrangement,” are “hateful homophobes” according to the Baltimore Catechism, according to “Theologian” Pelosi!

    (methinks the poor deluded, misinformed, or downright error-filled Pelosi must have had a past earthquake in her noggin that completely scrambled her brains not only to make this preposterous statement, but to continue promoting infanticide. I pray for the conversion of her immortal soul. I shudder to imagine her eternal fate when she will have to meet Our Lord face-to-face. No falsehoods, lies, or deceptions will work then.

    God cannot deceive nor be deceived!

    HE is ultimate TRUTH and REALITY.


  2. Mark says:

    Romans 1:18-32 “Punishment of Idolaters.” is a great summary of our times. We are our own punishment.

    18 The wrath of God* is indeed being revealed from heaven against every impiety and wickedness of those who suppress the truth by their wickedness.
    19 For what can be known about God is evident to them, because God made it evident to them.
    20 Ever since the creation of the world, his invisible attributes of eternal power and divinity have been able to be understood and perceived in what he has made. As a result, they have no excuse;
    21 for although they knew God they did not accord him glory as God or give him thanks. Instead, they became vain in their reasoning, and their senseless minds were darkened.
    22 While claiming to be wise, they became fools
    23 and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for the likeness of an image of mortal man or of birds or of four-legged animals or of snakes.
    24 Therefore, God handed them over to impurity through the lusts of their hearts* for the mutual degradation of their bodies.
    25 They exchanged the truth of God for a lie and revered and worshiped the creature rather than the creator, who is blessed forever. Amen.
    26 Therefore, God handed them over to degrading passions. Their females exchanged natural relations for unnatural,
    27 and the males likewise gave up natural relations with females and burned with lust for one another. Males did shameful things with males and thus received in their own persons the due penalty for their perversity.
    28 And since they did not see fit to acknowledge God, God handed them over to their undiscerning mind to do what is improper.
    29 They are filled with every form of wickedness, evil, greed, and malice; full of envy, murder, rivalry, treachery, and spite. They are gossips
    30 and scandalmongers and they hate God. They are insolent, haughty, boastful, ingenious in their wickedness, and rebellious toward their parents.
    31 They are senseless, faithless, heartless, ruthless.
    32 Although they know the just decree of God that all who practice such things deserve death, they not only do them but give approval to those who practice them.


    • Bob says:

      Vs 32 is most damning “they not only do them but give approval to those who practice them”, as Daniel said in his blog today that is where the satan can sow the most confusion.


  3. Lin says:

    Thanks for the article…clever graphic you choose! Thanks also for referring us to Daniel’s thought-provoking article.


    • CrewDog says:

      Daniel’s article is “Right-On” and no doubt satan, demonic pals & his useful idiots are operating at a fever pitch. I would add that the push for the Abortion (Feminist) & Gay Agenda is to force the distortion of Church teachings and eventually destroy the Church! We have already seen “Mainstream” Protestant denominations like Presbyterians and Anglicans self-destruct in their attempts to conform to heresy and “modernism”! Once abortion and sexual perversion is declared a human “right” and codified in “law” the persecution will intensify and people of Faith will have to go underground or form-up in Civil Disobedience … Radicals, of all stripes, have taken control oe the Democrat Party USA and the Supreme Court USA is only one member away from radical control… I have no doubt that The Final Confrontation is … NOW!


      Liked by 1 person

      • Petra says:

        I’ve said this on other blogs and in com boxes whenever the issue is raised: I honestly believe the fundamental homosexual agenda is to turn the tables on Christians: to make us go into “the closet”, to make us a minority, to make us afraid to speak about what we are; to make us hide what we think and are lest we lose our job or home or business. The huge difference is that we speak the Truth and they are trying to make a lie the truth. True Christians are willing suffer persecution and loss and even to die for the Truth. I doubt very many homosexuals are willing to die for what they believe.


        • mmbev says:

          I have often wondered if they REALLY believe what they are saying. The anger and vitriol with which they often speak is so overwhelming sometimes I wonder. I had to clicked on the link to see Nancy Pelosi actually make that statement. I am still shaking my head in utter disbelief.


          • MMBev, I think for folks to lose sight of The Truth, they simply have to choose to for whatever reason.

            I was sitting quietly behind my son in Church years ago prior to Mass. He was receiving the Sacrament of Confirmation that day and I was his sponsor. At some point during recollective prayer, I was distracted by a small contingency of ‘suits’ approaching a swath of empty seats in the center of the Church. Something about it seemed a bit out of place.

            Shortly after, the rest of the contingency followed and took to the empty seats. It was Nancy Pelosi and family, and it seemed pretty clear that she had a granddaughter receiving the Sacrament of Confirmation as well. As you can imagine, I wasn’t the only person distracted, and I’m sorry to say that I might have even bristled a bit.

            Bishop Olmsted was celebrating the Mass, and I’m sorry to say that I was distracted even further by thoughts about whether or not certain folks would be receiving Communion and how the Bishop might respond to that. I suppose the bulk of this internal battle raged a bit until the Bishop held the consecrated Bread aloft for all to cling to.

            The procession to receive the Holy Eucharist followed and I anchored my right hand gently on my child’s shoulder. My son, who reminded me of innocence and was blissfully unaware of any my nonsense. My eyes alternated between the face of Bishop Olmsted and the Holy Eucharist in his hands. My thoughts… well, rather my conscience was letting me know that I was in danger of even graver sins if I didn’t stop judging and condemning.

            For the record, the Bishop’s face was a reflection of Peace and Mercy to my eyes, regardless of who received the Sacrament. I shouldn’t have been surprised, and, yes, that was the third time I was distracted from The Truth that day.

            My son also received the Sacrament of Confirmation with the confirmation name of Peter. How fitting.

            I still get shocked and disheartened by certain things that people say and do, but I can snap out of it fairly quickly by simply recalling that epic, thrice failure of mine that day and The Mercy Who forgives and wants to draw us all to Himself.

            Trust. Do. Love. I love it! For the longest time, my equivalent has been: Trust. Love. Pray. I suppose that’s pretty much the same thing. At any rate, you have given me a great gift today because I’m reminded that I’m not alone in these struggles.

            Let us continue to pray for the many others who continue to struggle, even those who appear to have completely lost sight of The Truth.

            Jesus, we trust in You! God Bless,


            Liked by 2 people

          • mmbev says:

            Thank you, Michael. You’ve given me lots to hold and reflect on, and the holding is to the Truth, as you said. It us He judges, and that is all one needs to focus on. Not another’s being judged, but our own. I loved the video, “The Third Way”, Mark’s site.


        • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

          Great insight, Petra.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Bob says:

          Sadly, apparently many lost in sexual addictions and sexual idolatry are willing to die for their “faith”. Note the large number of those who have died from STDs and yet many continue to follow their creed!


  4. Patricia says:

    Encouraging article by Daniel. You too, Charlie.


  5. Barbara Dore says:

    A new museum in Jerusalem is now open since April 2015. It plans to show the hologramic shows.

    Friends of Zion Heritage Center Cached
    There is no doubting the great contributions made to God’s Chosen People by Christian friends, but many Jewish people today are not aware of this.


  6. Bob says:

    As for Daniel’s article, sadly and yet mercifully his allegations of those affirming these evils, most of them are not likely guilty of mortal sin as both knowledge and consent as well as grave matter is required. Mercifully most of those affirming these evils, as Jesus said “They do not know what they are doing” and sadly knowledge of truth is so low that most do not know what they are affirming is really evil or why.


  7. Kathleen from NJ says:

    Great article Daniel!


  8. rickie says:

    Hi Charlie. Regarding Archbishop Wenski, he is very involved as you pointed out. Gosh, there are so many immigrants living in south Florida. I run into a native Floridian once in awhile, so a lot of his work has to be in support of those people coming into our shores. Also, he is focusing on religious freedom lately. The churches are following up on the theme.
    Just this weekend, my church hosted a guest speaker, the president of the Iraqi Christian Relief Council, to talk about religious freedom. Her name is Juliana Taimoorazy. She told us so many stories about the persecutions of the Christians there. Families have had to flee their homes and are living in tents and makeshift housing. Juliana is trying to raise enough money to provide for them. Those people are descendants of the Ninavites. She said there have been many martyrs. In her family alone, eight have been martyred. It makes me think of what could happen everywhere……..people without a home, wandering, afraid, insecure. Let us pray for them.


Leave a Reply

