Weekend Update on Trips

My "pet" fox from the cabin I often stay at.

My “pet” fox from the cabin I often stay at.

By Charlie Johnston

I have just updated the “Upcoming Events” link on the top bar to include dates and coordinators for much of the New England trip next month. Still filling out details, but if you live in one of those areas and want to help prepare or to come to an event, you know who to contact now. I know Cleveland, Ohio is a bit of a stretch for a “New England” swing but, hey, they asked and it is on the way back to Denver.


Last time I was at the cabin, this fox would not only visit during the day, but would come rubbing his nose against the screen at night wanting me to come out and give him some attention. He remained skittish and cautious, of course, but he would let me briefly rub the ruff of his neck…and he liked for me to sit outside with him. I am delighted to hear that he is equally affectionate with the folks who actually own the cabin. It is the wife who took this picture.

My son told me when I was telling him of the fox and his liking of my attention that I am both very ordinary and very weird…that while most people have a pet German Shepherd or Labrador…it would be so like me to have a faithful pet Fox…both similar to what everyone else does and strikingly different all at the same time. I think it was a compliment…but I am never entirely sure with my son, who loves to rib and poke fun at the old man.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Weekend Update on Trips

  1. Gary says:

    I hope your not walking..


  2. EllenChris says:

    Charlie, we are going to have to start calling you, “The Little Prince.” You and the Fox have tamed each other.🙂


  3. Sarah says:

    I like to think the fox’s name is “Hot Dog.”


  4. Judy says:

    He looks very sweet. But red foxes can carry a tick, and I hear that this year the tick population is huge. One of my dogs picked up a red fox tick and the poor thing practically had nonstop scratching. We had to go all the way to Philadelphia to find out what was wrong with the poor thing and then we had to cover ourselves with some type of cream and then disinfect the house.
    Somehow I think that God will protect you from this, but it is good to know the facts.


  5. Vijaya says:

    He’s a gorgeous fellow!


  6. Donette says:

    Charlie, I chuckled when I saw this picture of the Little Red Fox. Would you believe tonight after an early dinner I found a little red fox all curled up, his nose buried in his dark tail and dark feet, resting on my front lawn near my two huge stone lions, Ben and Judah? He looked as though he was exhausted from taking a long journey and found peace and rest on my front lawn. Perhaps he was sent to me as a symbol of what we share.


  7. Phillip Frank says:

    “Clever as a Fox” is not a common quotation for nothing.
    Not too long ago when trappers where called upon to catch these for their fur they discovered, and then enhanced this aspect of foxes… by trapping all the dumb ones out of the gene pool!
    Now that they enjoy legal protection in many states, they have turned this eugenics exercise into a more fitting relationship with their benefactor…man.
    Charlie, you have had an up close and personal blimps into the heightened cleverness of a fox.
    I too, have seen them but in the wild, doing what foxes do naturally.
    One time, as I heard a group of bluejays harassing something in a tree, I approached cautiously to see what it was and found myself side- by side with a grey fox doing the same thing.
    It looked over at me, scurried up a few yards closer to the birds and sat back down on its haunches and looked back at me then up in the tree as if to say ” I was here first’!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Domingo says:

    Hi Charlie, you got a newbie here. Where should I start reading?


    • charliej373 says:

      Go to the black bar near the top, just beneath the photo of the cabin. Hit the links on “My Purpose,” “God’s Plan,” and the “Prayer of Miraculous Trust.” Those three, I think, will give you the basics of what goes on here.


  9. mmbev says:

    And there you have it! Charlie and my son! It makes me almost act uncivilized! I only hope that this is a “sign” that God intends for all of us, to demonstrate that in 2018 all the animals will be our friends and submit to patting and rubbing and all other humiliations that we inflict on our pets. And, of course, that we will treat all of them with kindness and love.. Ahhhhhh. Fox patting, rattlesnake embracing! Well, maybe I would skip the rattlesnake embracing anyway. Would that mean we would have to go back eating fruit and seeds, though?


    • charliej373 says:

      Ha…the rattlesnakes will remain on their own – at least with me. Although I did try to cozy up with a copperhead once on my pilgrimage. It was not amused, so I quickly left it to its own devices.


      • mmbev says:

        In one area of our city, it’s possible to open your back door and ……. discover a rattlesnake curled up on your back doorstep, sunning his little coiled body in the sun. People scream.

        When my son was about five, I peered out the front window to see what he was up to. (He was always up to something.) There was a whole hoard of kids at the end of our lawn. A “hoard” means more than five.

        You are right. I headed out to see what the attraction was. It was a boy I didn’t know about ten or twelve, shaking a canning jar up and down. THAT KID HAD A LIVE RATTLESNAKE IN THE JAR.

        After a few memorable momenta, he left and went home with his snake.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. donna says:

    so excited….I will be at Newark or Philly!!!!!


  11. Jacquie says:

    What a soft expression for a wild creature. Nature is telling us something. And it is good.


  12. barb129 says:

    I know some of the readers use Magnificat for their daily prayer time. What did you think of the morning prayer today? I felt like they were rallying the troops and boosting us up for the battle ahead. I was so excited reading it (and comforted by it), that I’m going to mark the pages and pray them again whenever I need encouragement.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Jacquie says:


    Yes, I agree this morning’s Scripture from the Magnificat’s Morning Prayer was the excellent story of David and Goliath. “All this multitude, too, shall learn that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves. For the battle is the Lord’s, and He shall deliver you into our hands.” (1Samuel 17).
    The intercessions were helpful for me when I falter and worry and fear:
    -When we are about to lose courage, make us know your power. “Defend us in battle”.
    -When we see injustice, give us the wisdom and strength to protect the weak. “Defend us in battle.”
    When popular opinion contradicts God’s law, make us unafraid to stand up for the truth. “Defend us in battle.”
    This was some kind of wonderful encouragement!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. mmbev says:

    And at all times, remember: “The battle is the Lord’s…”

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Susan, MI says:

    Charlie, i found this prayer that I wanted to pass along as you start off your tour schedule. May the journey be fruitful and free from harm. Looking forward to your Midwest dates. Which, by the way, Mick and I were wondering if there is an official designated Host, like someone with a name badge, for Lansing, MI or if we might be the hometown welcome committee? There are many in the Diocese who you may already have corresponded with.. Just checking to see what’s on the radar.

    Prayer for Travelers
    O Almighty and merciful God, who hast commissioned Thy angels to guide and protect us, command them to be our assiduous companions from our setting out until our return; to clothe us with their invisible protection; to keep from us all danger of collision, of fire, of explosion, of fall and bruises, and finally, having preserved us from all evil, and especially from sin, to guide us to our heavenly home. Through Jesus Christ, our Lord. Amen.


    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you for the prayer, Susan. You and Mick are my welcoming committee in Michigan. Period. Where possible, I like for the committee people to be the old hands here at this site….one might say I feel most at with the .0002%. That would be you.


      • Susan, MI says:

        Thanks, Charlie. We look forward to putting something together. And a follow up from last week from Marita, the Shrine of the Little Flower is a local pilgrimage site not to miss. We will keep in touch regarding scheduling dates later in September and as to whether you plan to be at the Shrine on her feast day, October 1.
        Peace be with you!


        • barb129 says:

          Prayers for safe travels Charlie! We’re from southern Ohio and can’t make it to Cleveland because of other important obligations but we’re hoping to perhaps make it up to Lansing in September. Leaving it in the dear Lord’s hands!


  16. christiaria says:

    Hey, Charlie–Check your email inbox for a little gift!🙂


  17. Fran says:

    It was great to finally meet you tonight, Charlie, and your talk was very encouraging. It was also encouraging to find some other people in my area to possibly connect with. Thank you!


    • charliej373 says:

      It was great to meet some of the regular readers here in Nashville. I will have some pictures up tomorrow night…then I will put a new set of video links up in the top bar and the Nashville talk will be the first video.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kati says:

      It was good to meet you and Charlie last night, Fran. I wish we had had more time to really get to know one and other a bit more and perhaps organize ourselves in some way so that we are regularly in touch with what is going on in our own area. Unfortunately, I couldn’t stay long because the ladies I brought with me and I live outside of Nashville and one had to get home to take care of her horses. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • charliej373 says:

        It was good to meet some of you. Before I sleep tonight, I will have a few notes on the wonderful Nashville visit and some pictures. Later, I will put up a video of the talk…as I will make videos available of all talks where the organizers provide me with one.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

