Kitty Cleveland’s First Take on the Song of Thanksgiving


Charlie Johnston

Yee hah…Kitty Cleveland has a marvelous version of the Song of Thanksgiving up now here. I am riding on a bus with spotty Internet…so I can’t wait to get where I can hear it well…but I am not going to deprive you in the meantime!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Solidarity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Kitty Cleveland’s First Take on the Song of Thanksgiving

  1. Jacqueline Nevinger says:

    Beautiful! Gave me goose bumps!😇

    Sent from my iPad


    Liked by 2 people

  2. Mary W. says:

    WOW ! I am very impressed. Kitty has a lovely voice and beautiful diction on her jazz renditions. I plan on making a CD purchase soon enough. Her Song of Thanksgiving is very good but I am not sure if I care for the voice overlay as it may be a distraction from the baseline. What are the musicians, and just the lovers of music, on this blog thinking? Such a captivating voice Kitty ! Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Kitty Cleveland ROCKS! Once someone suggested it, I fell in love with the idea of a hundred or a thousand different overlays being built on that ostinato I was given. The ostinato is heaven’s gift to us – the various melodies are how we stretch out our hand to heaven. And so, it becomes literally true that the people of the Kingdom and the people of heaven rise together.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Mary W. says:

        I would hit ‘like’ on your post Charlie but it does not work for me. I do like what you wrote and can accept the overlay with those thoughts in mind. Super !


    • Mary Ann says:

      I agree. Lovely, but but a bit heavy on the overlay.


  3. donna says:

    that gave me chills…..beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  4. luvadoxi says:

    Love it! I also loved the other one posted recently, although I know it didn’t have the bass melody you envisioned.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mary N says:

    Wow! That was beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stunning! Praised be Jesus! May HIs kingdom come and come quickly!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. carolynw1 says:

    Beautiful! Carolyn

    Sent from my iPad


    Liked by 1 person

  8. christiaria says:

    I hope you like it Charlie, but I should also issue a little disclaimer here. I just wanted you to be able to hear your song with harmonies and a little accompaniment to encourage you and thank you for all you give to us! My woodwind-playing husband figured out the chords and played the keyboard, and I sang it into a little mic on the front of an 8-track portable recorder. Ideally, we’d have an orchestra, a full choir, and a real studio!

    Liked by 8 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Long the song itself, the ideal will grow in its own time.

      Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      Christiaria, I feel dumb as a box of rocks. Are you Kitty Cleveland? I’ve seen you make comments on previous posts but really had no clue. With the name Christiaria, I figured you were naming yourself Song of Christ (or similar meaning), but screen names here can be more metaphorical than actual sometimes. I really didn’t make the connection until now.

      If you are, you have a lovely voice, although I suspect you already know that!

      And thank you for this first draft. I’m looking forward to hearing more as you develop the song more fully. There is a deadline – I figure you’ve got about 2.5032754 years to get to a final draft! 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  9. barb129 says:


    Liked by 1 person

  10. Deon says:

    I really it. Thank you very much. I look forward to hearing it with the verses as she suggests, or maybe repeating a few times like the original recording be the girls in Honor Choir. Thanks again to you and Kitty!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kati says:

    I absolutely LOVE this!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. mezza49 says:

    Perfect in every way. Thank you and may God be with you on your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Momof6g4b says:

    Nice! I have been waiting to hear what Kitty came up with before working on it with my family. It helps to give the kids an idea of what can be done. We just may try a few versions. Maybe with harp…maybe guitar….maybe acapella……. This could be a lot of fun!😄

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Susan, MI says:

    This sounds so familiar, so accustomed to me…. so liturgical. In a beautiful, reverent way. Like the way a hymn is different from a jingle or pop song.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. rickie says:

    Makes me think of paradise and the beautiful songs of the angels and all of God’s creatures singing a song of praise and thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Bill says:

    I was singing the song today but not nearly as beautiful. Oh my gosh, I’m ready for the rescue.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Anne says:

    Truly wonderful Kitty. As soon as I heard even just the first few instrumental notes my spirit jumped. I like the entire excerpt!
    I have a couple of weeks teaching primary school music next week…. Not a Christian school unfortunatly….. Otherwise this would be used.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Lil Wild Flower says:

    Thanks so much Kitty for sharing your beautiful voice with us. Just so lovely.
    Charlie this just keeps getting better when the people of this kingdom use their God given gifts in this way.
    Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. ReneeEllen says:

    I love what Kitty did with this. I agree that the overlay is a bit too loud but when I sing the octave below it, it sounds well balance. Thank you Kitty and especially thank you Charlie.😉

    Liked by 1 person

  20. charliej373 says:

    Okay, I have been able to listen to it now without the bus chugging to drown it out. I love it. It gave me chills – and I love the overlay. I know all these things are a matter of taste…but I think the overlay is just right and mixes with the melody in a strikingly emotional way.

    Liked by 4 people

  21. Amy says:

    I love it.

    Liked by 2 people

  22. A Quiet Person says:

    I love this. And I love the idea of a hundred or a thousand overlays. I was reminded immediately of the first page of “The Silmarillion” by J.R.R. Tolkein (which is the story of the creation of the world, setting the ancient stage from the very beginning for “The Lord of the Rings.”)

    “The Iluvatar (God) said to them” ‘Of the theme that I have declared to you, I will now that ye make in harmony together a Great Music. And since I have kindled you with the Flame Imperishable, ye shall show forth your powers in adorning this theme, each with his own thoughts and devices, if he will. But I will sit and hearken, and be glad that through you great beauty has been wakened into song.’

    Then the voices of the Ainur (the Angels), like unto harps and lutes, and pipes and trumpets, and viols and organs, and like unto countless choirs singing with words, began to fashion the theme of Iluvatar to a great music; and a song arose of endless interchanging melodies woven in harmony that passed beyond hearing into depths and into heights, and the places of the dwelling of Iluvatar were filled to overflowing, and the music and the echo of the music went out into the Void, and it was not void. Never since have the Ainur made any music like to this music, though it has been said that a greater still shall be made before Iluvatar by the choirs of the Ainur and the Children of Iluvatar after the end of days.”

    Liked by 3 people

  23. Jacqueline Marie says:

    So lovely……I only wish I could sing like that….but God hears my heart anyway!
    Thank you, Kitty and Charlie, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Colleen DeRose says:

    Beautiful! We are very familiar wirh Kittie’s music; my grandson used to quiet down and go to sleep to her cd with the Kyrie.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nancy D says:

    I come back to Kitty’s recording now and then, and it never ceases to inspire me and generate new goosebumps! I play it on the keyboard also, just to sit and contemplate the heavenly beauty of the people of the Kingdom and the people of Heaven rising together with this song on our lips (accompanied by the glorious music of the angels as well. . . oh my!!)


  26. dianebelv says:

    Oh that is soooooo beautiful. I just love it. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You.
    Since I first heard your rendition of it Charlie, singing with the 3 young ladies, I have walked around the house singing it. Now how exciting to hear this version!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

