Singing (Hallelujah) in the Rain

(Walking in the Rain - by Carol and Mike Werner)

(Walking in the Rain – by Carol and Mike Werner)

(I am off in just a few minutes. In the meantime, I loved this Ordinary Miracle from our reader, Donna Kelly. It hearkened back to a frequent occurrence during my pilgrimage. It would threaten to rain and I would pray the Lord would give me time to find a bridge to get under. Almost invariably, around the next bend would be a bridge…and the downpour would commence shortly after I was safely under it. -CJ)

Ordinary Miracles

By Donna Kelly

Last week it was pouring rain .  It was as if the angels were using buckets to make sure everything was doused.  I had to drop off a package that day.  When I got into my car, the car was in the garage so even though I knew it was pouring rain I neglected to grab a big umbrella.  I realized my mistake about half way there.

So, I said out loud in the car, “Gosh, Lord, it would be so awesome if this rain could stop – or at least slow down – really soon.”  I kept driving in a downpour.  When I parked next to the door of the UPS store though, the rain stopped.  Just ceased.  Not a drop!  I ran inside and handed the gal my parcel. Received my receipt and went back to the car.  The very second I sat down and closed my door the rain started pouring as it had for hours prior.

God paused that rain just for the three minutes I needed.  I don’t normally “bother” God with my day to day stuff, but I learned such a lesson about how much He cares for me – even in the little things like getting wet in the rain.  I need to remember to ask and trust more often in all things!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Ordinary Miracles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Singing (Hallelujah) in the Rain

  1. Kathleen in Camillus says:

    A similar event happened to me. I ride the bus to and from work, and I saw a large dark cloud moving toward the area of my home when I was almost there. I talk with God all the time, and asked Him if he could hold off the downpour until I reached the house, as it’s two blocks from where the bus lets me off (my umbrella isn’t much help in a wind-driven, rain pelting downpour). The first big drops started falling helter skelter as I approached my yard, and as soon as I closed the door behind me, the clouds let loose. It poured and poured for quite a while. I would’ve been soaked. What a wonderful Dad!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SteveBC says:

    Neat, Donna. That kind of thing has happened to me as well, although perhaps not quite so clearly defined. I always say thanks when I am alert enough to see such things occurring.

    In the light of the approaching Storm I pray that everyone here will find their lives filled with bridges and gaps whenever you need them, and especially when you *really* need them. 🙂

    Bon voyage, Charlie. I hope your trip to the Southeast works out very well indeed.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. CrewDog says:

    😉 As I’ve started asking for and looking for small miracles they seem to happen. Looking back over the decades I can’t help but believe that I’ve been watched over-n-helped out. I also believe that if we seek-n-pray …. it happens! My Rain story is from this past Saturday. It has been a weird-n-wet Spring around here and Saturday was supposed to be rainy. I hosted, at my shooting club, a Family Day PicNic/Fun Trap Shoot for one of the local Game & Fish Youth Teams. As I left the house, I asked The Lord to hold off the rain ……………….. it started raining just as we were locking up the gate on the way home!! ….. Small Miracle? …….. I’ll accept that it was.


    Liked by 2 people

  4. Mary says:

    Haha! I’m in FL and you would think it rains here all the time. The weather forecast was rain for a week (it hadn’t rained in a couple of weeks and I had asked God for rain many times) so I planted several trees thinking they would get watered. It rained for 2 days, except at my house. I literally watched the clouds go around where I live and at one point, the small area where my house is was a hole in the clouds that covered the whole county and I had no rain. I think we got a little bit of rain for 20 minutes. My pool was also low and needed to be filled. I told God I didn’t think it was funny. A couple days later it rained and filled up my pool and watered my trees. Now I’m waiting for rain again. I talked to a priest friend who lives in the forest and he said the same thing happened again. He said he was (literally) stomping mad for not getting rain, he had also planted trees for an orchard. He said all of a sudden there was thunder and lightening across the road from him that caught on fire. Because of his remote location, he kept getting transferred and dropped calls from 911 and the fire kept spreading. The fire trucks arrived about 15 minutes later (they were only 3 minutes away). He apologized and it rained the next day.


  5. Chris says:

    Love that….thanks for making me laugh.


  6. Diane says:

    it is amazing what he does when we ask and trust Him – sometime we just forget to ask.
    safe travles Charlie – i will see you Tues. the 23 in Ft. Lauderdale – I am bringing friend from church,who doesn’t know you one iota – so i have at least an hour drive to fill her in. Praise God for the little gifst He gives us. Love. I do.


  7. Bob says:

    A “Great Exorcism” was recently done in Mexico with the bishop and included a Cardinal present:
    Me thinks we need many such exorcisms done in our own country and in most countries in our poor world today! Just some small steps to ask that God would make his rule more present in our world.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mack says:

    Praying for you on your trips, Charlie!


  9. marie says:

    Godspeed on your travels, Charlie.


  10. Observer says:

    Sorry OT, but I thought more people might see this here since it’s the latest thread:

    Pope Francis’ Climate Change Encyclical Leaked Four Days Early by Italian Magazine

    Nasty times we live in with no respect for anyone.


  11. donna says:

    this is really great…..thank you Donna for sharing you little miracle. Thank you for noticing and realizing it!


  12. anne ovari says:

    Thank you Donna for sharing your lovely story. I have a rain story too that shows how much our heavenly Father takes such care of us. Whenever it threatens to rain and I have my usual huge load of washing on the line (we have two washing lines) I say a quick prayer to ask for the rain to be held off so I can get the washing in. Every time I have asked God, He has allowed the rain to pour just as I get that last piece of washing off the line. I can almost feel Him holding the rain back. I am so grateful and in awe that he would do that for me who fails so many times to show my love for Him. It may seem inconsequential to some but for me that is a wonderful sign of God’s loving care. If only we could take more notice of these everyday miracles.
    Praying for a safe and grace-filled trip Charlie. God bless everyone

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Erin says:

    We have been praying for a decent amount of rain to fall on central Texas for 6/7 years now. Most of the lakes have recently been filled. If they are not full yet, they should be by the end of the week. However, many families have been affected by the storms we’ve had. Please say a prayer for them.
    We got 2.5 inches today, and the tropical storm isn’t even here yet. Today I was taking a walk, and as I looked up to the sky, a giant raindrop hit me in the middle of the forehead. I thanked God for His personal blessing, and a block later it was pouring. I have always enjoyed walking in the rain (as long as I’m not going anywhere important)!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Joseph Jalsevac says:

    I got caught in a mighty downpour today. I was completely soaked, and I wondered to myself about what Charlie did when crossing the country. Did he get soaked too? Then I open my email today and read this entry. I had prayed for God to hold off the rain till I got safe back to my hotel, and it wouldn’t have surprised me if he did. But instead I had a very amusing time in the madness of the warm downpour, and God had given me the foresight to pack two pairs of shoes for my trip, so it was no catastrophe.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh, to keep me on my toes, the good Lord did see fit to allow me to be caught in three big downpours. Made me appreciate the bridges even more. One in May of 2011, while walking in Mississippi in a very wooded area, a storm was threatening. Sure enough, there was my bridge ahead. As soon as I ducked under it, the monsoon came. It was brief…the sun same back out, though it was late…and there was a liquid golden glow to the place with the sun glistening through the water droplets on all the greenery. Then, the whole hollow lit up with a profusion of fireflies. It was amazing – it was like a scene from Narnia – but no CGI was involved. It remains one of my most vivid images from the pilgrimage.

      Liked by 6 people

  15. joanp62 says:

    Years ago, when I was living in Florida, I was driving home and it started to rain very hard. Suddenly, my windshield wipers stalled. Turning the knob this way and that, nothing. Wouldn’t work. Slowing down and trying to find a place to pull over since I couldn’t see a thing, I began to recite a Hail Mary and instantly they started working again, and continued until I got home.
    As usual, I just wonder why it took my several seconds to even think to pray!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

