Scheduling, Marianitas, and Links – Quick Takes

Miami Coordinator John Bailey (left) and me with Marianitas Sisters Doris (left) and Elsie at their small Opa Locka, Florida convent.

Miami Coordinator John Bailey (left) and me with Marianitas Sisters Doris (left) and Elsie at their small Opa Locka, Florida convent.

By Charlie Johnston

All scheduling issues will now be handled through Mary, the woman who helps me from Denver. Without her, the Northeast would have been a confused mess. I just can’t handle it all when I am on the road. When I was doing politics, I almost never allowed candidates to have the final public say on their calendar. Though we would review it privately, if I did not approve an event, it was not approved. That spared the candidate having to say no to anyone, prevented errors from having multiple hands making final decisions – and if there was an error, I was to blame, not the candidate. Now Mary gets to be my Charlie. Her email is lovedbyhim1026@gmail.com. Anything I get, I will simply forward to her for disposition. One of the fun things about that system was that occasionally, someone would tell me the candidate had made the appointment – and I could say, “Well, he doesn’t have final say over it: I do.” The candidate would sheepishly (but secretly pleased) say, yes, that was true and he should have had them check with me. Hopefully, I won’t put Mary in that position, but if I do, I won’t begrudge her whatever pleasure she gets from it.

*******

On Thursday, I went to visit a house run by two Marianitas Nuns in Opa Locka, Florida. It was small, humble, and utterly amazing. They are originally from Central America. Ecuador, I believe. What they do with next to nothing is utterly amazing – and their joy and confident faith is a pleasure to enjoy. Though they spoke little English and I, little Spanish, we hit it off marvelously. The nuns take their inspiration from Saint Mariana de Jesus Flores of Ecuador.

Over the next week, I will write of my wonderful visits to both Atlanta and Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, but I must start with the Marianitas Sisters tomorrow. As you can see from the photo at the top, they make me look like a giant. Sr. Elsie, at right, looks solemn in the photo, but has a lively, impish sense of humor. I think the photos were the only time we were together she wasn’t laughing. Sr. Doris, at left, and I hit it off immediately. I promised her I would come back – and that when I do, I will have learned to speak Spanish. She promised me she will have mastered her English. I have several marvelous stories to tell you, but these simple nuns come first, for they have been taking the next right step and being a sign of hope since before I started school. The other giant in the photo above is John Bailey, who hosted my visit to South Florida and was my best friend in grade school. I introduced him and his wife and was best man at their wedding. Best merger I ever negotiated!

*******

A few links…

Many people wonder in the wake of the Supreme Court’s imposition of “gay marriage” on the land how soon it will be before the full-court press oppression of Christians begins. Deacon Greg Kandra, a regular columnist at Patheos, gives early evidence it has already begun.

***

Our friend, Bishop Rene Gracida, shares a story at his Abyssum website about the Learning Channel – which will air a show about a teenager who  changed genders at two years old. Oddly, the promo says the child’s parents supported the decision. How does one make such a decision at two years old? Obviously, the child’s parents must have IMPOSED the decision. The indoctrination continues. Thanks be to God it will soon all come down. Meantime, better cut The Learning Channel out of your children’s approved watch list.

***

I have to say…Bristol Palin is one tough nut. I am coming to have much admiration for her. The establishment media has never apologized for the sinister glee they took in making fun of her 9-1-1 call pleading for help when she was being mugged. CNN anchor Carol Costello called the tape of the frantic call, “the best minute and a half of audio we’ve ever come across,” then invited viewers to “sit back and enjoy…” Bristol Palin’s terror. Our modern media celebrities have absolutely no sense of shame or humanity, even as they shriek about micro-aggressions. Bristol is pregnant again – and has chosen to be publicly mocked by the left rather than execute her child. God bless her. Thanks be to God it will soon all come down. I can’t stomach much more of a “progressive” left that sues and destroys anyone who dares disagree with them – and has a belly laugh when a conservative young woman is mugged and it is caught on tape. Bring it on.

(Update – this article originally stated that Jazz surgically changed genders at two years old. That was incorrect. The child started being treated as a girl by her parents at two – and has since acted as one, while beginning hormone therapies to facilitate an eventual surgical change)

 

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Quick Takes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Scheduling, Marianitas, and Links – Quick Takes

  1. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Ok, just when I didn’t think I could be more shocked, I went to repost a Facebook message honoring the Solemnity of Sts. Peter and Paul, and while idly perusing the comments I notice a couple “Amen” type ones from people with rainbow flags on their profile picture! On a solidly Catholic web site dedicated to evangelization, no less! I am not blaming the website — they have always seemed solid to me. But how could someone read and support the mission of that worthy site and be so poorly catechized? Confusion reigns indeed, as Charlie wrote awhile back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • audiemarie2014 says:

      Monica, I follow Father Donald Calloway on facebook and he started (through another woman who he knows) a little movement of Catholics changing their profile pictures similar to the rainbow, but the background is of the Vatican flag colors and coat of arms, not the rainbow. Love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • charliej373 says:

        On my stats page on WordPress, host of this website, I noted it has put up a little rainbow banner across the top. You can’t see it. I was amused, but I have to wonder if they will eventually ban religious-based websites such as mine. I think I had best do some preliminary checking.

        Liked by 2 people

        • June1 says:

          God forbid. But over at Pelianito’s (Janet’s) site, she has been saying for years that one day we suddenly might find we can no longer communicate with one another, that for that reason–among others–we should always keep each other in our individual territory of souls and pray for all those within. I always assumed the sudden loss of communication would be due to an EMP or some other technical reason for internet to be lost but your comment, Charlie, makes me think that just like the mark of the beast being an ideology and not a literal mark, maybe we will be separated by man-made forces rather than natural ones. Unbelievable. Actually, no. These last few days… it’s more than believable.

          Like

          • audiemarie2014 says:

            June1, our internet service has just been restored after three days due to an outage (a construction worker ran over or cut a cable in the neighborhood), plus our land line was out, but just for one day, and my cell phone gets spotty coverage here in the country. It’s similar to when we lived on an island, conveniences and communication were unpredictable at times. It was accepted as normal on the island, and I guess it is here too, but I think differently about it now. For one thing, it makes a person very aware of how attached we are to our devices. I do think we are all being prepared in little ways for what is to come, like our elderly priest not being present for daily Mass last Friday (he forgot). It might seem weird, but this has helped me simmer down a tad because I do tend to freak out a bit at times. Believe me, I’m praying and praying for courage and practicing the TDL steps. My husband and I have had the opportunity to practice the right next step in a way I didn’t expect. A relative who has not spoken to us (yes, our families have distanced themselves from us because of our beliefs and have been cruel at times towards me) for two years called yesterday for comfort after receiving news of a friend’s death. Although she hasn’t been there for us when we lost a good friend, etc., I realized that, simple as I am, this is a time to be charitable and behave and love like a Christian, TDL, just what I am learning here from Charlie and all of you. God is being gentle with me right now and I am so thankful.

            Like

  2. johnmcfarm says:

    Just wanted to post a quick comment regarding when the persecution will begin…yes, it has begun already. However….I was watching Glenn Beck this morning, I generally don’t watch but I found solace in hearing his thoughts on the SCOTUS decision on redefining marriage. At one point he talked about how we will not go through separating the wheat from the weeds as foretold in the Bible. We will see churches who leave God’s Word for the world and many Christians fall away. What will be left will be the true Christians…the people of God. I don’t know why, but that struck me hard and gave me hope. Wanted to share that here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Matthew says:

    I have some respect for Glenn Beck’s insights and social commentary but we need pray that he returns to the Christian Faith.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CrewDog says:

    Matthew and Gang,
    I really don’t know that much about Mormons but I had some AF Friends and Comrades and they were some of the most decent, patriotic Americans and good neighbors I ever came across! … great designated drivers too 😉 They were never pushy about their Faith but lived by example. Yeah! Every couple of years their young missionaries come around bubbling over with …… but they are always nice people too. I tend to be more sensitive about religious, any kind, of bigotry as I, personally, have been the “Target” of anti-Catholic or anti-Military bigotry many years ago. I feel fortunate that I have spent a great deal of my life in areas where Catholics are a small minority as it has given me a perspective that people living in “Catholic Wombs” don’t have. I believe that a primary goal of God’s Storm Plan is to get people of Faith, Christian, Jew, Mormon, Muslim Hindu, …., to start singin’ off the same sheet of Gospel Music. Let’s ditch all the petty BS …… I don’t think we have time for it anymore!!

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 5 people

    • Matthew says:

      Crew Dog:
      You wrote: “I believe that a primary goal of God’s Storm Plan is to get people of Faith, Christian, Jew, Mormon, Muslim Hindu, …., to start singin’ off the same sheet of Gospel Music.” I am very confused. What does “people of Faith” mean? If you mean faith with a small ‘f’ than everyone on the planet has faith, even the atheist, who would have faith that there is no God. Mormons, Muslims and Hindus do not have Faith with a capital ‘F’. They may have human faith but they do not have the Theological Virtue of Faith. The Catholic Church IS the Kingdom of God on earth. If we are to sing Charlie’s song honestly, the “People of the Kingdom” are those Catholics and others who, as in the dream of St. John Bosco have tied themselves to the Barque of Peter (that is the Catholic Church) and to the twin pillars of the Eucharist and Mary – that should be the “same sheet of Gospel Music” for which we aim.
      I’d be really interested in your definition of “petty BS”. It would seem to me that those things that are necessary for Eternal Salvation are neither “petty” nor “BS”. I understand, respect and appreciate Charlie’s policy of welcoming all who wish to co-labor and stand for the defense of a traditional Judeo-Christian ethos. I am perhaps a little less sanguine about the policy of leaving all questions regarding resolution of divisions in God’s hands. I think that if we let a policy of social collaboration dampen our active work for ALL to embrace the fullness of the Catholic Faith than we are in fact failing to stand to our station. Obviously this engagement must take place with Prudence and Charity, for without Prudence and Charity, the Truth becomes merely another baseball bat in the hand of Pride. Nonetheless, we cannot forget that we are NOT save by our good works. We attain salvation in, by, and through accepting and living a faith-relationship with Jesus Christ. If we are not inviting everyone we meet by our words, deeds, attitude and demeanor into just such a relationship with Him we are not being a sign of hope to others.
      Do Mormons have many good social qualities? Absolutely. I, too, have been touched by some Mormon acquaintances. But at the end of the day, they, like the Hindus, are polytheists – they believe in many gods – and their baptisms are invalid. (In fairness, I think the Mormons are more a type of heno-theism – that would be a sort of tribal monotheism – there is one god for this planet but other planets have other gods.) (By the way I have also been touch by good, thoughtful atheists and am also aware of a gay male couple whose faithfulness to their relationship would shame many divorced heterosexuals.)
      I understand the desire, in the face of the Storm, to collaborate with all who are willing. But, as you said, the purpose of the Storm is to draw us all closer to God. There is no way to draw close to God except in, by and through His Son, Jesus Christ and ultimately the fullness of that relationship is only had in, by and through the Catholic Faith. If we weather the Storm but have not done all WE can, understanding that the gift of Divine Faith is God’s to give, to bring all we meet to Christ than we have failed.
      PAX,
      Matthew
      PS: Charlie, if this is too tendentious, feel free to edit or not post.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Irish7 says:

        I’ll take a stab at this, but Charlie and Crewdog please correct me if I’m wrong. I think CDs point is that we need to start living in solidarity with people of good will. The “us/ them” mentality…or that those with different doctrine are “less than” is what is lame. No one is saying doctrine doesn’t matter…of course it does! Or that we should not be a steady witness to the gift of our Catholic doctrine…of course we should! Living in solidarity (respect, cooperation, fellowship) is the best witness, and that is possible with people of good will. Scripture tells us to be ready to give explanation for our hope. It seems to me that explanations of hope would be most likely to unfold between people living solidarity anyway. Solidarity requires humility and docility to the Spirit. We can’t live it if we think we can only learn from catholic sources(making us always the teacher and never the pupil) or we treat all outside of the faith as if they are in error. They are. But so are we in different ways. Mr. Beck has certain gifts (and of course failings), but his gifts are not “less than” because he is outside of the Catholic Church. He seems to have spoken quite prophetically in the last several years, and I would take him on my team over lots of devout Catholics I know (if he would have me!). Error is error, but we need to operate spirit to spirit in the power of the Holy Spirit. God will take care of the rest in way that upholds a person’s dignity and does not inadvertently communicate to them that they have formerly dedicated their life to something false because they are not smart enough or holy enough to have discovered the one true Church.

        Liked by 3 people

      • charliej373 says:

        No, while I have a different perspective…defend truth which is held in trust in the Deposit of Faith by the Catholic Church, while embracing those specifically of any authentic Christian or Jewish faith…this is a perfectly honest and important perspective. There is a sort of important dynamic tension in differing views of honorable people that helps keep us on a plain path. I don’t mind it being stated with some vigor as long as it is not stated insultingly or with malice. You sometimes add a little heat to the discussion Matthew, but you always add some light.

        Like

        • CrewDog says:

          Hey Gang,
          I’m not smart enough to figure out God’s Plan and I’m not even a Shade-Tree Theologian … nor do I want to be .. That “ain’t my bag”! I find myself easily bored with long discussions about the finer points of anything I consider of minor importance or a distraction from what I consider important……….. probably due to my Type A/Hyper personality … Anyway!! … I wish The Father would put me on His e-mail list but as that is unlikely ;-( I’ll just soldier on with my simple beliefs. One of those simple beliefs is: The Father didn’t send Jesus down here to get crucified so that satan could still “grab” millions of non-Catholics/Christians. I’ll trust The Holy Trinity, in the coming Storm, to bring ALL people to Him be they of any faith or no faith ….. and I have No Doubt that He will do exactly that ….. mine is not to reason how.

          GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!!

          Liked by 1 person

    • Irish7 says:

      Heartily agree!

      Like

    • EllenChris says:

      Totally agree, Crew Dog! We are all in this together, and need to support each other in our Faith in Jesus Christ, Savior and Lord of all. We do not have any time at all for petty BS anymore. God save and keep you and us all. 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

  5. Mary Anne says:

    I’ve been looking to buy a Vatican flag on Amazon to fly this fourth of July (and all flag days!) in place of red white and blue. I used to really do it up with many little flags all over the yard for 4th, but not this year (!!!). It’ll be quite obvious to the neighbors. I moved my Immaculate Heart of Mary statue FRONT AND CENTER in my front yard (from my backyard) last Friday and shined a light on her. Maybe a very small american flag under her gaze may be right on. I am definitely not celebrating because I’m still sad. I like the Vatican flag idea for Facebook since fam members are flying the rainbow. Not sure I could figure out how to do it…I’m technically challenged and like it that way lol.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Judith says:

    Know that God’s rainbow is different than the ‘gay’ flag. 7 colors! just saying.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

      Thanks, Judith, I like that distinction.
      We had storms here last night, and at one point I thought, “It looks like rainbow weather!” And it was. So, I took a picture and posted it on Facebook with the simple heading, “The Father’s rainbow.” It was my own little witness to the true origin and meaning of that beautiful sign.

      Liked by 3 people

  7. Doug says:

    I am more determined than ever to become a deacon if the church accepts me.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Becky-TN says:

    So much to ponder, pray about, discern. It seems Facebook and other social media are the current tools that are exposing definitive “sides” in what is here and coming. Sadly, many who believe the new law is “no big deal”, “won’t effect anyone”, etc… are so wrong. When those they love (true Christians, family, friends, priests, religious) start having their businesses sued, imprisoned……then they will see that SIN EFFECTS EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING!

    Charlie, in your last post you mentioned the “black lives matter”. After the horrible murders in Carolina last week, I was talking with my 22 year old son about the horrendous act. He thinks the problem is guns and racism. While we agree to disagree on some points, I told him it is goes far beyond race and guns, but to humanity itself. This person (the shooter) believes one race of human beings is less than another. That is the problem. That somehow God creates a group of human beings as “less than” another. I told him we need to go deeper into the problem…back to the beginning. God’s creation – the creatures made in His own Image are so off track. We have forgotten who we are – children of the Most High God AND HOW TO ACT LIKE IT- Have mercy, Lord.

    Like

  9. Mack says:

    The sisters’ foundress, Sr Marianna de Torres, had interesting revelations which are Church approved, specifically about the 20th century. She speaks of the attacks on marriage and family, the great impurity among the clergy (sex abuse scandal…), etc. that are spot on.

    http://lasalettejourney.blogspot.com/2009/02/prophecy-of-sr-marianne-de-jesus-torres.html

    (I haven’t read other content on this blog so I don’t know what it’s like)

    Like

    • EllenChris says:

      There are TWO different “Marianna of Jesus” nuns who came from Quito.

      The first is Marianna of Jesus de Torres, who is the one who had the great prophetic visions of Our Lady.

      The other one, Marianna of Jesus de Flores, was born later and named after the first Marianna. She founded the order of sisters.

      It has been confusing for 300 years. God has a sense of humor. He used each of them powerfully, but in different ways.

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Ah, okay, Ellen. When I went to look it up in a little more depth, I could not see where the saint they are devoted to ever founded an order. I did not carefully study the other, because she was not who they honor – but you are telling me it is she who began the order to honor the saint. But I think you have it backwards: it is Saint Mariana de Jesus Flores and Sister Mariana de Jesus Torres – thus proving your point about the confusion – but it is the non-canonized, who has been recognized as venerable, who had the visions.

        Like

        • Mack says:

          Thank you for that clarification! Sorry I got them mixed up!

          Like

        • walunit says:

          Hello,
          Venerable Mother Mariana de Jesus Torres is who Michael Brown has posted a link on Spirit Daily this past weekend. https://www.olrl.org/prophecy/goodsuccess.shtml . This is and incredible read in light of what has been going on this past week.

          Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Thank you for that. When I get the article up I will link to that article of Michael’s…kind of cool he referenced that order just a few days after I visited with them. It is not a well-known order.

            Like

        • EllenChris says:

          You are right, Charlie. I got them reversed. I have a sense of connection with the Marianna who had the visions — and with “Our Lady of Good Success.” The other Marianna was much better known for a long time, eclipsing her patron. But the first Marianna predicted that she and her prophecies would be forgotten until the 20th century when they would be needed. And, that is exactly what has happened.

          Like

    • Jean says:

      Notice Mary says, “Freemasonry, which will then be in power.”

      This would certainly explain why the GOP goes numb when the Democrats make their moves.

      Like

  10. Joseph77 says:

    Rainbows: In Genesis 8:10-11, the dove returning to Noah’s Ark with an olive branch, was a sign the destructive waters of the Great Flood had subsided and the peace of God reigned once more upon the earth. Gen 9:11-17 speaks of God’s love and compassion for the human race in establishing a covenant with Noah who represents all future creation. God promised never again to permit Earth to be destroyed by water and established the rainbow as a sign of fidelity to His word. Thereafter, when a rainbow appears in the heavens after a storm, humanity should see in it the symbol of God’s eternal love and trust in His promise of salvation.

    Sirach 43:11 calls upon the reader to look at the beauty of the rainbow and bless the Creator for its majestic splendor and Sirach 50:7 describes Simon, a priest, as a rainbow appearing in a cloudy sky. St. John Apostle, Revelation 4:2-4, envisions a rainbow bright as an emerald, around the throne of God and Rev 10:1, he describes a mighty angel from Heaven with a rainbow around his head. When there is mention of the rainbow in Scripture, it is associated with the beauty, majesty and glory of God and a great sign for humanity to trust in His promise of eternal salvation and glory in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

    The rise of the new-old Sodom=y and Gomorrah with the rainbow for its flag and its unconstitutional “right-to-marry” by the Supreme Court, is the satan’s two-fold mockery of God’s promise of eternal salvation in Jesus Christ and the sacrament of the marriage between a man and woman as symbolic of the union of Christ and His Church. We know how it will all end: The victory of Jesus Christ through the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart of Mary and the apocalyptic divorce of satan and all his minions from creation into the everlasting fires of hell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth DeLonay says:

      I have been trying to get in my head how to say what you pretty much just did….God created man and woman Marriage is symbolic of Christ and His Church….He has let His people stray very far in hopes of bringing them to Him, but the one thing He can not accept is the very mockery of His purpose of creation…that is why I believe He will act very quickly to bring it all to an end… People sometimes say that the places destroyed by God because of homosexuality, really were not as they were also immoral and causing wars and very arrogant….that is why they believe they were destroyed….well I don’t believe any place would go from being moral and God loving to homosexual. They were much like our country has become…all of the above and more…..it is that the final unforgivable sin is a total rejection of God and His purpose…I am sure it will all come crashing down very soon….

      Like

  11. Jose says:

    The assertion that Jazz Jennings surgically changed genders at age two is completely inaccurate. Jazz has not undergone any surgeries at all. In fact, Jazz has not even began hormone supplementation/therapy yet. The only changes have been in the manner of dressing, letting the hair grow out, and piercings.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2247228/Jazz-Jennings-Transgender-teen-opens-dating-time.html

    Like

    • Jose says:

      Although Jazz probably already started hormone therapy by now, since that article is 3 years old.

      Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks Jose. I have corrected and updated the piece. I still wonder how a child at two could possibly make a decision about wanting to be treated as a different gender than what they were born as. I can’t help but think it was more likely an issue with the parents than the child.

      Like

  12. QUOTE: “I have to say…Bristol Palin is one tough nut. I am coming to have much admiration for her. The establishment media has never apologized for the sinister glee they took in making fun of her 9-1-1 call pleading for help when she was being mugged.”

    That must be the “war against women” they were talking so much about? Sad.

    One cannot blame the girl after the US gliberal media attacks her non stop. A young soul will seek some kind of consolation, affection. I am really glad that she decided not to abort. I am sure that baby is going to be much loved.

    Good comments, Charlie.

    Like

  13. Anne says:

    Noah has been mentioned as the most popular name in year and a bit. ……… Hmm….. Living in the times of Noah.

    Like

  14. Dave says:

    Charlie’s comment on The Learning Channel has resonated with me. They even have stopped the “learning” reference and just go by TLC now. This is a virus that has spread throughout all of the formerly educational channels/networks. I was a huge fan of The History Channel because it showed the history of many conflicts and how every square foot of this earth is what it is because someone had the power to take it and keep it. I used to hate history in school, but came to see how many roots are contained in history. Now it’s just a collection of mindless “reality” shows which suck out your brain.

    The same trend has happened with ALL of the channels I used to be able to take away something from. Discovery, National Geographic, Animal Planet. The list goes on. It seems a diabolical plot that every channel that had content that would add to your brain has become a series of mundane “reality” shows about odd characters of some sort or another. Then there’s shows like Becoming Us on ABC Family which is a “reality” show about a family with a transgender dad, trying to normalize this. ABC Family was founded originally by Pat Robertson and was The Family Channel. Now since ABC has taken it over, their slogan is “A New Kind Of Family”.

    All a big part of the spiritual warfare as TV sets have gone from 19 inch snowy screens to increasingly bigger vivid high definition. We’ve gone from Mayberry to Cougartown, and Father Knows Best to Modern Family. Lament over…

    Like

  15. Mary Wilkins says:

    Whenever I see or read about the people like these Nuns, my faith in the humanity gets restored. It is great to see that some people are selflessly working for GOD and humanity in this selfish world.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: Walking on Water – Musings | The Next Right Step

Leave a Reply

