Homily by Bishop Rene Gracida – Quick Take

bishop gracida and st. john paul

St. John Paul with Bishop Rene Gracida

By Charlie Johnston

I was delighted to get this YouTube Video of our friend, Bishop Rene Gracida, giving a homily that was originally for the Fullness of Truth Conference in Corpus Christi, Texas. At the last minute, reigning Bishop Michael Mulvey agreed to celebrate the Mass. Bishop Gracida gave the homily anyway at a private chapel. One has to love his erudition and his straightforward, unapologetic orthodoxy. And who could believe he is 92 years old? Thanks be to God this wonderful apostle continues to boldly proclaim the Gospel with such clarity and fruitful abundance. When I travel to Texas, I can’t wait to meet him. Though we have talked extensively, primarily through email, we have never met face to face. I look forward to it. But if he challenges me to a game of tennis, I may have to decline: I’m getting too old for that.


If you haven’t been following Michael Brown on Spirit Daily lately, you really should. The stuff he has been writing personally has been profoundly insightful. I think he is struggling with some of the events of the day, and so he is digging deep – and we are all beneficiaries of it. I am speaking now of what he writes himself, though if you watch his site, you will not miss much of what is going on in the world of faith.


I will have an article up later today about my Atlanta visit. It is wonderful to see so many people simply doing what is right in front of them, what they can. These will be the true signs of hope as the Storm revs up to hurricane force.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Church Governance, Discernment, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Homily by Bishop Rene Gracida – Quick Take

  1. Jeff says:

    Keep going Charlie and may God bless you. We are counting on agents of heaven like you to keep bashing forward towards the light. Jeff


  2. Friends, I just spent two days at the Family Life Conference at Lac St. Anne in Alberta. Keynote speaker was none other than Dr. Scott Hahn. We were blessed to have three talks from him that first day. Second day speaker was Dr. Edward Sri. I cannot tell you what a blessing these two days were for me. I could not attend the rest of the conference due to family commitments, but I was rejuvenated in spirit in those two days, praised be Jesus! But I daresay equally as important as the speakers was the abundant blessing of being with 1000 or so faithful Catholics (perhaps they were not all Catholic by rite, but they were Catholic in spirit or they wouldn’t have been there). It felt very safe, like a vast family gathering with relatives I have never met. I was refreshed in spirit. Praised be Jesus!

    It also served to give me great hope that no matter how bad things get, there are good faithful souls out there, people I can count on. I really felt upheld by God in this knowledge. It was his way of reassuring me that in the storms we face daily and in the greater Storm to come, HE WILL BE WITH US.

    Another blessing of the conference was that the Thursday morning Mass was Ukrainian rite, which I had never seen before. What majesty and reverence! What riches of symbolism! Wow! If you’re like me, you don’t often consider the Eastern rite churches, but they too are our true brothers and sisters in full communion, the other lung of the church as St. JPII called them. It was beautiful!

    Refreshed in spirit. Thank you Jesus! Praise you Lord of all creation!

    Liked by 7 people

    • Such a great blessing, Janet, and thank you for sharing something in the vein of Christian unity. It’s such an important topic and has been a pressing theme on my heart for a while.

      I was walking down the street this morning and came across a guy pruning a tree in his front yard and raking. “They’re such a great shade tree,” I said, “but what a mess they can make!” He laughed and agreed. No doubt we both appreciate the shade, but they create a great deal of work if you like your desert gravel to be clean and tidy. Of course the desert wilderness area just up the street is au naturale, and we never have any challenge appreciating the scenery just the way God laid it out.

      I encounter all sorts of people wherever I go and see an endless variety. Out running, I see other runners, walkers, hikers, bikers… Sometimes I get a chuckle out of the biking groups with their bright spandex racing outfits. It’s like a little Tour de France whizzing by, plastered with various brand sponsors like you see on the Tour, but they’re just hobbiests of course, with some slickly marketed gear they purchased down at the local sporting goods store.

      No matter, I get it, and eventually push that initial thought out of the way to give them the benefit of a doubt. Hey, we’re all just enjoying exercise in the great outdoors.

      True, I come from a place where we weren’t much concerned about the gear and the trappings. Whether we were playing baseball, attending school, going to the zoo, running through the woods… whatever, it was always in a t-shirt, jeans and worn pair of sneakers, and we all felt pretty authentic nonetheless.

      I’m pretty much the same today, but really do appreciate a good pair of running shoes like the serious runners you see in the marathons. Even so, some of those folks who are the best in the world got there by running barefoot in the high elevations of South America and Africa. Go figure.

      Some days I just feel like we’re a bunch of different flowers trying to make the case for what’s the best species of flower. It’s the red rose, by the way… LOL. I think I remember Charlie mentioning his fondness for orchids. Maybe you like daisies, but I seem to remember you even mentioning yellow dandelions once. Heck, I’ve never seen a flower I didn’t appreciate once I took a good look at it, and you probably all feel that way.

      On our own, we’re pretty weak. Together, united in Christ…

      Jesus, we trust in You!

      God Bless,


      Liked by 1 person

      • Love your ruminations MP! Well I can’t say that the dandelion is my favorite flower, but it is not without abundant merit. If any of you want to read the dandelion article MP is referring to, it can be found here: https://joyofpenance.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/the-lowly-dandelion/

        Prepper point of the day: there are lots of ways to eat dandelions. Something to keep tucked in the back of your mind. They are certainly abundant! Who knows but that God put them in our way just for this time!🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • I remember you talking about dandelions but couldn’t remember what it was about. Thanks for the link and refresher! Seems like one of those Holy Spirit moments in spite of me.

          Just wanted to clarify that I wasn’t comparing myself to a rose, obviously. Just making a little joke at my own expense because it was an absurd stretch.

          Come Holy Spirit!


        • ann says:

          Just a word in defense of dandelions–up here in the frozen north they are the first flowers that the bees can access for food after the long winter so it is really important not to cut them away too soon when they bloom. I know that makes the yard look weedy in spring but think what you are doing for our poor beleaguered bees.😉

          Liked by 1 person

      • charliej373 says:

        Phalaenopsis Orchids, Michael…I love them.


        • Ha! Charlie, I had to look that up. Thanks for the precision I’ve come to expect by specifying the genus. I see there’s around 60 species. That’s a dandy!

          Out in the desert, I sometimes don’t know what I’m looking at so try to look it up. Occasionally it’s just a weed.


          • the phoenix says:

            I was once at a craft fair selling my artwork. I had a photo of flowers prominently displayed. Another vendor, an older man selling metalwork, came over and started laughing. “Don’t you know what that is? Them’s weeds, ma’am!” Okay, but you know what? That picture of weeds has been on display in an art gallery and in two other art shows. It’s all in how you see what you’re looking at.


          • charliej373 says:

            I love that, Phoenix. Reminds me of how eagerly I waited for the vast green field across from my childhood home to explode in a sea of yellow each spring the morning after the dandelions bloomed. The arrival, of course, came only once a year – and I eagerly awaited it as a child.


  3. Donette says:

    Charlie, I thought you might like to read this. We truly need not worry. The Rock of Peter will stand, scourged, tortured and crucified, but it will in the end stand.



    • CrewDog says:

      I have no doubt that after The Storm the refined by fire Church will survive. Your above article would make one think that Protestants will mostly “cave” to the Gay (Left) Agenda while the Catholics will hold firm in the Faith. I hate to be the one to tell you that 50% of “Catholics” have already “caved” including a sizable % of Clergy! You would have to ignore the News and election polls of the past 25 years to think otherwise. I’m expecting the Post Storm Church will consist of people in all Denominations including many who were not particularly religious pre-Storm. Time will tell! Happy Independence Day😉

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        I have said before that the unity to come will be more like a joyful family reunion where everyone brings a dish rather than one side winning and the other losing. Protestants will regain the foundation and authority they lost at the Reformation, while we Catholics will regain some charisms and graces we have neglected and lost sight of. All will win. Would that all of our clerics on the Catholic side were as bold and uncompromising as Franklin Graham. But I reckon many Protestants wish their clerics were all as courageous and steadfast as Archbishop Cordileone. It is a family reunion that is coming for us all, not a surrender ceremony.

        Liked by 5 people

        • Kati says:

          Ohhhhhhhhh, Charlie….I fully believe that you are absolutely correct about this! There are so many really good, gifted people among the Protestants and Evangelicals!

          LIKE! 😉


      • Donette, your thoughts reminded me of the dream of St. John Bosco which I found again here: http://www.miraclerosarymission.org/bosco.html

        All hands on deck! Let’s plead for the intercession of St. Michael, patron saint of mariners.

        Crewdog, I love your candor. Frankly, I think being frank is a lost virtue. I’ve always felt that I’d rather be slapped across the face with the truth than kissed by a lie. Problem is I’m going to be fixated for bit now on the rats jumping ship, and it’s going to take a bit of an effort to be still again. Now you know why I have to run so much. Not your fault, of course, just something I have to work on.

        What a bunch of characters we all are, and Jesus loves us each beyond measure.

        God bless the whole crew,


        Liked by 2 people

        • Donette says:

          St. John Bosco, one of our more famous priest prophets. Yes, Michael Patrick. He is well known by me and many others. Did you see the picture of Pope Benedict XVI when he was in the boat streaming down the river (I can’t remember the name of the river in Germany)? A lot of the websites had that picture with the caption that it reminded each of the Dream of St. John Bosco. I should have saved that picture, but I didn’t.


  4. L says:

    Charlie, I so love that image (hope!) of the family reunion. It just makes me so happy. We all need each other and we all can learn from each other.

    Janet, thank you for sharing that encouraging reflection on your experience at the conference!! I find myself craving something like that to attend and am praying to the Holy Spirit to lead me!

    MP, my sister and her family just moved to Arizona- Scottsfield area. I am looking forward to visiting them there and seeing for myself the kind of landscape you describe!

    The Joy of the Lord is our Strength! Keep the lamps full friends❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Donette says:

    Believe me Crewdog when I say I surely do know the state of a great number of Catholics on matters from abortion right through to the present Scotus decision. In Father Gobbi’s messages, Our Lady said that the Church was in Apostasy and that was quite a few years ago that I read that.

    I sent the article because some of the “stuff” in it regarding the various Protestant sects…eg. Baptists or Evangelicals surprised me. I thought they would hold firm…all of them, but no, I guess not.

    Charley, there are some things about private revelation which is like walking in quick sand. That is why I am so patient with many of the visionaries, locutionists, inspirational thoughts etc. I like to wait and see which way God is moving before I throw in my support; or as a priest once said to me…”I wait to see which way the current is flowing before I toss in my canoe.”

    So, Charley, in your reply above in talking about Protestants did you have a typo that the word should have been LOST and not LUST? Just checking.

    Jesus told Luisa that they all…even the Muslims would become Catholic… If I am correct, Muslims speak often on the Will of God. Maybe their teaching will come into play post storm and rescue in their conversion. The Catholic faith would be universal…the One Fold, One Shepherd spoken of in Scripture. Please God, let it be so. Give Him praise and glory. Fiat! and Amen And as it is written; so let it be done.


    • charliej373 says:

      Good catch, Donette. I did, indeed, mean to write LOST.


    • Kati says:


      You said. “I sent the article because some of the “stuff” in it regarding the various Protestant sects…eg. Baptists or Evangelicals surprised me. I thought they would hold firm…all of them, but no, I guess not.” I think this is exactly what will cause many of them to take another look at the Catholic Church. It’s the same thing that has happened to several Episcopalians, etc….especially after their churches left the obvious teachings of the Sacred Scriptures. They will be COMING HOME. ;-D

      We must pray that God’s great mercy will call the rest…


      • charliej373 says:

        I will say I was surprised when some of the Megachurch Evangelicals started finding ways to “discover” that they supported gay “relationships” after all. It seems to be a growing trend. A former Evangelical seminarian who converted to Catholicism, comments bluntly but I think, rather insightfully on it here. I was disappointed, but not surprised, when some of our Catholic authorities started trying to accommodate themselves to impoverished definitions of family and marriage (see the German Bishops under Cardinal Kasper), but I rather expected Evangelicals to stay solidly firm. Certainly, men like Rev. Franklin Graham and Rev. John Hagee are, but many Evangelical institutions are, surprisingly, rushing to cave in to Caesar on the matter. One advantage we have is the Eucharist and a foundation for authority. Something I realized when I was still a Protestant is that the faith of a Congregation is almost entirely dependent on the charisma of its Pastor. For Catholics, it is an advantage to have a charismatic Pastor, but even where it is lacking, we still have the Eucharist and the larger Church community. But this, too, is God separating the wheat from the chaff. There is plenty Catholic chaff out there, but I am a bit taken aback at how much Evangelical chaff there is. However clever the chaff thinks it is, it will soon be all blown away by the winds of this Storm – and woe to those who thought they could rewrite God’s word. Unless they repent, it would have been better for them if they had never been born.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Alphonsus says:

          Charlie & company, Phil Lawler at Catholic Culture has a short, pointed piece on the subject of the American bishops’ statements after the Obergefell decision. He includes a link to “dozens of statements. Many off them are not especially encouraging in comparison with the Vatican’s statement from 12 years ago. What are they afraid of?



          • charliej373 says:

            Well, Alphonsus, I give people some time when stark events start cascading. Many who will be heroically courageous are stunned and need a little time to get their sea legs. Some will cower and knuckle under – and try to find clever explanations as to why their surrender is actually “courageous” or “tolerant.” Right now, I don’t know who is who, so I don’t press them too hard. BUT, I did note a few days ago that Bishop Gracida, at his website, Abyssum, is highlighting many Bishops and Priests who have already set their jaws like flint and acting with courageous resolve to defend both the faith and the faithful. I strongly encourage everyone here to drop a short handwritten note of thanks to some of these. You can’t get them all (thanks be to God there are enough where that is the case), but if everyone would choose one or two at random to send a note to thanking them for their courage and commitment, it would do a world of good in fortifying them and spreading that ethos. In this caustic age, we are often too quick to condemn and to slow to congratulate. If we reversed it, we would all be amazed at how much more fidelity there would be. I try to send a quick note of thanks out once a week to one who is stepping up.

            Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan, MI says:

    Hi Charlie, your mention of a family reunion fits so well with memories of the 4th of July.
    After this past week, I guess I am feeling a bit nostalgic, wishing things could be different. Yet,I am fully resigned that things must come to pass. The 4th of July stirs up wonderful memories of family cookouts, Parades, decorating bikes with streamers, sparklers, and flags… Lots of flags.

    Below is a link to an endearing true story titled, “The American Flag.” This was broadcast today on Ave Maria Radio. It’s a heartwarming story about Robert G. Heft, a 17 year old from Lancaster, Ohio who designed our 50 star flag.


    As I listened, I longed for the great country the United States once was. I am so grateful that last summer our family took an Americana road trip with dear friends. Our first stop was the Abraham Lincoln presidential library in Springfield, IL (Nod to you, Charlie). Then onto the iconic Field of Dreams, the Badlands, and Mount Rushmore. The kids enjoyed every minute. I’m glad they got to experience these truly great American sites.

    Below is a clip from the movie, Field of Dreams… the great monologue delivered by Terrence Mann (James Earl Jones) about Baseball. I still love this movie.

    “The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It’s been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt, and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game, is a part of our past, Ray. It reminds us of all that once was good, and it could be again. Ohhhhhhhh, people will come, Ray. People will most definitely come.”

    May God Bless, and keep safe you and your families as we celebrate and reminisce about this once truly great nation. “It reminds us of all that once was good, and it could be again.”

    Rev 21:5, “And He who sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new.”


    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks for stopping at Springfield, Susan. I do love my home state…so sad it has fallen so far. Did you go to Lincoln’s Tomb and rub his nose? I think every schoolchild in Illinois has been there and rubbed the nose on the bust of Lincoln. It is our tradition.


      • Susan, MI says:

        Hi, Charlie, yes, we did go to Lincoln’s tomb. Very impressive. And, yes, we all rubbed his nose. 🙂
        As you exit the tomb, there is a plaque with an excerpt from Lincoln’s Second Inaugural address, March 4, 1865. As I read it last year, I remember thinking how surreal it would be to have a president in these times speak of God as Lincoln spoke of the Almighty to his divided countrymen. Oh, how far we have strayed. I echo Judith’s sentiment exactly.
        Now that I read it again, I find this speech to be shockingly parallel as Lincoln encourages
        “malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right as God gives us to see the right, let us strive on to finish the work we are in, to bind up the nation’s wounds, to care for him who shall have borne the battle and for his widow and his orphan, to do all which may achieve and cherish a just and lasting peace among ourselves and with all nations.”

        This sounds amazingly familiar.. Charity for all, care for veteran, widow, orphan, and strive to finish the work we are called to. Wow… I think Ol’ Abe would have been a Stepper!! 🙂

        Here is text as written on the plaque in the tomb:

        The Almighty has His own purposes. “Woe unto the world because of offenses; for it must needs be that offenses come, but woe to that man by whom the offense cometh.” If we shall suppose that American slavery is one of those offenses which, in the providence of God, must needs come, but which, having continued through His appointed time, He now wills to remove, and that He gives to both North and South this terrible war as the woe due to those by whom the offense came, shall we discern therein any departure from those divine attributes which the believers in a living God always ascribe to Him? Fondly do we hope, fervently do we pray, that this mighty scourge of war may speedily pass away. Yet, if God wills that it continue until all the wealth piled by the bondsman’s two hundred and fifty years of unrequited toil shall be sunk, and until every drop of blood drawn with the lash shall be paid by another drawn with the sword, as was said three thousand years ago, so still it must be said “the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.”
        With malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right as God gives us to see the right, let us strive on to finish the work we are in, to bind up the nation’s wounds, to care for him who shall have borne the battle and for his widow and his orphan, to do all which may achieve and cherish a just and lasting peace among ourselves and with all nations.
        Excerpt from Lincoln’s Second Inaugural address, March 4, 1865


    • Judith says:

      Thanks Susan, I needed that, all of it, and the remembering of Kate Smith and her love of country and how she inspired us to love it too. I thank God today, not so much for the greatness and goodness of our nation, but, for God’s greatness and goodness and mercy towards us. “Stay with us, Lord”, I mean, keep us with you ,Lord.


  7. Daniel O’Connor sounding like a broken record time😉

    We must never forget that “extra Ecclesiam nulla salus” (outside the [Catholic] Church there is no salvation) is a *dogma* — meaning that if we are not going to hold fast to it, then there is no sense holding fast to the Trinity, the Eucharist, the Immaculate Conception, or any other dogma. Dogma is an all-or-nothing deal; rejecting one equals rejecting them all.

    Of course, throughout history there have been many who have misinterpreted this dogma to teach something it never did — that non-Catholics are devoid of grace and go to hell. Nonsense! Vatican II cleared that up nicely. Sadly there is a huge traditionalist camp today refusing to accept that, and instead choosing de-facto schism.

    But the dogma remains. It will remain as long as God is God.

    I am sure most here are well aware of Vatican II (specifically, Lumen Gentium paragraph 14) teaching “They could not be saved who, knowing that the Catholic Church was founded as necessary by God through Christ, would refuse either to enter it, or to remain in it.”

    If Protestants, Jews, Muslims, Mormons, Buddhists, etc., are to continue to exist in their current religions/denominations, it is not because they are intrinsically correct and justified in remaining so; rather it is *solely* due to invincible ignorance. When at once ignorance disappears, it is impossible to be (for example) a Protestant of good will, for lacking ignorance would necessarily entail becoming a Catholic.

    Now I’m as ecumenical as they come. For one, I love participating in 40 Days for Life events with the wonderful people over at Christ Church. And — be ready to be scandalized — I am not even trying to convert them to be Catholics! Obviously I hope they do become Catholics (see the above paragraphs!), but that does not mean I have to necessarily try to make everyone a Catholic myself. I am even willing to consider them full allies (or whatever other word you want to use) in the current apocalyptic strife. So I’m not specifically disagreeing with anything Charlie, or anyone else here, has said.

    But I am a real big fan of keeping our principles straight. Whether from our own speculation of what the Triumph will be like, or even (apparent — cf. Galatians 1:8) from the mouth of an Angel from Heaven, we must never permit ourselves to be wooed away from dogma. Sorry to repeat myself yet again with this comment, it just breaks my heart to think of a Catholic falling into a line of thought that goes something like “Hmm. If Protestants and Jews are full heirs to the promises, then they must be correct in staying right where they are. God must desire that. If God desires that, then these religions must be just as valid as Catholicism. Maybe I should consider converting. Maybe I should at least discourage them from becoming Catholic.” Now Charlie of course has never and would never say that. But a subtly flawed principle making its way into the mind of a weak Catholic can have disastrous effects. We who are “strong” must always remember — in what we say publicly — that a little poison might not hurt us, but it might cause the destruction of a weaker Catholic.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Doug says:

      I love our protestant brothers. It is through them that I came to know the Lord and developed a love of scripture. It was through a wonderful example of a holy Catholic priest that I came into the fullness of the Catholic church. Romans 2:11-16 speaks to me in this regard.


    • Years ago I had a friend who was a convert from the Baptist faith. I remember making an offhand comment about our Protestant brethren, something to the effect of “At least we know that if they are well-meaning and honest in their belief that they are doing God’s will they will be saved.” To my surprise he became very angry. He said “You cradle Catholics make me so mad! Do you realize what you are saying? Look, all your life you have had this magnificent feast of the Mass and Holy Eucharist. It’s the Supper of the Lamb. It’s like a huge feast in a big castle that we are all are invited to. While I was sitting on the steps of the castle eating my crackers and cheese, not knowing what was going on inside, you swept past me in your fur coat on your way in to the banquet. You paused for a moment and then said ‘Why bother going to the trouble of explaining it to him? He has his crackers and cheese. He wont starve.’ and then went on in. Thank God for the Catholic friend who stopped, grabbed me by the shoulders, turned me around, pointed through the door at the feast and said “LOOK! That is for YOU!”

      Liked by 5 people

    • Point well taken, Daniel. I’ve seen it happen just the way you’ve illustrated and, at least for my part, have reviewed my comments in detail to identify any potential missteps. Of course everyone has also shared at great length the many other ways the Catholic Faith has been undermined in souls (attacks that aren’t so subtle) and it’s all very sad on a massive scale.

      I’ve also witnessed a certain kind of heavy-handedness and some overly complicated approaches with delicate souls with equally devastating consequences. This didn’t happen to me, since I had the great blessing of solid Catholic parents and an equally solid foundational upbringing in the Catholic Church, but I’ve had it happen to loved ones. Maybe that’s why I take my particular approach when I’m aware of the diverse audience. I often find that a little thimble full of charity goes a long way with everyone, but yes, we’re all still working towards that perfection of charity in ourselves… and of course sometimes things get misconstrued.

      All this talk and I just have to swing full circle to Charlie’s mention of the family reunion in Heaven and all the potluck dishes. I just don’t want to be the lazy guy that swings by the convenience store at the last minute to grab a bag of chips –– not when I’m capable of whipping up a mean potato salad.

      Good thing we just need to give our little “yes”, then… Jesus, I trust in You!

      Liked by 3 people

    • A Quiet Person says:

      Thank you Daniel for having the nerve to proclaim this so boldly. Very few people do. I think there are two ways of interpreting this dogma. First is the way we usually think of it – that a person must be a baptized and practicing Catholic in order to be saved. That is the unchangeable dogma that makes people choke, stagger, and put their hands over their ears and since Vatican II we have not dealt with it squarely as we had in the past. The second possibility is that it is through the intercession of the Catholic Church (no other religion) that others are saved. In other words, there is no salvation outside of the Catholic Church – either a person is Catholic or the Church is interceding for them and it is through the Catholic Church’s intercession they are saved. What happens at the moment of a person’s death, when they meet their Maker remains a mystery. Meanwhile, as you pointed out, the dogma remains.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Irish7 says:

      I’m getting very excited for that potluck reunion Charlie! And of course agree with your point and reminder on dogma, Daniel. I don’t understand why that teaching is a stumbling block for some. I would think all could agree that knowingly and willfully remaining in error is a grave matter. Maybe I am naive, but I can’t imagine this is a common problem for serious Christians…I mean, what thoughtful and sincere believer willfully remains in error? Then again, I do worry about the varying degrees of willfulness that may lurk in the shadows of invincible ignorance. God, in His mercy, knows hearts and minds and limitations and obstacles.


      • charliej373 says:

        My Dad, who was an Evangelical Protestant minister at the time, once asked me if I believed there would only be Catholics in heaven. This was an important question because some iterations of his faith tradition had maintained only their fellow denominationalists could get to heaven – and he had broken with them over that.

        I told him, “I believe the fullness of truth is held in trust by the Catholic Church in the Deposit of Faith. Since all will know the truth in heaven, I believe that all will be Catholic there. But I believe that many of those heavenly Catholics will have been Methodists, Lutherans, Jews, Baptists and even some atheists during their sojourn on earth.”

        He gave me his twinkly little boy grin and said, “Good answer.”

        Liked by 3 people

  8. L says:

    Trying to see if my comments are going through… Having trouble- it’s probably me 😜


  9. L says:

    Love, love love the comment about the family reunion! This is such a joyful, encouraging thought for all of us. Something to pray for and hope for!

    Janet, so glad to hear how uplifting your conference was! God is so good. Your sharing was so welcome and uplifting to me as well!! Yes, truly there are many good souls all around us and in the world but we are busy doing the next right thing, most of us, therefore we are not the controlling , busy body elite media megaphone so it seems we are nonexistent. God knows us. I believe we might be His best kept secret 😊

    MP , I am looking forward to being able to come see your beautiful state of Arizona since my sister and her family just moved to Scottsdale.
    Chins up comrades, Pray the Rosary , all will be well
    Love to all

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Phoenix, On the thread of weeds and flowers, your comments certainly inspire a worthy contemplation.

    I’ve got a plant in the backyard that blooms with some incredible flowers, yet everyone generally insists it’s just a weed. Not sure why because I’m not a botanist, but the flowers sport bright yellows, magentas, oranges and reds, and no two are alike.

    Jesus gives us the parable of the weeds among the wheat and also says, “I will open my mouth in parables, I will announce what has lain hidden from the foundation of the world.”

    Janet shared a link above with a wonderful parable and meditation on the lowly dandelion which many generally have come to accept as a weed, but she sure makes a good case for the various useful characteristics of the plant… and what kid hasn’t picked a dandelion bouquet for mom at some point? Even the little rascals like me!

    I’m also thinking of Revelation 21 (The New Heaven and the New Earth). No mention of flowers there, just the Tree of Life, but if I think in terms of souls, then I can certainly envision your flower in your photo, Janet’s dandelions and my backyard flowers among the roses, orchids, daisies and such.

    I’d like to think about it some more, but I know one thing for sure. I don’t want to find myself in a position where Jesus has to rebuke me with something along the lines of, “Hey, buddy, that’s not a weed!”

    Jesus, we trust in You.



    • Donette says:

      What? In your garden, Michael Patrick, no sunflowers who grow tall and keep their faces toward the sun and follow it as it crosses the heavens, like fervent souls whose faces are turned always toward the Eternal Creator? And then you need pansies. These are the flowers whose legend says that God thought Eve was so lovely, He imprinted her face upon the bloom of this tiny flower so that she would never be forgotten.


  11. Observer says:

    Think this lovely rendition fits in so well with the need for many prayers these days for our country…esp. today, the 4th:

    Condoleezza Rice And Violinist Jenny Oaks Baker Perform ‘Amazing Grace’ In Support Of Wounded Warrior Project…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Donette says:

    Danny boy O’Connor! Thank you, thank you, thank you for speaking of the dogma “Outside the Catholic Church there is no salvation.” I probably have no need to ask you the question; “Do you know how many Catholics have been persecuted over that dogma since ecumenism has been presented?” Progressives in the church, like those who accept and push the OK. button for same sex marriages, pulverized those who held to that particular dogma. It was during those many long ago years when I kept sucking my thumb wondering what was going on in the church.

    From my insignificant little town location, I am blowing hugs and kisses to our Lord for the graces and light He has given you, Daniel.


  13. Doug says:

    Beautiful. My Jesus hav mercy on this country!


  14. Donette says:

    Charley, I am sending this for your perusal. I was linked here via the website, Signs and Wonders. I don’t know this person or anything about him. Now don’t yell at me, Charley, but can you tell me if this might coincide with what has been shown to you? I ask because I truly have pondered over what my next right step should be.



    • charliej373 says:

      This goes into a lot of unnecessary detail…much of which will cause people to think they can plan for precisely what is going to happen. I think that is a mistake.


  15. Donette says:

    This is the first time I am seeing this, Charlie. I never kept my nose in investments but this is definitely different from what I have heard before. I can’t make up my mind if this is a truth or if it is some investment firm’s way of garnering business.



    • charliej373 says:

      This is from Stansberry & Associates, which markets investment advice publications. They advertise very heavily on many serious publications and try to make those advertisements look as much like independent articles as they can. There is some good insight in what they write from time to time, but the founder had some troubles with the SEC sometime back…and it did look as if, at least, he had vastly exaggerated a few things in his newsletters. I do not subscribe to them.


      • SteveBC says:

        Charlie, I have subscribed to Porter Stansberry’s various publications for a number of years. The story about him getting into trouble with the SEC has been something I have paid attention to. As far as my researches have determined, the action against him was unfounded, as is so often the case when bureaucrats get upset. As another example, Martin Armstrong was actually imprisoned for several years because he would not give his software code to the government. Imprisoned on civil contempt charges, denied a lawyer for years, he took his own case to the Supreme Court at which point he was released and charges dropped completely. As far as I can tell, the action against him was completely unjustified and an attempt to steal his work.

        Porter Stansberry has a deep commitment to customer service, and I have been pleased with his work and the work of his staff. Unless you have information I don’t have about this incident (in which case please feel free to correct me), you should probably not bring it up as part of evaluating him or his company or its services. As is true with so many direct marketing users, his company’s marketing letters exaggerate in order to attract interest (I pretty much ignore them), but his company’s newsletters are sober and serious writings.

        I’m not saying you have to change your mind here. I’m just passing on what I know, because I don’t believe Stansberry deserves to have this story follow him around. 🙂


        • charliej373 says:

          Thank you for that, Steve. I do not have extra information on it…and I am reflexively suspicious whenever government prosecutes someone for a non-violent charge these days…for too much is mere political posturing rather than law. I trust your judgment on such matters and know you would not bring it up unless you had researched it, so I will not routinely reference that in the future.


  16. Irish7 says:

    I was just reading up on the differences between invincible and vincible ignorance and their varying degrees of culpability. I thought this was a quick and helpful refresher guide if anyone else is interested. http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/07648a.htm

    The following jumped off the page regarding our times ….”It is undeniable that a man cannot be invincibly ignorant of the natural law.” this further indicates that the wheat and the chaff will be separated along these more foundational lines and not as much along the finer points of doctrine.


  17. Bob says:

    I was reading this piece about Fr Byles who preached his last sermon on the Titanic and how everything seemed fine and how suddenly things changed:


  18. texasooz57 says:

    Charlie, Bishop Emeritus Gracida published the following letter to the faithful by Bishop Strickland from the Diocese of Tyler, Texas. It was ordered to be read by all parishes this past weekend. It contains his response to the Supreme Court ruling of gay marriages. We will be moving to this Diocese very soon. We are so happy to finally be joining the flock of a Holy Bishop:
    (Bishop Emeritus is on fire these days as I have a hard time keeping up with this 93 year old priest…he is daily posting a ton of articles lately.)
    I will do what you have recommended and write a note to Bishop Strickland telling him thank you. During the homily last weekend, the visiting priest in this parish of Gun Barrel City, Texas (and I’m not kidding about the name of this town…) also gave such an inspiring homily on our obligations as Catholics to stand up to the growing atheistic secularism of this country and this Supreme Court’s decision from an elite court of an unelected judiciary. When this priest was finished, as he invited the faithful to stand to say the Creed, he was given a standing ovation. This is how much we, the faithful, are thirsting for the Truth to be spoken from the pulpit.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Kathi Weston says:

    Hi Charlie, I can’t find the homily by a priest who spoke about the Supreme Court ruling. I thought I read it on your site.


  20. Kathi Weston says:

    Sorry just found it! God bless you and your work.


Leave a Reply

