Mea Culpa

sorry

By Charlie Johnston

Several readers have sent  notes busting me for over-relying on guest posts and such of late. One plaintively complained that…”we need our Sherpa.”

Sorry. In part, I am finding a new rhythm spending so much time on the road…in part relaxing with family and friends a little…and in part contemplating how to go forward now that we have entered a new stage of events.

I have a full schedule of events tomorrow and Friday, but after that I resolve to write at least three pieces a week personally, and that at least two of them will be meaty.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Mea Culpa

  1. SteveBC says:

    Great picture, Charlie. Thank you for the heads-up. We all know you’re rejiggering things as you go, but it will be nice to have you back posting. Things are suddenly getting noticeably weirder.

    Speaking of good posts in a drought, Mark Mallett’s recent “The Parallel Deception” is nothing short of terrific:
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/the-parallel-deception/

    Liked by 7 people

    • Charlene says:

      Thanks for the link to mark mallett 7/8 blog. All I can say is wow. Looking forward to meeting you when you come to the Greater Boston ma. Area

      Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Mark and I have talked about the turn things have taken. It is sobering for a couple of veteran hands like us…so it has to be deeply sobering for everyone else. Mark’s post is staggeringly good. The watchword is “Be not afraid” – but “…Lord, it is getting mighty Stormy out there…and though I am not afraid, Lord, I am getting a little seasick. A little spiritual Dramamine would come in right handy right about now.”

      Liked by 6 people

      • Meriadoc says:

        It’s probably a good thing that we can’t come here for our “Charlie fix” every two hours. Yours is not an ordinary message, so this shouldn’t be just any ordinary weblog.

        Things really have cascaded recently with all the Supreme Court decisions,, et al. In one sense, what more is there to say about it all? You’ve confirmed was coming in a general sense. No need to “talk” anymore about it all. More talk is likely to be “idle talk.”

        When I was in the Persian Gulf waiting for the invasion orders, I would say to myself, “Let’s just get this thing over with!” When the orders came and we moved out, I remember thinking then (and over the next few days), “This is a lot more fun, travel and adventure than I signed up for!” I am starting to have all those old feelings again as things unfold. Thank God you’re out there to hearten us and give us confidence. I look forward to seeing you in person when you come down to Texas.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Meriadoc says:

        On the other hand, it was EXACTLY as much “fun, travel and adventure” as I signed up for! And as we all signed up for when we decide to “pick up our cross” and follow Christ.

        Liked by 1 person

        • SteveBC says:

          Meriadoc, your two comments here strike to the heart of my own feelings. I feel ready and not ready at the same time. I know I’m here because I am supposed to be here and am “purpose-built” to go through what is coming, but as you say, sometimes I get nervous and think maybe I might prefer to skip it and just tell tall tales about it afterward. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Meriadoc says:

            Thanks SteveBC. Whenever I post something on this site, I feel I’ve only expressed about 1% of what I intended. I’m glad some else understood what I was aiming at!

            Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Thanks, SteveBC; I am looking forward to reading Mark Mallett’s post.

      Now I’m going to go throw myself a little pity party because I can’t fly/drive/bilocate to Boston for Charlie’s gig. Thus begins the tantrum: “I want to meet SteveBC, too! Waaaaaah! (Oh, and grouse, grouse.)” 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • SteveBC says:

        Mick, when I found out you live in Michigan, I threw a little pity party for myself, knowing we would not get a chance to hang out together at one of Charlie’s meet-ups. Waaaah! (Grouse-grouse!) 😀

        Like

  2. mmbev says:

    Oh Charlie! We are a demanding lot! Just like us to say, “MORE, MORE COME ON, MORE!”

    Did I mention that we were a basically ungrateful lot? Yup, yes we are, and you are stuck being a Shepra leader for us. (Probably you are saying silently, “Oh woe, what have I done?” )

    I know, you aren’t. But you could, you know.

    Your picture reminds me of a card I have that I have used on many occasions, but have never relinquished to the person I showed it to, because I know that it will be used again and again.

    On the front is a cat, in the corner of the room, a horrified look on it’s poor face, it’s limbs spread eagle against the two corner walls. And then one notices a sofa — with the entire arm and front right utterly shredded by it’s claws. Caption says,”IT WON’T HAPPEN AGAIN!” (I keep it because there was only one left for sale, (and that says something), and I KNOW I will need it many times even in the future..

    I added a personal note inside. It reads, “It won’t happen again.” Which I must confess is a lie.

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Nah…actually, you are a wonderful lot…kind and charitable. You forgive me when I get cranky…all three communities I have visited thus far have been staggeringly welcoming. You treat me with great honor. God forbid I should ever whine that I am just one person. Rather, I should work to live up to the honor so many of you show me. Thanks be to God for the little graces. My sister clearing comments regularly is a lifesaver. That wonderful woman, Mary, who coordinates my schedule from Denver, is a profound lifesaver. I know I have missed some things this time around, but it would be a lot more if I didn’t have Mary – working tirelessly and entirely as a volunteer to keep things afloat. (Maybe I should double her “salary.”) Tom who handles the Forum is a lifesaver. There are loads of people who are capable – and willing – to help in this effort…I just have to steadily deploy them effectively.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul says:

    Charlie…you should also enjoy your travels, your summer and your friends. You’ve posted plenty, and we certainly know the score. I suspect many of us want to see you enjoy life a little too, and those posts you write are very time consuming. Don’t over do it…enjoy your summer and your travels.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks, Paul…and all of you. But I knew what I signed up for long before much of anyone even knew there was a serious problem in the world. I made a promise when I was a child….and renewed it every step of the way as the Lord showed me how difficult and demanding it was going to be. I didn’t always renew it right away…sometimes took my sweet time…but I want to live it and it is time to up my game a little.

      Like

  4. Murt. says:

    Hey there Charlie. Where would we be if this old Fly decided not to stick his probiscious (sp, is that even a word.) in this ointment of life in this parlour you have here. I do look in on you as usual but would be wont to say all that much as I tend to ramble on a tad with my meander. I would also have the great wish to try not to be divisive in my writing as we have to be here for each of God’s creation regardless of understanding. You are but one here who does seem to have some insight which I would like to believe. Not because you say you have knowledge to what is about us now. Not because you seem to try to tell us you have found God. But my take on you is someone who has walked the walk. Therefore for my thinking, you walked the walk, I have to allow you to talk the talk.
    As a footnote here Charlie. I looked out the window the other day and a man passed by with some sort of a contrivance which seemed to carry all he had in the world. I had some family thing going on at the time but would love to have stopped him and asked him what he was about. I somehow saw The Christ in him as others here thought he was just some old loon. I thought of you, me and my old dog just hitting the road. I also thought of where we are today as people seem to think their local Lidl will always be here. Sherpa indeed seems a good word now I recall that old tramp.
    There are as I have said before here of only but two people I tend to take seriously in all the prophecy we have here to read. Politics, Judea/Christianity, and the modern state of Israel, now those things make me nervous. Not a great Bible reader is this scribbler as I tend to try to read mostly The New Testament. I tend to believe IT being The New Covenant given to us by The Father through His Son for our times. This Christ I tend to believe has NO chosen people but will love all who seek Him. I hope some day through His Holy Mother to meet Him. So I have to have faith in My Mother in all this as a start I hope.
    You owe no apology here to those here who read you. Quite the overstatement here is this Trust, Love, and Do which people seem so willing to quote to you, and of you, on here an on other places on this here net. Quite the words really if we study them ere we quote them. Time perhaps to stop crying in the dinner-plate of life and just wake up and wonder where the dinner came from. We have to start to get some sense of where we are in where we are now. There are no waiters going to serve us up meals from here on in to this storm you speak of. Read, listen, pay attention to this inner voice if we are lucky enough to find one. Have faith in what we hope to find good in the face of this storm. Get some sea legs and hold on to your faith.
    Just a thought on the part of the scribbler. Charlie is struggling with something he has to tell us. That coming from one who is not all that keen to believe in him may well be a thought worth the note.. You keep on trucking/tramping there Charlie. There is a plan we have to believe. The map we are trying to read seems to be very vague, but then this old fool will just try to follow his own cardinal points. This Mother will hopefully pick me up along the way, show me my error, and ask me to keep on keeping on as so often has been the case………

    Godspeed. murt.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you, Murt…and your insight that there is a galaxy of meaning to be found in simply contemplating what Trust-Do-Love really means is worth more than a little meandering. God bless you.

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Murt, I love the line that you wrote: ” Time perhaps to stop crying in the dinner-plate of life and just wake up and wonder where the dinner came from.” That, my friend, is pithy and profound. I may have to write it down on and index card and file it away for future use.

      Like

      • Murt. says:

        Mick, you file away at what may well have been called my odd turn of phrase as a dear old friend would call it in times past. More like silly old fool really is like as how she would have called it. There had to have been a genius created in that smile of the fools creation I have to suppose… Every day a school-day.
        Dia dhuit A cara, Murt.

        Like

  5. Mack says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing more from you soon! Especially about the Supreme Court decision decision and the growing climate of intolerance toward anyone opposed to same sex unions. Praying for you!

    Like

  6. BJ says:

    yea…problem is ‘end times’ hints,warnings can become addictive and
    people actually want to see them repeated if they have come to believe
    their veracity….. not having the message reiterated,quantified, can lead
    to feelings of deception or insecurity … a major/frightening responsibility for those charged
    with sharing ‘warnings’, especially if the indicated warnings are said to happen before long…. yikes!

    Like

  7. joanp62 says:

    Love the picture. But didn’t you tell us you would be having guest postings ahead of time? And being on the road traveling, it’s hard to stay in the usual routine. No worries.

    Like

  8. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    mea culpa, our Sherpa? But no!

    Precious Jesus has given me both two eyes and two ears to watch and to listen on the “double-quick” as they say when marching ahead. Listen and observe twice as much as one speaks. I only have one mouth–it’s hardly ever used, much less to censure others, especially my Sherpa!

    I have “walked the vast ice fields and yawning crevasses” of life, and have learned that if one criticizes the leader out front, “on point,” the whole platoon may fall. When my time comes to lead, I will do so with the best of my abilities.

    Until then..I listen and obey.

    CARRY ON!

    Like

  9. Dorothy Scott says:

    Dear Charlie, I thank you for this lovely post and the adorable photo. My first thought as I saw the photo and apology was that this was an accurate (and humorous) depiction of *my *experience of “apologizing” to God. However, I was “aghast” to read that you felt you needed to apologize to those you are leading as a “shirpa”. Is not the whole point of this exercise to stand on our own two feet and know and express ourselves as the “Sons” of God we in truth are? This is, as far as I can tell, what you are leading us to do. You also are doing this through a human capacity which needs rest and nourishment as you put yourself “out there” on the road of your given role in these days of the Storm. Why should we “whine” at you rather than give thanks for those offering, through their own very personal experience (shared via “guests posts”), confirmations of God’s very real presence *ALREADY* in the boat with us. Thank you for all that you are *living* and for this website and if I seem to have ranted blame it on the puppy! Sincerely, Dorothy

    Liked by 2 people

    • Kim Johnston Hocutt says:

      Dorothy that is so sweet!! He says he is going to rest and relax while he is here, but actually he will be running the whole time! Oh well I’ll get to see him a little anyway, will take a few pictures and post them!

      Like

    • charliej373 says:

      The puppy is very happy again this morning and raring to go…and before I begin the day’s events I will publish a post – a guest post by Dan Lynch (hee hee…haven’t even read it yet…but Dan is one of those people who, if he sends it, I will publish it.) I will try to get something important of mine up before the day is out, but I didn’t promise you I would get back on track until Saturday 🙂

      Like

  10. Jacqueline Nevinger says:

    CJ, Sorry for what? That you take a break? To rest and relax? Even a Sherpa needs a break. I recommend going back to the beginning of your writings and review. Wonderful material there. You give a lot of yourself to us. And I’m grateful. Please rest. I don’t think folks realize what a drain a road show can be… God Bless You my dear Sherpa! Jacquie

    Sent from Jacquie’s iPhone

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lin says:

    Charlie, of course I’m always glad to read your writings….just don’t overdo it, friend! You are giving so much in person these days—it makes sense that your online presence would, of necessity, be lessened during your travels. No worries! I will be content with whatever crumbs you can spare!(smile)

    Like

  12. Carmen says:

    Charlie, I appreciate your dedication to us and always look forward to your posts, but I do have to add that some of your guests have provided me with unique and beautiful insights… the last one about the true presence in the Eucharist was one of those gems and I can’t get it out of my head. Each post has value in a different way. God Bless you all, Sherpa and his aids 🙂

    Like

  13. Phillip Frank says:

    When Jesus ascended into heaven his followers stood staring up at the sky when two Angels stood buy and asked them what they were doing?
    On second glance they were prodding them on to get to work and grow up spiritually as having been nursed at the side of Christ were now ready to leave the nest and make their own way through life as a fully fledged christian.
    If Jesus had stayed with them they would always be attached to Him in some way so He had to leave them to allow them to mature and take full responsibility.
    This, dear Sherpa, is what is happening with us now as you go about ” the Fathers buisness” and we are spreading our wings through TDL and guest columns.
    So be it….

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      When I was a teenager, I had three newspaper columnists I never missed. One was prolific, writing three columns a week for a Copley affiliate. I was delighted, after I had been in radio for a few years, to discover he had become a big fan of mine. I did a daily taped three-minute commentary for the station and I was flabbergasted when, at a dinner he invited me to, he expressed amazement at my output. He said it nearly burned him out to regularly produce three every week.

      I figure I can produce at least two meaty ones and one lighter one – and will do more when I can. It is all part of the work, too. But I am glad some different voices are being heard and appreciated in the process.

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Wow… that was beautiful, Phillip. Has anyone ever told you that you’re a poet at heart?

      Like

  14. Mick says:

    Quoth the future Old Battle-Axe to the venerable Curmudgeon: “Stop yer slackin’! Get back to work, chop-chop!” 🙂

    Seriously though, Charlie, there’s no need to apologize. We all know how incredibly busy you are, and how much responsibility you’ve assumed for us and for countless souls around the globe. We truly do appreciate your work and sacrifice, and we would be a poor “family” indeed if we were to begrudge you a little R & R. I mean, hey… even sherpas need to kick back now and again, right?

    God bless, and have fun with your family. You are in our prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Might be a good time to review Charlie’s previous posts and all the edifying comments that follow! It’s like we’re standing on the treasure chest scanning the horizon for something new. OPEN THE BOX! 🙂

    Like

    • jeanO says:

      Janet, I completely agree, and am happy to see this surfacing, as it needs addressing. We have been conditioned to consume the next installment of “fill in the blank” intemperately. I grew up in a culture saturated with soap operas, which I successfully avoided. Mostly. What is going to happen next…..?…. It takes on an addictive nature…we want more..we want more. We have enough! Charlie, I respectfully ask that you focus on doing and being in the world where you are now. Refer us back to the “meaty posts” you have already left for us … Just tell us which ones. We were not done chewin on the bones.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Connie Brickner says:

    I am usually just lurking out here reading, but I would like to say that Mark Mallett has a big family to feed. If you have a little bit to send to Mark for a donation, I know he would deeply appreciate it. I try to support him in a small way, because his writings have been such a tremendous blessing to me (as well as Charlie’s! (p.s. Mark is not related to me! I have never met him So he did not put me up to this comment! Ha! 🙂 Connie

    Liked by 1 person

  17. ralph says:

    while some might need daily guidance due to fear and uncertainties, you also need to be top of your game which sometimes necessitates a change of output.

    Like

  18. Chris Joe says:

    Charlie,

    I think it would be good if you borrowed some of the wisdom of the marketing division of the secular culture – “Underpromise and overdeliver”. I’ve noticed a pattern where you “promise” or say that you will post a writing in “the next few days”, and then it doesn’t happen for a rather extended period of time. This seems to get repeated frequently which adds to reader frustration and brings into question your dependability.

    When I hear this promise of 3 writings per week, 2 of them meaty – I believe you honestly want and intend to do so, but I’m hugely skeptical of the actual delivery due to the track record.

    It’s FINE to write only when you can. It’s FINE to keep people anticipating your next article. But it’s best not to make promises that are unrealistic. If you want to write more often, do so without promising it. Underpromise & overdeliver, not the other way around.

    Sheesh, you shoulda known that!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Dionna says:

    Good Grief Charlie-how and why would people expect you to be able to do all that writing when you are on travel-meeting and sharing what you are doing with all of us???!!!

    I thought that it was amazing enough you were able to give so much to us in pictures and video as you keep up a travel regimen. I am grateful to see who some of us in this “family” are and find encouragement as you continue this journey.

    How I wish I could have worked it out for you to come to the DC Metro area – but at least I can go with you and hear you talk by your posts. That is more then enough for me to be kept inspired-to Trust – Do – Love.

    I will say though- the enemy has been taking it up a notch or two-attacking family members and putting up obstacles to prayer groups, Mass and confession. To be expected though.

    NO apology needed for me Charlie-that is for sure!

    Praying for you to be safe, well and even rested as you continue.

    Yours in Christ,

    Dionna

    Like

  20. Dionna says:

    By the way-I love the posts from others you are sharing with us in the mean time!!!!!

    Like

  21. Murt. says:

    It seems I don’t seem to have quite got it right when I try to reply to some on here. Oh well……… Let’s all 🙂 and have a nice few thoughts of each other. One of the gifts of being old I suppose. Time to reflect on mistakes.

    Dia agus beannacht leis. Murt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

