Modern Day Prophecy

Fr. Mitch Pacwa and me in his private chapel

Fr. Mitch Pacwa and me in his private chapel

I am putting up this post from two years ago again for some people I visited with last night. I also refer them to the Flaming Sword of Justice, posted just a month ago. Both are important to help refine tools of discernment when dealing with the interpretation of prophecy, be it Biblical or modern private revelation.

I had lunch yesterday with Fr. Mitch Pacwa of EWTN. We hit it off marvelously. The guy is utterly brilliant and erudite, but straight down to earth. We irritated our host a little bit because we were having such fun discussing Church and world history that we kept veering off the subject. He invited us over to his house for a bit afterwards, then made arrangements to join us for a small dinner party the host was having. I look forward to writing about it in more detail later.

The Next Right Step

flare(This is a reprint of a post I put up on my Facebook Page a year ago in June. It references both the Warning and Garabandal – two things I believe to be authentic, but which I sometimes think people have imposed their own interpretation on as the only possible interpretation).

When I was a teenager it struck me once, after listening to about a dozen people speak of what the Holy Spirit had ‘told’ them, that either the Holy Spirit was the author of confusion or many were deceiving themselves, for many of these solemn proclamations were mutually contradictory. We all have a desire to appeal to authority – and what better authority to appeal to than God, Himself? Yet when we attribute to God what we merely want to believe ourselves, it is the worst form of bearing false witness – bearing false witness against God…

View original post 1,415 more words

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Modern Day Prophecy

  1. GB says:

    Love Fr. Mitch!

    Like

  2. Barbara Dore says:

    I like the icons behind you. They are very beautiful and timeless….I love Icon paintings!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Fr. Mitch chose them for this, his private chapel. He has icons for the entire Rosary…so you can contemplate the appropriate icon for each decade you pray. He also did a Rosary on camera some years back while he was in the Holy Land, doing each decade from the actual site where it was believed to occur. EWTN is doing some work to digitize all its content right now so ultimately you will be able to pull up every show it has ever done on demand. That will be a GREAT resource.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Mary-Louise says:

    Did Fr. Mitch share any thoughts on the Great Storm that is coming? I know EWTN as a network has not been shy about discussing prophecy.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Honestly, Fr. Mitch and I were having so much fun discussing Church and world history and analyzing current events in that light that we did not directly discuss it much. He is so well-read. Often, when discussing those things, you have a fairly smart partner who knows some snippets and has some significant misconception on facts, yet digs in their heels, so you have to either get in a catfight or ease up – and you can’t have a really deep discussion. But with Fr. Mitch, he knows his stuff (better than I do, in fact) and I know my stuff pretty well, so we were able to dig deep on it without having to pull back or explain the predicates we were working from. It was invigorating. He gave me one very significant insight I had not considered before…and corrected one case where I routinely overstate my case a little on an historical matter. It was an absolute delight. We exchanged full contact info and will be talking in the future. Some will be private, some I may use to further hone my stuff here. But boy, am I glad to have made the acquaintance of this deeply brilliant man.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Mary W. says:

        And of course you know Charlie that Fr. Mitch is a Chicago boy ! 🙂

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Ha! I said I was from Chicago and he asked where. I mentioned the far north Lake County suburb and he said, teasing me, “You’re not from Chicago…I’m from Chicago.” I said fine…what neighborhood. He said Bucktown, which is one I spent a lot of time in and in which is my favorite Church ever, St. Mary of the Angels – but alas, he went to St. Helena’s a little over a mile to the south of it.

          Like

        • Doug says:

          I love Fr. Mitch too. Kean insight on many things. He did commencement address for my daughter’s graduation at Franciscan University. My wife and I asked for and he prayed a blessing over us as we celebrated our 25 anniversary that year. It was a kin to being at a rock concert for us. As an aside, great university. So beautiful to see so many kids living their catholic faith there. My daughter married a gentleman from there and both aspire to live a strong catholic faith. It gives me so much hope! Now, just have to continue to pray her twin sister to come back to the faith…….

          Like

  4. Leslie R says:

    A few years ago some friends introduced me to a mystic; or prophet, if you will. He invited me to write down a few questions about events I was discerning and seeking guidance from God. So I wrote all my earthly concerns; should we move; should we buy a piece of property we were looking at; should we stockpile food; should we set aside a “survivor’s kit” if we had to flee, etc, etc.
    I’ve lost his replies, but as I recall all his answers were scripture references, or comments related to something in scripture. As I read these I thought, “What in the heck does any of this have to do with the questions I asked about?”
    But re-reading your posts, Charlie, I am beginning to see how foul my thinking is. I think he was trying to tell me to learn how to pray, and trust in the providence of God.

    Like

  5. John says:

    Thanks for all you do Charlie!

    EWTN has so many talented people. Have you ever met Father Larry Richards? I recently started listening to EWTN Radio and find him to be a most excellent speaker.

    Like

  6. Bonnie C says:

    I LOVE watching/listening to Fr. Mitch!!! Anymore, it is few and far between, just because I don’t get to watch much TV anymore. BUT– a few years ago, my husband and I invited my uncle – a very opinionated, fallen-away Catholic, a fine shooter, and somewhat of a snob when it comes to the opinion of a mere woman. We were sitting at a favorite diner discussing gun rights and laws. I quoted something I had heard (and agreed with by the way) from Fr. Mitch. My uncle almost choked on his food, stared at me across the table and, he asked me where I heard THAT?!?! I said, “Fr. Mitch Pacwa on EWTN.” LOVED IT!!!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      He is an avid hunter. Actually, I think he is a real model for Christian manhood…no nonsense and fully lives the traditional manly virtues. At his home we looked through a bunch of his hunting pictures – including one that our friend, Bishop Gracida, came along with him on.

      Like

  7. donna says:

    Fr Mitch….love him. I met him at a Catholic retreat in 1995 on Spiritual Warfare with Michael Brown…it was in Philly…..what an incredible retreat that was. He is on fire when he talks about Spiritual Warfare

    Like

  8. Doug says:

    Good to read this again. Thanks.

    Like

  9. Teresa D says:

    I am so happy you are in contact with Fr. Mitch, Charlie; as you stated he is both brilliant and erudite. I am home bound and watch hours of EWTN each day. What bothers me is that every time someone asks him about the signs of the times he has the exact same response: “that is a management issue and we are in sales”. Cute, but what about 1 Thessalonians 5:4 that tells us that we are not in darkness for that day to surprise us like a thief? I know that only The Father knows the day and hour, but we are supposed to be watchful, right? I love EWTN’s orthodoxy, but I wish they would talk about what is coming. I hope you will talk to Father about this; I would really love to know what he believes about this time we are in.
    God bless you.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, Teresa, I don’t know about that. Everything has a core purpose and I don’t think that is part of the core purpose of EWTN…so while it would edify you, it might push away some others that it is important that EWTN reaches. I did not sense any hostility to such things…actually I spent a good chunk of time with various EWTN employees and officials. I think EWTN’s primary mission is to discuss the faith, to examine Church issues, Church history, and proclaim how to live fidelity whatever happens rather than to speculate on what will happen. I don’t think they are closed to hearing voices that discuss that, but that is not (and I believe should not be) their focus. The bottom line is that each of us need to live our particular mission well and with fidelity so as to bring the most people possible to safety. I think EWTN lives its mission pretty well and I would be a bit worried if it adjusted its focus much that it might lose some of what it has done so well – and that would be a loss for all of us.

      Like

    • Doug says:

      Hi Teresa, even though we do not necessarily know dates and times, this does not mean it will surprise us. Many of the signs are already here. Crumbling of faith, right is made to look wrong and wrong is made to look right, wars and rumors of wars. The only surprise to me is if something did not happen soon. God have mercy!

      Like

    • JoyInTheLord says:

      I attended one talk by Father Mitch Pacwa and during the Q&A portion, one of the questions asked was about the antichrist. He responded that anyone who denies the deity of Christ is the antichrist — or, something to that effect — which I think is from the Scriptures. What made that incident stood out from memory is that the person who asked that question left the Church as soon as Father finished his response (Father was giving the talk in the Church, not in a hall) with two women wearing headscarves, which I presume to be Muslims as only Muslim women wear scarves like that.

      What I am saying is Father Mitch does address eschatological questions in open forum when he gives talks on the road, but might not do so on live TV shows.

      Like

  10. Mack says:

    I just reread the Flaming Sword post and this hit me more than ever: “For the first time in a millennium and a half, we have re-entered a functionally pagan culture.” I just read yesterday that Evo Morales, the president in Bolivia, has been restoring the pagan religion that prevailed before the Catholic missionaries came. In fact he has even incorporated some sort of invocation of their pagan god in government functions! Bolivia used to be a Catholic country, even if not perfectly evangelized. This reminds me a bit of Julian the Apostate. He tried to rebuild the Temple but met nothing but trouble and had to quit. So I believe that the Storm, as hard as it will be, will wash away this new tide of paganism and restore Christian culture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

