Scheduling and Video


By Charlie Johnston

Sometime in the next few days I will have a video up done from a private home in Birmingham…but it is a great video, for it was taped by an EWTN employee. We didn’t plan to tape it, but it was at his home, so he pulled out a camera, miked me up, and has worked to edit it so you can hear questions as well as my answers. I am going to get my son to help me with the download, to put it on Vimeo, and then make it available to you…but this is the tape!


My scheduling coordinator out of Denver, Mary at, asked me to reach out for some coordinators. I don’t go anywhere I am not first invited to visit, but some folks who do the inviting are not in a position to coordinate everything. Here are a couple of events we have running and where we have needs:

West Coast in August, we have San Francisco and almost midway between Los Angeles and San Diego (geographically). We have many volunteers in Portland, Oregon, but no formal coordinator yet. There is interest in Sacramento, Northern LA County, and Dana Point in California, but we need a formal sponsor and coordinator.

In the Midwest in early September, we have well-developed plans in Michigan; Lafayette, Indiana and St. Louis. (Mick is the lead in Michigan – so I reckon we will have that state well covered). I know some people in Minnesota, Iowa and Wisconsin had expressed interest (I forwarded all files to Mary…and they were a bit of a confused jumble). With a coordinator and sponsor, I could make one or more of those. Also northern or central Illinois I am open to (though a good chunk of the St. Louis visit can cover much of central Illinois)

For Texas and Louisiana, we have a big event coming in Covington, just north of New Orleans, and sponsors in Lubbock, Texas and San Antonio. I would like to have something in Baton Rouge, then Beaumont and Houston, at least (I loved Houston). Mary tells me when I go from California to Michigan, she insists I fly because of time constraints to fit everything in. Fine…I will deal with it. Actually, I’m not sure which is worse – going through the Kabuki Dance that is airport security or riding on a bus for 20+ hours. From California to Michigan, the bus would probably be 40+ hours.

Read through the link on “Host Guidelines” on the bar at the top of the page here. If you are up for it, contact Mary at So far, every host has been very happy with the way things have turned out – and so have I. We are raising up troops to be a sign of hope to their neighbors no matter what happens. I know one of my favorite moments at every event at which I speak is when I see people look around the room at each other and realize that they are really not alone. This is a very palpable way you can be a sign of hope – and find a lot more signs of hope around you.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Scheduling and Video

  1. NancyA says:

    Charlie, I feel sure you will not be hurt when I say that when I attend your Philly area event next week, I am going not to hear your talk, but to see our cohort!


  2. Steve says:

    All, my brother David and I are the regional coordinators for Southern California, but we are in North San Diego county, so we will need some help with Northern LA county, as well as Dana Point. If there is anyone interested in helping secure a venue, please let me know at (not my normal email, I set it up just specifically for this visit). We are working to secure venues in the San Diego area, as well. Also, if you just want to help or just get in contact, drop me an email. If/when I get something, I will do my best to respond! Oh, and make sure that you are keeping Mary ( informed, as she is the overall scheduling coordinator. Thanks!


  3. I’m just minutes from Ontario California. I emailed Mary to see if there was something for us to do for you here. I saw that you had Ontario Cal. On your upcoming events section. I hope I can help. We have people hear that want you to come and who are dying to meet you and speak with you.
    God bless!!!


    • charliej373 says:

      Setting it up has passed into Mary’s hands entirely – and last night she sent me a vigorous West Coast schedule. I am going to get to see a lot of people all along the coast. I look forward to meeting you Charlanne.


  4. Bob says:

    I don’t have time to host the one for the St Louis area as that comes with my breadwinner status until things change but I will contact Mary and when I know the agenda perhaps I can help out somehow. As for this blog Charlie I was talking to my spiritual director last week and I mentioned that there are some good serious Christians following this blog. For me the things that have stuck with me the most whatever comes are my need to trust God more. When I was a young Christian I had thought I would grow up and be more independent and need God less but it seems as I get older, even though I must do my best to take what I believe are the right actions, I feel my need to trust God more. And your comments that the “spirit of antichrist” is the the belief that we can create a good society without reference to God, is a statement I am seeing more and more each day as I work with addicts most of whom have little or no trust in God and they are only trying so hard to fill the void that not knowing God leaves in their souls.


    • charliej373 says:

      I have so many friends on the Illinois side of the river, Bob, that I think it would almost be insulting if I did not have coordination centered with them. I have one woman in particular I think would be perfect to organize everything. When we get that settled, I will want her to contact you or you her so that the Missouri side of the river does not get short shrift. As far as serious Christians, there are a lot in authority now who follow this site and correspond with me to talk about preparation and such. I find myself sometimes wishing I had not been so insistent on confidentiality for those in authority who talk with me…but I remain adamant that unless you publicly comment, I will not reveal we are talking. Actually, if it were otherwise, I would not have so many, because people in authority and prominence have enough to worry about without getting caught up in unnecessary potential controversies. So, I try to make this a safe haven for readers – and I keep my conversations with officials a safe haven for them, too. But let me tell you, there are more than you know who see the writing on the wall and are prayerfully trying to prepare to care for their flocks in extremis. It is a profound sign of hope to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bob says:

        As for me I semi publicly comment in that I use my first name and that way feel freer commenting as I see fit before God without fear. I look forward to hearing the details when things get closer. At the very least i will work my networks to share with people who would be interested and not too resistant to these ideas and to discerning these things.


  5. Susan, MI says:

    Charlie’s Visit to Michigan

    I wanted to put out a post to fellow Michiganders as Mick, I, and some wonderful local folks, are working out the details with Mary for Charlie’s trip to Michigan. Looks like we have Lansing and Jackson lining up. I wanted to give a final shout out to anyone in the Metro Detroit area if they have a lead on a parish or contacts in the metro area that would be interested in hosting Charlie. We would have to act pretty quickly at this point because Mary is looking to pin down dates very soon, but thought I would put it out there.

    For anyone thinking about having Charlie speak in your area, if it’s been put on your heart to make something happen, pray and send a few emails. It’s amazing how quickly things start to take shape through people you never thought of or never even met. It awesome to see the Holy Spirit in action. 🙂

    May God be with all your families and have a blessed evening!


  6. SusanMI says:

    Good afternoon, I just posted a comment to fellow Michigan folks in the Metro Detroit area.

    I just heatd from Mary in regards to scheduling and dates for a Metro Detroit visit are no longer available.
    I do hope any in the Detroit area will come out with a friend to meet and share in fellowship for the evening.

    God bless!


  7. SusanMI says:

    *** that would be come out to Lansing or Jackson, MI. ***

    When I mess up, I do it right!! 🙂


  8. Jessica says:

    At the request of many in the community, I (with the help of Steve BC) have compiled a letter that gives a brief overview of the storm that you could share with family and friends. We would like to hear feedback on how to improve the letter, along with grammar/fact checking. If you would like to read over the letter please email ASAP at mrs [dot] jessicaguenther [at] gmail [dot] com. We’d like to move quickly so that everyone has a chance to give input, but also so that it can be disseminated quickly.


  9. Julia says:

    I live in that bastion of iniquity–the northern NJ, New York City area. Is there some way to connect with people in my area, before the storm. I am a single person, tiny apartment dweller, or I would try to host a visit from you. Is there any other way to connect with people on your list?
    Thank you and God bless!


    • charliej373 says:

      Contact Karen Dembia – – who was my northern New Jersey host and coordinator. I am sure in each area people will begin working together on prayer groups and efforts to give people heart and hope in their particular area. She will be glad to hear from you, I am sure. I think I am going to get the emails of the various regional coordinators up sometime in a separate link so people can make such arrangements in their own areas.


Leave a Reply

