A Desperate Mother’s Prayer


(I am very busy the next four days. I thought it would be a great time to put up this prayer, written by one of our readers, who wishes to be known only as Anne. It reflects a lot of what many Mother’s Hearts are feeling for their children in these difficult time. I tell you what St. Padre Pio always said: Pray, hope and don’t worry. – CJ)

By Anne

We pray for all desperate mothers, especially those mothers in union with us in prayer.

We pray for mothers and their children, all over the world, watching their child die today through famine, war, cancer and other miseries.  We pray for all mothers going through abortions against their will or who have difficulties with their children.

We pray for our children, victims of the world we live in.  We pray against worldliness and sin.  We pray against the spirits of depression and mental illness pursuing our children. We pray for those who are in mental or emotional confusion, discouraged and despairing.  We pray against all those causes, that our children are subjected to, that cause them to turn away from you.

We pray for the healing of the diseases of our children, especially those that seem to result in godlessness and a lack of hope.  We pray especially for healing oftiger and cub biochemical disorders, vaccination reactions, allergies, toxic reactions to chemicals and food additives, neurological disorders and other syndromes that cause our children to be victims of this modern world and slaves to Satan’s plans.

We pray for healing of the toxicities of the mind caused by television, radio, modern music, the occult, movies, computer games, the internet, drug and alcohol abuse, and all other activities, addictions, obsessions, and compulsions, which cause our children to be separated from you.  We ask both for the healing of our children and also their conversion.

We pray for godly marriages for ourselves and our children.  We ask that you raise up godly fathers to lead us and our children.  We ask for mothers, the faith, fortitude, wisdom, counsel and patience in suffering needed to raise these special children.  We ask for the grace for our children to come to us parents, and to you, Lord, for wise counsel.

We pray for hope for ourselves and our children.  We beg your mercy on ourselves and our entire families in these days of such intense evil in the world.

A reading from Ephesians 2:1-7:

“You were dead because of your sins and offenses, as you gave allegiance to the present age and to the prince of the air, that spirit who is even now at work among the rebellious.  All of us were once of their company; we lived at the level of the flesh, following every whim and fancy, and so by nature deserved God’s wrath like the rest.  But God is rich in mercy; because of his great love for us he brought us to life with Christ when we were dead in sin.  By this favor you were saved.  Both with and in Christ Jesus he raised us up and gave us a place in the heavens, that in the ages to come he might display the great wealth of his favor, manifested by his kindness to us in Christ Jesus.  I repeat, it is owing to his favor that Salvation is yours through faith.

Because you have entreated us to ask and we would receive, we now humbly ask, that in your holy and divine will, you would deign to grant these desperate mothers, the hope and comfort we have not been able to find through anyone else but you.  Heavenly Father, we call on you now to show us “the great wealth of your favor,” manifested by Jesus.  We ask for miracle after glorious miracle of healing souls and minds, in family after family, to show your glory and your mercy.  We ask you to show us how to glorify you for all these favors we know you will grant to us.  We pray in union with Our Sorrowful Mother, our beloved Saint Joseph, and most importantly, Our Merciful Savior.

A reading from Isaiah 61:1-2:

“The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me; He has sent me to bring glad tidings to the lowly, to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and release to the prisoners, to announce a year of favor from the Lord and a day of vindication by our God to comfort all who mourn.”

We adore you, we worship you, we bless you, we give you endless thanks for your love and mercy, that you have heard our prayers, through Jesus Christ, Our Lord.  Amen.


Pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy

Say the first names of all children being prayed for out loud for God to hear.  (I love to say my children’s names out loud, in faith, knowing that God will hear me and grant my requests in His Holy Providence.)

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Guest Columns, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Desperate Mother’s Prayer

  1. Bonnie C says:

    This prayer echoes in my heart! Thank you Anne and Charlie!


  2. anne ovari says:

    Thank you so much Anne for the beautiful prayer. I hope you don’t mind if I copy it so I can pray it every day. You were really inspired by the Holy Spirit. Thank you and God bless.


  3. Barb Healey says:

    Amen. And thank you.


  4. Vladimir says:

    Anne, thank you for this lovely prayer. I want to give you a tip, check the http://www.mothersprayers.org page and maybe you can yontact people in the US who are meeting for prayers for their children every week, giving them to the Lord in a trustful and surrendering way. It is a fascinating I would say OPUS by the Lord, that does not need any advertising since He is doing everything thru the mother´s prayers in this world. I believe, the conversion if the world will come thru the devout prayers of our mothers, even the conversion of muslim women.
    May you be blessed and all the readers as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      Vladimir, what a wonderful suggestion. I’m going to take a look at that website myself. Thank you, and may God bless you and your loved ones.


  5. Barbara Dore says:

    With this rosary I bind my children to the Immaculate Heart of Mary for her guidance and protection.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Barbara Dore says:


    According to the words of Christ through His apparitions to St. Margaret Mary, there are several promises to those that practice the First Friday Devotions:

    “In the excess of the mercy of my Heart, I promise you that my all powerful love will grant to all those who will receive Communion on the First Fridays, for nine consecutive months, the grace of final repentance: they will not die in my displeasure, nor without receiving the sacraments; and my Heart will be their secure refuge in that last hour.”[2]

    The devotion consists of several practices that are performed on the first Fridays of nine consecutive months. On these days, a person is to attend Holy Mass and receive communion.[3] If the need arises in order to receive communion in a state of grace, a person should also make use of the Sacrament of Penance before attending Mass. In many Catholic communities the practice of the Holy Hour of meditation during the Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament during the First Fridays is encouraged. [4]

    I will give them all of the graces necessary for their state of life.
    I will establish peace in their houses.
    I will comfort them in all their afflictions.
    I will be their strength during life and above all during death.
    I will bestow a large blessing upon all their undertakings.
    Sinners shall find in My Heart the source and the infinite ocean of mercy.
    Tepid souls shall grow fervent.
    Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection.
    I will bless every place where a picture of my heart shall be set up and honored.
    I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts.
    Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in My Heart, never to be blotted out.
    I promise you in the excessive mercy of My Heart that My all-powerful love will grant to all those who communicate on the First Friday in nine consecutive months the grace of final penitence; they shall not die in My disgrace nor without receiving their sacraments; My Divine Heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment. [5]


  7. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    So beautiful and yet so powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. nicky says:

    Thank you for this post. This year has been one of my hardest years. There has been one suffering after another. I had a failed surgery, one daughter has epilepsy, the other one has an eating disorder. I have struggled so much with fear and lack of trust. Thinking how will our family endure the eye of the storm, if it already feels like we’re in it. Praise God for the Sacraments and prayer and this community of support.

    Liked by 1 person

    • TLM says:

      Nicki…..I am with you also in your suffering as a loving mom. In the past years we have been to hell and back with a child. Suffering from depression, an eating disorder, addictions and a divorce with children involved also. We have been hanging on by the skin of our teeth, suffering also with sometimes fear, sometimes lack of trust and sometimes lack of patience in God’s plan. The Sacraments and the Holy Rosary and Divine Mercy Chaplet have kept us all afloat as crippled as we are. And I think to myself…..’this is only the beginning??!!’ We are indeed in the storm as these circumstances seem to indicate, even within our individual families. Satan, I believe has been completely unleashed to work not only in our culture as a whole, but in our own individual families as well. This only makes sense to me. But we ARE the Church MILITANT! Are we not? In the past, I have, in a half hearted way, given this child to the Lord, but little by little I am giving this child over to Him ever more ‘completely’. And the Lord God is ‘beating me down’ so to speak to be totally submissive to His plan. I pray constantly and do what I can, and consciously and with firm heart give the rest to Him. I believe He is teaching me to TRUST more, to have more COURAGE and PATIENCE. He is not through with our children or US for that matter by a long shot. There will be many many conversions and healings in time to come. Our job I do believe is to stay FAITHFUL, and not WAIVER. Yes, it is painful and HEART WRENCHING but we knew that it would be, no? He will give us the grace that we need when we need it. ‘Keep the faith’ has never been more meaningful than it is today as we enter the storm. PROFOUNDLY meaningful. Stay hidden in the Mantle of our Mother as she helps us hang on to the robe of Jesus. She is leading her children through the painful path that will one day turn into Joy and Peace.

      Blessings to all


  9. Michelle says:

    Very beautiful prayer, Anne. I desperately pray for my children, daily, but it never occurred to me to include ALL families in my prayer. I will be doing so from now on.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. audiemarie2014 says:

    Thank you, Anne, for this powerful meditation. I prayed it last night along with the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. It gave me peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beckita says:

    Amen. Alleluia! Thank you, Anne. Thank you, Charlie. All glory to God!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Belinda says:

    Anne, this prayer is so touching and beautiful…and perfectly timed!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. JMST says:

    Thank you for the beautiful prayer. I ‘m also praying that there will be necessary healing miracles of the body, mind, and spirit during this purification trial.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. donna says:

    this is really beautiful, Anne….thank you!


  15. Amy says:

    We can relate. Our two oldest children are Autistic and the eldest is also an insulin dependent diabetic. Thanks to Obamacare we can no longer afford psychiatric care for them so its au naturelle and its very hard. The youngest of our 6 are 1 year old twins who were born at 33 weeks and we’re still paying the NICU bills. We just decided to homeschool all of them and the storms are coming after me hard right now, mostly spiritually and emotionally. I will include your family in our prayers. I am anxious to incorporate this practice into my personal daily prayer life.


    • Jessica says:

      Amy! I can relate and will be praying for your family daily. I was just relating to a priest friend the enormous stressors that seem to be bombarding faithful families recently.


    • TLM says:

      Indeed Amy, we NEED to pray for each other! So many of us are being hit hard, but we are stronger standing together in prayer for each other. I have been as of late including ALL families in my Rosary, and especially those under attack. I do believe a great number of us are being attacked with a vengeance.


  16. Judith says:

    O Anne, this prayer is beautiful and timely. I was praying, in tears, “Lord, my daughter is pulling further and further from You – and me. She won’t listen and gets irritated and offensive when I try to bring up prayer and faith matters. What do You want me to say, to do? Help!” Then I think, ‘do what you did last time, write to her.’ I did. She will receive it tomorrow. Talk about a timely miracle. I shall pray it tonight, tomorrow and all the rest of my days, and share it with many. God bless you for this good work.


  17. Mick says:

    Anne, thank you for this beautiful and inspired prayer. I will also be copying it for later use.

    Nicky, Michelle, Judith, and all the mothers here who are storming heaven for their children, I have just finished praying Anne’s prayer and the Chaplet for you and for your children (and for me and mine). May God give all of us courage, strength, hope, and peace; and may He also give us the confidence that (as St. Ambrose told St. Monica, the mother of the wayward son who became St. Augustine) “A child of so many tears cannot be lost.”


  18. nicky says:

    Thank-you Amy for your sharing. The Lord is preparing us to have unshakable trust in Him. I will keep your children in prayer. I have to remind myself everyone is in the same boat and not to wallow in self-pity. We homeschooled up until grade 8. It was a real blessing. However, with no support any longer we had to put them back in. It’s been tough on them and me. I recently read a letter by Fulton Sheen about controlling our imagination on the perceived future and taking each day to live in His Presence. I’ve been trying to implement that. I personally struggle with anxiety / depression so it’s always been hard to live in this state. I wonder if mental illness will be as prevalent in the Era of Peace. I know during wars and great depressions it was almost none existent. It seems to be an illness of mostly the secularized cultures. Blessing and prayers to you and your family Amy.


  19. nicky says:

    Thank-you Mick for your kind prayers. Thank God for the communion of saints. Bless you.


  20. A Quiet Person says:

    Thank you for this inspired prayer. As I mentioned recently under prayer requests, my 19 year old son is going through his own storm, and as such so am I as are all of the other moms who have posted here about the struggles they are going through. I truly have every confidence that as we persevere in prayer, the Lord will see all of our kids safely home in spite of what it may look and feel like from time to time. But what about the kids out there not connected to us through our network of communication and prayer? We have started to include all of the kids connected to Charlie’s site in our daily rosary but are now also including in our intentions all those kids who have no one on earth to pray for them in a special way. And the moms too.


  21. Alicia says:

    Thank you so much Anne and Charlie. This speaks to my heart and my thoughts every single day. I have printed this out and will pray it often. As the person who asked the last question at the Boston meeting regarding my three young children, Charlie’s timing for posting this is perfect. A mother’s internal desire for the safety of her child is so intense, it can be overwhelming in this world we live in today with so much evil facing them in every direction. I truly trust God and his plan for what is to come for my children but the “mother” in me still worries about them. And I pray every day that God will grant ALL the children of the world the strength to become the disciples
    of our Lord that they are meant to be! Amen


  22. EllenChris says:

    Just an FYI: Charlie has safely arrived here in the Albany area and is settled in comfortably (Tuesday July 28). If you live anywhere near Central New York, please do plan to join us at St. Andrew’s Church in Scotia tomorrow at 2 pm or 7 pm. Full info on at the “Upcoming Events” button above. Many blessings to all!


  23. jaykay says:

    Anne (and Charlie), thank you so much for this. I have a close family member suffering from bipolar, and I have neglected to offer the Chaplet for him. Maybe better to say that I didn’t really think of doing it. That will now be amended! God bless. J.


  24. narnialion54 says:

    Thank you, Anne. Beautiful.


    From Spirit Daily link: an article and picture of miscarried children in a museum.
    Terrible and Awe-full. God’s beautiful creation. The article quotes a 12 year old girl on seeing the exhibit: I could never have an abortion.

    WARNING: If you have had a miscarriage or abortion the photo could be upsetting. But the babies are an incredible witness to “we are fearfully and wonderfully made”.
    And yes, these babies should have been named and buried. But the witness they provide now in light of what our culture has done is immense.



Leave a Reply

